Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Excellent hotel Good location Breakfast was good People were nice

This was such a disappointing experience.We checked in late Friday night. The night clerk advised we were in a suite. That's what I thought I had paid for. The room is two queen beds with a pullout couch. All in the same room. That to me is a studio, not a suite. When I inquired at the desk the next day I was told that the room is a suite. It is not. Not that big of a deal. We went out all day Saturday and returned Saturday night. Our room was not cleaned. No towels left. I went down to the front desk and Travis gave me towels. Told him no one cleaned our room. Woke up on Monday morning and there was a cockroach on our floor. Manager Kevin came up and took care of the roach. Told him about hair left in bathroom when we had checked in and the "Suite" issue. He said he understood. Went out all day Tuesday and when we got back, discovered our room had not been cleaned again. I went downstairs again and spoke with a woman at the front desk. She apologized. I told her this was the second time in our stay that the room wasn't cleaned. Told her I had been in communication with Kevin (manager), as well. Travis chimed in and told me if I didn't like it that I should check out. So we left the next day. The daily breakfast area was messy/sticky and unkept. I was hugely disappointed with our family stay. Two of our nights were eventually refunded. I consider Hampton Inn an affordable option when travelling with the family, but who knows for the future.

Hotel is contemporary in decor, clean and convenient to hospital rehab where my family member was being treated. Nice breakfast is available every morning for all guests. During the week the halls and dining area was quiet. Enjoyed my stay.

Great affordable price near USAA. I would stay there again.

I went to stay in this hotel for vacationing with my family and specifically chose this hotel because of the indoor pool and whirlpool, which was difficult to find in this price range and in this area. In December weather, outdoor pool was like not having a pool at all, specially for young kids, so indoor pool was important. I was traveling with my two small kids who wanted to have lot of pool fun in the hotel, so really needed the indoor pool and whirlpool working. Shortly after arriving, I found that the jets in whirlpool were not working. Complained about it on all the three days I was there, but they never got it fixed. My room's bathrooms' locks were not working either. I complained and kept following up on that as well. Every time I was promised that maintenance will get it fixed, but didn't happen till the last day. When I reported the above while checking out, the front desk staff simply cold-shouldered - 'you booked through Orbitz.com, so talk to them'. Quite disappointing, especially when on a vacation with family including small kids. One of the bathroom's door's bottom support hinge was loose and the door would come out of it constantly and had to be adjusted by force to avoid it falling. Breakfast staff was not up to the task either, as they needed to be told and reminded when something needed their attention for refilling. The hotel has only one place to fill drinking water - water fountains at the pool, and they were not working during our stay either.

I went to stay in this hotel for vacationing with my family and specifically chose this hotel because of the indoor pool and whirlpool, which was difficult to find in this price range and in this area. In December weather, outdoor pool was like not having a pool at all, specially for young kids. I was traveling with my two small kids who wanted to have lot of pool fun in the hotel, so really needed the indoor pool and whirlpool working. Shortly after arriving, I found that the jets in whirlpool were not working. Complained about it on all the three days I was there, but they never got it fixed. My room's bathrooms' locks were not working either. I complained and kept following up on that as well. Every time I was promised that maintenance will get it fixed, but didn't happen till the last day. When I reported this while checking out, the front desk staff simply cold-shouldered - 'you booked through Orbitz.com, so talk to them'. Quite disappointing, especially when on a vacation with family including small kids.

Comfortable and clean hotel, so I and my son during the stay to get a good rest

The staff was very friendly and the place was clean. My family enjoyed our stay, I would recommend this hotel to any one.

Very clean, comfortable room. warm breakfast included. Nice indoor heated pool for the kids. Location is very near to shopping complex and restaurants. Worth the price I paid.

Staff was very friendly and helpful .. Great breakfast clean room

Very loud, short staffed, had to get our own towels

The first room they gave us, the shower wasn't clean. We ask for another room, the second has a smoke smell. They told us it wasnt smoke it was febreeze..

Overall it was nice, only two things bothered me. One they didn't dump the trash when they cleaned the room and two, the morning we left instead of sliding my final bill under the door they just put it outside with all my personal information on it.

11426 IH 10 W San Antonio TX

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Located within a mile (2 km) of Huebner Oaks, Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center is within 3 miles (5 km) of South Texas Medical Center. This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 107 rooms and conveniences like an indoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. It's near the airport and also a short drive from Six Flags Fiesta Texas.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free hot/cold buffet breakfast.


Rooms

All 107 air-conditioned accommodations feature sitting areas. Guests can expect flat-screen TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers.


Property features

At Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center, guests enjoy features like an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with sightseeing, directions, and local dining recommendations. Additional amenities include 3 meeting rooms, conference space, and a business center.

Room options

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 6

Studio, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Roll-in Shower)

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Studio, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center

Everyone (12) Family (1)
5

good location

Everyone

Excellent hotel Good location Breakfast was good People were nice

By , from mexico on Apr 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2018

Dear Ricardo, Thank you for this perfect review, we appreciate you being our guest and we hope to welcome you anytime you visit San Antonio

2

where do i begin?

