Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

i enjoyed my stay very much. the location was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly head back to old 77 soon.

The walls and floors are REALLY thin. If you're looking for any quite time, look elsewhere. Guests walking in the room next to us literally sounded like they were walking in our room. The staff was okay overall, but a four or five star rating is not warranted.

I am so amazed with this hotel. From the moment we arrived everything has been amazing. The lobby/coffee place is absolutely beautiful and fitting of the location. The walls are covered with art that is for sale. Nice areas to lounge in. Our room is fantastic. On the Lafayette side of the building. They have an inexpensive mini bar with absolutely everything you could need. The beds are comfortable, the decor is amazing and the room service is superb. I also love the bathroom and shower too. The housekeeping is so attentive. We asked for QTIPS and she made it her mission to get them for us. She even said if they didn't have them they would go out and buy them. We hit the jackpot with this booking and would deff return here.

We stayed in March 2017 for 4 days. It is located close to all attractions in NOLA. The staff was very helpful, especially with our luggage. Our check out was at 11:30am but our flight left at 8:10pm, fortunately the hotel let us store our bags with them. The rooms were stylish, but we didn't have a window. Also, we could hear a lot of the noises from outside our room at night and in the morning. It wasn't bothersome to us since we came in late and left early, but I can see it being a problem if anyone was a light sleeper.

Was there for a destination wedding. Then hotel was loud and dirty. In the common areas the carpet was stained and windows were not clean. Wedding hosts left a welcome basket that we received on check out. Would not recommend.

Hotel staff, although understaffed at our check-in, were happy to assist in relocating from first room assigned which was an ADA room with shower facilities that weren't the cleanest upon our arrival and entry to the room. The corridors and public spaces all looked as though they hadn't had new carpeting or a paint job in a decade. If we wouldn't have been re-located we would have cancelled the booking and found a different hotel even if it meant $ lost. In the corrected room a light fixture didn't work and the bath products were not very generous. The bath towels were not very luxurious and seemed rough. There was only one robe in the room - even after having been there 3 days and through 3 housekeeping cycles. Over the course of three days and nights the various doormen at the street door of the hotel actually opened the door only once for us.

Just a few blocks from the French quarter but quiet at night to sleep. The decor is very cool and the restaurant was fabulous!

My wife and I loved everything about this hotel! Bed was super comfy! Room was clean! Hotel staff was amazing and helpful! What more can you ask for? This place is 5 stars in my book!!! Will be staying again!

Very good valet and restaurant folks, like pre-civil war era coffee warehouse repurposed to hotel

Tons of character, close to attractions - but not in the middle of the craziness.

We loved the hotel. It is walking distance to everything. Restaurants shopping all close by

Funky hotel. Wonderful lobby, restaurant and location. Room was moderately clean. Super helpful staff.

Great time, just wish had cheaper parking feesloved decor and facility

Nice hotel. Good location with easy access to much of the city. Can get a little loud with a popular bar being next door.

Loved the decor. The fact the ice machine didn't work on my floor didn't ruin my stay.

It's a nice place, friendly staff.. however, I didn't like our room. There was one window, and you couldn't see anything out side of it, which is fine, I don't need a view. But, it left the room really dark ... there were so many lamps and lights in the room, but it didn't help much.. also, the floors are really loud, they creek with every step and the walls are thin, so you hear EVERYTHING, upstairs, next door, in the hall. But, the staff was awesome, we got to check in early, so I really appreciated that. The lobby in nice and comfortable. And they make good coffee.

Beautiful historic hotel in great area, close to great restaurants, and French Quarter. Staff are friendly and professional.

Very hipster feeling hotel with lots of art in the lobby and a pretty cool piece in my room. Good rooms, great decor, great restaurant. Open shower in the bathroom was very unique. Awesome location, very walkable to anywhere. Shuttle pickup and dropped was very convenient and even faster than billed. I would definitely recommend it. Originally stayed there for business but considering coming back and bringing my wife. Definitely a unique atmosphere in a world of massive chain hotels.

We had a great experience at the Old 77. It's location is perfect, just outside the French Quarter and blocks away from great restaurants. The hotel itself is really cool and the bed was great. 100% recommend.

cool hotel, great staff, nice room and amazing robes! the bar/restaurant is also fantastic.

535 Tchoupitoulas Street New Orleans LA

Located in Warehouse District, The Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery is a leisurely stroll from popular sights such as National World War II Museum and Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. This 167-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi. It's in central New Orleans and also close to Mercedes-Benz Superdome and Jackson Square.


Dining

This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 6:30 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

The Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery's 167 rooms are air-conditioned and provide minibars, free local calls, and ceiling fans. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes, ironing boards, and desks are also available.


Property features

Renovated in 2015, The Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery offers a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. Valet parking is available for USD 36.00 per night. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this historic hotel include express check-out, free newspapers, and an ATM.

