Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great friendly staff and property is very well maintained. Food from poolside is great.

Very friendly and courteous staff. Room was spotless. Pool was very clean.

Beautiful property, but fell short on service. Our flight from the US was cancelled, but we were charged the $290 for our room. We asked if we could get a resort credit but not even a drink was offered. Our oceanfront room was great except for the non stop techno music that started at 6am. We like all kinds of music but when we couldn’t stand it anymore, we escaped across the street to get a drink and enjoy some quiet. Unfortunately they had closed the bar since they had a dinner special, so no drinks to be had. Finally we asked if we could check out at 12 instead of 11, but that was a no go too. Beautiful facility but we wouldn’t go back.

Amazing food - perfect beach, modern rooms, clean, great staff

The bed was extremely comfortable. Bevin and Damone were very nice and helpful. Top notch customer service. I loved how they had free bicycles, kayaks, towels, paddle boards and a 10 minute massage with beautiful scenery. Their breakfast was excellent and the swim up bar was very cool. Would definitely stay there again when I go back!

Great curb appeal!!! More amenities could have been useful and golf cart and motorcycle rentals would help with get to and from the city. Cabs are expensive!!!

Very clean and beautiful props, and staff was mostly friendly. Don’t get the chocolate cake, it’s very dry!! We wanted to play volleyball, but they didn’t have one. Also, we wanted to use the hot tub, but it wasn’t working. The bar tenders were super nice, but they shut down really early, so staying at the pool after dark and enjoying bar drinks, isn’t really an option. Our rooms were much nicer than we expected and they clean them daily while you’re out. Our biggest complaint was that on the first day, we asked if breakfast was free. The staff told us the continental breakfast, coffee, and juice was included in our room package, so that’s what we got every day instead of ordering something else that we would have actually wanted. Then, on the last day, they charged us for all of those continental breakfasts and refused to remove them from our bill. We would have NEVER EVER ordered that if we knew that they were charging us. It’s literally a bunch of melons and some bread with jam and that’s it. NOT WORTH $10 per person each day! We were very upset that they did not honor what we were told by their own staff. Overall, I do recommend this property, and the staff was mostly friendly and helpful. Anna at the adventure reservations desk was amazing. She should get a raise.

The first floor ocean side suites walked right out to the beach.

I reserved an ocean view room - didn’t get it. There was a constant struggle to get clean towels in the room and at the pool. There is a huge list of things not working: washing machine (for towels), hot tub, water, etc. The first morning we were there the water went out, we couldn’t shower or brush our teeth with water.

I really enjoyed my stay. The property was very nice and the staff was helpful and pleasant. I will definitely visit again.

The staff was AMAZING! Akeem and Santiago are top of the line service providers! The beach was a bit disappointing, as jellyfish were an issue. But paddle boarding and kayaking was great. Best trip we have had, and definitely worth spending a week there!!

We arrived to the property after a 3.5 hour ($350.00) transfer from the airport to having to carry 5, 50 pound bags up 3 flights of stairs. Got into our suite and unpacked and there wasn't nearly enough hangers (4 per closet) and the drawers were all particle board furniture that didn't work properly and were falling apart. One of our children used the bathroom and the toilet didn't work, so my husband had to fix it. During our stay, this was the normal daily thing...one day we had to leave so that maintenance could fix a leak from our room to the one below, and another time water stopped working completely during shower time. Food was decent if you could get staff to wait on you. In the restaurant the service was fine, but at the pool, don't expect anyone to go out of their way to come to your chair to ask you if you want a drink or food... We could be the only ones at the bar with 2 bartenders behind the bar, and we would have to get their attention to order a water downed drink. And, good luck at the "swim -up bar"...no one wanted to help anyone down there. The only reason I am not giving this "resort" a 1 star is because of 1. Housekeeping, they were phenomenal and did a thorough and fantastic job 2. A bartender/waiter Jirby (??) who was an incredible person who interacted with us and who exactly what he was doing...too bad he isn't at the outdoor bar during the day! 3. The people who jumped in their car to help me at midnight when my kids had some issues in town.

My stay at the Belize Ocean Club was amazing. The resort is very clean, fantastic staff, and has all the amenities that I needed. But what made my stay great is the amazing staff members. They are so friendly, welcoming and hospitable. Especially Anna and Victor at the front desk, and Heraldo and John at the bar. A big shout out to my little sister (Anna), my cousin (Victor), my partying partners (Heraldo and John). We Belize (Blaze) it up! I could not Belize (Believe) it! We got in trouble and they called the Belize (Police). Get it! See what I did there. Inside joke between the Belizeans. Thank you to all the staff member for making my stay memorable. Hope to visit Belize again and see everyone.

So beautiful! Our room, the beach, and pool area were so clean! Staff was for the most part amazing - had a small instance with rude staff coming to change the water in our room. However, the front desk and pool staff were nothing short of amazing. Geraldo the bartender was the best staff member and we will miss him!

We had an amazing time here! My kids absolutely loved the pool and spent a couple of hours each day in it (bonus: while we were there in early Jan, it was shaded for much of the late afternoon / early evening so we didn't have to worry about sunscreen). This section of the beach is very nice - the water is warm and relatively shallow some distance out. The apartments are large and comfortable. While the kitchen wasn't set up for cooking larger meals (ideally would have liked more and nicer cookware), it was perfect for breakfast, lunch, and snacks which helped cut back on total expenses. We also enjoyed the property's beach-front New Year's Eve party and fireworks. Just down the road (an easy walk, though bring a flashlight) is an excellent restaurant as well - one of the best rated in the area. Overall, highly recommended!

