Ecoplaya Beach Resort3.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
No airconditioning No running water Poor management One of the hotel staff was nice and tried to help, but apparently was fired the next day. This hotel needs some TLC asap. Almost looks abandoned its so rundown.
Things are really lacking maintenance...showers...hot water... Food was also poor in quality, variety and quantity!! We had a problem with some boards that were damaged and the hotel owner Although stated everything would be sorted out, nothing ever was...and no refunds or repairs were payed...very poor allround... unfortunately...
Our family (mother / father / 5 year old son) visited over Easter weekend (Semana Santa) 2017. We picked EcoPlaya for it's price and location (right on the beach, and close proximity to location where a friends' wedding was taking place). We were very pleased with our stay and heartily recommend it, especially for more seasoned travelers. Pros: * Great location - right on a beach, which we thoroughly enjoyed, and plenty of activities nearby * Friendly staff - everyone at the hotel was friendly and accommodating. If you speak a little Spanish, it will help * Pool - our son loved spending time in the pool, especially with the other children who were staying there * Delicious food and ice-cold beer at the restaurant * A/C worked great * Kids' channels on the room's television (great for helping our son wind down) * Wildlife - tropical birds, iguana, horses, cattle, monkeys, sloths, aardvark - you name it, we saw it at or near the hotel. While this might be a turn-off for some, we absolutely loved it * Good signage, was easy to locate * Very reasonably priced Cons: * If you keep food in your room, the bugs will come and find it. We kept our snacks wrapped tight though and that helped a lot. Not a big deal as we deal with the same thing back home. * Pool filter was not working (or not there) - pool got a little too green for our liking later in the week * No WiFi - the warnings about WiFi spottiness we read online were true. But on the flip side, this helped us unplug more. Overall, a very good bang for the buck and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We're already looking forward to our next trip back to Costa Rica!
We read some of the old negative reviews for Ecoplaya, and we (family of 6, 3 adults, 3 children) we were hesitant about going there. Fortunately, we went there. They changed our originally booked one-bedroom unit to a two-bedroom unit (#201), with a modest fee increase. It overlooked the ocean. The maids cleaned daily. We were very comfortable. The people at Ecoplaya arranged a fishing trip for 6 on a panga (26 ft. fishing boat) at a nearby beach. We used hand lines for the first time. We caught 2 tuna and 4 red snapper...cost $130.. What a deal! A car is "A Must", as decent grocery shopping in La Cruz about 45 minutes from the resort. If you don't like to do your own cooking, the resort has a excellent restaurant, with modest prices. We like to do our own cooking. Our unit had a hot plate and a microwave that we use for our simple recipes. There were lots of birds, iguanas, and monkeys at the resort. We drove to volcano Orosi near the resort. Great sunsets and swimming can be found at nearby by Playa Jobo. Do not hesitate about going here, especially if you want to experience "real Costa Rica"! If you want a all-inclusive resort, with pool entertainment, you might want to select another resort?
Please read the long review to understand the rating I give the resort. This resort DOES have problems (rooms need a lot of updating, beds are as hard as sleeping on the floor, ants all over, lizards making noise in the room overnight, old pots and pans, A/C not working) You have to be careful if you decide to go in for a swim at the beach. There are small creatures called 'hilos de oro', sort of jelly fish that sting and make a rash on skin. It goes away but hurts for a little bit. They also said beware of sting rays. But it is great place for kite surfing. If you stay at the villa's, they need the most work. We had a two bedroom, the first night my daughter couldn't stay in her bed because lots of tiny ants all over. On our 3rd day, we left for the entire day to come back to a flooded villa. A pipe busted under kitchen sink. There must have been 1-2" of water. My husband immediately went to front desk (I don't think the room's phone worked). ABRAHAM was at the front desk, he offered two hotel rooms that were available. I asked him if they were available for the remaining of our stay. He was very accommodating. He verified the rooms were open and we stayed at the hotel side. I have to give Abraham a big thank you. He felt bad for the inconvenience. He was freaking out, trying to locate the owners to let them know about the situation. The hotel room does not include refrigerator or kitchen pots and pans. The workers moved mostly everything for us. They brought a fridge from another room. The hotel rooms were much better. Right in front of the pool. As I mentioned we got two adjoining rooms, but the A/C on one of them didn't work (someone 'tried' to fix it but didn't work). We mentioned it again to front desk, but no one came back. My husband talked to the owner, Lucy. She was very apologetic and even offer dinner. They are trying to work on the resort, it's just going to take some time. Pool has no light at night, but they do clean it everyday. Mario is the pool man. He is very nice person. The hotel has no ice machines. You have to ask restaurant to give you some. They try to sell you the big bag, but I told them front desk mentioned you 'give' the guest some ice. This is another inconvenience. Beware of the raccoons at night, they come very close to you looking for food. Sorry for the long review but I give Ecoplaya 3 rating because the admin was apologetic, we got better rooms and you can't beat the tranquility and peaceful atmosphere. We passed by the big resort Dreams, next to Ecoplaya. Yes it's huge, all inclusive typical tourist attraction place. If that's what you are into, then you have that option. But we liked Ecoplaya, most of their staff was really nice and we got to see monkeys up and close, some nice birds and drank fresh coconut water that we asked a worker (gave him a tip) to cut them for us. We enjoyed the pool during the day, practically all to ourselves. Hopefully the owners keep updating the place, because it's a great property and we enjoyed the peacefulness.
