Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa Universal Studios Area

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Loud. Could hear neighbors talking through walls, large dogs next door. Construction noise, very large- not easy to get to pools, little signage around property

Good time. Close to destination. Comfy bed and big shower.

This was the worst place we have stayed at by far. Extremely disappointed with Orbitz and the resort for displaying false advertising of the rooms that look nowhere near what they actually do and the cleanliness was unacceptable. I was later told after we had already checked in and seen the room from a person who was previously employed at the resort that this resort was known to scam guests by not getting what they paid for and advertising as a nicer place than it actually was. I had originally booked 3 nights here but quickly got on the phone with orbitz to change that the second we saw our room. Unfortunately we had to stay here one night and that was definitely unpleasant. They also tried to pressure you into sitting and listening to their ridiculous excuse of a time share and we repeatedly said we were not interested but they were very rude about it. I will never even consider staying with this company even if someone paid me.

Great if you just need somewhere to sleep and spend the day at parks. We had the light fixture cover in the shower fall on someone's head, a washer full of old dirty water when we checked in, moldy towels and every time we tried to get a cab or car service somewhere it never came or we waited over a half hour and the staff was rude about it.

Pool Bar needs to stay open till 7 not 5 or closed. $7 for a beer is a little pricey .

Very nice resort, staff was pleasant. Not convenient for going to and from the parks, not in walking distance to anything. Hotel shuttle hours limited so, uber/taxis seem to be the norm for getting anywhere.

everything was ok it is time for an upgrade .spider webs all around the door trims. clean the patios teach staf f to be more professional.

We stayed at Westgate Lakes for a week. The rooms in building 2400 appeared to be clean and well-kept; however, one night we discovered a cockroach next to my head when the light was turned on. I called the front desk the following morning and they promptly had the room sprayed for roaches - no further accommodation was made and it was treated as though this was a daily occurrence for the staff. The morning we were leaving, a roach was found running on our luggage. I called the front desk to let them know, and no refund, etc. was offered. I would not stay here again.

We enjoyed our stay and was delighted and happy with our room upgrade. The grounds were clean and kept nice. Parking was a little difficult at night but they now have a parking garage to accomodating everyone. Staff was courteous and helpful. There was plenty to do. Did not attend the time share due to one issue we did experience. It was rectified quickly, but should not have been an issue to begin with.

This hotel is very old in the building we stayed in, building 2300. If you stay here ask for a room with a view of the lake on a upper floor. The room was very dated and is in need of repair. The staff was not responsive to complaints. Please read all of the reviews to gain a understanding of what you will experience as a guest here.

First time staying at this WestGate and by far my favorite. The way I was treated made me feel so welcome ! Looks like they take customer service extremely serious. Room was comfortable. Thanks to the guy who checked me in for letting me check out late !

This is thesecond time staying here an de the villas are always nice

Very nice and comfortable place to stay. But is a timeshare and they REALLY pressure you to attend their information sessions. In fact you have to pay extra for any of their facilities unless you go to the sessions at which time they will give you a "VIP" card. So, my husband and I told them we were unemployed and made less than 30K a year and they left us alone! Although as we were leaving, one of their sales reps followed us out trying to get us roped back in. We didn't have time to swim or use the fitness center. We did go to the little grocery store for milk, spaghetti noodles, spaghetti sauce and a couple of small snacks which cost $40. I liked that you had to go through security to get in. Made me feel safe.

We decided to extreme out stay till 3pm day of checkout for an added charge to get some rest before the long drive home, house keeping knocked on our door 4 5 times to service the room while me ans the Mrs repeatedly asked to not be disturbed and literally waited outside the door laughing and talking till we gave up and left.

Very nice for a birthday Gateway. We enjoy ourselves very much!

It was wonderful to be part of westgate. Came didn't expect i'll be purchasing a place there. Awesome people!

Needs to be updated. Probably will stay here again.

I really enjoyed the stay here. Nice central location.

the bathroom door would not close in the master bedroom. called several times. always wrong person came to look and said they would send someone else, took over 24 hrs to get fixed! the other bathroom sink was always backed up and they never fixed! Also needed a good cleaning, like wall switches, stove top, floor was sticky.

Roaches and they did not want to refund us our money

10000 Turkey Lake Rd Orlando FL

Located in International Drive within 2 miles (3 km) of SeaWorld® Orlando, Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa Universal Studios Area is within a few miles (5 km) of other popular sights such as Discovery Cove. This 1990-room, 4-star resort has 7 outdoor pools along with a marina and a full-service spa. On a lake, it's also near Aquatica and I-Drive 360.


Dining

There are multiple options for onsite dining with 3 restaurants, including Drafts Sports Bar & Grill, which specializes in American cuisine. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or explore the resort and get a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a full breakfast is available for a fee.


Rooms

The 1990 air-conditioned accommodations afford space to spread out with dining areas and sitting areas. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels and DVD players. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Sofa beds, microwaves, and refrigerators are also standard. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa Universal Studios Area features a marina, a full-service spa, and 7 outdoor pools. Free self parking and paid valet are available, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this spa resort include a children's pool, a fitness center, and 7 spa tubs.

Room options

Villa, 2 Bedrooms

King 1 | Sleeps 8

Villa, 3 Bedrooms

Twin 6 | Sleeps 12

Villa, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Villa, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa Universal Studios Area

Everyone (34) Business (49) Couples (143) Family (153) Friends (24) Other (11)
4

very large resort not ideal for a quiet getaway

Everyone

Loud. Could hear neighbors talking through walls, large dogs next door. Construction noise, very large- not easy to get to pools, little signage around property

By , from Minnesota on Apr 13, 2017

4

nice hotel

Everyone

Good time. Close to destination. Comfy bed and big shower.

By on Apr 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 7, 2017

Thank you for your positive review. It brings us pleasure to see that you enjoyed of our prime location and comfort during your visit. We hope to see you again soon! Nat

1

horrible experience

Everyone

This was the worst place we have stayed at by far. Extremely disappointed with Orbitz and the resort for displaying false advertising of the rooms that look nowhere near what they actually do and the cleanliness was unacceptable. I was later told after we had already checked in and seen the room from a person who was previously employed at the resort that this resort was known to scam guests by not getting what they paid for and advertising as a nicer place than it actually was. I had originally booked 3 nights here but quickly got on the phone with orbitz to change that the second we saw our room. Unfortunately we had to stay here one night and that was definitely unpleasant. They also tried to pressure you into sitting and listening to their ridiculous excuse of a time share and we repeatedly said we were not interested but they were very rude about it. I will never even consider staying with this company even if someone paid me.

By , from Warren, OH on Apr 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 7, 2017

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. We are saddened to see that you may have had a less than satisfying experience with us. Please be advised that we are currently in the process of updating our resort as a whole, to better serve our guests. We are always more than happy to offer one of our already updated units, so long as our availability permits. Being a timeshare resort, we do offer the opportunity for our guests to participate in one of our resort previews. There is never any obligation to attend, and we never intend to make you feel uncomfortable in any way. It would be an honor if you allowed us another chance to better impress you. Nat

2

old and dirty

Everyone

Great if you just need somewhere to sleep and spend the day at parks. We had the light fixture cover in the shower fall on someone's head, a washer full of old dirty water when we checked in, moldy towels and every time we tried to get a cab or car service somewhere it never came or we waited over a half hour and the staff was rude about it.

By , from Philadelphia on Mar 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 10, 2017

Your comments are appreciated. It disappoints us to learn that you may have had a less than satisfying experience with us. Cleanliness is of priority to us, and our housekeeping team is in place to ensure that each unit is up to par prior to the arrival of our guests. In addition, we take the overall safety of our guests very seriously. It is our hope that our resort management was given the opportunity to address your concerns. It would be an honor if permitted another opportunity to redeem ourselves. Nat

3
BusinessTravelers

Pool Bar needs to stay open till 7 not 5 or closed. $7 for a beer is a little pricey .

By on Mar 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 10, 2017

Your feedback is appreciated. Our hours usually fluctuate depending on the season and how busy we are throughout the day and evening. We never intend to inconvenience you in any way, and your comments will be shared in our effort to better ourselves for our future guests. It is our hope that we are able to better impress you in the near future. Nat

4
Families

Very nice resort, staff was pleasant. Not convenient for going to and from the parks, not in walking distance to anything. Hotel shuttle hours limited so, uber/taxis seem to be the norm for getting anywhere.

By , from Connecticut on Feb 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2017

Your comments are appreciated. It brings us pleasure to see that you enjoyed of our resort during your visit. We hope that our staff was able to assist with any other matters that may have arisen during your visit. We hope to better impress you during your following trip to Orlando. Nat

3
Everyone

everything was ok it is time for an upgrade .spider webs all around the door trims. clean the patios teach staf f to be more professional.

By on Feb 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2017

Your comments are appreciated. It is our hope that any possible concerns were addressed by our resort staff while you were with us. We are currently in the process of improving ourselves, and would be happy to offer one of our already updated units availability permitting. We hope to better impress you during your following visit. Nat

2

roaches in building 2400

Everyone

We stayed at Westgate Lakes for a week. The rooms in building 2400 appeared to be clean and well-kept; however, one night we discovered a cockroach next to my head when the light was turned on. I called the front desk the following morning and they promptly had the room sprayed for roaches - no further accommodation was made and it was treated as though this was a daily occurrence for the staff. The morning we were leaving, a roach was found running on our luggage. I called the front desk to let them know, and no refund, etc. was offered. I would not stay here again.

By , from Nanticoke, PA on Feb 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 15, 2017

We deeply apologize that these water bugs interfered with your stay this time. These bugs are native to the area and tend to find their way indoors during the rainy summer season. We do have a pest control service that we use and do all that we possibly can in order to prevent them from coming in. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and hope you provide us with the opportunity to make this up to you by staying with us again. Lissy

4

will stay again

Everyone

We enjoyed our stay and was delighted and happy with our room upgrade. The grounds were clean and kept nice. Parking was a little difficult at night but they now have a parking garage to accomodating everyone. Staff was courteous and helpful. There was plenty to do. Did not attend the time share due to one issue we did experience. It was rectified quickly, but should not have been an issue to begin with.

By , from New Hampshire on Feb 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 6, 2017

Thank you for sharing your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make it yet another memorable vacation experience! Customer service is very important to us. We want to assure you that we care about each of our guests and we do everything we can to accommodate them. Unfortunately, with the size of our resort, parking can become an issue and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that may cause. We want to thank you for letting us know about your issue as we take all of our guests’ comments into consideration. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Orlando.

1

old unkept

Everyone

This hotel is very old in the building we stayed in, building 2300. If you stay here ask for a room with a view of the lake on a upper floor. The room was very dated and is in need of repair. The staff was not responsive to complaints. Please read all of the reviews to gain a understanding of what you will experience as a guest here.

By , from Michigan on Feb 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 6, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We aim to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to know from our guests on how we are doing. Our Location is continually updating all our rooms to improve guest comfort. All of our staff is there to provide you with a customer service experience unlike any other. The experience that you have shared in your review falls far below the standards that we have set for our staff to follow. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate resort management. We hope that the experience that you had with these particular team members will not keep you from staying with us again. Ray