Everyone

This was such a disappointing experience.We checked in late Friday night. The night clerk advised we were in a suite. That's what I thought I had paid for. The room is two queen beds with a pullout couch. All in the same room. That to me is a studio, not a suite. When I inquired at the desk the next day I was told that the room is a suite. It is not. Not that big of a deal. We went out all day Saturday and returned Saturday night. Our room was not cleaned. No towels left. I went down to the front desk and Travis gave me towels. Told him no one cleaned our room. Woke up on Monday morning and there was a cockroach on our floor. Manager Kevin came up and took care of the roach. Told him about hair left in bathroom when we had checked in and the "Suite" issue. He said he understood. Went out all day Tuesday and when we got back, discovered our room had not been cleaned again. I went downstairs again and spoke with a woman at the front desk. She apologized. I told her this was the second time in our stay that the room wasn't cleaned. Told her I had been in communication with Kevin (manager), as well. Travis chimed in and told me if I didn't like it that I should check out. So we left the next day. The daily breakfast area was messy/sticky and unkept. I was hugely disappointed with our family stay. Two of our nights were eventually refunded. I consider Hampton Inn an affordable option when travelling with the family, but who knows for the future.

By , from Chicago on Mar 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2018

Dear Mike, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the issues you mentioned and I would like to say that they were rectified the day you brought them to our attention. We understand the room layout wasn't what you had in mind as you were looking for a property like the Embassy Suites by Hilton which have separate bedrooms. We love our guest and we are disheartened and deeply saddened to read this review. We hope to better serve you and your family in the future. Thank you!

5

convenient to hospitals in sa

Everyone

Hotel is contemporary in decor, clean and convenient to hospital rehab where my family member was being treated. Nice breakfast is available every morning for all guests. During the week the halls and dining area was quiet. Enjoyed my stay.

By , from Charlotte, NC on Feb 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 23, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

4

nice hotel located near usaa

Everyone

Great affordable price near USAA. I would stay there again.

By on May 19, 2017

Review comment responded on May 25, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback! We greatly appreciate you being our guest and hope to see you again soon :)

2

staff, maintenance and amenities not up to mark

Everyone

I went to stay in this hotel for vacationing with my family and specifically chose this hotel because of the indoor pool and whirlpool, which was difficult to find in this price range and in this area. In December weather, outdoor pool was like not having a pool at all, specially for young kids, so indoor pool was important. I was traveling with my two small kids who wanted to have lot of pool fun in the hotel, so really needed the indoor pool and whirlpool working. Shortly after arriving, I found that the jets in whirlpool were not working. Complained about it on all the three days I was there, but they never got it fixed. My room's bathrooms' locks were not working either. I complained and kept following up on that as well. Every time I was promised that maintenance will get it fixed, but didn't happen till the last day. When I reported the above while checking out, the front desk staff simply cold-shouldered - 'you booked through Orbitz.com, so talk to them'. Quite disappointing, especially when on a vacation with family including small kids. One of the bathroom's door's bottom support hinge was loose and the door would come out of it constantly and had to be adjusted by force to avoid it falling. Breakfast staff was not up to the task either, as they needed to be told and reminded when something needed their attention for refilling. The hotel has only one place to fill drinking water - water fountains at the pool, and they were not working during our stay either.

By , from Austin, TX on Dec 31, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 16, 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are very sorry about the issues you encountered and those have been rectified already. We greatly appreciate you staying with us and hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us the next time your travels bring you back to San Antonio!

2

staff and maintenance not up to the mark

Everyone

I went to stay in this hotel for vacationing with my family and specifically chose this hotel because of the indoor pool and whirlpool, which was difficult to find in this price range and in this area. In December weather, outdoor pool was like not having a pool at all, specially for young kids. I was traveling with my two small kids who wanted to have lot of pool fun in the hotel, so really needed the indoor pool and whirlpool working. Shortly after arriving, I found that the jets in whirlpool were not working. Complained about it on all the three days I was there, but they never got it fixed. My room's bathrooms' locks were not working either. I complained and kept following up on that as well. Every time I was promised that maintenance will get it fixed, but didn't happen till the last day. When I reported this while checking out, the front desk staff simply cold-shouldered - 'you booked through Orbitz.com, so talk to them'. Quite disappointing, especially when on a vacation with family including small kids.

By , from Austin, TX on Dec 31, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 16, 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am deeply sorry for the issues you encountered and have rectified those problems already. We greatly appreciate you staying with us and hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us next time your travels bring you back to San Antonio!

5

wonderful hotel

Everyone

Comfortable and clean hotel, so I and my son during the stay to get a good rest

By , from Beijing on Dec 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2016

Thank you for the perfect review and feedback! We greatly appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you back to San Antonio!

5

very friendly

Everyone

The staff was very friendly and the place was clean. My family enjoyed our stay, I would recommend this hotel to any one.

By , from new york on Nov 24, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 7, 2016

Thank you for the perfect review and feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon :)

4

convenient location

Everyone

Very clean, comfortable room. warm breakfast included. Nice indoor heated pool for the kids. Location is very near to shopping complex and restaurants. Worth the price I paid.

By , from Pearland, Tx on Nov 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 7, 2016

Thank you for the awesome review and feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you back to our area!

5

nice hotel great location

Everyone

Staff was very friendly and helpful .. Great breakfast clean room

By , from C on Sep 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2016

Thank you for the perfect and feedback. We greatly appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you back to our area.