Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The hotel advertises that it is air conditioned; however, it was over 80 in London when we were there and the air did not work in our room. The first night we were told maintenance was gone and the hotel was full, so they brought us a fan and said it would be fixed in the morning. The next morning we stopped at the desk and the guy said he’d send maintenance. When we returned it still wasn’t working. I called the desk again and the lady said they couldn’t fix it and no one would come because it was a bank holiday. I asked if we could get a different room and she said other rooms were the same way. She did offer to reimburse 50% of our stay. I went to the desk to get a print off of this and she said she had already refunded the travel agent but couldn’t print anything off. I immediately called orbitz and Honey was so helpful. She called the hotel right then and there so she could indeed refund my money instantly. Overall the hotel was OK. Thank you Orbitz for the great customer service.

Great hotel in a great location! Would definitely come again

If you’re in London alone or with friends and you want a comfortable place to sleep while you go to the theatre or the National Gallery, this place will do that. The staff are polite and helpful, if easily thrown by even slightly unusual requests. But my bathroom was in disrepair, the shower thought warm water meant alternating cold and hot, and right now the place is surrounded by loud construction. Fine if you get a bargain price, but I plan to try other hotels for my next London visit.

Great as always. Never a question when booking this hotel. Staff, rooms, facilities always good, always reliable, and located right in the middle of the action.

not cheap but a good value given the location. My husband said the room was the best hotel room he ever had. The bed was bigger than even your normal king bed and very comfortable. There were interesting books on the coffee table to read as well. Everything modern and in great shape and complimentary bottled water! A+ place. Breakfast was extra but excellent as well. Parking not even a block away.

The best thing about this hotel is its location - very centrally located, close to many attractions, subway, restaurants hop on hop off bus stop. The rooms are super small. The bed in our room was full size at best - ok for one person, pretty tight for two. Bathroom in addition to being tight needs some attention, the tiles on the floor were uneven and missing grout.

Friendly staff and great!, great! location. Very nice hotel.

The hotel ia very good the breakfast was very nice the location is great

Thistle Trafalgar Square is centrally located. the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. the shower temperature and pressure is excellent. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. the elevators are small, but we never had to wait or had a problem so it is not an issue. there are no noise issues in the hotel or the area. currently there is construction outside the hotel so the area may be different once it is complete.

The hotel was great for this business trips. Good breakfast at hotel, surrounded my various places to , 10 minute walk to theater district and all our scheduled meeting locations.

Had a great time for a 5 days vacation in London! Great location and a comfortable room made it a wonderful stay!

Very good nice weather centrally located Would go there again

What a great place to spend a couple of days in London. Very friendly staff and clean Central to everything, literally a 10 minute walk to every place you want to visit.

Whitcomb Street London England

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from National Gallery and Trafalgar Square
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Concierge services

Located in London City Centre, Thistle Trafalgar Leicester Square is within a mile (2 km) of popular sights such as London Eye and Buckingham Palace. This 108-room, 4-star hotel has conveniences like a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

In addition to a restaurant that serves dinner, there's also a bar. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 10:30 AM and on weekends from 7:30 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

Thistle Trafalgar Leicester Square's 108 rooms are air-conditioned and provide coffee makers, free bottled water, and safes. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and LCD TVs with digital channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include phones, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests of Thistle Trafalgar Leicester Square enjoy free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a terrace. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. This hotel also has laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Double Room

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Twin Room, 2 Twin Beds

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Double Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite, 1 Double Bed

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Thistle Trafalgar Leicester Square

Everyone (12) Couples (1) Family (1)
3
Partner Couples

The hotel advertises that it is air conditioned; however, it was over 80 in London when we were there and the air did not work in our room. The first night we were told maintenance was gone and the hotel was full, so they brought us a fan and said it would be fixed in the morning. The next morning we stopped at the desk and the guy said he’d send maintenance. When we returned it still wasn’t working. I called the desk again and the lady said they couldn’t fix it and no one would come because it was a bank holiday. I asked if we could get a different room and she said other rooms were the same way. She did offer to reimburse 50% of our stay. I went to the desk to get a print off of this and she said she had already refunded the travel agent but couldn’t print anything off. I immediately called orbitz and Honey was so helpful. She called the hotel right then and there so she could indeed refund my money instantly. Overall the hotel was OK. Thank you Orbitz for the great customer service.

