Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The hotel is in a great location. The beds were really comfortable but the bathrooms need updating. The shower had terrible water pressure. The weekend champagne brunch is excellent and great value for money. Overall a really great stay. I'll definitely be back.

room small and dark. convenient location. But ok for a short stay. Didn't use any hotel amenities so cannot comment. Staff very polite and helpful.

The Beacon has become my favorite hotel in DC. It is close to everyone and everything. I highly recommend it!

My first trip to DC so location was a key in my decision.

Nice clean hotel close everything!! Easy to walk around to all the major sites!

I got this room very last minute for a good deal AND I had $52 in Orbucks so combined that. I was already in DC for work and needed another night on my own dime. I've been here for brunch and events before and remember it being cute. The room was ok - nothing to complain about. Not big, not small, decent view and to the point. At some point after turning the heat on a strong smell of a terrible and hot fart of a fresh dump started coming through the vents. I called the front desk and they said they would send someone. That took a while and by the time he came, the smell wasn't as strong since I'd opened the window. Later on the smell happened again coming through the heating vent again. I'm not sure what it was, but since response time is sooooo slow I knew by the time I called for maintenance the smell wouldn't be strong anymore. They may have thought it was me. It wasn't. They should get that checked out. I was in room 616.

Really one thing after another. The air conditioning in my room broke. They tried to fix it but it did not work. I was moved to another room. The remote control battery died on the second night - needed to be replaced. The staff generally was hot and cold. Some were really fantastic - welcoming etc. While others were actually unpleasant or rude.

Everything about The Beacon is good. It's certainly not fancy, but for the price, it's hard to find a better value in DC. I've stayed here a dozen times for business and will return again.

I got a suite which looked big in pictures but turned out to be small and tight. Also the wifi kept disconnecting, I had to connect if every time I used my phone. The hotel is very quiet which might be great for some people. They don't tolerate the slightest bit of noise. This isn't really a big deal but you have to use your room key to get the elevator to work. I had to swipe my key several times before the elevator moved which got annoying sometimes.

I wasn't in the hotel very long as I only stayed one night and was in town for a show and a rally. But, the 8 hours I spent sleeping and getting ready in the morning was good. I thought it was great that there was a kitchen for such a reasonably priced room. I'd definitely stay here again if I were in town for a longer stay. The blue and red line metros were about 3 city blocks away, which was just close enough. Cabs regularly pull up in front of the hotel if you prefer to get around that way.

Got to hotel at 1pm on a Friday, 2 hrs before usual check in time. Requested a room on upper floor for quiet. Front desk did that plus upgraded my single room to a double with kitchen. Room was very quiet and I could sleep well. Location is good with 3 metro stops within 10 min walk. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Did not eat there. Food seemed high priced.

I have stayed at the Beacon before and enjoy the spacious rooms, great value, and location. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

I am usually giving the WiFi info with my keys, and that information was not shared. Beside that it was a great hotel and experience

The hotel has a nice boutique flavor, and it's rooftop bar/ restaurant are a popular night and brunch spot with guests and locals alike. In a great, centralized location the Beacon is a short walk from nearby DuPont Circle for some pub and NYC Village style nightlife. In the other direction the Farragut North Metro station offers a $3.00 train ride to all points of interest in D.C. including destinations including the National Mall, the Pentagon, the Smithsonian Museums, the Capitol and Georgetown. For the unfavorable reviews you read that might dissuade you... Like many big cities parking is a nightmare in D.C. the parking at Beacon is not free (it isn't anywhere in the city) it's about $50.00/ day. Unless you have to travel to Maryland or Virginia, don't bring a car, you will not need it. The Metro is fast, easy, cheap and it goes everywhere. The Wi-Fi is not free either. It rarely is in the nicer hotels in larger cities. An easy solution is to activate the Wi-Fi hotspot on your phone and then wirelessly connect your other devices...temporarily add data to your cellular plan if necessary, it will still be cheaper than the per day price of any D.C. hotels that you would want to stay in. We didn't come for a fitness center, a steam room, or a pool, if these things were on the property I wouldn't have noticed. I don't need a free breakfast, free parking or free Wi-Fi. Amenities for kids were also not of priority. I wanted a clean hotel in a great location, we did NOT experience bed bugs and despite being quite busy the noise levels were not an issue. The room, shower and bed was comfortable and spacious, it was turned down daily during our stay. The hotel has a great on-site bar and restaurant ($$$) and best of all the whole thing is located a short walk from everything MOST people visit D.C. for in the first place.

