Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Colony Palms Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Colony Palms Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Beautiful property and would almost recommend to friends and family, but management was incredibly rude. The mini bar has bottles of liquor and I opened up the tequila to make a cocktail. Since I didn’t use it all the first day I closed bottle and reopened the next day. When I went to open the bottle, the whole neck snapped off and glass went everywhere. I requested a new bottle or to remove from the bill. When I sent to show management what had happened, I was yelled at in the lobby in front of guests that I had broken the bottle. I calmly explained that the bottle was faulty and that the glass bottle neck just broke when I attempted to open. The manager was not interested in my explanation and continued to yell that I broken it on purpose. Why would deliberately do that?! She finally said she would remove the charge from the room. But sure enough, my card was still charged. It’s too bad. Lovely hotel with lot of charm. But management was rude and unwilling to provide any customer service. There are many lovely hotel in Palm Springs. I will not be recommending this one. And will plan to stay at other hotels.

Beautiful and relaxing environment. Loved sitting by the pool. Great restaurant. Good coffee!

My husband and I recently stayed at Colony Palms and had a wonderful weekend! The pool and grounds are beautiful and the staff is highly attentive. We dined at the hotel for most of our meals and the cocktails and food from the Purple Palm were delightful! Our room was very clean and spacious and they upgraded us to a casita for our anniversary. We had such a great time that we returned a few weeks later!

Everything here is new and clean! The staff is friendly and attentive. You cannot beat the location. You've got good eats and great vibes at the bar/restaurant plus there's a Starbucks in the lobby! We will be returning soon for another weekend escape!!

when it’s clear that the hotel is over 50% vacant and you are given a room with zero windows next to a highly trafficked staircase... it is pretty clear that booking through Expedia versus booking direct has its cost.

Charming public spaces and nice restaurant & bar. The service at the spa, restruarnat and front desk was great. When we arrived on a busy holiday weekend there was one attendant at the valet stand. We had to wait about 20 minutes for assistance. After a seamless check-in and accommodating a one hour early check-in request we arrived at our King Deluxe Room which was dark, and a bit tired. Honestly I was expecting more for $500/night room that was a couple grades above the hotels standard room. Not only was the room tired but this room and many of the hotel rooms are flush against North Palm Canyon Rd. which is a super busy road.

This hotel is located one block from the main street of Palm Springs. It has a beautiful courtyard with a pool and bar and hot tub. Very relaxing atmosphere although we were there during weekdays and in off season. Our room was on the second floor. No elevator. Very quiet. Lovely view of the hills in the background from outside our door. The room is stocked with liquor, sodas and water ; all for sale. Nice assortment of glasses for every kind of cocktail. Ice has to be delivered to your room. No coffee maker. Had to remove all the drinks in the little refrigerator to accomodate what we wanted in there. Staff and bartender friendly and helpful. Parking is at a premium in that area but during the week we had no problem. No gym facilities for those who don't like to swim. Grounds are well tended.

Restaurant and bar is right by the pool. Upscale delicious food - not your typical pool bar food. We had a second floor room with a balcony and view of the pool - very relaxing. Great location - Only 2 blocks to the best restaurants and shops in Palm Springs. Grounds are kept up beautifully. And they have bikes to use at your convenience!

If you are looking for a walkable option to old town, The Colony Palms is still your best bet. Unfortunately, what was once a chic high service option is now a bit worn with lukewarm service at best. Still love the quirky intimate vibe, but it begs for a refresh. The rooms are comfortable, but most without views and are very dark. With so many other options available now at the same cost, the cool factor no longer merits the rates. The "it crowd" have definitely moved on to options like Sparrows Lodge or The Horizon etc. The staff are so chill, that it made us very un chill. They really need some proper training in proactive hospitality. "Nice" is not enough, and we are not your "buddy", we are your customer. On a positive note, we had two of the best meals we'd ever had in the desert. While the atmosphere of the restaurant is just OK, the food is amazing. Impressive what they are turning out of such a small kitchen, and worth a drop in or two while in town.

