Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Fairmont Olympic Hotel

5.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Great hotel, walking distance to everything. Amazing staff.

We stayed 3 nights the check out the city. Right from the beginning we felt comfortable . The staff were great, not just a few but all of them. We have stayed at several Fairmont's across the country and this was by far our favorite. The location is great. Walking distance to many locations and public transit.

I come to stay at the Fairmont on a monthly basis for medical appts and I always feel at ease with the comfort of my suite and hospitality of the staff.

Beautiful classic hotel which opened in 1924. Well appointed with beautiful rooms and facilities.

Everything you expect from the fairmont. Staff were wonderful. All around great stay.

My stay was great and will def book my next stay with them again!

My check in experience was very disappointing. The receptionist was not friendly at all. And when I made some request, he was not accommodating. I always believe that the staff at the Front desk should be welcoming, warm and friendly, which was not the case with this particular person who processed my check in. To be fair, when I checked out, I was assisted by a much more capable receptionist. When she asked me how my stay was, I told her about my disappointment experience upon checking in. She was apologetic and offer me a free breakfast, which I appreciated. As I arrived in the room, there was no slippers, so I had to ask for it. In my experience, a 5 star hotel should always have certain amenities readily available in the room without you having to ask for it. The breakfast buffet selection can certainly be improved!. It is below the standard of a 5 star hotel. On a more positive note, the room is quite spacious. It's newly renovated.

Service room was terrible, no one cares if that was done, when I mentioned that it wasn't done, they ask me if the room had the not disturb sign. Truth is that we expend the whole day out and nobody worried about it. No one asked or left a message to see if it was possible. I still disappointed, the service is essential for any traveler.

The Fairmont Olympic was very accommodating with our stay. We showed up early and our room wasn't ready yet, so they held our bags and gave us a key to the recreational area. Once our room was ready they called to let us know. The room was clean, decorated nicely and the bed was very comfortable. Would recommend it to anyone.

Booked this on line and was glad I did. Excellent hotel in a great area of town. Within walking distance of Pikes Market, Monorail, great shopping and lots of Coffee shops. Staff was very pleasant and accomodating. Room was very quiet and comfortable. Lobby was very inviting and relaxing with a piano player playing. Valet parking attendants were always helpful even if you weren't utilizing their services. Very friendly group of staff. Will stay here again when we can get back to Seattle. Loved it!

The Fairmont Olympic was a pleasant, historic, comfortably luxurious hotel conveniently located in the heart of downtown Seattle. It was a great location with proximity to the Harborview Medical Center where my daughter is starting her month long away rotation for her fourth year of medical school. We were able to relax and prepare for her new assignment at the same time. It was walking distance to tourist sites like Pike Market as well as services and shops like AT&T where we needed to address some technical problems with her iPhone.

Close to many events, lots of hills. No place to sit or hang out (outside) due to loitering problems (I am guessing). Bothered by the homeless asking for something several times a day.

Long line at check in with only one person working at reception counter. Reserved room vacant and waiting to be cleaned. They told us they would put a rush on cleaning but it took 3 hours before it was ready. Room comfortable but drab and uninviting - nothing special given the price of the room. Every time we called the front desk or room service the phone rang and rang and rang then when they finally answered they put us on hold. Finally gave up on room service after waiting on hold for more than 5 minutes and went to restaurant for breakfast. Breakfast buffet was ok but $37 for a selection of pastries and cold cereal plus scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage (these were the only hot items) was way overpriced. Given the price point I would not recommend this hotel. Disappointed.

Concierge was great. Although we were "upgraded" to a suite, it was facing a wall. No view at all. Somewhat dim lighting. Not much of an upgrade. I think I would have rather been told the facts about the room before accepting it. For a recently renovated room, it was just a little shabby. The marble in the bathroom didn't look cared for, which is a sad thing to see. Room service breakfast was the best omelet I've ever had and coffee was piping hot. Concierge was great. She recommended "Aqua" on the water where we had a wonderful dinner. "Shuckers" downstairs had a nice lunch. No room for us for tea, so we didn't experience that. Nice location, central to downtown.

