Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Enjoyed every bit of our experience here! Friendly and accommodating staff! Clean room. Facilities were in good condition. Although they had some construction going on, didn't hear it at all during the evening or night (we were two doors down from the site). The location of the hotel was terrific too. Trolley had a stop right outside the hotel, but close enough to walk to shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again!

There was mildew on the jet stream in the bath tub and the border in the kitchen corner kept falling off.

Staff is very pleasent management doing excelllent in all phases

The resort needs to replace Windows to be sound proof and bath tub updated.

Enjoyed the pool and the suite at Turtle Cay. The staff was great especially checking into the hotel.

I sayed from thur to monday and not one day did anyone come check on us. No new towels no floor cleaning or bed change. It was annoying and frustrating.

Good stay. I would recommend Turtle Cay Resorts. The furniture was the only thing that was very disappointing. It was very, very worn.

It was nice place to relax for a night. Most of all heater was works well as well as fireplace to warm the rooms up.

Upon checking in the desk attendant told us our room number and gave us a key. We proceeded to "our" room only to open the door to a room that was already occupied. Luckily the people were freaked out but not aggressive. Come to find out others in our party we're able to use their keys to open each others doors and one found a key on the ground that would later open her door... is this place giving everyone a master key??

I had the worst experience someone can possibly have at a resort. When arriving to turtle cay from a seven hour drive from New York, we are told that we can not stay there because our room wasn't in " condition to be a occupied" but we believe they gave our room away. When we had reserved months ago.. We we're then sent to ocean beach club. Now this just complicated our stay because we were givin a room with leakage problems. They kept us in this room and did not even bother to take a look to what was going on. I went to the front desk and ask for a manager, the manager never came out to talk to us personally what's so ever. Then they put us in a temporary room. When we we're told to go back to our room it wasn't even ready... The machinery was still in the room we had to put the machinery out ourselves. After all of this they still manage to put a charge on our credit card and not even inform us of the charge. I was overwhelm staying with diamond resort instead of being a relaxing vacation it was a disaster!!!

My stay was great! I would highly recommend this resort to many of my friends

The reception staff was very friendly and accommodated my room change request. The hotel was nice and because it was the beginning of December pretty quiet. The walls are pretty thin and could hear the guest next door and when they were out on the patio. A lot of traffic noise. The Housekeeping was terrible. I had to continuously call and ask if housekeeping was coming. We left the area for a couple days and the room smelled horrible due to the fact the trash had not been picked up in the 3 days we were gone. Because it has a full kitchen we did cook a lot. Close to the last couple days when they changed the sheets, we believe they may have took a brand new white dress shirt that was left on a pile of whites on the floor to be put in the wash. when we discovered it was no longer there we called to find out if Housekeeping had it, still no response from the hotel. One day when we called to see why housekeeping hadn't come by, we were told that we refused service and that only requested toilet paper. we had been gone all day and they never came, when we called back they asked what we needed and asked that the full trash can from the kitchen be taken out. we were told that we had to take out our own trash... I was very disappointed with this stay because I had stayed with them before and their service was much better. To book a stay for 16 days during off season, you would think that the service would have been a lot better.

We stayed here in September for a week and although the weather didn't play nice with us, our resort made up for it! Our family stayed in a two bedroom condo. The rooms were spacious and had very comfy beds and nice linens. The bathrooms were very large and had everything needed -- master bath even had a whirlpool tub! There was a fully stocked kitchen so we made our meals family style. There was maid service everyday but we didn't use it. Our unit featured a washer and dryer so we just washed our own towels. No biggie! It was so nice going home with clean laundry and no dirty clothes! Staff was great, pools were fabulous and we all enjoyed the hot tubs because of the cool wind we had all week. Spent some time at the beach which was a short walk across the street. My only wish was a vacuum in the suite so I could run the sweeper! There was a broom and mop though which was nice. Can't wait to go back!!!

The staff was OK but stressed time share activities and selling tickets to tours. They said they would call when a room was ready...I stopped by the desk to ask when it would be ready and they found one Pool area is nice...that is where we spent most of our time while waiting for a room

Had a great time, only downfall was 10am checkout. Would recommend to anyone. Would stay there again. Had great family activities.

Everything was exactly as described, no hidden surprises. Staff was very friendly. Grounds were well kept, as well as pool area. Underground parking garage was a plus, quick walk across the street to the beach & other amenities at sister resort, Beach Quarters. The Activities Coordinator provided great information & tools to help better our stay in Virginia Beach. Mahi Mah's (across the street) was our personal favorite. Great food, drinks & service!

Housekeeping service not so good. Checked in on the first day and then had to hunt them down for clean towels and toilet tissue. The pool is the main reason we booked this resort. Be aware that it's shares with at least 2 to 3 other hotels. Seating is limited so it's not easy finding an area to relax. Advertised we could also share amenities with other hotels but they forget to tell you there's a fee to do so until you get there. Very aggressive in selling timeshares as well. We received phone calls to our room while napping almost daily to invite us to timeshare meeting.

It was a nice resort within walking distance of the beach. Plenty of amenities for adults and children. Nice, clean pool area. Very friendly staff. Highly recommend. Would definitely stay again.

