Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Everything was great. They let us check in early. Let the kids get breakfast. Everyone was very nice and professional.

A beautiful place, quiet, the room was super comfortable and had everything I needed

Slow at check in, line at the elevators, noise in the corridors,

The shower had water damage. I could see a large bubble forming in the ceiling. Also there were a lot of stains on the ceiling as well. The water ran dirty brown for a few seconds when i first turned it on but then it ran clean and clear for the rest of our stay.

Not bad but there was some weird black spots on my second bed so I didn't stay long

The hotel was in a great location if you’re looking to visit the Southside, Downtown, or Oakland. The front desk staff was very friendly. The room was a little dirty: toothpaste stains in the sink, rust and hair in the shower, & dusty corners. I also requested a roll-in shower for my mom and was given a regular room, because of a “plumbing issue”. Once in the room, I realized that the shower and sink drains were somewhat clogged, which left the water to fill and very slowly drain. Assuming that a roll in shower would be flat, I could see how that would cause a bathroom to flood. Either way, there should be accommodations for folks needing them; otherwise, they should be told in advance so that other hotel arrangements can be made.

First room had cigarette smoke-smell in the room, so we had to change rooms. Second room had a crazy loud AC unit and most of the TV channels didn't work, so we changed rooms. Third room had two double beds instead of queen sized beds, but since we already tried three rooms, we weren't trying a fourth. We will NEVER stay at this place again.

The property around it was bad. Z it is run down maybe they need to restore it or demolish it

We used the shuttle service to and from PPG in a van that couldn't go over 5mph. We stopped in the middle of a bridge and inside the tunnels to restart the van. It was completely unsafe for us and the driver. Especially in Pittsburgh traffic!! I can't believe this van was being used. The driver told us this wasn't the first time she drove people in it. I felt so bad for her. She was extremely nice and apologetic. Something needs done before something bad happens.

Pull out bed didn't work, no blankets for the pull out bed , breakfast was good.

Well located, rooms nice, staff was not helpful and floor was dirty.

The location of the hotel is great. Walkable to and from many places we went and the have a shuttle that runs from 0700 to 2230.

The toilet bowl kept recycling water all night very loudly, the ac didn’t seem to work properly and the phone didn’t work at all

Very close and convenient to Duquesne. Easy parking. Comfortable and clean rooms.

The property had plenty of parking. It felt safe and secure.

It was the cheapest hotel I could find closest to downtown Pittsburgh. However, they charge additional for parking, so that will raise your price. The building condition wasn't great, many doors stuck and there were many small things that seemed unprofessional, like a poorly hung large mirror; badly done, moldy caulking in the shower; and mold in the bathroom wallpaper. There were stains on the sheets and other bedding, including coffee and lipstick stains. Not the best hotel I've stayed in, but not the worst either.

Location was convenient. Shaded curtain was not there, so sunshine in the room and up by 6:30am.

I am a holiday in express fan and stay in these hotels often, however this location was a disappointment. The place is really outdated and partly smells like mold. Staff is nice but there’s too few people working so they don’t have time to help you. The shower in our room was broken which was not fun with a family of four. We did not get extra blankets or pillows for our kids, someone probably forgot or did not have time to bring them. The breakfast was chaotic, again too little staff working. Much much rather go to the Monroeville location which is not too far from Pittsburgh, it is really clean and updated and serves great breakfast.

S 10th St Pittsburgh PA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to PPG Paints Arena and Duquesne University
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Indoor pool

Located in South Side within a short walk of PPG Paints Arena, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, an IHG Hotel is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Market Square. This hotel has 125 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

All 125 air-conditioned accommodations feature sitting areas. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers. Microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests staying at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, an IHG Hotel enjoy an indoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is offered for USD 22 per day. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Microwave (Minifridge)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, Multiple Beds

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

Standard Room

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (15) Couples (5) Family (11)
5
Friends

Everything was great. They let us check in early. Let the kids get breakfast. Everyone was very nice and professional.