Guest reviews for The Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery

Everyone (24) Couples (9)
5

very nice hotel in a great location

Everyone

i enjoyed my stay very much. the location was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly head back to old 77 soon.

By on Apr 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2017

We can't wait to have you back, see you soon. All my best, Joshua Carpenter FDM

3

boutique hotel doesn't deliver

Everyone

The walls and floors are REALLY thin. If you're looking for any quite time, look elsewhere. Guests walking in the room next to us literally sounded like they were walking in our room. The staff was okay overall, but a four or five star rating is not warranted.

By on Mar 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 31, 2017

Thank you so much for your valued feedback. I apologize that you had issues with noise during your stay, I assure you this is not the norm. I love hearing that you enjoyed our restaurant.

5

amazing boutique hotel

Everyone

I am so amazed with this hotel. From the moment we arrived everything has been amazing. The lobby/coffee place is absolutely beautiful and fitting of the location. The walls are covered with art that is for sale. Nice areas to lounge in. Our room is fantastic. On the Lafayette side of the building. They have an inexpensive mini bar with absolutely everything you could need. The beds are comfortable, the decor is amazing and the room service is superb. I also love the bathroom and shower too. The housekeeping is so attentive. We asked for QTIPS and she made it her mission to get them for us. She even said if they didn't have them they would go out and buy them. We hit the jackpot with this booking and would deff return here.

By , from Philadelphia, PA on Mar 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 19, 2017

We love that you had a wonderful time at our hotel and the way you speak of us puts huge smiles on our face. We love knowing that our guest left our establishment excited to return to our great fun city and our great fun hotel. Thank you for such lovely words. All my best, Joshua Carpenter FDM

4

close to all the action

Everyone

We stayed in March 2017 for 4 days. It is located close to all attractions in NOLA. The staff was very helpful, especially with our luggage. Our check out was at 11:30am but our flight left at 8:10pm, fortunately the hotel let us store our bags with them. The rooms were stylish, but we didn't have a window. Also, we could hear a lot of the noises from outside our room at night and in the morning. It wasn't bothersome to us since we came in late and left early, but I can see it being a problem if anyone was a light sleeper.

By , from Philadelphia on Mar 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2017

Thank you so much for the great feedback and advice for our future travelers. WE are so glad you had a great time with us and it was in a good location. Come see us again anytime soon.

2

wedding gone wrong

Everyone

Was there for a destination wedding. Then hotel was loud and dirty. In the common areas the carpet was stained and windows were not clean. Wedding hosts left a welcome basket that we received on check out. Would not recommend.

By , from Chicago, Il on Mar 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2017

Thank you for your valued feedback. I am sorry you did not have a positive experience during your stay with us, I assure you this is not the norm. Please reach out to me, Martha, at the hotel to tell me more information about your experience. Please give us another chance when you are in New Orleans and I assure we will make sure you have a wonderful stay. Thank you again.

3

tired property - looks waayy better in its photos

Everyone

Hotel staff, although understaffed at our check-in, were happy to assist in relocating from first room assigned which was an ADA room with shower facilities that weren't the cleanest upon our arrival and entry to the room. The corridors and public spaces all looked as though they hadn't had new carpeting or a paint job in a decade. If we wouldn't have been re-located we would have cancelled the booking and found a different hotel even if it meant $ lost. In the corrected room a light fixture didn't work and the bath products were not very generous. The bath towels were not very luxurious and seemed rough. There was only one robe in the room - even after having been there 3 days and through 3 housekeeping cycles. Over the course of three days and nights the various doormen at the street door of the hotel actually opened the door only once for us.

By , from cleveland OH on Feb 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 10, 2017

We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was disappointing. I assure you that is now the normal standard for our hotel. I am glad that we were able to relocate you in a room that was more to your liking. I will pass on this information to all the departments in hopes that we can learn and grow from your experiences with us. Thank you for taking the time to express your stay with us.

5

location location location

Everyone

Just a few blocks from the French quarter but quiet at night to sleep. The decor is very cool and the restaurant was fabulous!

By on Jan 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 17, 2017

Thank you so much for the great words, come see us again soon.

5

very awesome, unique, and comfortable stay!

Everyone

My wife and I loved everything about this hotel! Bed was super comfy! Room was clean! Hotel staff was amazing and helpful! What more can you ask for? This place is 5 stars in my book!!! Will be staying again!

By , from P on Dec 20, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 22, 2016

Thank you so much for the wonderful remakrs!

5

downtown, close to french quarter

Everyone

Very good valet and restaurant folks, like pre-civil war era coffee warehouse repurposed to hotel

By , from wash dc on Dec 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 22, 2016

Thank you so much for the wonderful remarks!

5

great new find

Everyone

Tons of character, close to attractions - but not in the middle of the craziness.

By on Dec 8, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 10, 2016

Hidden gem I say. Come see us again anytime you are this way. Have a great holiday season. All my best, JOshua