The only minus is that the on site bar closes too early, otherwise near perfection.

We had a great time spending a 4 day weekend visit at Colony Palms. The property is beautiful. Great drinks and food at the Purple Palms restaurant which is located right by the pool. Located within walking distance of Palm Canyon Drive where all the shops are located. Would definitely recommend staying here.

The Purple Palm Restaurant food and staff are excellent. Particularly enjoyed breakfast by or looking out at the pool over three cloudy, unusually wet days before Christmas. On the other hand, the heating in our room didn't work until we complained on the second day. The electronic room keys didn't work until the third or fifth try and on the last day we were locked out altogether. Both check-in and checkout took way too long because important details about charges were either missing or wrong (the daily resort fee was already included in our prepaid package, but initially we were told at check-in we'd have to pay it; a $35 minibar charge appeared on bill, though it was never used; a food credit wasn't put on the bill until we asked about it). The way the bill itself is presented is incomprehensible to a guest.

This is my number 1 place to stay but not this time. Under new ownership and construction. Pool was murky. ..I was told they ran out of chlorine. Coffee is no longer served poolside in the morning. Spa closed due to remodeling. Yet no one chooses to advise you of that. They should do a shut down and get it done. Too nice of a place to let people come to under these conditions. Had breakfast poolside and they were out of 2 major items and others were served first after my 45 min. wait after ordering. Just not at their best at the moment!!!!

it's a nice quaint hotel, but it could use a little updating. it's more like an upscale motel with really nice landscaping. we had brown carpet in our bedroom which definitely turned us off when we walked inside, also an oversized leather club chair that was way too big to fit in the small room. the bathroom was nice and big, good water pressure, bed was comfortable. nice robes too. $100 to bring your dog is way too expensive, it's higher than any other hotel. there are a lot of hotels to choose from in PS and while we enjoyed our stay for the most part, we tried Colony Palms and the experience was a little underwhelming. i think it's overpriced for what it is and what you get.

Fantastic oasis in a great location. Super comfy bed. Very clean. Great staff. Would stay again!

The whole weekend was great. It felt very peaceful and private.

Room was small, pool food was expensive and not the best. Close to restaurants and shops.

572 North Indian Canyon Palm Springs CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to San Jacinto Mountains and Palm Springs Art Museum
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free valet and self parking
  • Onsite dining

Colony Palms Hotel places you in Uptown Design District, within a leisurely stroll of popular sights such as San Jacinto Mountains and Palm Springs Art Museum. This 4-star hotel has 56 guestrooms and offers a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. Full breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 8 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

An LCD TV comes with digital channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include a minibar, free newspapers, and a ceiling fan.


Property features

Guests staying at Colony Palms Hotel enjoy access to a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a spa tub. A stay here includes free valet parking. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with luggage storage, concierge services, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this spa hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and free use of bicycles.

Room options

Suite (Winners Circle)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Superior Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Colony Palms Hotel

Everyone (14) Couples (43) Business (4) Family (4) Other (6) Friends (2)
5
Everyone

By on May 18, 2019

Review comment responded on May 25, 2019

Thank you for the 5 out of 5!

2
Friends

Beautiful property and would almost recommend to friends and family, but management was incredibly rude. The mini bar has bottles of liquor and I opened up the tequila to make a cocktail. Since I didn’t use it all the first day I closed bottle and reopened the next day. When I went to open the bottle, the whole neck snapped off and glass went everywhere. I requested a new bottle or to remove from the bill. When I sent to show management what had happened, I was yelled at in the lobby in front of guests that I had broken the bottle. I calmly explained that the bottle was faulty and that the glass bottle neck just broke when I attempted to open. The manager was not interested in my explanation and continued to yell that I broken it on purpose. Why would deliberately do that?! She finally said she would remove the charge from the room. But sure enough, my card was still charged. It’s too bad. Lovely hotel with lot of charm. But management was rude and unwilling to provide any customer service. There are many lovely hotel in Palm Springs. I will not be recommending this one. And will plan to stay at other hotels.

By on Apr 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was with us. I am so glad to hear you that you enjoyed the beautiful property but saddened to hear of the challenges you experienced. I would love the opportunity to turn this around. Please contact the hotel directly and ask for me so I can remove the bottle of tequila off of your bill. Looking forward to speaking with you.

5
Everyone

By on Feb 27, 2019

5
Friends Business Business Travelers

Beautiful and relaxing environment. Loved sitting by the pool. Great restaurant. Good coffee!

By on Feb 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 19, 2019

Thank you for the 5 out of 5! we are so glad that you had a relaxing and beautiful experience! We cannot wait for you to come back and visit us.

3
Everyone

By on Jan 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2019

Hi Anonymous - Thank you for the 3 out of 5. Because we strive to make sure all of our guests have an amazing I would love to hear back from you on how we could have received a 5 out of 5. Appreciate your feed back and hope you will visit us again one day.

5
Everyone

My husband and I recently stayed at Colony Palms and had a wonderful weekend! The pool and grounds are beautiful and the staff is highly attentive. We dined at the hotel for most of our meals and the cocktails and food from the Purple Palm were delightful! Our room was very clean and spacious and they upgraded us to a casita for our anniversary. We had such a great time that we returned a few weeks later!

By , from Los Angeles on Aug 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 4, 2018

Dear Alex: Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are thrilled you and your husband have enjoyed your stays with us. It is truly our pleasure to be of service. We look forward to your return!

5
Everyone

Everything here is new and clean! The staff is friendly and attentive. You cannot beat the location. You've got good eats and great vibes at the bar/restaurant plus there's a Starbucks in the lobby! We will be returning soon for another weekend escape!!

By , from Los Angeles on Jul 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 7, 2018

Thank you so much, Stan, for your nice comments! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!

3
Everyone

when it’s clear that the hotel is over 50% vacant and you are given a room with zero windows next to a highly trafficked staircase... it is pretty clear that booking through Expedia versus booking direct has its cost.

By on Apr 30, 2018

Review comment responded on May 10, 2018

Dear Anonymous, I am so sorry you felt you were not taken care of, we upgrade people whenever possible. Thank you for the feedback. Warm regards, Nicole

4

rooms. a bit tired

Everyone

Charming public spaces and nice restaurant & bar. The service at the spa, restruarnat and front desk was great. When we arrived on a busy holiday weekend there was one attendant at the valet stand. We had to wait about 20 minutes for assistance. After a seamless check-in and accommodating a one hour early check-in request we arrived at our King Deluxe Room which was dark, and a bit tired. Honestly I was expecting more for $500/night room that was a couple grades above the hotels standard room. Not only was the room tired but this room and many of the hotel rooms are flush against North Palm Canyon Rd. which is a super busy road.

By on Feb 19, 2018

4

great location

Everyone

This hotel is located one block from the main street of Palm Springs. It has a beautiful courtyard with a pool and bar and hot tub. Very relaxing atmosphere although we were there during weekdays and in off season. Our room was on the second floor. No elevator. Very quiet. Lovely view of the hills in the background from outside our door. The room is stocked with liquor, sodas and water ; all for sale. Nice assortment of glasses for every kind of cocktail. Ice has to be delivered to your room. No coffee maker. Had to remove all the drinks in the little refrigerator to accomodate what we wanted in there. Staff and bartender friendly and helpful. Parking is at a premium in that area but during the week we had no problem. No gym facilities for those who don't like to swim. Grounds are well tended.

By , from Sacramento, CA on Jan 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 6, 2018

Dear Susan, Thank you for your detailed review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and you found our staff to be friendly and the room well stocked. We have coffee makers in the Casita's and the Suites and Complimentary coffee until noon in the lobby. The Parking and the Valet are complimentary for our guests. Hope to see you soon! Nicole Winslow

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.