Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Wonderful location. Multiple restaurants with different cuisines and live music at weekends.

Excellent service, friendly and helpful. Standard rooms are very small, two tweens make a poor king with sag when they join.

This is a perfect classic English hotel with charm.

The staff was over the top helpful from the time we walked up to the door. The location is perfect.

Great service immediately when walking in. Clean hotel. Great location. Good breakfast

I cannot day enough good things about this hotel. We booked it as VIP through orbitz and were treated like celebrities from custom checkin to fruit platters and truffles in our room to a humidifier that magically appeared in our room once they realized my daughter had a cold. I will be staying here every time. The high tea (offered also in gluten free) is to die for!

At my request I was upgraded to a "suite". If the size of the room I was assigned represents a suite (which I think we can all agree typically signifies additional square footage/size) at the Ruebens, I'd hate to see the size of a regular room. Staff was helpful. Location of hotel not particularly favorable (though good access to public transportation). And it's funny how so many EU hotels, this one included, manage to end up costing more than the price quoted. This tax, that tax... Guess I'm more of a modern hotel guy. Ruebens spends too much time on style vs. substance for me.

Location right across from Buckingham Palace. Great high tea. Right next to shopping and eating mall

Great Location! walking distance from Buckingham Palace, (the tour bus actually drops you off in front of the hotel) walking distance to Victoria Station, nice souvenirs stores next doors(including the official palace store ) Staff goes above and beyond to provide you with excellent service.

Hotel location could not be better!! We used the hop on hop off tour and the bus stops directly in front of the hotel. It is also a 2 minute walk from Buckingham palace main gates which is great. The customer service is exceptional. Very accommodation, friendly and professional! Food was also great at the hotel. Only complaint was the room. Our room was relatively small and there was a damp smell that bothered by wires allergies. The hotel staff did open the window for us to help freshen up the room. I would stay again!

Super hotel with with excellent staff and great rooms with exuberant decor. Excellent dinner and wine in the Grill. Quite the gem!

This is an excellent hotel. Very convenient behind Buckingham palace and close to all sorts of London transport. It’s also buy a terrific pub called the Phoenix. This is second day and we plan to come back.

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. It’s plush, luxurious and upscale—without the pretentiousness. The location is perfect and we kept saying that throughout our stay. It’s across from Buckingham Palace, 2 blocks from the tube station and all the hop on hop off busses stop in front of it. There’s a wonderful English Rose Tea Cafe across the street that has delicious scones and pots of tea. We ate there every morning. They also have free coffee in the hotel lobby. On our last night, we were tired and came in a bit early. We decided to sit in the hotel’s beautiful lounge that has really comfy red velvet chairs and gorgeous decor. There are also paintings of Kings and Queens and a live lounge singer. The staff is super nice. The bed was extremely comfy. The only problem was the elevator—it’s tiny and can fit 3 people at most. So if you were trying to get a ride and there were people on it, you had to wait until it came back empty. This only happened to us twice though. So it’s a very minor problem to have. I will 100% stay here again.

We have visited England 4 times so far this year and stayed at The Rubens at the Palace each time. We have 3 favorite London hotels. This is certainly one of them. Cannot think of a thing I consider should be changed or improved.

Excellent hotel with super friendly staff and you can ell it has great management. I was especially impressed by the stylish decor and great value for money.

Perfect location lovely hotel even traveling for 2 weeks and was so happy with the service and our pretty room

A shout out to Evelin Kubo! She helped make our stay comfortable and tours we took the best. Although, at first glance the included breakfast may seem expensive it's well worth it. We found breakfast food a bit wanting in this centrally located downtown location and the full breakfast and buffet at the Rubens is second to none. The Hotel is located directly across from Buckingham Palace and an easy walk from Victoria Station from which both the subway and central rail system are available. We landed at the Gatwick Airport and found our way to the Hotel by taking the Gatwick Express to Victoria Station. One thing though, we found the Hotel's guest wi-fi somewhat wanting and it has not been secured. We highly recommend this hotel!

The Rubens was fantastic! The staff was incredibly helpful and polite. The room was cozy and comfortable. Everything was spotless. The location was perfect; it was close to everything we wanted to see. I would stay there again! Check out the guard museum down the street. The curator was friendly, funny, and knowledgeable.

39 Buckingham Palace Road London England

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Apollo Victoria Theatre and Victoria Palace Theatre
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour business center

Located in London City Centre, The Rubens At The Palace is within a 5-minute walk of popular attractions such as Apollo Victoria Theatre and Victoria Palace Theatre. This 161-room, 5-star hotel has 2 restaurants along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a 24-hour business center.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including The English Grill, which specializes in British cuisine. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service. Start each morning with English breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

The Rubens At The Palace's 161 individually decorated rooms provide free bottled water, safes, and phones. Guests can expect TVs with satellite channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Other standard amenities include ironing boards and desks.