Beautiful hotel, elegantly appointed, very friendly staff. Close to waterfront attractions, Pike place and Light Link Rail. Can hear traffic noise from our room though. Wondered if a higher floor or different facing room will make a difference.

After an early morning and a day of travel, I arrived at 3:15 to find my room was not ready. While they were very professional and provided me a drink and snack, the hour wait was disappointing for this hotel.

The hotel is beautiful and nicely situated downtown. I had a suite on the next-to-top floor. The room was clean and had a new smell. As it turns out, renovations of rooms in that area were continuing, which should have been mentioned when I checked in. The noise could be very loud and distracting while I tried to work in the room. I made a couple of calls, and was told the noise "would not last long." But it did -- lots of banging, hauling and what sounded like water and trickling debris. Mercifully, the noise did not extend into the evening. I was also surprised to get a bill of $7 for having a very small package from UPS (an office is in the hotel ground floor) brought to my room. This was a charge besides the actual UPS delivery fee. Had I been told there was a charge, and that UPS was in the building, I would have retrieved it myself. Seemed a ridiculous charge. Otherwise, a quite nice hotel with well-trained staff, particularly at the concierge desk.

My husband and I were very delighted to be back in Seattle and the Fairmont Olympic Hotel. The location is centrally located to many of our favorite sights and restaurants.

Grand old hotel, marvelous service! I love this place!

Class, history, civility....all rare in this hurry, hurry world. Congrats and never change.

411 University St Seattle WA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Nordstrom and Pike Place Market
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa
  • Indoor pool

Located in Seattle Central Business District, Fairmont Olympic Hotel is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Nordstrom and Pike Place Market. This 5-star hotel has 2 restaurants along with a full-service spa and an indoor pool. It's in central Seattle and also a short walk from Seattle Great Wheel and Columbia Center.


Dining

This hotel is home to 2 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or make new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge. For your convenience, a full breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

The recently renovated accommodations feature sitting areas. Guests can expect WiFi and TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Minibars, coffee makers, and laptop-compatible safes are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Fairmont Olympic Hotel enjoy a full-service spa, an indoor pool, and a health club. Parking is available for USD 45.00 per night (USD 55 per night for valet parking), and there's also limo/town car service. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include a spa tub, a sauna, and WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed (Newly Renovated)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds (Newly Renovated)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, City View, Corner (Newly Renovated)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Executive Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (Newly Renovated)

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Everyone (18) Business (20) Couples (88) Family (29) Friends (13) Other (7)
5

great hotel, walking distance to pike place market

Everyone

Great hotel, walking distance to everything. Amazing staff.

By , from Los Angeles on May 8, 2017

Review comment responded on May 16, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed so much of your stay. Regards, Markus Treppenhauer General Manager

5

best of the best

Everyone

We stayed 3 nights the check out the city. Right from the beginning we felt comfortable . The staff were great, not just a few but all of them. We have stayed at several Fairmont's across the country and this was by far our favorite. The location is great. Walking distance to many locations and public transit.

By , from California on Mar 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 13, 2017

Thank you so very much for the kind words for our hotel. We really do appreciate you being our guest and hope you will return just as soon as possible. Regards, Markus Treppenhauer General Manager

5

quiet and peaceful

Everyone

I come to stay at the Fairmont on a monthly basis for medical appts and I always feel at ease with the comfort of my suite and hospitality of the staff.

By , from Seattle on Feb 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 1, 2017

We could not be more pleased to provide you with a comfortable, peaceful place to call your home away from home. We love this picture and thank you for choosing us as your Oasis. Regards, Markus Treppenhauer General Manager

5

old school at it's best

Everyone

Beautiful classic hotel which opened in 1924. Well appointed with beautiful rooms and facilities.

