Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Cottonwood Suites Westminster

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The front desk help was very friendly & pleasant. The rest of the workers at the hotel were not with the exception of one person in housekeeping that actually smiled & acknowledged our existence & the lady in charge of the breakfast bar was very helpful & pleasant when I was struggling w/hot drinks machine. everyone else that was working there during our stay did not make eye contact or greet us. But maybe I should not expect more than that in a big city. Our room was clean & comfortable & I appreciated the kitchenette in our room. The only drawback to our room was the thinness of the walls. I literally could follow parts of the conversation of the guests staying in the room next door to us. Thankfully, they were not having a loud or heated conversation or disruptive. If we would have had more rambunctious neighbors we would not have been able to sleep. Only other disappointing part of our stay was the lack of fresh fruit in the continental breakfast. I did show up for breakfast with only an hour left before breakfast was done so maybe there was fruit earlier. With this hotel, you get what you pay for. If you are on a budget, this hotel is for you. Just bring your ear plugs & some fruit for just in case.

While the room was clean and sufficient for our stay, the walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbors conversations clearly and after repeated complaints about the children in the room above us jumping all day and all night through, we were moved to another room by unpleasant staff who acted as if we were putting them out as we stood there sleep deprived, only to be placed under another room full of loud kids. Would never bother with this one again.

When checking in the entire 1st floor smelled like rotten eggs. The hotel clerk said it might be his food but the small was not just near the front desk it was over the entire 1st floor. Other guests were complaining as well. Thankfully my room is located on the second floor. I’ve stayed there several times and didn’t have issues before so I’m hoping this was a one time deal. The staff is usually very nice as well. The location is nice. Within walking distance to several restaurants and very close to the interstate.

Bed was horrible to sleep on. Had shoulder and back pain in the morning. No ice or vending machines other than the main floor.

Great staff service, clean but basic room, superb breakfast. I’ll likely be back.

Clean, plenty of space in the room, and comfy bed!

Very clean small rooms new furniture and staff is nice. Good breakfast

This was a nice hotel off of the main road. Plenty of parking, friendly staff, clean interior and exterior. Room was clean and spacious.

Stopped on a one night stay on the way thru denver. Nice staff and good clean room. Nice free cookie when we checked in, and a really pretty nice spread for breakfast

Limited parking and only one way in makes for a long walk. Very clean rooms and staff was friendly.

Good food served on breakfast. Nice hotel location.

Firts time on our trip to Denver never again ugly nasty hotel i don't recoment this nasty mafia hotel staff at front desk manager and others are nasty families don't book in this hotel personal are nasty I have no words to describe the nasty experience we book a reservation the hotel cancel it and kick ous out police was involved They were laying invent history unprofessional we end up with a traspassin notice NEVER EVER AGAIN Yea I'm posting this I know they will deleted as there convinince also police in Denver are very nasty and intimidating

To begin, the deposit required on the room was more higher than the cost of the room itself. There was a giant burn mark in the carpet, hair in the tub, and the wall around trash can in kitchen not clean. The "kitchenette" had nary a paper plate. Nothing was provided except plastic water cups, the refrigerator was the only helpful amenity in the kitchen. The real bummer is that the neighbors may as well have been in the same room. They were speaking in normal tones and I could hear the entire conversation as if we were in the same room. Also, every time any of the surrounding rooms opened and closed their doors, there was a loud booming noise. Highly disappointed, and I would not ever recommend this hotel.

Everything worked out OK, but opting to pay cash seemed to create some confusion. Supposedly I got it at half the regular rate. (I can't supply any figures.)

Staff was extremely rude and discourteous. They are not empathetic to anyone's needs whatsoever. Rude!!!

Efficient place to stay near Denver/Boulder - affordable and clean, very friendly staff. There was a gym and laundry but no breakfast or coffee, which would have been nice. Short 5-min walk to a big grocery store and Starbucks.

Great place to stay, beds could have been bigger but overall good place to stay

Hotel is located in a beautiful area. Everything went very smoothly and the stay was excellent.

The good: Location is near several places to eat. The bad: When we arrived with 3 people they had us in a room with 1 bed...whenever we requested 2 beds. Walls are really thin and our neighbor were loud. Hallway always smelled bad. We booked through orbitz and paid in full for 4 nights....we were charged again by the hotel for 4 night which depleted our budget. When I talked to the manager about it she said they refunded it but the money didn't go back into my account until the day we left. The whole situation was really shady and the staff didn't seem to care that my account was charged twice...even the manager. There are many hotels in the area...I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

We checked in the hotel about 1:15 pm and were given room 130. We put our luggage and backpacks down and were headed out to our granddaughters 4th birthday in Thornton. As my husband and a I were walking down the hall I overheard one man ask the other what their room number was. You guessed it! It was 130. My husband and I turned around and followed the men. Their key opened our door and they proceeded in. I came behind them and said, " The people at the lobby must have given you the wrong room, because we already have our stuff here." They said okay because this is a room with a king bed and we wanted two double beds. We all went back to the lobby and explained what happened. The guy behind the desk apologized and said he did not know how this happened. My fear is what would have happened if we would have already left and the people assigned to our room go though our stuff ? Our reservation were set through Orbitz which was from the 5th through the 10th of July. I never received an explanation for why this happened.

12095 Mariposa Street Westminster CO

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour fitness center

Cottonwood Suites Westminster places you 10.8 mi (17.4 km) from Arvada Center for the Arts and Humanities. This 130-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi. Denver's Downtown Aquarium and Elitch Gardens Theme Park are also within a 20-minute drive.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free hot/cold buffet breakfast, served each morning from 6 AM to 9 AM.


Rooms

The 130 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchenettes with refrigerators and microwaves. Guests can expect free WiFi and 27-inch LCD TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, free long-distance calls, and free local calls are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Cottonwood Suites Westminster enjoy a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center. Free parking is available if you drive. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area and laundry facilities.

Guest reviews for Cottonwood Suites Westminster

Everyone (57) Business (9) Couples (20) Family (10) Other (16) Friends (4)
3
Everyone

The front desk help was very friendly & pleasant. The rest of the workers at the hotel were not with the exception of one person in housekeeping that actually smiled & acknowledged our existence & the lady in charge of the breakfast bar was very helpful & pleasant when I was struggling w/hot drinks machine. everyone else that was working there during our stay did not make eye contact or greet us. But maybe I should not expect more than that in a big city. Our room was clean & comfortable & I appreciated the kitchenette in our room. The only drawback to our room was the thinness of the walls. I literally could follow parts of the conversation of the guests staying in the room next door to us. Thankfully, they were not having a loud or heated conversation or disruptive. If we would have had more rambunctious neighbors we would not have been able to sleep. Only other disappointing part of our stay was the lack of fresh fruit in the continental breakfast. I did show up for breakfast with only an hour left before breakfast was done so maybe there was fruit earlier. With this hotel, you get what you pay for. If you are on a budget, this hotel is for you. Just bring your ear plugs & some fruit for just in case.

By , from Lincoln, NE on Apr 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2018

MIki, Thank you so much for this great feedback! We really appreciate you letting us know about the staff. Customer service is very important to us and we do know a smile and hello go a long way, so we will be sure to work with our housekeeping staff to make sure they are up to the same level as the rest of us. Our apologies for the lack of fresh fruit at breakfast as well. We do offer bananas, oranges and apples everyday as a part of our wonderful breakfast. We do tend to run out of these items at the end of breakfast because they are so popular. We will make sure to make our breakfast attendant Maria aware that she needs to stock them more often or even order more to keep up with demand. Again, thank you for this information and we will use it to make the necessary improvements to our staff and hotel so that you and our future guests can have a more pleasant and enjoyable experience.

2
Everyone

While the room was clean and sufficient for our stay, the walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbors conversations clearly and after repeated complaints about the children in the room above us jumping all day and all night through, we were moved to another room by unpleasant staff who acted as if we were putting them out as we stood there sleep deprived, only to be placed under another room full of loud kids. Would never bother with this one again.

By on Mar 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 26, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We are sorry that you were unhappy during your stay. As we begin our room refresh the noise level of the guest rooms is an area of focus for us. We really appreciate you letting us know, your feedback is very important us.

2

nothing fancy but clean and good for the price.

Everyone

When checking in the entire 1st floor smelled like rotten eggs. The hotel clerk said it might be his food but the small was not just near the front desk it was over the entire 1st floor. Other guests were complaining as well. Thankfully my room is located on the second floor. I’ve stayed there several times and didn’t have issues before so I’m hoping this was a one time deal. The staff is usually very nice as well. The location is nice. Within walking distance to several restaurants and very close to the interstate.

By on Mar 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 20, 2018

Thank you so much for your review!

2

not expected

Everyone

Bed was horrible to sleep on. Had shoulder and back pain in the morning. No ice or vending machines other than the main floor.

By , from thornton on Feb 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2018

Jerry, Thank you so much for your review and feedback! We are sorry that you were unhappy with the location of our ice machine and vending. As we begin our hotel refresh program it is our hopes to place more vending through out the hotel. Until then we have tried to make it similar on our guests by having all 3 machines located right by the elevator.

4

nice stay for reasonable $

Everyone

Great staff service, clean but basic room, superb breakfast. I’ll likely be back.

By , from CO on Jan 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 30, 2018

Greg, Thank you for the terrific review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! See you again next time!

5
Everyone

Clean, plenty of space in the room, and comfy bed!

By on Jan 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 23, 2018

Thank you for the great review and feedback!

5
Everyone

Very clean small rooms new furniture and staff is nice. Good breakfast

By on Nov 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 29, 2017

Thank you for your review!

5

wonderfully quiet

Everyone

This was a nice hotel off of the main road. Plenty of parking, friendly staff, clean interior and exterior. Room was clean and spacious.

By on Nov 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 26, 2017

Thank you for such an amazing review! We really enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon!

4
Everyone

Stopped on a one night stay on the way thru denver. Nice staff and good clean room. Nice free cookie when we checked in, and a really pretty nice spread for breakfast

By on Oct 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 16, 2017

Thank you so much for the great review!

4
Everyone

Limited parking and only one way in makes for a long walk. Very clean rooms and staff was friendly.

By on Sep 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 25, 2017

Thank you for the great review and rating! We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!