Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Meager services. Uninformed staff. This is all I have to say.

Im not the one to complain but Housekeeping Dept really need to do better when it comes to cleaning & inspecting the rooms. Duvets were dirty as if they was not changed from previous guest and found mike & ike candies throughout the room on the floor.

The hotel Had a lot of finish issued such as missing can lights and face plates for switches that were not attached. It is an older hotel but the upkeep to details could be better

Nice centrally located hotel right on the waterfront looking over Portsmouth and the General Dynamics shipyard with Navy ships in there, very cool. It was also right next to Waterside with a number of restaurant choices. Would stay there again

Hotel is too far from the beach. It would take about 30 minutes to go to the beach. Room is nice and clean and housekeeping staff are friendly and helpful.

Pros: The hotel is close to most of the activities available at the harbor and the city. I would recommend this hotel if you are exploring Norfolk for the first time. The hotel is well located. Cons: Restaurant and Club room services are understaffed and lower quality than advertised. We payed extra to have access to the club room which includes Continental Breakfast and its not worth it. I had better experience in other more affordable hotels who have less brand recognition. Their breakfast is compose 3 options of fruits, microwavable oatmeal, and scramble eggs, vegetables and meat mixed. We started with the fruits and they tasted so rancid that we couldn't eat anything else. We couldn't believe how bad the taste was and we lost the appetite and trust of the food offered. Once the appetite came back we ate breakfast in a restaurant in the city. I would not recommend to eat at the restaurant. They were so understaffed that every worker avoid you so you don't ask them anything.

The hotel was very nice. Staff was very accomodating and friendly. Restaurant was delicious.

Airport hotels should serve breakfast early enough to allow departures. If the airport shuttle starts at 6, you’d think you could get SOMETHING if you paid for breakfast.

Dated exterior but renovated lobby and rooms. Staff was welcoming and knowledgeable. Beds and sheets were high quality and comfortable with numerous pillows. Furniture, paint, carpet, TV and fixtures seemed newer. Decor was pleasing. Bathroom was large and newer. Water front rooms have windows which are not floor to ceiling. In order to view the water, one must stand at the window. You cannot sit at the desk, chair or bed and see the water. Bathrobe was not included. Continental breakfast was not included.

Drove my son back from Northern VA to ODU and stayed here overnight. Front desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful. Room was spacious and clean and bed was great. A little outdated facade, but otherwise a pleasant stay for overnight

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Had a nice view of the harbor. Only downside is no onsite parking. Valet parking for a fee or park in deck which is only a block away for a fee as well.

Splurge and get the Club floor! Quiet retreat, great rooms and veiw, free brealfast and snacks in Club room.

This hotel is in a great location. You can walk pretty much anywhere downtown. There are great restaurants in the movies....we walked to a theater. Truly accessible. Great stay.

i stayed while my son was in the hospital. It was so comfortable and luxurious. The bed was so comfortable.

Attended a drug enforcement agency conference on drug diversion for pharmacists.

Not a good stay great location a lot of loud lewd noises in the hall nice rooms nice staff

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed. I look forward to staying here again.

Definitely met my expectations! Will consider again if needing a hotel in that area. Very clean and comfortable.

Waterside Dr Norfolk VA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Norfolk Scope
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Norfolk Scope is a short stroll from Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, and other popular attractions like Norfolk State University are within a couple of miles (3 km). This 3.5-star hotel has 468 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room. For your convenience, breakfast is available for a fee.


Rooms

All 468 air-conditioned rooms feature coffee makers, free newspapers, and safes. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 26-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding. Phones, ironing boards, and desks are also standard.


Property features

Guests staying at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Parking is available for USD 13.00 per day (USD 26 per day for valet parking), and there's also a train station shuttle. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and concierge services. Additional amenities include a conference center, a 24-hour business center, and a computer station.