The hotel was in the perfect location. Walking was easy from here. The room was clean, staff was friendly.

The hotel location is fantastic! Staff was nice, very helpful. Slightly expensive add-ons, but hey, when in Rome....... Didn't really care for the hotel restaurant, but it was ok. Great waiter though. Can't remember his name, but he was from Mongolia. Nice kid. The view from the room was fantastic and the room was clean and very comfortable.

Super comfortable. Great rates for what you get. I took my family on a business trip and we had a separate bedroom so we could put the kids to bed and have some quiet/separate time to ourselves at night.

Hotel was great. We arrive 4 hours before checkin and they accommodated us with a room that was actually better than the one we reserved. Only ding is for the wi-fi, it cost and many/most hotels offer it for free these days.

This is a nice hotel if you're just looking for a clean place to lay your head. I have stayed here several times before when I am in DC for a quick trip. The service is good enough (really depends on who is behind the desk) and the location can't be beat (near Dupont Circle and within easy walking distance). Each time I have stayed over the weekend, I have been surprised by how loud other guests can be. One hotel employee explained to me that the hotel is popular with people who come in from the suburbs during the weekend to frequent the bars and clubs in the area. Not a big problem for me but just be aware that one the weekends you might experience people (most likely drunk) talking loudly in the halls as they make their way back to their rooms after a night out on the town!

Dated rooms, the A/C automatically changed to 78 degrees three times at night. The room became an oven it was horrible. Good location, expensive food but good. The mattress was old.

1615 Rhode Island Ave Nw Washington DC

Located in Dupont Circle within a short walk of White House, Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as George Washington University. This 199-room, 3.5-star hotel has a restaurant, a 24-hour fitness center, and a rooftop terrace. Located centrally in Washington, it's also close to Ford's Theater and Washington Monument.


Dining

In addition to a meal at the onsite restaurant, you can also enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service. Full breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7:30 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

All 199 air-conditioned rooms feature coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and safes. Guests can expect WiFi, wired Internet, and 27-inch TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Phones, ironing boards, and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, a rooftop terrace, and WiFi in public areas. Valet parking is available for USD 42 per night. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include 6 meeting rooms, conference space, and a business center.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Everyone (9) Couples (154) Business (105) Family (61) Other (49) Friends (50)
4
Everyone

The hotel is in a great location. The beds were really comfortable but the bathrooms need updating. The shower had terrible water pressure. The weekend champagne brunch is excellent and great value for money. Overall a really great stay. I'll definitely be back.

By , from New York, NY on Jan 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 1, 2017

Thanks so much for staying at the Beacon Hotel. We're so glad you were able to try out our infamous Champagne Brunch and that you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

3

room small and dark.

Everyone

room small and dark. convenient location. But ok for a short stay. Didn't use any hotel amenities so cannot comment. Staff very polite and helpful.

By on Dec 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 27, 2016

Thanks so much for staying at the Beacon Hotel. We are sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your room, we trust you had let guest services aware of your concerns so they could have redressed it immediately. We look forward to seeing you again.

5

a great hotel

Everyone

The Beacon has become my favorite hotel in DC. It is close to everyone and everything. I highly recommend it!

By , from Maryland on Dec 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 27, 2016

Thanks so much for the recommendation! The team here definitely works hard to have earned that recommendation and we couldn't be more thrilled that you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to D.C.!

4

great location with easy access to all activities.

Couples

My first trip to DC so location was a key in my decision.

By , from Minneapolis on Nov 30, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 6, 2016

Thank you for staying at the Beacon Hotel and letting us be part of your first trip to D.C.! The first time is always an exciting experience as there's so much to do and see in our great city. The hotel is within walking distance to many fun attractions so we hope you got the most out of our convenient location. Please note that all of our junior suites are equipped with a full kitchenette, including a refrigerator and while our deluxe rooms may not come with one, you may certainly request an available one at the front desk. Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your second trip to D.C.!