(English at the bottom) El hotel se ubica en una playa que NO es la que usan en sus fotografías. La playa no es Rajada y no tiene arena clara. Tampoco se menciona que la zona es extremadamente ventosa y que es destino de kite surfing, por lo que puede causar inconvenientes si uno no lo sabe. El servicio es malo: mediocre en recepción y pésimo en el restaurante. Durante la cena, la mesera nos dijo que teníamos que esperar más de media hora por nuestros platos porque había 11 órdenes adelante, una por persona en el lugar. Parecía como si tuvieran un solo cocinero. Tuvimos que salir del hotel a buscar nuestra cena. Al desayuno, las opciones se reducían a una y apenas alcanzó para una taza de café. Cuando pregunté si iban a preparar más, la mesera me dijo que ya no había. Nótese que no fuimos los últimos en llegar al desayuno. Al momento de la salida, no obtuve ni siquiera una sonrisa de parte del personal de recepción y mucho menos un "gracias". Me sentí como si no fuera bien recibido. Las instalaciones están bien construidas, pero les falta mantenimiento. Las puertas una vez tuvieron llave elctrónica, pero ahora es una cerradura manual (una sola llave por habitación, así que no se pierda con ésta si va acompañado). El aire acondicionado es muy ruidoso y a nosotros nos despertó varias veces en la noche, aunque no somos de sueño ligero. En la mañana, el piso tenía un charco de agua que había hecho el A/C. Con un poco de cuidado, el hotel podría ser mucho mejor. The hotel is located in a beach which is NOT the one they use in their pictures. This is not Rajada beach, it doesn't have clear sand. They don't mention that the area is extremely windy and that it is an actual kite surfing destination. This could cause issues if you're not aware of it. The overall service is bad: medriocre at the counter and awful at the restaurant. During dinner the waitress told us we had to wait more than 30 minutes to get our order because there were 11 previous orders, one per person in the place. It seemed like they had only one cook. We had to go out to get our dinner. At breakfast time, the options narrowed down to one and I could barely get one cup of coffee. I asked for more but the waitress told me they were not making any new batch. Note that we were not the last group to arrive. At checkout, I didn't even get a smile from the people at the counter. A "thank you" never arrived. I felt like I was not well received. The facilities are well built, but they're missing a lot of maintenance. The doors once had electronic keys, but now it's a manual lock (with one key per room, so don't go away with it if you come with others). The A/C is very noisy at the point to wake us up several times during the night, even when we're not people of light sleep. I found one big leak in the morning coming from the A/C itself. With a little bit of care, this place could be way better.
Excellent cabinas and rooms, most renovated and in good standard. Fantastic location on a private beach with a superb pool and friendly restaurant. Most small things are really annoying however - wifi never works and noone cares, several small amenities and tools in the kitchen like potato peeler was missing (and we were told there was none we could borrow 10 minutes even in the restaurant), we kept getting fewer towels than we were people living in the cabina, and while some staff were very friendly many gave a clear vibe of not caring. The reception staff especially was oddly uninterested in helping or fixing anything - which can be very annoying. All this in a hotel that charges a lot for the rooms and cabinas makes for an oddly mixed experience. The faults would be easy to fix - if someone there cared at all, and small things can really be annoying when you are paying 130-200 USD a night.
