Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

My stay at the hotel near Duke University was pleasant. The room was so warm without having the heater on. The room was clean spacious and it provided the necessities needed for a comfortable nights sleep. The staff were very courteous. Only complaint that I have is the breakfast was not up to par. The omelette was dull n not tasty. There were no grits. I realize that the menu items are probably commercial items provided to Days Inns Nationwide. Well to the CEOs of Days Inn you need to improve on the food thats provided to your customers even if it means you have to allocate more funds towards your free breakfast.

The room was clean but had a slight smell of smoke.

It was close to Duke medicine clinic. Comfortable bed and pillows. Bathrom smelled like midew. Free hot breakfast sucked.

The toilet seat had a brown smear on it when I arrived. I wiped it off, so it was not a stain but probably someone’s human waste. There was also a brown chunk of something on the floor that I threw away and hair in the tub. The mattress was squishy, warped, and covered in noisy plastic. I actually changed hotels, even though I had paid already for my two-night stay. It was worth it to me to pay for another room in order to be in a cleaner environment. On the positive side, the staff at the Days Inn were nice. There had also been an effort to update the property.

One word SCARY. Glad my husband is licensed to carry. It is the only reason I got any sleep. The property was SCARY, the breakfast staff was rude, the lobby was creepy and the morning guy at front desk could have fit right into an Alfred Hitchcock movie. They are trying to fix up the property and the room had reasonably new furniture and they guy that checked us in the night before was kind and friendly. But the ceiling in the shower was moldy. I do not recommend staying here.

Smelly room, a bit shabby. Over-priced. Ridiculous breakfast.

Staff was rude, bathroom and sink was dirty. Construction started on rooms next door at 8 am.

Older hotel, but beds and furniture are updated and comfortable.

Terrible. Expensive place to stay for that kind of room, dirty and smell bad, do not go.

Nice place. Had a problem with the hair dryer which was resolved immediately.

nice room for the money . only bad i guess was the carpet was dirty , after walking across it a few times our feet was black. very comfotable beds and quiet. i would stay there again. Front desk clerk very very nice and helpful..

Room was very dated and unfresh bathroom was molded in tub area

Beds new and super comfortable, rooms newly remodeled, building OLD and in need of repair on outside but inside is nice

Typucal low cvost place to stay when you are traveling.....the breakast was below par compared to like hotels.

Hillsborough Rd Durham NC

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Duke University Hospital is within 2 miles (3 km) of Days Inn by Wyndham Durham/Near Duke University while other popular attractions such as Duke University are within 3 miles (5 km). This 100-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 9 AM. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or grab a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant.


Rooms

All 100 individually decorated rooms provide washers/dryers, microwaves, and refrigerators. 55-inch LED TVs come with digital channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with Egyptian cotton sheets and pillow menus ensure a restful night. Coffee makers, free long-distance calls, and free local calls are also available.


Property features

Renovated in 2019, Days Inn by Wyndham Durham/Near Duke University offers a children's pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center. Free parking is included with your stay. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this golf hotel include a seasonal outdoor pool, a computer station, and free newspapers.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 Double Bed, Non Smoking

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Days Inn by Wyndham Durham/Near Duke University

Everyone (19) Couples (5) Business (10) Family (10) Other (8) Friends (1)
5
Everyone

My stay at the hotel near Duke University was pleasant. The room was so warm without having the heater on. The room was clean spacious and it provided the necessities needed for a comfortable nights sleep. The staff were very courteous. Only complaint that I have is the breakfast was not up to par. The omelette was dull n not tasty. There were no grits. I realize that the menu items are probably commercial items provided to Days Inns Nationwide. Well to the CEOs of Days Inn you need to improve on the food thats provided to your customers even if it means you have to allocate more funds towards your free breakfast.

By on Feb 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 15, 2020

We appreciate your review. We hope that you will visit again.

2
Everyone

By on Oct 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 19, 2019

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Durham for your stay. We were glad to have an opportunity to serve you during your period of stay. Thank you for your feedback about your stay at DAYS INN DURHAM. We are glad our clean, comfortable rooms and convenient location was perfect for your needs. We strive daily to please our guests, and your feedback tells us we are meeting those goals. We hope to welcome you back soon whenever your travels bring you back. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Everyone

The room was clean but had a slight smell of smoke.

By on Sep 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2019

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at DAYS INN DURHAM. We are glad our clean, comfortable rooms and convenient location was perfect for your needs. We strive daily to please our guests, and your feedback tells us we are meeting those goals. We apologize for the smoke smell you had in your room. We hope to welcome you back soon whenever your travels bring you back. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

By on Aug 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 8, 2019

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at DAYS INN DURHAM. We hope to welcome you back soon whenever your travels bring you back. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Family Business Business

It was close to Duke medicine clinic. Comfortable bed and pillows. Bathrom smelled like midew. Free hot breakfast sucked.

By on Jul 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 15, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. Please come back as we are always upgrading.

1
Everyone

By on Jun 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2
Everyone

The toilet seat had a brown smear on it when I arrived. I wiped it off, so it was not a stain but probably someone’s human waste. There was also a brown chunk of something on the floor that I threw away and hair in the tub. The mattress was squishy, warped, and covered in noisy plastic. I actually changed hotels, even though I had paid already for my two-night stay. It was worth it to me to pay for another room in order to be in a cleaner environment. On the positive side, the staff at the Days Inn were nice. There had also been an effort to update the property.

By on Jun 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2
Partner Couples

One word SCARY. Glad my husband is licensed to carry. It is the only reason I got any sleep. The property was SCARY, the breakfast staff was rude, the lobby was creepy and the morning guy at front desk could have fit right into an Alfred Hitchcock movie. They are trying to fix up the property and the room had reasonably new furniture and they guy that checked us in the night before was kind and friendly. But the ceiling in the shower was moldy. I do not recommend staying here.

By on Jun 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

1
Family with small children Business Business

Smelly room, a bit shabby. Over-priced. Ridiculous breakfast.

By on Apr 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2019

Extremely sorry to hear this. The property has been through a $2 million renovation and we are always upgrading this Days inn.

3
Everyone

By on Apr 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 13, 2019

Thank you so much for staying with us. Please do come back.

Days Inn by Wyndham Durham/Near Duke University

3460 Hillsborough Rd, Durham, NC 27705
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Raleigh-Hotels-Days-Inn-by-Wyndham-Durham/Near-Duke-University.h24026-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Raleigh-Hotels-Days-Inn-by-Wyndham-Durham/Near-Duke-University.h24026-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "https://www.orbitz.com/Raleigh-Hotels-Days-Inn-by-Wyndham-Durham/Near-Duke-University.h24026-p2.Hotel-Reviews". java.io.FileNotFoundException: https://www.orbitz.com/Raleigh-Hotels-Days-Inn-by-Wyndham-Durham/Near-Duke-University.h24026-p2.Hotel-Reviews