Room options

Club Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony, City View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Club Room, 2 Queen Beds, Business Lounge Access, Harbor View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Club Suite, 1 King Bed, Business Lounge Access, City View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Harbor View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Everyone (11) Couples (24) Business (14) Family (9) Other (8) Friends (3)
4
Everyone

By on Dec 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 16, 2019

Thank you for rating us so highly. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

2
Partner Couples Business Business

Meager services. Uninformed staff. This is all I have to say.

By on Dec 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2019

I regret that your stay didn't reflect our high standards. Thank you for the feedback and we hope you'll give us another chance to improve your impression of us!

1
Everyone

Im not the one to complain but Housekeeping Dept really need to do better when it comes to cleaning & inspecting the rooms. Duvets were dirty as if they was not changed from previous guest and found mike & ike candies throughout the room on the floor.

By on Dec 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 3, 2019

It's disappointing to hear that your experience with us fell short of our high standards, and I'd like to apologize. I will share your feedback with the housekeeping supervisor to be sure that your concerns are addressed. We hope you'll give us another chance to improve your impression of us!

5
Everyone

By on Sep 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2019

Thank you very much for your five-star rating and hope it won’t be long before we are welcoming you back to make more memories with us!

3
Family

The hotel Had a lot of finish issued such as missing can lights and face plates for switches that were not attached. It is an older hotel but the upkeep to details could be better

By on Feb 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

We appreciate the helpful feedback from your recent stay. I will share your comments with the maintenance team, and we hope you enjoy an improved experience on your next visit!

5
Everyone

Nice centrally located hotel right on the waterfront looking over Portsmouth and the General Dynamics shipyard with Navy ships in there, very cool. It was also right next to Waterside with a number of restaurant choices. Would stay there again

By , from MA - Massachusetts on Jul 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2018

Thank you. Come stay with us again.

2

during our 2 day stay, the swimming pool is closed

Everyone

Hotel is too far from the beach. It would take about 30 minutes to go to the beach. Room is nice and clean and housekeeping staff are friendly and helpful.

By on Jul 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2018

Thank you for your response. We have a few Marriott properties that are closer to the beach area. Just in case you want to come back and enjoy the beach area.

4

comfort and great location

Everyone

Pros: The hotel is close to most of the activities available at the harbor and the city. I would recommend this hotel if you are exploring Norfolk for the first time. The hotel is well located. Cons: Restaurant and Club room services are understaffed and lower quality than advertised. We payed extra to have access to the club room which includes Continental Breakfast and its not worth it. I had better experience in other more affordable hotels who have less brand recognition. Their breakfast is compose 3 options of fruits, microwavable oatmeal, and scramble eggs, vegetables and meat mixed. We started with the fruits and they tasted so rancid that we couldn't eat anything else. We couldn't believe how bad the taste was and we lost the appetite and trust of the food offered. Once the appetite came back we ate breakfast in a restaurant in the city. I would not recommend to eat at the restaurant. They were so understaffed that every worker avoid you so you don't ask them anything.

By , from North Carolina on Jul 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I will share with the departments that were mentioned.

4
Everyone

The hotel was very nice. Staff was very accomodating and friendly. Restaurant was delicious.

By on May 10, 2018

3

hungry traveler

Everyone

Airport hotels should serve breakfast early enough to allow departures. If the airport shuttle starts at 6, you’d think you could get SOMETHING if you paid for breakfast.

By , from msine on Jan 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2018

We are not an airport hotel and we do not have airport shuttle. Is this review for Sheraton Norfolk?

Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

777 Waterside Dr, Norfolk, VA 23510
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Norfolk---Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Sheraton-Norfolk-Waterside-Hotel.h11622-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Norfolk---Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Sheraton-Norfolk-Waterside-Hotel.h11622-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "https://www.orbitz.com/Norfolk---Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Sheraton-Norfolk-Waterside-Hotel.h11622-p2.Hotel-Reviews". java.io.FileNotFoundException: https://www.orbitz.com/Hotel-Reviews