Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

had to climb over snow to get to room very dangerous for handicap guests. Heat thermo would not shut when set on auto. had to get up and thurn off manually.

All rooms are outside, have to walk a good distance in the freezing cold to get to breakfast room. Breakfast so-so but seemed to run out if not already empty on most items, staff gets in no hurry to replenish items, alot of standing around.

Bathrooms needed rennovation and needs new shower curtains.

On August 23rd we booked a room through Priceline. When we went to check in at the hotel an hour later, we were turned away. The hotel forgot to update the third party booking sites when they sold out. They informed me I wasn't the only one who would be turned away upon arrival. I had a baby and toddler who had just traveled all day. It was awful. No apology, no explanation. Fast forward to September 15th. We booked this time on Orbitz. I was worried we would be turned away again, but by the time we decided we would be stopping for the night there wasn't much else available. The check in and parking was effortless. The beds were comfortable. The rooms decor was pleasing. The bad: there was a public hair on the toilet seat and another piece of garbage that makes me question if the bathroom was cleaned between guests. Also, the vanity counter outside the bathroom felt like a dirty kitchen counter. I have stayed at this location on several locations in prior years. This year, was by far the most disappointing.

Hotel was a bit expensive for the type of facility, but it was a holiday weekend. It was walkable to downtown, less than 1/2 mile.

Close to a grocery store. No coffee maker in the room but coffee and tea in the lobby.

Arrived at room to find door propped open (to air out?). Room was ok but cleaning not complete in bathroom. Dirty floor and old used soap in the shower. Arm chair in room was stained. Not up to our expectation for Red Lion.

Dirty rooms. Walked out. Orbitz did not refund us for our 3 night stay.

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is close to river and the hike that goes beside the river. The room was clean. The AC was too noisy though and we preferred to keep it off. I was not able to watch cable channels on TV. It seemed that all channels were local. There was a guide of the channels in front of the TV but I was not able to watch them. Their breakfast was not good enough. I stayed at other hotels that serve continental breakfast. In comparison to other places I have been, their breakfast options are limited. The weekend we traveled to Missoula (Late June) most hotel were sold out and we paid $130 per night. I think it was overpriced. All other hotels in town were pretty much expensive too. In other areas of the country you could find much better hotels at this price.

For the price, this room was not very well maintained.. Beds and bathroom clean, but carpets and furniture stained.

Okay for an overnight stay. Room had musty smell. Stairwells a mess. Breakfast was good.

Friendly staff and great experience! I stayed a quick trip overnight and it was the perfect location!

Heaters in rooms were being replaced and had space heaters. Did not wish to have space heater and potential fire - dear friend just died in fire related to space heater!! Room had dusty and stained furniture - something in room caused my husband and I sinus congestion and coughing throughout night. Very uncomfortable. Would not stay at Red Lion Inn again.

Our room was large. Beds were comfortable. Heater worked well and was not too noisy. The breakfast was good. All the staff were very friendly. Our only complaint was that our shower only had a dribble of flow on the hot water side. We reported this to the front desk and they said they would fix it.

The best feature of this hotel is it's proximity to downtown. That's about it. It's a very tired facility, and the housekeeping is less than satisfactory. The carpet is worn and dirty, and the dirt and dustballs is a real turnoff. For the money they charged, I expected at least a clean room...

We stayed here after arriving late to Missoula. Check in was quick and easy. Nice hot breakfast was a good start to the day!

The bathroom wasn't working. I can only assume why? Other than that, everything was good!

The hotel is older and needs some updating. Air conditioner doesn't keep room cool enough. Not enough seating in breakfast area although food is very good . Desk service is slow both for check in and check out.

Drove into Missoula after a long day on the road and first impression was not a good one. Vacant run down restaurant at entrance, hotel looked like it was a lot older than it probably was. Lady at desk was very friendly and helpful. Got to room and was surprised that it looked like it hadn’t been updated since the 80’s except for the flat screen tv. Getting ready to retire for night found that the room phone didn’t work trying to set wakeup call. Then tried to set radio alarm found that it wasn’t working either. Night clerk brought us another clock radio it was new in box and it did not work either.

Stayed here with our 1 year old grandson. Room was great - had a crib, and a nice warm pool. Poll was a bit cloudy but that was no concern. Did not have the breakfast, but it looked quite good. Definitely a solid value.

700 W Broadway St Missoula MT

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula places you next to St. Patrick Hospital and within a 10-minute walk of Children's Museum Missoula. This 76-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. It's in central Missoula and also a short walk from Dana Gallery and A Carousel for Missoula.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free hot/cold buffet breakfast.


Rooms

Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula's 76 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free bottled water, and ironing boards. TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Rooms also include desks.