By on Oct 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

5
Partner Couples Business Business

A beautiful place, quiet, the room was super comfortable and had everything I needed

By on Jul 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express PITTSBURGH-SOUTH SIDE. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

4
Partner Couples

Slow at check in, line at the elevators, noise in the corridors,

By on Jun 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 4, 2021

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Holiday Inn Express PITTSBURGH-SOUTH SIDE. I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future. I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Again, thank you for sharing your comments, and if I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at the hotel. Ray Nasiadka Front Office Manager Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-Southside

3
Partner Couples

The shower had water damage. I could see a large bubble forming in the ceiling. Also there were a lot of stains on the ceiling as well. The water ran dirty brown for a few seconds when i first turned it on but then it ran clean and clear for the rest of our stay.

By on May 25, 2021

Review comment responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you very much for your feedback; it is important to us so we know what we are doing well, and where we have opportunities for improvement. Maintenance had replaced a valve recently, and to do that they had to shut off the water to the building for a few hours. usually when this occurs, there is a slight discoloration when the water is first turned on, but dissipates quickly. I have let maintenance know abot the ceiling in the bathroom, to that those can be rectified. I apologize that you did not have a great experience with us, and thank you so much for your time. Have a great day.

5
Business Business

Not bad but there was some weird black spots on my second bed so I didn't stay long

By on May 20, 2021

Review comment responded on May 21, 2021

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate when our guests let us know about their stay. I will make sure to let housekeeping know of the issues you experienced. We appreciate your time, and have a great day.

3
Family

The hotel was in a great location if you’re looking to visit the Southside, Downtown, or Oakland. The front desk staff was very friendly. The room was a little dirty: toothpaste stains in the sink, rust and hair in the shower, & dusty corners. I also requested a roll-in shower for my mom and was given a regular room, because of a “plumbing issue”. Once in the room, I realized that the shower and sink drains were somewhat clogged, which left the water to fill and very slowly drain. Assuming that a roll in shower would be flat, I could see how that would cause a bathroom to flood. Either way, there should be accommodations for folks needing them; otherwise, they should be told in advance so that other hotel arrangements can be made.

By , from Pittsburgh, PA on Jul 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 12, 2020

Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate when guests let us know about their stay. I am sorry that your stay was not as good as it could have been, and I deeply apologize for the inconvenience that you had with not being able to have the roll in shower available. I have passed along your concerns, so that we can use the opportunity to correct them. Thank you very much for your time, and I hope you have a good day

1
Family Family

First room had cigarette smoke-smell in the room, so we had to change rooms. Second room had a crazy loud AC unit and most of the TV channels didn't work, so we changed rooms. Third room had two double beds instead of queen sized beds, but since we already tried three rooms, we weren't trying a fourth. We will NEVER stay at this place again.

By on Jun 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 3, 2020

Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate when our guests let us know about their stay. Let me take this moment to apologize to you for your experience. I am sorry for the experience that you had with us, and thank you for telling us of the opportunities for improvement. I have passed along the concerns you had to the appropriate departments to be corrected. Once again, I deeply apologize for the negative experience you had with us, and I hope you have a wonderful day.

5
Family Business Business

The property around it was bad. Z it is run down maybe they need to restore it or demolish it

By on May 12, 2020

Review comment responded on May 17, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express PITTSBURGH-SOUTH SIDE. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

2
Everyone

By on Feb 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express PITTSBURGH-SOUTH SIDE. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

3
Friends

We used the shuttle service to and from PPG in a van that couldn't go over 5mph. We stopped in the middle of a bridge and inside the tunnels to restart the van. It was completely unsafe for us and the driver. Especially in Pittsburgh traffic!! I can't believe this van was being used. The driver told us this wasn't the first time she drove people in it. I felt so bad for her. She was extremely nice and apologetic. Something needs done before something bad happens.

By on Jan 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 30, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that the shuttle was not running properly during your stay. I have let management know about your issue; the have sent the shuttle to the repair shop to find and correct the problem with the shuttle. I apologize that you were not able to utilize the shuttle in the manner we normally provide, and if you come back to the city, let us show you that this was not a normal occurrence and stay with us again. I thank you for your time, and have a great day.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, an IHG Hotel

20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Pittsburgh-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Hotel-&-Suites-Pittsburgh-South-Side,-an-IHG-Hotel.h914423-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Pittsburgh-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Hotel-&-Suites-Pittsburgh-South-Side,-an-IHG-Hotel.h914423-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Pittsburgh-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Hotel-&-Suites-Pittsburgh-South-Side,-an-IHG-Hotel.h914423-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions