Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Overpriced, small room with refrigerator on an unreachable shelf (that also made a really horrible buzzing noise). Staff did not mind front desk and I had to wait 10 minutes for anyone to show up to check in. Keys instead of cards for rooms. And the worst was that EVERYTHING smelled like it had been sprayed with some kind of perfume - the sheets, the room (constantly being "refreshed" by some horrible air freshener), the towels - everything smelled like it was trying to cover something up. Plus, the bed was SMALL. I will never stay here again.

The value is excellent (locations vs. price). The location is perfect for using the Metro system from the airport to any location in the city.

Room had plenty of space; staff super friendly; quiet; great location

Disappointing, it's in a convenient downtown location but not especially close to any bars or nightlife. The entrance is in a restaurant so you have to walk through people dinging with your luggage when you arrive. The front desk hours are VERY limited and the staff was not very helpful, my room's toilet would't stop running at night but there was no number to call in the information book and no one at the front desk. The rooms and bathrooms are TINY and if there's a window it's looking to a brick wall, which makes it feel like you're in a closet. Definitely not worth the price, would not recommend staying here.

The attached restaurant and bar make it easy to grab a decent meal after your flight. Good location for access to Back Bay Boston. Staff is pleasant and room was clean. on the flip side, the room was very small and had a claustrophobic feel that makes it difficult to relax. If you just need a bed or don’t care about room size it will save you $100. If you need to relax or get work done In your room it’s a little cramped.

Phenomenal location! Close to Fenway; in the heart of Back Bay; $10 Uber ride to the North end of the city...at on the marathon finish line. Rooms are super small. Like hard to maneuver with two people small. They’re basically a bed and bathroom. Tried to check in early but made us wait until almost 3:00.

Nice hotel in a great location. Good for business travelers who just need a clean convenient place to stay for the night.

Right in center of everything!!! Shops and restaurants. I would stay again

Everything was nice. But they were out of basic amenities like toothpaste, which was disappointing

Location and staff are excellent. Right by tram station and at finish line of Boston marathon.

Super nice hotel in a fancy area of Boston (it'll be expensive to eat and shop nearby.) The aesthetics of the hotel are unique and reflective of the area which make it a cool, classy place to stay. Extremely clean, bar and restaurant, supportive staff.

Great location. Rooms quite small. Lobby shared with bar and restaurant. Chose for convenience, wasn't disappointed.

This hotel was quite unique since it was once a large home. The hallways contained original brick.

Great location for shopping ans sightseeing! Convenient pickup location for airport.

Great location, amazing front desk lady, nice breakfast, comfortable bed.

Nice place with good location and very friendly staff.

Boylston St Boston MA

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Newbury Street and Boston Public Library
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining

Located in Back Bay within a short walk of Northeastern University, Charlesmark Hotel is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Boston Common. This 40-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, a restaurant, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast served from 7:00 AM to 10:30 AM. Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

The 40 rooms have an array of amenities, including MP3 docks, free local calls, and free bottled water. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 49-inch LCD TVs with digital channels and DVD players. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding.


Property features

Guests of Charlesmark Hotel enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and coffee in a common area. Self parking is offered for USD 30 per day. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include express check-in, express check-out, and free newspapers.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Full Bed

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Traditional Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Queen Cabin (No Windows)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Charlesmark Hotel

Everyone (16) Couples (3) Family (4)
2
Business Business

Overpriced, small room with refrigerator on an unreachable shelf (that also made a really horrible buzzing noise). Staff did not mind front desk and I had to wait 10 minutes for anyone to show up to check in. Keys instead of cards for rooms. And the worst was that EVERYTHING smelled like it had been sprayed with some kind of perfume - the sheets, the room (constantly being "refreshed" by some horrible air freshener), the towels - everything smelled like it was trying to cover something up. Plus, the bed was SMALL. I will never stay here again.

By on Sep 25, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 3, 2021

Hi Katrina, Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with this valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t have a great experience – our mission is to provide excellent guest experiences, so we are sorry to have let you down. We have taken your feedback on board, and we will strive to make improvements accordingly. Best, The Charlesmark Hotel

4
Everyone

By on Aug 13, 2021

4
Everyone

By on Feb 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again the next time you're in Boston!

4
Business Business

The value is excellent (locations vs. price). The location is perfect for using the Metro system from the airport to any location in the city.

By on Jan 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 20, 2020

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a good time while you were here.

5
Partner Couples

Room had plenty of space; staff super friendly; quiet; great location

By on Dec 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2019

Thanks for your rating!

4
Everyone

By on Dec 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 4, 2019

Thanks for your rating.

3
Friends

Disappointing, it's in a convenient downtown location but not especially close to any bars or nightlife. The entrance is in a restaurant so you have to walk through people dinging with your luggage when you arrive. The front desk hours are VERY limited and the staff was not very helpful, my room's toilet would't stop running at night but there was no number to call in the information book and no one at the front desk. The rooms and bathrooms are TINY and if there's a window it's looking to a brick wall, which makes it feel like you're in a closet. Definitely not worth the price, would not recommend staying here.

By on Oct 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 9, 2019

Hi Anonymous, I am sorry that you did not experience a more friendly trip. I would like to correct a few things for others that may be reading your review. Our front desk is open 24 hours a day, if it is late they sometimes will step away to assist another guest or deliver items to rooms but they are always on property, You can dial 0 to reach them from house/room phone or call our main number from any cell phone. We have a few our our rooms that are larger and have larger beds than the style it sounds like you purchased. While Ora the restaurant directly nextdoor/attached does have patio dining we normally have the walk way very clear. If you give us more information about your stay, or communicate back to us, we may be able to look into the times you were arriving to help train the staff using the camera footage from your stay to show them why it needs to be more inviting at all times. Adam

3
Business Business

The attached restaurant and bar make it easy to grab a decent meal after your flight. Good location for access to Back Bay Boston. Staff is pleasant and room was clean. on the flip side, the room was very small and had a claustrophobic feel that makes it difficult to relax. If you just need a bed or don’t care about room size it will save you $100. If you need to relax or get work done In your room it’s a little cramped.

By on Oct 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. Our standard rooms are on the smaller side. In the future, if you would like a bit more space I would recommend booking our queen room. It is bigger and has much more desk space. We hope to see you again!

5
Partner Couples

Phenomenal location! Close to Fenway; in the heart of Back Bay; $10 Uber ride to the North end of the city...at on the marathon finish line. Rooms are super small. Like hard to maneuver with two people small. They’re basically a bed and bathroom. Tried to check in early but made us wait until almost 3:00.

By on Sep 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do try to accommodate guests who arrive before the 3pm check in, however that isn't always possible if the rooms are not ready.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 8, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you had an excellent stay!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Boston-Hotels-Charlesmark-Hotel.h845522-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Boston-Hotels-Charlesmark-Hotel.h845522-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Boston-Hotels-Charlesmark-Hotel.h845522-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions