Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Westgate Palace a Two Bedroom Condo Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I would recommend this hotel for families. We traveled with our two young children and enjoyed the hotel. Particularly loved the laundry facility inside the room. This allowed us to do laundry and not return with mounds of dirty clothes. We rented a two bedroom suite which was perfect. The suite came with a nicely equipped kitchen and we were able to make snacks and breakfast there. The hotel has a pool, hot tub, fitness centre and arcade which are practical for families. There is also a restaurant and coffee shop. I enjoyed the self parking and found the hotel staff friendly and accommodating. This hotel is located closer to Universal Studios but we found it to be an easy drive to the airport and Walt Disney parks. There were no surprise charges at the end of our stay and we look forward to visiting Orlando and will definitely stay at Westgate again.

The building is nice and it's close to Universal Studios. There were additional charges when I checked in for "resort fees" --not a lot, but I thought I had payed in advance through Orbitz, so I started out annoyed. There was an initial push for a time-share sales pitch right at check in, but was minimal, so I thought was over then. They continued to call every day and make another pitch offering breakfast and vouchers if you'd give another hour of your time. Once I said no, they just pointed in the direction of the other tower where my room was and I had to find it, going outside to another building. The "free theme park shuttle" was a nice bus, but had to be scheduled a day in advance and only had returns about 6:30 pm while the parks are open until 10, so we used Uber. The blow drier in our bathroom was broken. I was going to write a note on the notepad, but there was no pen. The emergency exit door, which was right next to our room was open and unable to latch, so apparently anyone who gets in the stairwell can get in. I told a security guard, who was patrolling that the door latch was broken, and he said, "well it's not going to lock." My wife and I made coffee in the room the first day and we didn't get any more coffee the next day. There was some the day we left though. The "Drafts Sports Bar & Grill" is not a restaurant, it's just the hotel lobby bar a couple TVs and a grill for burgers, etc.

Friendly staff, good location for WDW, Sea World, or universal. The room was clean and comfortable...but a little dated. Overall nice place a the family.

We had several problems during our stay in the deluxe family suite, the hotel staff was friendly and fixed the problems. We gave 4 stars because although they did their best to correct the problems there should t have been that many to begin with. We have stayed in hotels ranging from $30 a night to $1000 a night and we didnt find this to be worth the $200 a night they normally charge a customer. We were grateful we made our reservations through a third party website and didnt pay full price. We spoke with several owners of this timeshare type hotel and they were all very unhappy about the way they were treated after the signed their contracts. We spoke with four families and none of them had one nice thing to say about the hotel. They said they still come because they want to get something for the money have to pay. We never went to the time share presentation. We have no use for a timeshare. Over all we had an ok time, the hot tub, pool, and fire pit were great. We wish the paddle boats, fishing poles and kids activities were included in the price. Also the complementary sauna offered at the sister resort would have been great had it not been complementary with purchase of a spa service. Unfortunately we will not be returning nor will we be recommending it to any friends.

We arrived and they did not have our reservation made on Orbitz. The rooms were not clean and overall the stay was poor. We checked out the next morning and switched hotels.

Nice enough stay. I'd want to be sure to get a discounted price otherwise probably a bit much. If you need 2 rooms & restrooms this is great.

Roaches are everywhere Bed bugs no hot water High resort fee

The stay started reasonably with my room being available early as I requested. The room itself is nice although the kitchen and bath fixtures are 1990 vintage. 2 issues with the amenities (they are no where close to what is advertised!) and one with the staff. - Went down to have dinner / drinks at 8:15 PM and was told the bar / restaurant was closed. This was a Thursday evening if that even should matter. - Went down in search of a bottle of water at 10:00 PM. The vending machine in my building was powered off. Went across to the main building and to the machine by the pool. Put in my $3 and watched the machine delivery system flip out and deliver nothing. Approached the front desk to report it and ask for a simple bottle of water. Apologies received but no $3 refund as they use a separate vendor and NO bottle of water was available in the whole 2 bldg. / 19 floors each complex! I was told that Icould get my bottle of water in the morning. No ice machines in this huge complex either. - My daughter and I were sitting in our room in the afternoon, around 4:00 PM watching TV. Our door had the do not disturb sign hanging outside. An employee with 2 spoons in hand, without knocking, opened my door, I asked him kindly what he was doing in my room! He quickly said 'oh sorry' and shut the door with no engagement or discussion on why he was there. I reported this to the front desk that evening. Response: Oh, he must of had the wrong rooml Without knocking? DND sign?

