Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I liked that it was beach front. The valet parking is alright.

Room was old with broken doors, unclean bathroom. Horrible experience.

Everybody when travelling is excited to arrive at the hotel for the accommodations, amenities, etc. That excitement was quickly brought down at check-in. Once I arrived at check-in I asked "is this check-in?" A young lady responded, "I don't know sir. Are you staying in Design & Suites?" What kind of response is that? I normally get into a very very Angry Mood when I receive uneducated response like that (cannot swear here), but I was on vacation so I let it go. The next day room service arrived at 8am! I immediately went to check-in and was told by a gentleman & a female the reason why they arrived so early was b/c during check-in the that same female did not "click a button" to check-in and they do it to make sure "people are actually in their rooms." Weird! The said, "it would not happen again." The next day room service came again @ 8am. I immediately again went to check-in and spoke to the same gentleman. Instead of saying sorry or I apologize he said, "really wow." Room service eventually stopped coming that early. The only staff who was respectful, great customer service, delightful were the valet guys. Everybody else from the Restaurant, Check-in, etc really were lame!

We booked this room last minute, pull up and hotel is nice, lobby is old and dated. Got our room and door has blue painters tape and is peeling and chipped, bed frame has water damage, ac vent is very dirty. Switched rooms, 2nd room was very clean but this hotel is run by several different companies so depending on the comany your room may loom different. Some people it seems live there, our room was fully furnished from Ikea (not that it really matters) no phone, 1 roll of toilet paper, no dresser, 2 towels. Seemed more lIke a upscale hostel.

First off it was hard to find, Nothing on the building says Design Suites.. it says castle resort or something like that, i drove by it several times before i asked. Its valet parking only which was as huge pain. When i checked in they made me also check into a "security" desk for the parking, then they made me go back out the valet to validate that i was actually a hotel guest. Walking around to three different desks it not something i want to do after traveling, i just wanted to go to the room. After all that confusion i finally made it up the the room where i was disappointed once again. At first glance i noticed the room was very beat up, scuffs and scratches all over the walls, water stains around the a/c vents, bathroom was out dated, falling apart, tub was rusted tiles were loose. Everything in the room was cheap ikea stuff. The room was has its own wifi which was the nicest this about it. There is no phone in the room, so no calling the front desk if you need anything. The front desk is completely closed late at night, ive never seen this before at any resort or hotel. I never went to the restaurant mainly cause there was no draw or appeal to go in. The pool area you need a wrist band for which you need to pick up at the "security" desk, pools areas out dated, straight out of the 90's, the beach is nice, soft sand and clean. The property isnt really near anything, closest restaurant/shop is about a mile walk, we used a car and uber at night.

We chose this because of price and it was only going to be one night and it had a restaurant and shopping (ha!) below. The description made it sound like had several shops below...had one convenience type store that was not well stocked with a variety of things. The others were mainly selling tours and bike rentals. The restaurant on site was not good...pizza wasn't too bad but coke drinks were 3.79 each and did not include refills!!! Also, they automatically give themselves a tip and service was not that great yet we had to pay 18%!! Strange as like leather!!! No joke!!! Service extremely slow and we were only one of two tables in restaurant and other couple was there before we were...I know, should have been a clue!! Room had no clock and no phone...first time ever in a hotel that didn't have these. Room had damage so we went downstairs to make sure $250 deposit would be refunded and had them note the damage. It also took a week to get security deposit hold off our bank account. The hotel had no other amenities around so you have to drive if you want food elsewhere. And beach was not groomed and not smooth nice sand.

Decent hotel with a balcony and a good view of the beach/ocean. No landline available to get in touch with staff (no room service). Doing construction in the next room for a couple of hours in the morning. Feel like the tv should be larger.

Filthy and extremely small. Nothing like the pictures, me and other guess checked out as soon as we checked in.

The hotel room we were in was exactly like the pictures of rooms on the internet. The room was very nice and had everything we needed. Very clean and with a kitchenette. We enjoyed the use of the small grocery store in the hotel as well as use of the tour booking shop on site. It would have been nicer if there had been another restaurant with a different variety of food on site. There was one restaurant-the food was not bad but would have liked to eaten some different cuisine in a restaurant that we didn't have to drive to. I was also surprised by $250.00 security deposit that we had to pay.

Cleanliness could be improved. Everything else was good and well taken care of.

The room looked nothing like the pictures online horrible room for Miami

the hotel met my expectations. Valet parking was too slow.