Property features

Guests staying at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking and an area shuttle for a fee. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a meeting room, a business center, and a seasonal outdoor pool.

Room options

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula

Everyone (24) Couples (32) Business (11) Family (10) Other (9) Friends (4)
3

snow removal

Couples

had to climb over snow to get to room very dangerous for handicap guests. Heat thermo would not shut when set on auto. had to get up and thurn off manually.

By on Jan 11, 2018

2

not a good winter hotel

Everyone

All rooms are outside, have to walk a good distance in the freezing cold to get to breakfast room. Breakfast so-so but seemed to run out if not already empty on most items, staff gets in no hurry to replenish items, alot of standing around.

By , from missoula, MT on Dec 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2018

Thank you for choosing to leave a review of your stay. While we can not change the general layout of our property, it is our aim to provide excellent service to all of our guests. I am sorry that we we unable to provide you with a tasty and hot breakfast, and that our staff was not quick to replenish the breakfast buffet. We will be doing what we can to make the needed improvements. Thanks again for your time, have a great day.

3

hotel cleanliness

Everyone

Bathrooms needed rennovation and needs new shower curtains.

By , from Shelby, MT on Sep 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 4, 2017

We want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Good or bad it helps us to improve or to praise our employees when needed. Please remember no matter where you choose to stay if something is not right with your room upon check in you need to contact the front desk immediately so that they can take the steps to make sure you have a enjoyable experience while on your trip away from home.

2

overbooked the first time then dirty room the next

Everyone

On August 23rd we booked a room through Priceline. When we went to check in at the hotel an hour later, we were turned away. The hotel forgot to update the third party booking sites when they sold out. They informed me I wasn't the only one who would be turned away upon arrival. I had a baby and toddler who had just traveled all day. It was awful. No apology, no explanation. Fast forward to September 15th. We booked this time on Orbitz. I was worried we would be turned away again, but by the time we decided we would be stopping for the night there wasn't much else available. The check in and parking was effortless. The beds were comfortable. The rooms decor was pleasing. The bad: there was a public hair on the toilet seat and another piece of garbage that makes me question if the bathroom was cleaned between guests. Also, the vanity counter outside the bathroom felt like a dirty kitchen counter. I have stayed at this location on several locations in prior years. This year, was by far the most disappointing.

By on Sep 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 14, 2017

We want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Good or bad it helps us to improve or to praise our employees when needed. We're very sorry to hear you were turned away in August, I just came on board September 20th so hopefully no one ever experiences what happened to you in when you booked your stay in August. We are happy to hear that you did give us another chance in September & I will be working closely with all employees to make sure everything is up to the highest standards. Without our customers feedback we become complacent & think everything is fine. We truly hope that you give us another chance. Please remember no matter where you choose to stay if something is not right with your room upon check in you need to contact the front desk immediately so that they can take the steps to make you have a enjoyable experience while on your trip away from home. Have a Great Day!

3

good option on holiday weekend

Everyone

Hotel was a bit expensive for the type of facility, but it was a holiday weekend. It was walkable to downtown, less than 1/2 mile.

By , from Arizona on Sep 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 14, 2017

We want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Good or bad it helps us to improve or to praise our employees when needed.

4

nice location and friendly staff

Everyone

Close to a grocery store. No coffee maker in the room but coffee and tea in the lobby.

By , from Montana on Aug 17, 2017

3

room condition

Everyone

Arrived at room to find door propped open (to air out?). Room was ok but cleaning not complete in bathroom. Dirty floor and old used soap in the shower. Arm chair in room was stained. Not up to our expectation for Red Lion.

By , from spokane, wa on Jul 31, 2017

1

don't be fooled by nice lobby photo

Everyone

Dirty rooms. Walked out. Orbitz did not refund us for our 3 night stay.

By , from Philadelphia on Jul 10, 2017

4

good hotel near river

Everyone

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is close to river and the hike that goes beside the river. The room was clean. The AC was too noisy though and we preferred to keep it off. I was not able to watch cable channels on TV. It seemed that all channels were local. There was a guide of the channels in front of the TV but I was not able to watch them. Their breakfast was not good enough. I stayed at other hotels that serve continental breakfast. In comparison to other places I have been, their breakfast options are limited. The weekend we traveled to Missoula (Late June) most hotel were sold out and we paid $130 per night. I think it was overpriced. All other hotels in town were pretty much expensive too. In other areas of the country you could find much better hotels at this price.

By , from San Francisco on Jul 5, 2017

2

dissappointed

Everyone

For the price, this room was not very well maintained.. Beds and bathroom clean, but carpets and furniture stained.

By on Jul 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 7, 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are in the process of working with new management and accommodating those material and property upgrades. We thank you for your business and hope you will visit us again soon.