Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Very nice and clean! No complaints! Beds are super comfortable and air conditioner works great!

Nice to have a restaurant. Parts of the lobby area were cold/drafty.

Carpet in hallways and rooms was very dark and dark brown pattern - depressing and always looked dirty. No prepared restaurant recommendations with directions for guests. No free breakfast. Building, grounds and general public areas were very nice. They would not give me a receipt at check-out and would not mail me a receipt - said Orbitz would send me a receipt.

Excellent buffet breakfast included in the room cost.

the hotel and staff were everything I needed including close to my customer

We got a suite due to meeting our son, wife and 2 grandsons. It was excellent! The swimming area is great! We had a 1 & 2 year old with us and the little water play area was perfect! We had the breakfast buffet the following morning and it was great as well! Our server was really sweet and took good care of us. If we ever travel this way again, we will definitely stay at this hotel. We went at the first of November and the leaves were changing in the mountains....it was truly a sight to see! Thanks Holiday Inn for making this trip such a great memory for our family...

Staff in restaurant not very nice. Food was not good. Overpriced room

I stayed one night with my 3 almost 3 year-old daughter and we had a blast. The salt water pool with water features and hot tub were our favorite part, of course. The room was comfortable and well-appointed and the staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet is an extra $9.99 or you might be able to get it included with your room rate. I loved the buffet - fresh fruit, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausages, muffins and other breads.

Very difficult to locate with regard to the name listed (Charleston Conference Center). GPS and 411 information did not have it listed. Actual name was Ramada. The heating/AC was very noisy and the noise from nearby trains made sleeping difficult. The breakfast was complimentary and complete with eggs, potatoes, waffles, etc. The staff was very helpful.

My first stay to visit family. The Hotel was inexpensive, but the quality of service and amenities were way above the more fancy expensive hotels. Rooms were clean, staff was freindly, amenities plenty. The complimentrary breakfast was the icing on the cake. Some of the surrounding 5 star hotels did not give this. Free wifi was a bonus. I would stay there again with no hesitation, and recommend it to anyone I know that has intentions of visiting there.

I would recommend this hotel! Although the hotel was under renovation, it did not affect the quality of my stay. The room was nice and the staff were incredibly friendly. My only complaint was that the carpet could have been swept a little better and I had to wipe off something sticky from the desk. Overall it was clean and comfortable.

the hotel was not clean -nor was the room-we canceled our return trip to this hotel and will not ever stay there again

Travel for work

Attended meetings, and used their workout room, pool and hot tub. Breakfast each day was GREAT! Was surprised that I went 2 days without having room/towels tidied up.

it was a weekend get away that was great, we went to the comedy club one night i recommend if you are looking for something to do, try the comedy club out.. room was clean staff was great, bed comfortable, the only thing that was not up to par was the way the room was heated was not a central unit... it was the old style of controlling the temperature... a unit that was a little noise..

the hotel was quiet and clean, with modern style, the free breakfast was great and the staff were friendly

Decent hotel. First time I have ever encountered a hotel that placed a filter on internet sites you could visit. The desk had no way around it. Fine for some, but not for me. Had I known before I booked, I would have picked another hotel.

Second Ave South Charleston WV

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Free airport shuttle

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Charleston West places you within a 5-minute drive of Charleston Civic Center and within a 10-minute drive of other popular attractions like Charleston Town Center. This 3.5-star hotel has 150 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a restaurant, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. Start each morning off right with cooked-to-order breakfast served for a fee.


Rooms

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Charleston West's 150 heated rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free weekday newspapers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Charleston West have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free airport shuttle (available 24 hours). Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with securing valuables, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and an arcade/game room.

Room options

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (MOBILITY)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Suite, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Hearing)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Mobility)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Roll-In Shower)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Charleston West

Everyone (7) Business (8) Couples (4) Family (3) Other (1)
5
Partner Couples

Very nice and clean! No complaints! Beds are super comfortable and air conditioner works great!

By , from WV on Jun 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2020

Mary, Thank you so much for giving us a 5 out of 5. Please come back to see us again soon. Hope C., GM

4
Business Business

Nice to have a restaurant. Parts of the lobby area were cold/drafty.

By on Dec 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2019

I know when that door opens it is very cold in the Lobby when it is cold outside. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back.

5
Everyone

By on Dec 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2019

Thank you so much for your review of 5 out of 5. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return soon.

3
Family

Carpet in hallways and rooms was very dark and dark brown pattern - depressing and always looked dirty. No prepared restaurant recommendations with directions for guests. No free breakfast. Building, grounds and general public areas were very nice. They would not give me a receipt at check-out and would not mail me a receipt - said Orbitz would send me a receipt.

By on Sep 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 25, 2019

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our Holiday Inn & Suites is a full service hotel therefore we do not offer free breakfast. We are not allowed to give you a receipt when you book through a third party such as Orbitz or Expedia. We do not have a prepared restaurant recommendation because we hope that you will eat in our delicious restaurant on property. But the front desk is very knowledgeable and would have gladly offered suggestions. I hope that you will come back the next time you are in town.

4
Everyone

By on Sep 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 11, 2019

Thank you for your rating of 4 out of 5. We hope that you come back so we can earn a 5 out 5.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 11, 2019

Thank you very much for your rating of 5 out of 5. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

5
Everyone

Excellent buffet breakfast included in the room cost.

By on Jan 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2019

Thank you so much for your rating of 5 out of 5. I am very happy you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Please come back soon.

5

excellent motel

Everyone

the hotel and staff were everything I needed including close to my customer

By , from virginia on May 18, 2018

Review comment responded on May 24, 2018

Hi mik! We're happy to hear you enjoyed everything while you were with us! Thank you for the great comments.

5

top notch!!

Everyone

We got a suite due to meeting our son, wife and 2 grandsons. It was excellent! The swimming area is great! We had a 1 & 2 year old with us and the little water play area was perfect! We had the breakfast buffet the following morning and it was great as well! Our server was really sweet and took good care of us. If we ever travel this way again, we will definitely stay at this hotel. We went at the first of November and the leaves were changing in the mountains....it was truly a sight to see! Thanks Holiday Inn for making this trip such a great memory for our family...

By , from B on Nov 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 15, 2016

Dear Jami B, How sweet of you to share your positive comments on line. We appreciate the “Top Notch” distinction and are very glad the people and the amenities all met you and your family’s needs. We do hope you can come back again for another visit soon. Thanks again, S Arnold, GM

3
Everyone

Staff in restaurant not very nice. Food was not good. Overpriced room

By on Mar 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Apr 7, 2016

Dear Anonymous, I apologize for the issues you had with our Restaurant. I hope that you informed our Desk of the issues so they could be corrected, and we would love to show you that this is not a typical occurrence at our hotel.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Charleston West

400 Second Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Charleston-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Hotel-&-Suites-Charleston-West.h19760-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Charleston-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Hotel-&-Suites-Charleston-West.h19760-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Charleston-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Hotel-&-Suites-Charleston-West.h19760-p2.Hotel-Reviews