Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The property had plenty of parking. It felt safe and secure.

It was the cheapest hotel I could find closest to downtown Pittsburgh. However, they charge additional for parking, so that will raise your price. The building condition wasn't great, many doors stuck and there were many small things that seemed unprofessional, like a poorly hung large mirror; badly done, moldy caulking in the shower; and mold in the bathroom wallpaper. There were stains on the sheets and other bedding, including coffee and lipstick stains. Not the best hotel I've stayed in, but not the worst either.

Location was convenient. Shaded curtain was not there, so sunshine in the room and up by 6:30am.

I am a holiday in express fan and stay in these hotels often, however this location was a disappointment. The place is really outdated and partly smells like mold. Staff is nice but there’s too few people working so they don’t have time to help you. The shower in our room was broken which was not fun with a family of four. We did not get extra blankets or pillows for our kids, someone probably forgot or did not have time to bring them. The breakfast was chaotic, again too little staff working. Much much rather go to the Monroeville location which is not too far from Pittsburgh, it is really clean and updated and serves great breakfast.

Room dirty, comforter ink stoned, bed barely made, mold in bathroom. Half of electrical outlets not working

The room smell the minutes I walk in. Also you have to pay for parking and the street wasn’t the safest. However. It closed to downtown. It expensive o pay for based on the conditions and the cleanliness of the units

The property was nice. The staff was very nice and friendly. I did not like that you have to pay $22.00 a night for parking.

Short staffed at front desk. Sticky linoleum floor.

Hotel was well tended , clean, with a great location. Our room was bright with a view of the city BUT the sheets on the bed were 'pilly' beyond belief! Could not sleep between the sheets - they should have been thrown out YEARS ago! yuk.

This hotel was a great location to walk into Pittsburgh. The room was great - the staff was very nice; especially the courtesy van driver! We will be back.

Staff was great. Rooms were very well kept. Enjoyed the breakfast.

Great staff that helped with recommendations. The shuttle was pretty good most of the time.

In town to visit college student daughter, so we were glad to find something convenient and a good price

Free shuttle. Free breakfast. Friendly staff. Comfortable beds.

Young lady at the Front desk was very nice, hotel was very clean and the beds comfortable. We stayed an extra night.

Lady at front desk was rude her shift was coming to end and seemed that's all she cared about. There was also a guy at the front desk who took several people ahead of me when I was first in line plus my room was prepaid. Comforter on my bed was dirty. Hotel smelled like people were smoking pot. Disappointed in the breakfast food was hard and dried out, juice tasted watered down, no regular syrup for the pancakes. And no stews for drinks. Upset I had to pay for parking when guests that were just visiting me did not have to.

It was great. The service and staff were very nice and very efficient. Thank you for such a lovely stay

Despite having a confirmed reservation, there was no room available when I arrived and they sent me to a substandard motel 5 miles away. While the staff was apologetic, they were completely unprepared to deal with the situation and the arrangements I agreed to for the other establishment were not agreed with the other establishment. Unacceptable!

Breakfast poor. Daily room cleaning almost nonexistent. Threw n some towels & made the bed

20 S 10th St Pittsburgh PA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to PPG Paints Arena and Duquesne University
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Indoor pool

Located in South Side Flats, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side is a leisurely stroll from popular sights such as PPG Paints Arena and Duquesne University. This 125-room, 3-star hotel has an indoor pool along with free in-room WiFi and a fitness center.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Other standard amenities include a sitting area, a refrigerator, and a microwave.


Property features

Guests staying at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. If you drive, self parking is USD 22 per day, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Mobility, Roll-In Shower)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Hearing, Roll-In Shower)

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Everyone (12) Couples (29) Business (11) Family (14) Friends (16)
4
Families Business Business Travelers

The property had plenty of parking. It felt safe and secure.

By on Aug 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 24, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you had a good stay with us, and hope that you stay again in the future. Have a wonderful day.