Maya Beach, Stann Creek Placencia

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Maya Beach
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Private beach

Located in Maya Beach, Umaya Resort & Adventures is adjacent to Maya Beach and a short drive from other popular attractions like Placencia Beach. This 60-room, 4-star resort welcomes guests with conveniences like a private beach, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including The Club House Restaurant, which specializes in Caribbean cuisine. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service. For your convenience, a full breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

All 60 individually furnished accommodations feature kitchens, 2 bathrooms, and furnished balconies. There's space to spread out with living rooms and dining areas. Guests can expect free WiFi and 42-inch LCD TVs with cable channels. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer designer toiletries and bathrobes. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free local calls, and ceiling fans.


Property features

Umaya Resort & Adventures features a private beach, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. For transportation, you can make use of a free airport shuttle at scheduled times, as well as a free area shuttle. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with concierge services, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach resort include free WiFi in public areas, free use of bicycles, and a terrace.

Room options

One Bedroom Ocean View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Two Bedroom Lagoon Bay View

1 King Bed and 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 5

Two Bedroom Premier Lagoon Bay View

1 King Bed and 2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Two Bedroom Ocean View

1 King Bed and 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Umaya Resort & Adventures

Everyone (32) Couples (5) Family (7)
4
Family

Great friendly staff and property is very well maintained. Food from poolside is great.

By on Feb 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2020

Dear Guest, We appreciate taking time of your daily schedule to let us know about your experience at the Umaya resort. Regards from the staff

5
Family

Very friendly and courteous staff. Room was spotless. Pool was very clean.

By , from Michigan on Feb 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2020

Dear Cindy, Umaya staff greatly appreciates your recent comments about your stay at our resort and would love to see you back in the near future. Regards,

4
Partner Couples

Beautiful property, but fell short on service. Our flight from the US was cancelled, but we were charged the $290 for our room. We asked if we could get a resort credit but not even a drink was offered. Our oceanfront room was great except for the non stop techno music that started at 6am. We like all kinds of music but when we couldn’t stand it anymore, we escaped across the street to get a drink and enjoy some quiet. Unfortunately they had closed the bar since they had a dinner special, so no drinks to be had. Finally we asked if we could check out at 12 instead of 11, but that was a no go too. Beautiful facility but we wouldn’t go back.

By , from Florida on Jan 31, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 3, 2020

Hello Barb; Thank you so much for your comments and feedback in reference to your stay with us. I am sorry that your request was never brought up to management as we try to accommodate as much as we possibly can. We will pass this over to our staff and if given a chance we will be happy to make it a far better experience for you. Warm Wishes

5
Partner Couples

Amazing food - perfect beach, modern rooms, clean, great staff

By on Jan 25, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 30, 2020

Hello Matt; Thank you so much for the feedback. We welcome and appreciate it very much. Warm Regards,

4
Everyone

By on Jan 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 15, 2020

Thank you for stopping by

5
Everyone

By on Sep 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2019

Thank you!

5
Friends

The bed was extremely comfortable. Bevin and Damone were very nice and helpful. Top notch customer service. I loved how they had free bicycles, kayaks, towels, paddle boards and a 10 minute massage with beautiful scenery. Their breakfast was excellent and the swim up bar was very cool. Would definitely stay there again when I go back!

By on Sep 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 3, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated and we will pass on to our team.

5
Partner Couples

Great curb appeal!!! More amenities could have been useful and golf cart and motorcycle rentals would help with get to and from the city. Cabs are expensive!!!

By on Jul 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 25, 2019

Hi Ronny, thanks for the review and we hope you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the feedback.

4
Friends

Very clean and beautiful props, and staff was mostly friendly. Don’t get the chocolate cake, it’s very dry!! We wanted to play volleyball, but they didn’t have one. Also, we wanted to use the hot tub, but it wasn’t working. The bar tenders were super nice, but they shut down really early, so staying at the pool after dark and enjoying bar drinks, isn’t really an option. Our rooms were much nicer than we expected and they clean them daily while you’re out. Our biggest complaint was that on the first day, we asked if breakfast was free. The staff told us the continental breakfast, coffee, and juice was included in our room package, so that’s what we got every day instead of ordering something else that we would have actually wanted. Then, on the last day, they charged us for all of those continental breakfasts and refused to remove them from our bill. We would have NEVER EVER ordered that if we knew that they were charging us. It’s literally a bunch of melons and some bread with jam and that’s it. NOT WORTH $10 per person each day! We were very upset that they did not honor what we were told by their own staff. Overall, I do recommend this property, and the staff was mostly friendly and helpful. Anna at the adventure reservations desk was amazing. She should get a raise.

By on Jul 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 25, 2019

Good Day Tanya; Thank you for writing. We appreciate any and all feedback from your visit. Please be informed that we have tried to reach you by phone and also an email was sent to you. Kindly check you messages and let us know if you have further questions. We hope to hear from you. Regards.

5
Everyone

The first floor ocean side suites walked right out to the beach.

By on Jul 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2019

Thanks for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon.

Umaya Resort & Adventures

Maya Beach, Stann Creek, Placencia,
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Placencia-Hotels-Umaya-Resort-&-Adventures.h6909072-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Placencia-Hotels-Umaya-Resort-&-Adventures.h6909072-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Placencia-Hotels-Umaya-Resort-&-Adventures.h6909072-p2.Hotel-Reviews