Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Toilet was clogged. No soap in the bathrooms. Room was smelly. Overall hotel looked in bad shape

Great stay. No issues at all. Walking distance to restaurants, to Congress bridge and South Congress street shops and restaurants

Property was pleasantly clean all through out the building.

I always stay here when I come to Austin but this time was the worst. There were only 2 hand towels in the room, no trash can in the room, no cups in the room. The market in the lobby wasn't stocked and the coffee machine was broken. It only made a few drops of coffee. There was an empty bucket with a sign that read "we are out of creamers" attached to it. The trash cans in the lobby were spilling over. the landscaping out back by the pool was horrible, no upkeep at all. I hope they get this hotel back in order before I go back to stay again.

Parking was an extra $49. Valet parking ONLY. Elevators would not work properly when we would use them. View was nice. Rooms were clean. People who worked there were nice. Snacks in convenient area downstairs weren’t all that great :( not many options.

I enjoyed the kindness of the valet staff, however, with a $50/night rate, it was what I would expect. Nonetheless, it was very pleasant. The area had the stench of a dead animal which was pretty unpleasant around the pool area. Our room's shower did not operate properly which was very disappointing considering our expectations for a Hilton hotel. Overall, it was meh.

clean, nice location, great staff, good valet. good condition hotel. great

This hotel is TERRIBLE! Stay away from it! The hotel will charge you extra money for no reason without letting you know about it. When you call them, they will just hang off your phone. BAD SERVICE!

Hotel was fine... The restaurant upstairs is empty and the food comes out quickly so that was good... The conference room was awesome to use... Not a lot of people in there.

Location is not too far away from things. Quiet, after a long day.

I didn’t like that the waterfall wasn’t turned on at the pool

At the end of my stay, I inquired about an lost item (my jacket) and the desk clerk spent time asking the other staff and checking on different floors and it was found and given to me. It was wonderful customer service over and above what I had expected.

Very nice hotel. All the amenities you need and very friendly staff.

Friendly staff and pretty room. A little spendy for parking, but you're close to the freeway.

It was great. Possibly see myself staying at this hotel again.

$42 mandatory parking fee not listed on orbitz. The sink smelled gross the entire stay

N Interstate 35 Austin TX

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Sixth Street and Austin Convention Center
  • Free in-room wired Internet
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located in Downtown Austin within a short walk of Austin Convention Center, Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Austin Children's Museum. This 254-room, 3.5-star hotel has a restaurant and a bar/lounge, along with a 24-hour fitness center. It's connected to the convention center in central Austin and also close to Texas State Capitol and Long Center for the Performing Arts.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Cooked-to-order breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center's 254 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 42-inch TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi and free wired Internet. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include safes, phones, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center enjoy a 24-hour fitness center, WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Valet parking is offered for USD 49 per night. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with luggage storage, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and express check-out.

Room options

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Accessible (Mobility, Roll-in Shower)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Mobility, Roll-in Shower)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Everyone (21) Business (2) Couples (2) Family (6) Friends (2)
1
Family with small children

Toilet was clogged. No soap in the bathrooms. Room was smelly. Overall hotel looked in bad shape

By on Apr 16, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 26, 2021

Hello Anonymous. I am sorry you had a less than excellent stay. I have shared your feedback with my chief engineer to ensure these are resolved immediately.

5
Family

Great stay. No issues at all. Walking distance to restaurants, to Congress bridge and South Congress street shops and restaurants

By on Apr 10, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2021

Hello Anonymous, Thank you for the great review regarding your recent stay! We are thrilled you had a 5/5 stay! Look forward to hosting you again soon.

4
Business Business

Property was pleasantly clean all through out the building.

By on Mar 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 31, 2021

Hello Anonymous. Thank you for your positive comments about our property. We hope to have you back soon!

3
Family Friends

I always stay here when I come to Austin but this time was the worst. There were only 2 hand towels in the room, no trash can in the room, no cups in the room. The market in the lobby wasn't stocked and the coffee machine was broken. It only made a few drops of coffee. There was an empty bucket with a sign that read "we are out of creamers" attached to it. The trash cans in the lobby were spilling over. the landscaping out back by the pool was horrible, no upkeep at all. I hope they get this hotel back in order before I go back to stay again.

By on Mar 24, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 24, 2021

Hello Anonymous, I am sorry to hear you had a less than excellent stay during your recent travels to Austin, TX. I have shared your comments with my executive housekeeper and chief engineer to ensure these items are corrected moving forward.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 27, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 28, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking your time to help us continue to improve! We look forward to hosting you in the future!

3
Friends Family

Parking was an extra $49. Valet parking ONLY. Elevators would not work properly when we would use them. View was nice. Rooms were clean. People who worked there were nice. Snacks in convenient area downstairs weren’t all that great :( not many options.

By on Aug 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 28, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking your time to help us continue to improve! We look forward to hosting you in the future!

3
Family

I enjoyed the kindness of the valet staff, however, with a $50/night rate, it was what I would expect. Nonetheless, it was very pleasant. The area had the stench of a dead animal which was pretty unpleasant around the pool area. Our room's shower did not operate properly which was very disappointing considering our expectations for a Hilton hotel. Overall, it was meh.

By , from Dallas on Jun 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 7, 2020

Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with our valet team. I am sorry that you had issues with the shower in your room - our engineering team was notified of this. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

5
Family with small children

clean, nice location, great staff, good valet. good condition hotel. great

By on Dec 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 26, 2019

Hello Mary! We're happy we were able to provide a clean and comfortable environment during your visit to Austin, Texas. I am glad to hear my team of staff were approachable and helpful, I will be sure to share this with them. Thank you!

1
Family Business Business

This hotel is TERRIBLE! Stay away from it! The hotel will charge you extra money for no reason without letting you know about it. When you call them, they will just hang off your phone. BAD SERVICE!

By on Dec 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2019

Hello Jenny. On behalf of the hotel, we sincerely apologize for falling short during your stay with us. It is standard protocol for majority of hotel properties authorize incidentals with your estimated room rate, and we apologize if this was not properly communicated with you during the check-in process. I will follow up with my Front Desk team to ensure this does not happen moving forward. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance in the future, and we thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

3
Everyone

Hotel was fine... The restaurant upstairs is empty and the food comes out quickly so that was good... The conference room was awesome to use... Not a lot of people in there.

By on Oct 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 29, 2019

Hello MJ! Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit. As you can imagine, our location is surrounded by bars & restaurants, which give our guests the convenience to explore and venture into the city. We're happy to host your conference, and we hope you will give us a second chance to serve you in the future!

Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Austin-Hotels-Hilton-Garden-Inn-Austin-Downtown/Convention-Center.h3298-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Austin-Hotels-Hilton-Garden-Inn-Austin-Downtown/Convention-Center.h3298-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Austin-Hotels-Hilton-Garden-Inn-Austin-Downtown/Convention-Center.h3298-p2.Hotel-Reviews