Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The food service was unprofessional. The food was not delicious and gave me food poisoning. My carpet was never vacuumed. There were holes in the walls. Poorly managed. Very disappointing.

Location is a walking distance to the opera house and the fairy and business section and shopping and palace garden.

location. walking distance to Circle Quay, Art Gallery, Botanical Garden, Opera house, train station etc.

Great location, staff was very friendly. Our breakfast was included and it was delicious! Onsite gym was perfect size and the complimentary water bottles were a great touch during our summer stay.

Great location, very nice staff, very nice breakfast, the room was nice looking but disappointing in function and temperature control. Double doors for the bath room? Double doors to get to the coffee pot? We had a slight cold and the room would never get warm.

This was a very nice hotel. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Centrally located, close walk to City Quay, Botanic Gardens, Opera House. Extremely attentive and helpful concierge staff (shout out to Nick!); friendly, yet formal, front desk staff; very poor service in the Garden Court restaurant; hotel management was not helpful in resolving a situation with laundry company. Make sure your room is not next to the elevator, you will hear it all night long. Overall, the hotel was excellent, especially the traditional elegance of it.

Great location, excellent service, extremely comfortable beds

Toilet was not clean and even I made a compliance

The Sofitel would be perfect - except for the ludicrous internet charges on ANY internet access. A $12.50 charge to access the internet in the business centre! I can understand that Australian hotels charge for in-room internet, but really, charging for internet access in the business centre? Ruined an otherwise fabulous stay. Not every traveller is a corporate one that can just pass it on to a client. Also a credit card surcharge was added to the bill. Room was fantastic.

Considering a very pricey hotel, not even Internet is free, you're only allowed 30 mins per 24 hrs in the lobby, how inconvenient. StAffs are unfriendly, no welcoming smile after a long 10hr flight, not even a complimentary water fountain. This hotel has the most disgusting accommodation.

Very clean hotel. Room was rather small but it has all of the required amenities. The location was excellent. Very close to all of the key attractions like the Rock and the Opera House. The only issue was the $25 charge per day for wireless. We moved to another hotel and the wireless was free.

I picked this hotel so that I can see the fireworks; however, I knew that I would have to walk to see them. The only thing is that it turns out they gated off The Rocks and entrances to Circular Quay; and so, you have to get to the Rocks about an hour before the 9 pm fireworks (family friendly) to see the 12 am display too. All views behind the Quay is poor unless you stay at the hotels high above and located right behind the railway, like the Shangri La. My hotel was walking distance to the Opera House, Harbor Bridge and Hyde Park. It's a nice looking hotel. My room was mostly clean. I found hair on the tea cup, in the tub and a black smudge on my bed sheet? As for the staff and especially the concierge, very very nice, happy, funny and helpful. You have to pay for internet and there is no pool for a high end hotel.

The hotel is lovely and only a 3 or 4 block walk down to Circular Quay. it is in the middle of the business district so there are only a couple of restaurants open on the week-end, but 2 or 3 more open during the week. The concierges were extremely helpful and the accommodations were beautiful.

This hotel is centrally located in Downtown Sydney. Close to everything you could possibly do. It is only blocks away from the Circular Quay so getting around is real easy. The room was wonderful and the staff extremely helpful when needed. I highly recommend this hotel.

The Hotel was lovely, the staff very friendly and the room was comfortable and cosey. I think that the only drawbacks were that there was no swimming pool and that the internet charges were UNBELIEVABLY HIGH considering that they get it free and most of the big hotels offer the internet for free to their customers. It was a great location and very, very easy to walk absolutely everywhere. Super!!!

The hotel staff was very friendly, and the room was fairly comfortable. The king bed was two double beds converted into a king. It was comfortable, but the connector was lumpy in the middle. The bathroom had a heated mirror but a weird shower with only a half of a shower door that leaked water. Room service food had good proportions, but the delivery fee was a little high. We appreciated the umbrellas given to us when it was raining. The concierge helped us immensely during our stay.