We come every year for a function and stay at the hotel for the location and pool. We always had a good experience except this time. There was a very loud party next to us with loud talking, yelling at times and music. I waited for a reasonable hour of the night to inform the office and told it was the change of shift and it would be taken care of, but not right away. It continued until 2a. We are race runners and needed our rest not to mention our little ones kept waking up. Because of the room situation it involved our other groups room, therefore resulting in 3 out of our 4 rooms booked this stay. I called the next morning to ask if these people would be staying and if so we needed to get room changes. Understandably, these things happen but should have been taken care of prior to 2am. We come for the pool and whirlpools but disappointed to see the heated pool and our favorite whirlpool drained and unable to be use. We were told a hot water heater needed to be replaced and would take app 3 hours to repair and we would not have water. We had discussions with the management concerning this major issue and they were understanding and offered compensation, fortunately it was not necessary but none the less we left hotel and prepared for other arrangements. Although there were only other minor issues, we found the staff very friendly and understanding. We have always enjoyed this hotel and will look forward to staying again next year. Adjustments should be made when booking a 2 br suite, as we were charged separately for each room. I believe the 2 room suite would have been less expensive than the so called adjoining rooms. Overall a nice trip for us, just a little expensive.

Everything was superb! I can not wait to return. It was home away from home. The full kitchen was magnificent! Our holiday was very special here.

600 Atlantic Ave Virginia Beach VA

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 2 outdoor pools

Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts places you within a 10-minute stroll of popular attractions such as JT's Grommet Island Park and Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum. This 124-room condo property welcomes guests with 2 outdoor pools and conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking. Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center and Ocean Breeze Waterpark are also nearby.


Rooms

All 124 air-conditioned condos provide microwaves, coffee makers, and safes. TVs come with cable channels and DVD players, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Phones and ironing boards are also standard.


Property features

Guests staying at Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts enjoy access to 2 outdoor pools, a fitness center, and 2 spa tubs. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and express check-out.

Room options

1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

2 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts

Everyone (11) Couples (14) Business (2) Family (19) Other (3) Friends (2)
5

villa-like hotel close to the beach

Everyone

Enjoyed every bit of our experience here! Friendly and accommodating staff! Clean room. Facilities were in good condition. Although they had some construction going on, didn't hear it at all during the evening or night (we were two doors down from the site). The location of the hotel was terrific too. Trolley had a stop right outside the hotel, but close enough to walk to shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again!

By , from D.C. on Jul 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2017

Thank you got your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our property and look forward to welcoming you back home to Turtle Cay Resort. Best regards Joan

5
Everyone

There was mildew on the jet stream in the bath tub and the border in the kitchen corner kept falling off.

By on Jun 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you letting us know about the issues you experienced during your stay so that we can immediately address them. We apologize for any inconvenience these items may have caused you. We hope you come to stay with us again soon!

5

kid friendly

Everyone

Staff is very pleasent management doing excelllent in all phases

By , from prince william,viginia on Jun 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words! Our staff will be pleased to hear them. We look forward to welcoming you home in the future!

4

window replacement

Everyone

The resort needs to replace Windows to be sound proof and bath tub updated.

By , from Virginia Beach on Jun 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2017

Thank you for your suggestions. We hope that overall you enjoyed your stay and return in the future!

5

awesome mini vacation

Everyone

Enjoyed the pool and the suite at Turtle Cay. The staff was great especially checking into the hotel.

By on Jun 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2017

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your return trip.

5

no maid service?

Everyone

I sayed from thur to monday and not one day did anyone come check on us. No new towels no floor cleaning or bed change. It was annoying and frustrating.

By , from virginia on Mar 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 30, 2017

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Please accept our apologies for any confusion in regards to the housekeeping polices. Unfortunately we do not offer complimentary housekeeping services for stays shorter than five night. We hope that you will give us a chance to improve your impression on a future stay.

4

ok stay

Everyone

Good stay. I would recommend Turtle Cay Resorts. The furniture was the only thing that was very disappointing. It was very, very worn.

By , from Norfork on Feb 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We would like to apologize for your disappointment in the furniture. We hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

4

good hotel to relax.

Everyone

It was nice place to relax for a night. Most of all heater was works well as well as fireplace to warm the rooms up.

By on Jan 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 14, 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort and we are very pleased that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us.

1

terrible. will never recommended.

Everyone

Upon checking in the desk attendant told us our room number and gave us a key. We proceeded to "our" room only to open the door to a room that was already occupied. Luckily the people were freaked out but not aggressive. Come to find out others in our party we're able to use their keys to open each others doors and one found a key on the ground that would later open her door... is this place giving everyone a master key??

By , from Virginia Beach on Jan 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you had a less than enjoyable stay. We greatly apologize for the error that caused you to check into an occupied unit. We recognize that to be an uncomfortable situation for both parties. We can assure you that we take the security of our master keys and the resort as a whole very seriously. Guests can request for keys to open multiple doors as large families and groups often do.

1

worst resorts i have ever been to!

Everyone
We had a puddle of water in the kitchen This is a puddle of water right outside the entrance to our room That's the carpet All this this was coming into our room

I had the worst experience someone can possibly have at a resort. When arriving to turtle cay from a seven hour drive from New York, we are told that we can not stay there because our room wasn't in " condition to be a occupied" but we believe they gave our room away. When we had reserved months ago.. We we're then sent to ocean beach club. Now this just complicated our stay because we were givin a room with leakage problems. They kept us in this room and did not even bother to take a look to what was going on. I went to the front desk and ask for a manager, the manager never came out to talk to us personally what's so ever. Then they put us in a temporary room. When we we're told to go back to our room it wasn't even ready... The machinery was still in the room we had to put the machinery out ourselves. After all of this they still manage to put a charge on our credit card and not even inform us of the charge. I was overwhelm staying with diamond resort instead of being a relaxing vacation it was a disaster!!!

By , from m on Jul 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review both Turtle Cay Resort and Ocean Beach Club. Due to unfortunate circumstances, we were unable to accommodate you and your family here at Turtle Cay Resort. I’m sorry to hear that your relocation to Ocean Beach Club was anything other than seamless and enjoyable. We have reached out to the management team at Ocean Beach Club and you were issued a full refund via Expedia. We hope to welcome you and your family back to a Diamond Resort in the future!