Walked into a large room that smelled of urine, the smell did dissipate once we aired it out by leaving the balcony doors open. The bath tub was stained, had rusted screws sticking out of the wall from a broke off soap holder, holes in the shower curtain, and shower head was laying at the back of the tub. When my husband put the shower head back on the water pressure was so bad it trickled down the wall. We had to ask for the hot water to be turned on. When you flushed the toilet it sounded like a freight train. There were no chairs on the balcony. There was a spot for a refrigerator but it was not in the room. The roof shingles beside our balcony were rotted off. The large king sized bed was comfortable, but the comforter was thread bare. The air conditioner went out several times and the room became sticky. When the air conditioner did work, it blew right at our faces at night. We only ate one meal there because it was horrible. We got soggy french fries and something they called a hamburger. Wifi never worked. The beach was by far the dirtiest in the area even worse than every public beach we went on. Dead fish everywhere. Pool was dirty, although we finally saw someone cleaning it the day we left. Staff was friendly and fairly bilingual at the front desk. Poolside bar was never staffed
Our room was very clean and comfortable. The grounds are meticulously maintained daily without any disturbance or inconvenience to guests. The beach is great for shell hunting and swimming. It was a very relaxing visit and I would recommend Ecoplaya to anyone looking for a peaceful, out of the way destination.
My husband and I and two of our adult children spent 7 days & nights at Ecoplaya in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath villa. It was very comfortable & quiet and we felt at home. After reading many of the older reviews I understood that it has been in transition and I found that the new owners have done a lot to update and improve the resort. Both bathrooms were newly remodeled and we found Alex and the staff very accommodating to all our needs, even having daily housekeeping. We had a refrigerator, hotplate, microwave and electric skillet that worked out fine for the few meals we made there. The hotplate didn't work at first and maintenance immediately replaced it. The grounds, pool & beach are lovely and cleaned daily, but the area is extremely windy. Very popular with the kite surfers we met who even came from other countries. We were able to find nicer beaches like Playa Rajada nearby that were a little less windy. It was a perfect location, only one hour from Liberia airport and 20 minutes to the town of La Cruz to shop. The town of El Jobo was only 5 minutes away and there are mini marts if you need anything. We had several meals in the hotel restaurant and Chito treated us like family. The food was good, typical Costa Rican style, and we enjoyed it, but since we're from California and are used to spicy Mexican and other flavorful ethnic foods, we thought the food was pretty bland everywhere and we wished we had brought a big jar of salsa and avocados along everywhere we ate but we still enjoyed all our meals. We booked some tours and one was a day trip to Nicaragua that included a visit to the town of Granada, a boat trip on Lake Nicaragua and trip to an active volcano. The day was awesome and we also went on another tour to Blue River resort in the rainforest where we did ziplining (8 exciting ziplines over waterfalls & a free fall at the end), mud baths, mineral pools and swam in a waterfall pool. I'd recommend these trips as they included meals and were a very good value. Even thought the location is so close to Nicaragua you should not venture alone as we found the border crossing and multiple checkpoints were much smoother in the tour bus with the wonderful Nicaraguan guide, and we wouldn't have known where to go. We also got a day pass for the Dreams resort nearby and spent a day by the pools, unlimited eating and drinking. It was lovely but we felt it was too expensive and touristy. We preferred the quiet friendly ambiance of the staff, restaurant and facilities at Ecoplaya. In the evening we enjoyed the breezes on big rocking chairs on the porch and fed the visiting neighborhood cats and friendly raccoons. We also tried Juanita's restaurant nearby and it was very good. The tables are outside with friendly puppies, a hammock, yummy pizza, pasta and coconut flan. If you want luxury, you might want to consider paying a fortune to stay at Dreams, but if you're a down to earth person like we are, who wants to relax and feel at home, I would recommend you try Ecoplaya if you want to visit La Cruz or El Jobo, especially if you plan to tour other areas and have a quiet home to return to in the evening. Costa Rica is so natural and beautiful and we enjoyed the country roads where cows, horses, chickens and other animals roamed freely. The people are lovely and I would recommend visiting there. Don't expect to buy inexpensive food or souvenirs as prices are comparable or more expensive than in the U.S., especially at the airport! We shopped a little in Nicaragua from the craft market and also in Coco Beach and a shopping center nearby to buy coffee and a few items the day we left. We ended up getting a few last minute things at the airport and the prices were really outrageous, so buy what you can before you get there. All in all, we had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed our stay Ecoplaya Resort.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
37% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 173 reviews