The Falstaff Hotel3.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
Stayed here after a wedding in Canterbury. The staff are friendly and communal areas nice. However the places needs gutting. We paid £125 for a night with breakfast on a Friday. Our room was big but that was where the positives end. The bathroom had mould in the grout, the bath cover was coming off and chipped. The bathroom had seen better days and I'd be embarrassed if it was in my grandmothers house! The Windows had thick old fashioned heavy curtains, big old sofa and carpet. I didn't want to touch anything as just seemed old and horrid. Places like this are tourist traps.... a few nice photos but most the rooms are dreadful. AVOID.
I stayed in this hotel in 2015 and also again last year. Never had an issue. However our recent stay was everything but perfect. The cosy double rooms are cosy. Ok 125.00 a night, I have had a bigger room in other hotels. It was clean. On showering to go out for the evening, the shower was not working, only cold water was coming out of the shower. Then part of the shower fell off into the shower. My husband very upset went to reception to ask to speak to the manager. A lady came to our room accompanied by a young man. She tested the shower and could find no problem with showering in this temperature of water and tepid was ok to shower in. She then mentioned that the shower dial that tells you if you are using hot or cold water is opposite to what it should be, if you want hot you push it towards cold and if you want cold you push it towards hot. Thank god it was not a child in that room. After a very unhelpful exchange of words , with us getting no where and no apology for the broken shower or the tepid water , the young lady then accused us of disturbing other guests. I even asked the young man to get in the shower and feel the water. At that point they both left the room saying that the manager was not about and that was it. and we was being very rude and aggressive A few minutes later House keeping bought more towels. Helpful when you cant shower. There was a fan in the room which was not pat tested, there was carpet up on stair way, causing a trip hazard, There was major issues with the fire escape routes. After dressing for dinner, we knocked for our friends to go our for dinner, we apologised to them if they heard any exchange of words as they was next door to us. They never heard a word. But after joining them in their room and shutting the door, the handle came off in my hand from the inside. You had to poke the handle back into the holder and hold it fixed in place before you could get out the door. We took the said door handle to reception, where the young lad was. After showing him the pictures of the fire escape issues and showing him the handle, he was not the slight bit helpful. We asked to speak to the manager, but they were not about. Can we speak to the lady who we spoke to earlier. She was not answering her phone. After at this point a heated conversation, we left the hotel to have our meal. The young lad said that he would fix the door handle, ready for our return. Ten minute's later into our dinner, we get a phone call form the lady, to say that we had 30 minutes to exit the hotel otherwise they would call the police. my husband had to go back and empty our room and put all our stuff into our friends room. After dinner we left the hotel, only to find that the door handle had not been fixed, when this was mentioned to the young lad, he said you just have to put it back and you would be able to get out. So lets have an for instance.... you go away in this hotel room with a child, the child takes the broken door handle and places it somewhere in the room without your knowledge ( kids love to play ) . A fire breaks out, you can not find the broken door handle and you have no means of escape. But staff at the Falstaff have no concern for their guests safety. the staff behind the bar were lovely, the young girl who we saw when we first came in , she was friendly. The lad behind reception and the lady who was supposed to be in a managerial position was in the wrong job. Never will I visit this hotel. A family member who had previously booked this hotel has since cancelled, There are far more better hotels in Canterbury than the Falstaff.
This is my second time staying here. First time was lovely. This time I went with my husband and another couple. The room we was given was very small with a view of the fire escape. On opening the door to vacate the room the door handle came off in my hand. Lucky I had the door open otherwise we would not have been able to have gotten out. The couple we were with had the room next door. Their shower had broken and they could only get scalding water or freezing. They went down to discuss the problem at the desk and the duty manager at the time was extremely rude. They were told to get out. We left the hotel. We were looking forward to a nice weekend in Canterbury and it was spoilt by the rudeness of the management of this hotel,
This is a really lovely hotel in a superb location in the beautiful city of Canterbury and is a comfortable 4/5. There is free parking for guests and the rooms are on two sites; the main hotel building and a separate block to the rear acrosss the car park. Check-in was straight forward and you do get the impression that the staff are genuine in their desire to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I saw rooms in both the main hotel and the separate block to the rear, some of which were either being fitted out or upgraded to a high standard. Some of the rooms are spacious but all are tastefully decorated in this quaint and historical building. My room was smaller than others and this meant that the tastefully chosen soft furnishing whilst providng a homely and lovely feel tend to become in the way and a nuisance. Just my view. The lounge areas are beautiful and inviting and the bar seems to be quite popular. The hotel does not have a restaurant but the staff are happy to recommend local restaurants which are very close by. My stay was however tainted by my room allocation as it was on the ground floor, looking onto the main street and directly on the pavement. The windows are single glazed sash windows and the street is absolutely full of bars and restaurants and the hotel is next door to the popular Bishop's Finger Public House. Because of this you will hear every noise and conversation until this busy street has gone to bed but on my stay I was awoken by the dustbin lorry emptying bins of bottles, rubbish etc at 6am. Immediately after this the Bishop's Finger received a beer delivery with the draymen manoeuvring the empty barrels and delivering fresh ones only a few metres from the bed. This would not deter me from staying at this hotel as there are too many positives but I would not elect to stay in this room again and I would perhaps question whether its proximity to the street should disqualify it from being used as a bedroom. Breakfast was excellent and the choice was adequate for a smaller hotel. The majority of guests will thoroughly enjoy their stay at this hotel as did my colleague and I think it would be harsh to score this hotel less thasn 4/5 but I would insist on a room away from the main road.