This hotel was on the part of South beach where a lot of beautiful hotels gather together. Restroom was clean. Breakfast was good. Waitress on the restaurant was kind. And the view from our room was amazing. They also had free parking which was good.

It was a nice vacation just they wanted to charge you for every little thing and staff was not friendly at all.

The hotel is good, they slowly are putting some money in it fixing some stuff. My room didn't have an iPod Dock so could not listen any music. The views are great, rooms are big and the kitchen is useful. The personel is nice but the spa amenities are separated, I mean, you have to pay extra to get it, about 30-40 dollars per day and looks dark and old, didn't want to go in. The location is good but you must have a car or get around on the bus. Because of the valet parking, try to avoid getting your car at check-out times (10am), or you will have to wait about 10-15 minutes.

my room is too old and and the smell is bad. The number is 5522

its not what the pictures show. There is not clear information on the ammenities. There were cuckroaches

The hotel was old, ugly lobby like a hunted mansion, old door knobs some doors not even closing , rusty showers. The pool was clean but with weird blue illumination, turquish baths looking like playboy mansion. Overall not what I expected.

Collins Ave Miami Beach FL

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Miami Beach Boardwalk
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Mid Beach within a mile (2 km) of Miami Beach Boardwalk, Design Suites Miami Beach is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as 41st Street. This 3-star hotel has 110 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

The 110 soundproofed rooms feature kitchenettes with refrigerators, microwaves, and dishwashers. Guests can expect 32-inch LCD TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport down comforters and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. IPod docks, minibars, and coffee makers are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Design Suites Miami Beach enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a health club. Limited parking is available. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with securing valuables, luggage storage, and tours or tickets. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a spa tub, a sauna, and an outdoor tennis court.

Room options

Ocean View, Kitchenette, 2 Queens

2 Double Beds | 1 Double Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Suite Limited View, Kitchenette, 2 Queens

2 Double Beds | 1 Double Bed | Sleeps 4

Balcony and Ocean View, Kitchenette, 2 Queens

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Bay View, Kitchenette, 2 Queens

2 Double Beds | 1 Double Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Design Suites Miami Beach

Everyone (8) Business (2) Couples (6) Family (5) Other (3) Friends (1)
2
Family with small children Family

I liked that it was beach front. The valet parking is alright.

By on Dec 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 5, 2020

Thank you

1
Everyone

By on Feb 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 6, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback, that’s really important for us.

1
Family

Room was old with broken doors, unclean bathroom. Horrible experience.

By , from Eastvale,CA on Feb 15, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 17, 2020

Thank you for staying with ….! Thank you so much for your comments - we absolutely take your feedback seriously and we are constantly making improvements to the hotel.

4
Everyone

By on May 3, 2019

Review comment responded on May 30, 2019

Thank you for your review. We hope you plan on staying with us again soon. Have a great day

2

hotel is fine. all staff must be fired

Everyone

Everybody when travelling is excited to arrive at the hotel for the accommodations, amenities, etc. That excitement was quickly brought down at check-in. Once I arrived at check-in I asked "is this check-in?" A young lady responded, "I don't know sir. Are you staying in Design & Suites?" What kind of response is that? I normally get into a very very Angry Mood when I receive uneducated response like that (cannot swear here), but I was on vacation so I let it go. The next day room service arrived at 8am! I immediately went to check-in and was told by a gentleman & a female the reason why they arrived so early was b/c during check-in the that same female did not "click a button" to check-in and they do it to make sure "people are actually in their rooms." Weird! The said, "it would not happen again." The next day room service came again @ 8am. I immediately again went to check-in and spoke to the same gentleman. Instead of saying sorry or I apologize he said, "really wow." Room service eventually stopped coming that early. The only staff who was respectful, great customer service, delightful were the valet guys. Everybody else from the Restaurant, Check-in, etc really were lame!

By , from Boston, MA on Feb 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 16, 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay, Jhoel P! We apologize that your time wasn't the all-out amazing time that we strive to provide! The reason for them asking you if you were staying at Design Suites is that there are several other companies under the same roof as us. It's not what they wanted to give you an uneducated response. They simply wanted to know which company you were staying with. I am sorry that you were not aware of that, and that it seemed bothersome. We hope that you would be willing to give us a second chance the following time that you come to Miami, as we would definitely love to make it up to you!

3

not what it seems

Everyone

We booked this room last minute, pull up and hotel is nice, lobby is old and dated. Got our room and door has blue painters tape and is peeling and chipped, bed frame has water damage, ac vent is very dirty. Switched rooms, 2nd room was very clean but this hotel is run by several different companies so depending on the comany your room may loom different. Some people it seems live there, our room was fully furnished from Ikea (not that it really matters) no phone, 1 roll of toilet paper, no dresser, 2 towels. Seemed more lIke a upscale hostel.

By on Jan 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 11, 2018

All of our guests comments are important to us, so we thank you for sharing yours! We aim to provide a 5 star experience to every one of our guests! It truly pains us to read that is not what you experienced. I am sure that there was an error in our system, that marked this room ready when it wasn't. We would never place a guest in a room that is in the condition that you say the room was in. I am glad that you were able to be placed in another room, and that you were content with it overall. We hope that you would be willing to give us a second chance, as we would love to make it up to you!

2

dissapointing

Everyone

First off it was hard to find, Nothing on the building says Design Suites.. it says castle resort or something like that, i drove by it several times before i asked. Its valet parking only which was as huge pain. When i checked in they made me also check into a "security" desk for the parking, then they made me go back out the valet to validate that i was actually a hotel guest. Walking around to three different desks it not something i want to do after traveling, i just wanted to go to the room. After all that confusion i finally made it up the the room where i was disappointed once again. At first glance i noticed the room was very beat up, scuffs and scratches all over the walls, water stains around the a/c vents, bathroom was out dated, falling apart, tub was rusted tiles were loose. Everything in the room was cheap ikea stuff. The room was has its own wifi which was the nicest this about it. There is no phone in the room, so no calling the front desk if you need anything. The front desk is completely closed late at night, ive never seen this before at any resort or hotel. I never went to the restaurant mainly cause there was no draw or appeal to go in. The pool area you need a wrist band for which you need to pick up at the "security" desk, pools areas out dated, straight out of the 90's, the beach is nice, soft sand and clean. The property isnt really near anything, closest restaurant/shop is about a mile walk, we used a car and uber at night.

By , from MA on Dec 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2017

Dear John, Thank you so much for your feedback and for taking the time to relay your experience here with us at Design Suites. We take every comment seriously and want to ensure we are able to address the positives as well as the opportunities gleaned from every stay. First off, I appreciate your positive thoughts regarding the beach! thank you so much for your feedback! I hope we have the chance to welcome you back so you may reap the benefits of our continuous improvements here at Design Suites. See you soon!

3

ok for 1 night! do not eat at blue gin!!!

Everyone

We chose this because of price and it was only going to be one night and it had a restaurant and shopping (ha!) below. The description made it sound like had several shops below...had one convenience type store that was not well stocked with a variety of things. The others were mainly selling tours and bike rentals. The restaurant on site was not good...pizza wasn't too bad but coke drinks were 3.79 each and did not include refills!!! Also, they automatically give themselves a tip and service was not that great yet we had to pay 18%!! Strange as like leather!!! No joke!!! Service extremely slow and we were only one of two tables in restaurant and other couple was there before we were...I know, should have been a clue!! Room had no clock and no phone...first time ever in a hotel that didn't have these. Room had damage so we went downstairs to make sure $250 deposit would be refunded and had them note the damage. It also took a week to get security deposit hold off our bank account. The hotel had no other amenities around so you have to drive if you want food elsewhere. And beach was not groomed and not smooth nice sand.

By , from Indiana on Jul 8, 2017

3

decent hotel close to the beach.

Everyone
8th floor balcony with ocean/beach view

Decent hotel with a balcony and a good view of the beach/ocean. No landline available to get in touch with staff (no room service). Doing construction in the next room for a couple of hours in the morning. Feel like the tv should be larger.

By , from Miami, FL on Apr 24, 2016

Review comment responded on Apr 27, 2016

Greetings Jay, The picture is fantastic. We thank you for sharing your review and look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Design Suites Miami Beach

1

horrible

Everyone

Filthy and extremely small. Nothing like the pictures, me and other guess checked out as soon as we checked in.

By on Apr 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Apr 18, 2016

Greetings, We appreciate your feedback and for allowing us the opportunity to host you on your recent visit to Miami Beach. We regret to learnt that your room fell short of meeting your expectations, as well as our own, and we are sorry to learn that you checked out. Our team would have been happy to provide you with another room if one was available. While we didn't have the opportunity to do so on this visit, we do hope you will allow us a chance to host you again so that we may restore your confidence in you. Warm Regards, Design Suites Miami Beach

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Miami-Hotels-Design-Suites-Miami-Beach.h988497-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Miami-Hotels-Design-Suites-Miami-Beach.h988497-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Miami-Hotels-Design-Suites-Miami-Beach.h988497-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions