Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The hotel was ok for one night. The beds were not comfortable, rooms looked dark and outdated. I didn't have the Niagara Falls view room as I paid for. The only view was to the parking lot.

Nice hotel..limited food options except expensive downtown restaurants..10-20$ breakfast...hidden fees..30$ pre day parking..15$ resort fee daily( mandatory)..+hidden taxes...3 days = 150$ extra fees..

Nice fallview, nice hotel staff, carpet need upgrade, AC is nosiy

I will not recommend to go there.Too dark in room,no frig.actually its 1star hotel.

We arrived at the hotel early and the staff allowed us to check in early. The facility is on average. We lived in a room with the fallsview. You can watch the Falls clearly.

First room we were shown to was on the 10th floor and reeked of cigarettes;room phone didn't work;hotel advertises a complimentary shuttle;"Shuttle" only runs from 5-10 pm and takes you to their sister restaurant only. Complained about the room smelling like smoke and asked for an "upgrade" due to the inconvenience;was "upgraded" to the 19th floor;the only "upgrade" was a jetted tub. The tub was stained so we didn't use it. Water pressure in the shower was minimal,at best,no fan in the bathroom and the heater when the fan was running was way too hot but if the fan was shut off it was too cold.On our second afternoon,after returning from a late lunch,our key card wouldn't work. After a trip back down to the desk we were told to keep the room card away from cell phones and car keys;after explaining that it hadn't been near either,front desk said that the key cards become deactivated after 24 hours! Really?! We still had another 24 hours in that room we had booked!Charged for the pool,never used it. Charged for fitness room,never used it. Disappointed,as it was way off season,cold,snowy weather and the hotel rates,extra fees and taxes were exorbitant.

Close to what we wanted to do. Holel transportation to testaurants

Great location , did no need my car to see What I needed to see.

It is just ok. Falls view is blocked by trees. Not a good view for falls view room price. No refrigerator in the room. Parking is not free. $25/day.

John at the front desk really helped me out. There is a deposit fee of $250 which is not well advertised in my opinion. My credit was frozen from being out of the country and the Citibank disadvantage card customer service sucked so bad I had to pay it in cash or not get a room. I was with my 3 sons ages 8,15,16 and only had enough to put up a portion of it. He understood and worked with me to get us a room with a discounted deposit. Thank you John. Oh, by the way, if you plan on visiting Niagra Falls, bring plenty of cash as you will be fee'd and taxed to death. A cheeseburger and fries with no drink is $22.50 at Fridays. Seriously.

We arrived there and they gave us a room in another building, it was like a motel room with another parking lot, the room was smelly, dirty,and really disappointing. I went back to the main building and talked to one of the staff(his name was John, who was really nice ) told him I was unhappy with the room and asked him to change it for us(we were 4) so he tried and he gave me a premium room(not standard) they were almost sold out. The room was really nice, clean, and with a fallsview which was a game changer for a 40$ more. I recommend the hotel only if you can be sure about the room you choose, don't let them choose at check in. And I really wish they have more pictures for the rooms on the website. Overall good hotel.

nice good views of horseshoe falls, hotel amenities okay but had a nice whirlpool bathtub, wished had microwave too, and a bit further from american falls

great view of the falls -- definitely recommend a higher floor although there's a 14th floor observatory open to everyone. Clean room and nice big bathroom with jetted tub, separate shower.

We had an amazing view of the falls, close to everything, great facilities. Hotel requires $25 day for parking and $200 deposit due at check in.

We were on the ninth floor with a spectacular view of the Falls. The room was clean and comfortable, and quiet.

The falls side view was everything that was promised, it was wonderful. They had tried to update the room but it was definitely shabby and they had cut may corners. It was mostly clean, but not great. We had to wait two hours past check in for our room that was pre-booked and all they did was comp parking. The whole hotel looked like a cheap version trying to be fancy.

Awesome view from hotel. Our room was in 52nd floor. Great location. Totally worth.

The hotel was great. Shared room with 2 friends. Room had bedroom separation so we weren't on top of each other, which is nice since we just spent over 8 hours in the car driving up from New York. View was awesome of the falls. Would stay there again.

I was exited about my trip. I have seen hotel pictures and paid decent price but when i landed i was clue less... They provided me room at 1st floor of hotel. Which is just like small motel. I felt overpaid for worst rooms. Advice: Never attracted by room with cheap price in this hotel, Double check your floor and actual room allocated to you.

I loved my stay at The Oakes. The staff was extremely nice. The view to the falls was AMAZING. I would recommend the 16th floor. I will definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

6546 Fallsview Blvd Niagara Falls ON

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Skylon Tower
  • Onsite dining
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center

Skylon Tower is a short stroll from Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, and other popular attractions like Horseshoe Falls are within a mile (2 km). This 3.5-star hotel has 239 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a restaurant, an indoor pool, and a fitness center. It's also close to American Falls and Bridal Veil Falls.


Dining

For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning for a fee. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or enjoy a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant.


Rooms

All of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls's 239 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, phones, and ironing boards. 32-inch LCD TVs come with satellite channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Rooms also include desks.


Property features

At Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, guests enjoy features like an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. Self parking is available for CAD 30 per night. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include a sauna, a meeting room, and express check-out.

Room options

Standard room 2 queen beds riverview 2-7

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Premier Fallsview 1 king bed Jacuzzi suite 8-20

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Fallsview 2 queen beds 8-12

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Premier riverview Jacuzzi suite 3-7

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Everyone (13) Couples (199) Business (9) Family (185) Friends (37) Other (16)
3

it looks better on the pictures

Families

The hotel was ok for one night. The beds were not comfortable, rooms looked dark and outdated. I didn't have the Niagara Falls view room as I paid for. The only view was to the parking lot.

By , from Rochester, NY on Jul 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2017

Thank you for your review, i am sorry that yiu were not happy with the room booked. We have made many changes to the desciption as we want our guests to know what they are booking.

3

close to falls

Everyone

Nice hotel..limited food options except expensive downtown restaurants..10-20$ breakfast...hidden fees..30$ pre day parking..15$ resort fee daily( mandatory)..+hidden taxes...3 days = 150$ extra fees..

By on Jul 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2017

Thank you your review, we apologise if the information was not transparent to you. We will see what we can do for future guests

4

nice hotel

Everyone

Nice fallview, nice hotel staff, carpet need upgrade, AC is nosiy

By , from New Jersey on Jul 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 11, 2017

thank you for your review , i will share your review with all the staff. Hope to see you again

1
Everyone

I will not recommend to go there.Too dark in room,no frig.actually its 1star hotel.

By on Jun 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2017

We are sorry that you were not happy, we will work harder to make improvements in hopes you return in the future

4
Everyone

We arrived at the hotel early and the staff allowed us to check in early. The facility is on average. We lived in a room with the fallsview. You can watch the Falls clearly.

By , from Cleveland, OH on May 17, 2017

Review comment responded on May 19, 2017

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome yoi back again

3

hotel had a nice view,that's what you paid for.

Everyone

First room we were shown to was on the 10th floor and reeked of cigarettes;room phone didn't work;hotel advertises a complimentary shuttle;"Shuttle" only runs from 5-10 pm and takes you to their sister restaurant only. Complained about the room smelling like smoke and asked for an "upgrade" due to the inconvenience;was "upgraded" to the 19th floor;the only "upgrade" was a jetted tub. The tub was stained so we didn't use it. Water pressure in the shower was minimal,at best,no fan in the bathroom and the heater when the fan was running was way too hot but if the fan was shut off it was too cold.On our second afternoon,after returning from a late lunch,our key card wouldn't work. After a trip back down to the desk we were told to keep the room card away from cell phones and car keys;after explaining that it hadn't been near either,front desk said that the key cards become deactivated after 24 hours! Really?! We still had another 24 hours in that room we had booked!Charged for the pool,never used it. Charged for fitness room,never used it. Disappointed,as it was way off season,cold,snowy weather and the hotel rates,extra fees and taxes were exorbitant.

By , from PA on Feb 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 9, 2017

Thank yu for your review, your comments are appreciated. I apologise for the first room as we are a non smoking hotel and take this offense very serious. I will follow up with the housekeeping department regarding the dirty tub in the second room as we do not take lack of cleanliness lightly.

4

great view of the falls

Everyone

Close to what we wanted to do. Holel transportation to testaurants

By on Oct 28, 2016

4

nice hotel close to niagara falls, canada

Everyone

Great location , did no need my car to see What I needed to see.

By , from New Jersey on Sep 26, 2016

3

ok hotel, not impressive

Everyone

It is just ok. Falls view is blocked by trees. Not a good view for falls view room price. No refrigerator in the room. Parking is not free. $25/day.

By , from chicago on Sep 22, 2016

4

great location/john at front desk

Families

John at the front desk really helped me out. There is a deposit fee of $250 which is not well advertised in my opinion. My credit was frozen from being out of the country and the Citibank disadvantage card customer service sucked so bad I had to pay it in cash or not get a room. I was with my 3 sons ages 8,15,16 and only had enough to put up a portion of it. He understood and worked with me to get us a room with a discounted deposit. Thank you John. Oh, by the way, if you plan on visiting Niagra Falls, bring plenty of cash as you will be fee'd and taxed to death. A cheeseburger and fries with no drink is $22.50 at Fridays. Seriously.

By , from CLE on Aug 22, 2016