Friendly, helpful, exceptional service. Comfortable rooms in a tranquil setting. Walking distance to everything. Breakfast to die for. If you pass up on this hotel, it is to your loss. I can't wait to come back.
Upon entering the Falstaff you will soon realize that they consider you their guest and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The building is old and quirky but very nice and plush with sitting rooms and a large bar. The television worked great and the wifi strong. Breakfast was perfect and even after checkout, they allowed us to store our bags while we met up with friends. The staff is top notch!
I'd been looking forward to staying in the Falstaff as we were in Canterbury for a friend's wedding. The communal areas / bar are great and I was excited to see my room. Unfortunately it was very underwhelming, small and in need of major updating, it's hard to believe it was part of the same hotel! After a meal out on my first night I arrived back to the car park to find all the spaces full. There was a space in the car park up against a skip which left room for a car and for people to get out and in so I left it there. I couldn't believe it when someone knocked on my door at 5.45 in the morning until I woke up to make me move it (as they had deliveries coming apparently) I can't see how it was in the way at all as there was clearly space for vehicles to get past. I had to pay for the pay and display car park opposite. No apology for waking me or the fact that there was not enough space which was rude. When you have a toddler at home and are pregnant, the idea of a lie in at a hotel without being woken up was a real treat. Unfortunately this really ruined the trip for me. The breakfast was average and not what I'd describe as one of the best in Canterbury. I'd have preferred more fresh fruit. Overall, the stay was let down by lack of parking, being woken before 6 by rude staff and a dated and small room.
Without a doubt, this hotel is in an excellent location for the theatre, shops, cathedral canal trips etc, and is only a 30 minute walk to the St. Lawrence ground if you are in Canterbury to watch cricket. We booked this hotel through a BuyaGift.com voucher given to me as a gift but research shows the room we had would be £140 per night for bed & breakfast. I am sorry but the hotel is not that special and certainly not worth that much - it is average at a luxury price. While one or two members of staff were very friendly and helpful (the receptionist who helped us get parked when we arrived and the barman who served my coffee and Amaretto!), the rest were anything but. The breakfasts were nice with a selection of cereals, fruit, pastries etc, and good quality ingredients cooked well but spoiled a little by crockery and cutlery not being cleared from the table when finished with. The waitresses however were perfectly pleasant. We had one of the feature rooms which was spacious, although not particularly well cleaned, and had a very comfortable bed. It overlooked the street and was therefore a little noisy on the first of our two nights here - on the second night however, it was a very different story. The hotel website states "The bar opens out onto a pretty outdoor terrace where guests can enjoy a drink in the summer months" but this is not necessarily when they want to. We had been out for the evening and, on returning to the hotel around 10.20 p.m. decided to have a drink out on this terrace (as we had the evening before at the same time). A very unpleasant member of staff told me that the terrace closed at 10 p.m. because of guests in the rooms overlooking it being disturbed. A lengthy 'discussion' took place about this hotel law before a compromise was reached. Having finished our drinks we went up to bed only to be kept awake for well over an hour by the music from the hotel bar below us and noisy customers drinking out in the street!! We mentioned this when we checked out and the Receptionist was unable to give any explanation as to why it was unacceptable for two people to sit on the terrace quietly enjoying a drink in case we disturbed someone, but it was perfectly acceptable for the hotel's music and bar customers to disturb others. I have to say that the poor value for money, the attitude of most of the staff and the double standards policy in relation to guests, combine to make this a hotel that I would neither recommend nor return to.
I have known this hotel all my life but never stayed here because I originally lived in Canterbury. It has been modernised and the bedrooms are being upgraded at the moment. We stayed in the annexe (room 41) and when this is upgraded it will be a lovely room. At the moment it is very tired indeed although they have done the bathroom already which is very good except it lacks anywhere for putting toiletries. There is room for a narrow floor standing shelf system and it would certainly be a welcome addition
This hotel for £120 a night is far to much. The room was absolutely filthy,the carpet was filthy and had a hole covered by a rug. Everything in the room was covered in dust. The bathroom stunk. Was a total waist of money we have stayed in better for less.
- Walking distance to Canterbury Cathedral
- Free full breakfast
- Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
- Free parking
Canterbury Cathedral is a short stroll from The Falstaff Hotel, and other popular attractions like St. Martin's Church are within a mile (2 km). This 46-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Centrally located in Canterbury, the hotel is also a short walk from Marlowe Theatre and St. Dunstan's Church.
Free full breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service, or make new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge.
All 46 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free newspapers, and ironing boards. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Desks are also standard.
At The Falstaff Hotel, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and free newspapers. Free parking is available if you drive. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with luggage storage and securing valuables. This smoke-free hotel also has a fireplace in the lobby.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
79% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 1082 reviews