By on Aug 28, 2019

5
Family Family with small children

Great hotel in a great location! Would definitely come again

By on May 13, 2019

Review comment responded on May 17, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback after your recent stay with us. I’m delighted you enjoyed our central location and your stay! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the future. Kind Regards, Janina

4
Everyone

By on Mar 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 31, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Square. We hope it won't be too long till we see you return. Kind regards,

2
Everyone

If you’re in London alone or with friends and you want a comfortable place to sleep while you go to the theatre or the National Gallery, this place will do that. The staff are polite and helpful, if easily thrown by even slightly unusual requests. But my bathroom was in disrepair, the shower thought warm water meant alternating cold and hot, and right now the place is surrounded by loud construction. Fine if you get a bargain price, but I plan to try other hotels for my next London visit.

By on Jan 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 3, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that your experience with us was not fully to your expectations. I can assure you, this is not the level of service we aim to provide and would hope for the opportunity to invite you back to show you that we can fully meet of all your expectations. Kind regards,

5
Everyone

Great as always. Never a question when booking this hotel. Staff, rooms, facilities always good, always reliable, and located right in the middle of the action.

By , from San Diego, CA on Jun 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 25, 2018

Hello David, Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay once again. We will definitely pass on your kind words to our team and look forward to welcoming in the future!

5
Everyone

not cheap but a good value given the location. My husband said the room was the best hotel room he ever had. The bed was bigger than even your normal king bed and very comfortable. There were interesting books on the coffee table to read as well. Everything modern and in great shape and complimentary bottled water! A+ place. Breakfast was extra but excellent as well. Parking not even a block away.

By , from Washington DC on Jun 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2018

Dear DCB, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, found the team to be friendly and found the location of the hotel convenient when visiting London.We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Layla

3

good location small rooms

Everyone

The best thing about this hotel is its location - very centrally located, close to many attractions, subway, restaurants hop on hop off bus stop. The rooms are super small. The bed in our room was full size at best - ok for one person, pretty tight for two. Bathroom in addition to being tight needs some attention, the tiles on the floor were uneven and missing grout.

By on May 22, 2018

Review comment responded on May 23, 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback of the Thistle Trafalgar hotel. I am glad to hear that you had an overall good stay with us and that you enjoyed our superb Central location. I am sorry to hear that you found the bedroom small and the bathroom floor uneven. I would recommend booking a higher room category in future to allow for more space. I have spoken to our maintenance team regarding the bathroom and this is being investigated. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Layla

4
Everyone

Friendly staff and great!, great! location. Very nice hotel.

By on Apr 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 24, 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay!

4

very good hotel

Everyone

The hotel ia very good the breakfast was very nice the location is great

By , from Israel on Mar 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 12, 2018

Dear Yoav, Thank you for providing your feedback further to your stay at the Thistle Trafalgar hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Layla

4

lovely hotel in an excellent central location.

Everyone

Thistle Trafalgar Square is centrally located. the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. the shower temperature and pressure is excellent. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. the elevators are small, but we never had to wait or had a problem so it is not an issue. there are no noise issues in the hotel or the area. currently there is construction outside the hotel so the area may be different once it is complete.

By , from New York, NY on Dec 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 13, 2017

Hello Jana, Thank you for providing your feedback further to your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable visit and enjoyed the benefits of our superb location and the amenities. We will pass on your comments to the team and do hope you will visit again soon.

Thistle Trafalgar Leicester Square

Whitcomb Street, London, England WC2H 7HG
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/London-Hotels-Thistle-Trafalgar-Leicester-Square.h25875-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /London-Hotels-Thistle-Trafalgar-Leicester-Square.h25875-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/London-Hotels-Thistle-Trafalgar-Leicester-Square.h25875-p2.Hotel-Reviews