Everything was good except the sly handoff to a timeshare representative. If you stay say NO to the clerk once you check in. Stuck me for twenty buckets.

Close to universal parks, rooms were nice but the shuttle services were unorganized

Shuttle left us at the park told us to be at one spot and pick up from somewere different.

Very nice hotel in a good location with all the amenities needed on site, i.e., pool, sports, gym and recreation activities, very close to international drive which has many additional activities incl. restaurants, shopping, bars and water parks.

Was put in tower A and the elevator was not working , requested a new room and the MANAGER acted like we were a bothering him. We were moved to tower B where we had NO HOT water ! Called the manager back and were told it was our fault and no one else had complained about that. We literally left 2 hours after checking in. Pool was gross , no towels outside. Our 2 rooms were clean but just ugly and dated. Will never stay here again. Terrible service !

Great resort with friendly staff. Close to Universal and all of the attractions of International Drive. The cleaning staff is superb and trustworthy. My kids left their iPads and tablets out and I have to admit, I was worried while out on the town, but everything was there in its place and the suite was immaculate when we got back. Did not use the safe at all, which I normally do based on different reviews of different places. ONLY 3 negatives about the stay; (1) even though I booked the suite as a hotel stay and understand that it is a timeshare resort, they still try to get you to come to their timeshare presentation. It was a minor nuissance. (2) the bar prices, expensive, but expected from a resort. (3) Their TV line up is mostly analog. Only a few HD channels on the TVs. Didn't watch much, but like to wind down with late night TV. I recommend this resort to anyone thinking of staying.

First night found a roach motel in the master bedroom and roaches on the wall. Second night signed up for the "premium" internet so I could watch Netflix - guess what - the max speed I was able to get was 4 mbs. Front desk put me through to their IT department and the IT guy said he didn't have any control over it that it was something the front desk had to do. But he did tell me that 4 mbs was not the premium speed. Next day, still within the 24 hours I had paid for "premium," I could no longer connect to the wifi on any device. Front desk asked me to come down so they could check it out. Long walk later, got to front desk, waited 15 mins to see a staff member. They looked at my ipad and did the exact same thing I did - it was funny when they were like - oh you can't connect to the internet. I responded "Yes I know, that is what I told you when I handed it to you." They looked at their screen and reset my premium and the manager said I would not have to pay for it. Got back to the room and still had low internet speeds. I was there with 2 other people and none of us were able to get reliable internet in the room - two of us were on Apple ios devices and I was on Apple and an Android phone. When I checked out they still had the premium charge and I told her my experience and that IT said I was not receiving the speed that was expected and she took the charges off. Not a good place for internet and they seem to know about the bad internet, but don't care.

Hotel was very comfortable and the most important for me it was very clean. I love the staff from the security at the door to the last person I was in contact with the runner who delivered my coffee and extra pillows. They are detail oriented l. They service my room every day. Loved it

Nice place with great pool area and deck on the lake

They constantly badger guests to sell their timeshares. We complained but yet were woken up EVERY morning by Bill via phone. The housekeeping failed to change our sheets even though we left them on the floor. Accommodations were showing their age but very spacious. Loved Starbucks onsite. Breakfast buffet was depressing presentation-like a hospital cafeteria and not free.

It was very clean and the staff was very accommodating.

Beautiful layout, Very relaxing .. The staff was very helpful. Awesome view of the lake.