I booked the hotel because my conference was being held there. The room had no place to put away clothes-- no bureau. No bathtub. The bed was excessively soft. There was only a down comforter-- way too hot, no blankets. The cvharge for internet was $27. For business travellers, internet should be included in the cost of the hotel room. Breakfast was $39, and not very good.

61-101 Phillip Street Sydney NSW

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Circular Quay and Sydney Tower
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Fitness center

Located in Sydney Central Business District, Sofitel Sydney Wentworth is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Circular Quay and Sydney Tower. This 436-room, 5-star hotel has a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center.


Dining

This hotel serves as home to a lobby lounge, along with a restaurant that specializes in French cuisine. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Buffet breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

The 436 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including iPod docks, minibars, and electric kettles. Guests can expect LCD TVs with satellite channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and pillow menus, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free newspapers, safes, and phones are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth enjoy a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Valet parking is available for AUD 60.00 per night. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include a 24-hour business center, a library, and express check-in.

Room options

Superior Room, View

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 3

Luxury Room, View (Upper Floors)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Club Suite, City View, Corner (Prestige, Club Sofitel)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Luxury Room, View (Club Sofitel, Top Floors)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Everyone (9) Couples (9) Business (3) Family (1) Other (2)
2
Everyone

The food service was unprofessional. The food was not delicious and gave me food poisoning. My carpet was never vacuumed. There were holes in the walls. Poorly managed. Very disappointing.

By on Mar 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2019

Bonjour Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. We would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had regarding the food offerings we have at the hotel. Please contact us directly so we can investigate the claim you mentioned regarding food poisoning. We have a great HAACP program which our Executive Chef follows. Hope you are feeling better now. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks and Kindest Regards, Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Team

4
Friends

Location is a walking distance to the opera house and the fairy and business section and shopping and palace garden.

By on Feb 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 26, 2019

Bonjour Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. We trust you had a wonderful experience. We are so delighted that the location of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit! Thanks and Kindest Regards, Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Team

4
Partner Couples

location. walking distance to Circle Quay, Art Gallery, Botanical Garden, Opera house, train station etc.

By on Feb 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 26, 2019

Bonjour Douglas, Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. We trust you had a wonderful experience. We are so delighted that the location of the hotel was suitable during your visit. We look forward to your next visit! Thanks and Kindest Regards, Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Team

4
Everyone

By on Feb 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

Bonjour Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to your next stay. Thanks and Kindest Regards, Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Team

5
Everyone

Great location, staff was very friendly. Our breakfast was included and it was delicious! Onsite gym was perfect size and the complimentary water bottles were a great touch during our summer stay.

By on Feb 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 26, 2019

Bonjour Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. We trust you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to your next visit! Thanks and Kindest Regards, Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Team

4
Everyone

By on Feb 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

Bonjour Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to your next stay. Thanks and Kindest Regards, Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Team

4
Everyone

Great location, very nice staff, very nice breakfast, the room was nice looking but disappointing in function and temperature control. Double doors for the bath room? Double doors to get to the coffee pot? We had a slight cold and the room would never get warm.

By on Nov 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 30, 2018

Bonjour Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as the service provided by our team. We appreciate your comments regarding your breakfast experience and we are delighted you enjoyed this. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with getting your room to be warm. I will have this checked and fixed by our Engineering team. We look forward to your next stay. Thanks and Kindest Regards, Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Team

5
Everyone

This was a very nice hotel. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

By on Jun 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2018

Bonjour Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks and Kindest Regards, Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Team

4
Everyone

Centrally located, close walk to City Quay, Botanic Gardens, Opera House. Extremely attentive and helpful concierge staff (shout out to Nick!); friendly, yet formal, front desk staff; very poor service in the Garden Court restaurant; hotel management was not helpful in resolving a situation with laundry company. Make sure your room is not next to the elevator, you will hear it all night long. Overall, the hotel was excellent, especially the traditional elegance of it.

By on Apr 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2018

Bonjour, Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards,

5

excellent!

Everyone

Great location, excellent service, extremely comfortable beds

By , from Wilmington, DE on Mar 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 20, 2017

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. Kind Regards,

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Sydney-Hotels-Sofitel-Sydney-Wentworth.h426577-p2.Hotel-Reviews