4
Everyone

Nice clean hotel close everything!! Easy to walk around to all the major sites!

By , from san diego, ca on Nov 10, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 15, 2016

Thanks so much for staying at the Beacon Hotel, we're so glad you've enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you got to see all the awesome historical sites our great city has to offer! We look forward to your next visit to Washington, D.C.

3

it was all ok until the smell of sewage!

Everyone

I got this room very last minute for a good deal AND I had $52 in Orbucks so combined that. I was already in DC for work and needed another night on my own dime. I've been here for brunch and events before and remember it being cute. The room was ok - nothing to complain about. Not big, not small, decent view and to the point. At some point after turning the heat on a strong smell of a terrible and hot fart of a fresh dump started coming through the vents. I called the front desk and they said they would send someone. That took a while and by the time he came, the smell wasn't as strong since I'd opened the window. Later on the smell happened again coming through the heating vent again. I'm not sure what it was, but since response time is sooooo slow I knew by the time I called for maintenance the smell wouldn't be strong anymore. They may have thought it was me. It wasn't. They should get that checked out. I was in room 616.

By , from Baltimore, MD on Oct 31, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 1, 2016

Thanks so much for staying at the Beacon. We’re so glad you were able to enjoy the location, we have such a great neighborhood with so many fun things to do and see. We also love hearing that you’ve had our brunch which is a DC favorite for our bottomless champagne and buffet brunch on Sundays. We are terribly sorry and surprised to hear about the odor issue you’ve experienced. While it is a little bizarre that it would come and go and that our maintenance staff could not smell it, we will certainly investigate a little further into this matter to ensure that no other guest complains of this issue. Thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your stay and we look forward to your return.

2
Everyone

Really one thing after another. The air conditioning in my room broke. They tried to fix it but it did not work. I was moved to another room. The remote control battery died on the second night - needed to be replaced. The staff generally was hot and cold. Some were really fantastic - welcoming etc. While others were actually unpleasant or rude.

By on Sep 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2016

We are terribly sorry your stay was not as smooth as we would have liked to be. While we understand your frustrations, we did try our best to redress your concerns in moving you into a different room and replacing the batteries. We hope that these minor inconveniences do not defer you from returning.

4

good value hotel

Everyone

Everything about The Beacon is good. It's certainly not fancy, but for the price, it's hard to find a better value in DC. I've stayed here a dozen times for business and will return again.

By , from Maine on Sep 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2016

Thanks so much for being a loyal guest. The team works hard to make sure each stay is as great as it can be. We look forward to welcoming you back!

2

only stayed because of good location

Everyone

I got a suite which looked big in pictures but turned out to be small and tight. Also the wifi kept disconnecting, I had to connect if every time I used my phone. The hotel is very quiet which might be great for some people. They don't tolerate the slightest bit of noise. This isn't really a big deal but you have to use your room key to get the elevator to work. I had to swipe my key several times before the elevator moved which got annoying sometimes.

By , from new jersey on Aug 2, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Thank you for staying at the Beacon Hotel. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the room size, we can promise that our rooms are comparable and possibly even larger than the standard rooms in the city. We understand that swiping the key card can be inconvenient at times but we believe the safety of our guests and staff outweighs that inconvenience. Security is something we do not take lightly. We hope to see you again.

4
Everyone

I wasn't in the hotel very long as I only stayed one night and was in town for a show and a rally. But, the 8 hours I spent sleeping and getting ready in the morning was good. I thought it was great that there was a kitchen for such a reasonably priced room. I'd definitely stay here again if I were in town for a longer stay. The blue and red line metros were about 3 city blocks away, which was just close enough. Cabs regularly pull up in front of the hotel if you prefer to get around that way.

By on Jun 6, 2016

Review comment responded on Jun 8, 2016

Thank you for staying at Beacon Hotel and taking the time to share you experience. Guests do love our rooms for both long stays and short stays plus transportation to get around the city is easily accessible. We hope you enjoyed your show and rally and we look forward to have you back!