6145 Carrier Drive Orlando FL

Hotel highlights

  • Close to I-Drive 360
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in Sand Lake within a mile (2 km) of I-Drive 360, Westgate Palace a Two Bedroom Condo Resort is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as Universal’s Islands of Adventure™. This 408-room, 4-star resort welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. On a lake, it's also near Universal Studios Florida™ and SeaWorld® Orlando.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at Drafts Sports Bar & Grill, the resort's onsite restaurant. Start each morning with breakfast, served for a fee from 7 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

The 408 air-conditioned accommodations feature kitchens and 2 bathrooms. There's space to spread out with 2 bedrooms, living rooms, and dining areas. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and DVD players, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in down comforters and bathrooms offer jetted tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include washers/dryers, sofa beds, and coffee makers. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Westgate Palace a Two Bedroom Condo Resort features an outdoor pool, a children's pool, and a fitness center. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free area shuttle. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and concierge services. Other amenities at this family-friendly resort include a sauna, free WiFi in public areas, and an arcade/game room.

Room options

Deluxe Villa, 2 Bedrooms

Queen 1 | Sleeps 6

Room (Resort Select)

Queen 1 | Sleeps 6

2 bedroom Villa-Horror Night Event Shuttle

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Westgate Palace a Two Bedroom Condo Resort

Everyone (29) Business (10) Couples (8) Family (55) Friends (10)
5

family vacation at walt disney world

Families

I would recommend this hotel for families. We traveled with our two young children and enjoyed the hotel. Particularly loved the laundry facility inside the room. This allowed us to do laundry and not return with mounds of dirty clothes. We rented a two bedroom suite which was perfect. The suite came with a nicely equipped kitchen and we were able to make snacks and breakfast there. The hotel has a pool, hot tub, fitness centre and arcade which are practical for families. There is also a restaurant and coffee shop. I enjoyed the self parking and found the hotel staff friendly and accommodating. This hotel is located closer to Universal Studios but we found it to be an easy drive to the airport and Walt Disney parks. There were no surprise charges at the end of our stay and we look forward to visiting Orlando and will definitely stay at Westgate again.

By on Feb 15, 2018

3

convenient for universal, but not great.

Everyone

The building is nice and it's close to Universal Studios. There were additional charges when I checked in for "resort fees" --not a lot, but I thought I had payed in advance through Orbitz, so I started out annoyed. There was an initial push for a time-share sales pitch right at check in, but was minimal, so I thought was over then. They continued to call every day and make another pitch offering breakfast and vouchers if you'd give another hour of your time. Once I said no, they just pointed in the direction of the other tower where my room was and I had to find it, going outside to another building. The "free theme park shuttle" was a nice bus, but had to be scheduled a day in advance and only had returns about 6:30 pm while the parks are open until 10, so we used Uber. The blow drier in our bathroom was broken. I was going to write a note on the notepad, but there was no pen. The emergency exit door, which was right next to our room was open and unable to latch, so apparently anyone who gets in the stairwell can get in. I told a security guard, who was patrolling that the door latch was broken, and he said, "well it's not going to lock." My wife and I made coffee in the room the first day and we didn't get any more coffee the next day. There was some the day we left though. The "Drafts Sports Bar & Grill" is not a restaurant, it's just the hotel lobby bar a couple TVs and a grill for burgers, etc.

By , from Michigan on Jan 19, 2018

4

fairly nice...

Families

Friendly staff, good location for WDW, Sea World, or universal. The room was clean and comfortable...but a little dated. Overall nice place a the family.

By on Jan 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our location close to everything Orlando has to offer. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our rooms. Our housekeeping team takes great pride in ensuring that they are refreshingly clean and inviting so that our guests feel right at home. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and hope you provide us with the pleasure again in the future! Ray

4

it was ok

Everyone

We had several problems during our stay in the deluxe family suite, the hotel staff was friendly and fixed the problems. We gave 4 stars because although they did their best to correct the problems there should t have been that many to begin with. We have stayed in hotels ranging from $30 a night to $1000 a night and we didnt find this to be worth the $200 a night they normally charge a customer. We were grateful we made our reservations through a third party website and didnt pay full price. We spoke with several owners of this timeshare type hotel and they were all very unhappy about the way they were treated after the signed their contracts. We spoke with four families and none of them had one nice thing to say about the hotel. They said they still come because they want to get something for the money have to pay. We never went to the time share presentation. We have no use for a timeshare. Over all we had an ok time, the hot tub, pool, and fire pit were great. We wish the paddle boats, fishing poles and kids activities were included in the price. Also the complementary sauna offered at the sister resort would have been great had it not been complementary with purchase of a spa service. Unfortunately we will not be returning nor will we be recommending it to any friends.

By , from NH on Dec 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 24, 2017

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay and for any inconveniences they may have caused. We have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our staff. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Guest satisfaction is our top priority, and all of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Luna

1

very poor

Everyone

We arrived and they did not have our reservation made on Orbitz. The rooms were not clean and overall the stay was poor. We checked out the next morning and switched hotels.

By on Oct 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 2, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.Your words carry a lot of weight with us, and we are distressed to hear that your travel experience was not a good one.We only wish you had reached out to the front desk during your stay, as they would have been more than happy to relocate you to another unit to ensure you had a most enjoyable stay.We truly hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with a much better stay in the future.

5

handy to airport & disney

Everyone

Nice enough stay. I'd want to be sure to get a discounted price otherwise probably a bit much. If you need 2 rooms & restrooms this is great.

By , from Kansas on Oct 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 2, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our great location. We look forward to having you back soon!

1

the worst 4 star hotel in orlando

Everyone

Roaches are everywhere Bed bugs no hot water High resort fee

By on Oct 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 9, 2017

Thank you for your review. We must say that we are shocked by your comments and trust that if you had any issues or concerns during your stay that you brought them to the immediate attention of our front desk. Anja

1

horrible experience!

Everyone

The stay started reasonably with my room being available early as I requested. The room itself is nice although the kitchen and bath fixtures are 1990 vintage. 2 issues with the amenities (they are no where close to what is advertised!) and one with the staff. - Went down to have dinner / drinks at 8:15 PM and was told the bar / restaurant was closed. This was a Thursday evening if that even should matter. - Went down in search of a bottle of water at 10:00 PM. The vending machine in my building was powered off. Went across to the main building and to the machine by the pool. Put in my $3 and watched the machine delivery system flip out and deliver nothing. Approached the front desk to report it and ask for a simple bottle of water. Apologies received but no $3 refund as they use a separate vendor and NO bottle of water was available in the whole 2 bldg. / 19 floors each complex! I was told that Icould get my bottle of water in the morning. No ice machines in this huge complex either. - My daughter and I were sitting in our room in the afternoon, around 4:00 PM watching TV. Our door had the do not disturb sign hanging outside. An employee with 2 spoons in hand, without knocking, opened my door, I asked him kindly what he was doing in my room! He quickly said 'oh sorry' and shut the door with no engagement or discussion on why he was there. I reported this to the front desk that evening. Response: Oh, he must of had the wrong rooml Without knocking? DND sign?

By , from Minneapolis on Sep 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 28, 2017

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay and for any inconveniences they may have caused. We have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our staff. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Guest satisfaction is our top priority, and all of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Luna

4

close to everything

Everyone

Everything was good except the sly handoff to a timeshare representative. If you stay say NO to the clerk once you check in. Stuck me for twenty buckets.

By , from NC on Aug 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our resort. We invite all of our guests to participate in one of our timeshare presentations, in exchange for their time we offer different incentives such as discounted attraction tickets or discounted rates. We regret if this inconvenienced you and look forward to exceed your expectations. Allie

4
Everyone

Close to universal parks, rooms were nice but the shuttle services were unorganized

By on Apr 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2017

We are glad that you liked our location, however we are sorry if you had any issues with our shuttle service, and we apologize for it, we are looking to improve on such areas, and will continue to try our best and provide the experience vacation for our guests that are expected from us. Thank you for your feedback.