By on Feb 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2017

We are so very pleased to see such a review. The Olympic is a very special place in our humble opinion and so glad you seem to agree. Our central location does work well for our guests to explore so much of Seattle and all it has to offer. Thank you again and hope to see you soon. Regards, Markus Treppenhauer General Manager

5

great hotel close to everything.

Everyone

Everything you expect from the fairmont. Staff were wonderful. All around great stay.

By , from sonoma ca on Feb 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2017

Thank you and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be back gain soon. Regards, Markus Treppenhauer General Manager

5
Everyone

My stay was great and will def book my next stay with them again!

By , from Seattle, WA on Feb 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2017

Wonderful news! Thank you and so good to know you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Markus Treppenhauer General Manager

3

a landmark hotel has lost its charm

Everyone

My check in experience was very disappointing. The receptionist was not friendly at all. And when I made some request, he was not accommodating. I always believe that the staff at the Front desk should be welcoming, warm and friendly, which was not the case with this particular person who processed my check in. To be fair, when I checked out, I was assisted by a much more capable receptionist. When she asked me how my stay was, I told her about my disappointment experience upon checking in. She was apologetic and offer me a free breakfast, which I appreciated. As I arrived in the room, there was no slippers, so I had to ask for it. In my experience, a 5 star hotel should always have certain amenities readily available in the room without you having to ask for it. The breakfast buffet selection can certainly be improved!. It is below the standard of a 5 star hotel. On a more positive note, the room is quite spacious. It's newly renovated.

By , from jakarta indonesia on Jan 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 16, 2017

I sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction. It sounds like your stay was not up to our Fairmont Standards. This will be addressed with the Front Office team. Your comments about the wifi will also be brought to the attention of upper management. My name is Maggie I am one of the Front Desk Managers. Should you stay again please let me know in advance so I can make sure that your next stay is memorable. We hope to see you again soon!

4

cleaning the room was not done

Everyone

Service room was terrible, no one cares if that was done, when I mentioned that it wasn't done, they ask me if the room had the not disturb sign. Truth is that we expend the whole day out and nobody worried about it. No one asked or left a message to see if it was possible. I still disappointed, the service is essential for any traveler.

By , from ramirez on Oct 8, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2016

Thank you for letting us know of your experience. It seems you had a good stay other than the issue with Housekeeping. Would you mind contacting the hotel so we can talk about your experience? Thank you again for choosing to be our guest and for taking the time to write. Regards, Markus Treppenhauer General Manager

5

nice hotel in the middle of downtown

Everyone

The Fairmont Olympic was very accommodating with our stay. We showed up early and our room wasn't ready yet, so they held our bags and gave us a key to the recreational area. Once our room was ready they called to let us know. The room was clean, decorated nicely and the bed was very comfortable. Would recommend it to anyone.

By , from Chicago on Aug 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 31, 2016

Hello Jamie, Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your experience with us. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed a nice stay with us and that we could be of service. I hope that we may welcome you back to the Fairmont Olympic in the future. Sincerely, Markus Treppenhauer General Manager

5

nice hotel within walking distance of much

Everyone

Booked this on line and was glad I did. Excellent hotel in a great area of town. Within walking distance of Pikes Market, Monorail, great shopping and lots of Coffee shops. Staff was very pleasant and accomodating. Room was very quiet and comfortable. Lobby was very inviting and relaxing with a piano player playing. Valet parking attendants were always helpful even if you weren't utilizing their services. Very friendly group of staff. Will stay here again when we can get back to Seattle. Loved it!

By , from Brandon, Mississippi on Aug 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 31, 2016

Hello David, Thank you for choosing to be our guest and for taking the time to write. We are glad that you booked with us as well. I am so pleased to read that you loved your stay with us, and sincerely appreciate your kind compliments about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Olympic Hotel in the future, and hope that we may do so soon. Best wishes, Markus Treppenhauer General Manager