3
Family with small children

It was the cheapest hotel I could find closest to downtown Pittsburgh. However, they charge additional for parking, so that will raise your price. The building condition wasn't great, many doors stuck and there were many small things that seemed unprofessional, like a poorly hung large mirror; badly done, moldy caulking in the shower; and mold in the bathroom wallpaper. There were stains on the sheets and other bedding, including coffee and lipstick stains. Not the best hotel I've stayed in, but not the worst either.

By , from Cleveland on Aug 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 7, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I do appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know about your stay; it is the only way we know what is good, and what opportunities we can work on. I am sorry that you did not have a good stay, and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I will bring these issues to management and maintenance to be rectified; once again I am so sorry that you had to experience these issues. I hope that you have a wonderful day.

3
Families

Location was convenient. Shaded curtain was not there, so sunshine in the room and up by 6:30am.

By on Jul 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2019

I am sorry to hear that the blackout blind in your room did not work. I apologize that you experienced that issue, and I am making sure that maintenance checks all the blinds to make sure they are in good order. Thank you for your time and letting us know about your stay, and I hope you have a good day.

2
Family with small children

I am a holiday in express fan and stay in these hotels often, however this location was a disappointment. The place is really outdated and partly smells like mold. Staff is nice but there’s too few people working so they don’t have time to help you. The shower in our room was broken which was not fun with a family of four. We did not get extra blankets or pillows for our kids, someone probably forgot or did not have time to bring them. The breakfast was chaotic, again too little staff working. Much much rather go to the Monroeville location which is not too far from Pittsburgh, it is really clean and updated and serves great breakfast.

By on Jul 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2019

Katya, thank you so much for giving us feedback about your stay. I am so very sorry to hear that you had issues during your stay, and I apologize that those things happened. I am passing your review along to all departments, so that we can rectify issues like these. Thank you so much for your time in this matter, and I hope you have a great day.

2
Families

Room dirty, comforter ink stoned, bed barely made, mold in bathroom. Half of electrical outlets not working

By on Jul 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2019

Thank you for your feedback; it is important for us to know what issues that our guests have experienced so that we know what we need to correct. I am sorry that you did not have a good stay, and I apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. I have brought these deficiencies to housekeeping and maintenance for correction. Thank you for your time in this matter, and have a great day.

4
Everyone

By on Jun 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 22, 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope that you stay with us again in the future.

3
Everyone

The room smell the minutes I walk in. Also you have to pay for parking and the street wasn’t the safest. However. It closed to downtown. It expensive o pay for based on the conditions and the cleanliness of the units

By on Jun 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, Adam. I am sorry that you did not have a great stay with us, and will pass along the room problems to housekeeping so that these things can be resolved before check in. Parking in the 'Golden Triangle' area of Pittsburgh is tough; street parking is usually metered and the parking lots are not cheap. I do apologize for the difficulties you experienced, and I hope you have a great day.

4
Partner Couples

The property was nice. The staff was very nice and friendly. I did not like that you have to pay $22.00 a night for parking.

By on Jun 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2019

Thank you for your response. We do appreciate your feedback. I know that the parking charge is something that can be a surprise for guests who stay at our location, so we do try to keep it lower than other hotels in the area. If you do stay in the future, ask for alternate parking. This neighborhood does not have much in the way of free parking, but we can direct you to the areas that do. Have a wonderful day.

3
Business Business Travelers

Short staffed at front desk. Sticky linoleum floor.

By on May 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay, and have made sure to bring your concerns to the appropriate people at the hotel. I hope you have a great day.

3
Partner Couples

Hotel was well tended , clean, with a great location. Our room was bright with a view of the city BUT the sheets on the bed were 'pilly' beyond belief! Could not sleep between the sheets - they should have been thrown out YEARS ago! yuk.

By , from Buffalo, us on Apr 15, 2019

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Pittsburgh-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Hotel-&-Suites-Pittsburgh-South-Side.h914423-p2.Hotel-Reviews
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.