Property features

Guests of The Rubens At The Palace enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour business center, and coffee in a common area. Valet parking is available for GBP 46 per night. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with luggage storage, tours or tickets, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include a computer station, express check-in, and express check-out.

Room options

Family Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Superior Room

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Royal Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Executive Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for The Rubens At The Palace

Everyone (16) Couples (1) Family (2)
5
Family

Wonderful location. Multiple restaurants with different cuisines and live music at weekends.

By , from Chicago on Nov 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 17, 2019

Dear W, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Rubens at the Palace. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at the Hotel, and appreciate you kind words. I have shared your notes with everyone this evening. My team and I are thrilled by your feedback, which brought us a lot of happiness this morning! It was our pleasure to have taken care of you, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Warm regards Paula Orton Front Office Manager

4
Partner Couples Friends

Excellent service, friendly and helpful. Standard rooms are very small, two tweens make a poor king with sag when they join.

By on Aug 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 10, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for your review following your stay at the Rubens at the Palace. I am delighted that your stay with us was so wonderful, and to read that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you so much for your kind compliments about the team. I have shared your feedback with everyone here this afternoon, and it brightened our afternoons! We appreciate your care and attention in writing about your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Rubens at the Palace in the very near future. Warm Regards, Paula Orton Front Office Manager

5
Friends

This is a perfect classic English hotel with charm.

By on Jul 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your great review following your recent stay at the Rubens at the Palace. I am so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time at our Hotel. It is absolutely our pleasure to have looked after you! It is very important to us to receive such lovely comments, and I have shared your feedback with my team this afternoon. It made us all very proud! We can’t wait to welcome you back to The Rubens at the Palace on a future visit! Thank you for staying during this trip to London. Warm Regards Paula Orton Front Office Manager

5
Family

The staff was over the top helpful from the time we walked up to the door. The location is perfect.

By on Jul 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 28, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your great review following your recent stay at the Rubens at the Palace. I am so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time at our Hotel. It is absolutely our pleasure to have looked after you! It is very important to us to receive such lovely comments, and I have shared your feedback with my team this morning. It made us all very proud! We can’t wait to welcome you back to The Rubens at the Palace on a future visit! Thank you for staying during this trip to London. Warm Regards Paula Orton Front Office Manager

5
Everyone

Great service immediately when walking in. Clean hotel. Great location. Good breakfast

By on Mar 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 24, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your great review following your recent stay at the Rubens at the Palace. I am so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time at our Hotel. It is absolutely our pleasure to have looked after you! It is very important to us to receive such lovely comments, and I have shared your feedback with my team this afternoon. It made us all very proud! We can’t wait to welcome you back to The Rubens at the Palace on a future visit! Thank you for staying during this trip to London. Warm regards Paula Orton Front Office Manager

5
Everyone

By on Feb 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review online following your recent stay with us in London. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay and I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to The Rubens at The Palace in the near future. Warm regards Paula Orton Front Office Manager

5
Everyone

By on Jan 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 7, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for leaving us a 5 out of 5 review. I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and hope we get to welcome you back soon. Warm regards Paula Orton Front Office Manager

5
Everyone

I cannot day enough good things about this hotel. We booked it as VIP through orbitz and were treated like celebrities from custom checkin to fruit platters and truffles in our room to a humidifier that magically appeared in our room once they realized my daughter had a cold. I will be staying here every time. The high tea (offered also in gluten free) is to die for!

By , from Washington dc on Dec 31, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 7, 2019

Dear Lucia, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review following your recent stay with us. I am so very pleased that you had such an amazing stay and that you enjoyed our afternoon tea as well as the service you received from our team. I do hope we get to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards Paula Orton Front Office Manager

3
Everyone

At my request I was upgraded to a "suite". If the size of the room I was assigned represents a suite (which I think we can all agree typically signifies additional square footage/size) at the Ruebens, I'd hate to see the size of a regular room. Staff was helpful. Location of hotel not particularly favorable (though good access to public transportation). And it's funny how so many EU hotels, this one included, manage to end up costing more than the price quoted. This tax, that tax... Guess I'm more of a modern hotel guy. Ruebens spends too much time on style vs. substance for me.

By , from Philadelphia, PA on Dec 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2019

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review following your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your bedroom allocation however. We do make a courtesy call to each room shortly after check in, and I'm saddened to know we did not detected your let down at this stage. We have several different room types and layouts, each with unique colour schemes and decoration, and so I'm dismayed to know we did not have opportunity to find you a more comfortable allocation. I am sincerely sorry we were perhaps not a match on this visit, and wish to thank you for sharing your experience. Yours Sincerely Paula Orton Front Office Manager

5
Everyone

Location right across from Buckingham Palace. Great high tea. Right next to shopping and eating mall

By , from Tamoa on Nov 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 8, 2018

Dear Dale, Thank you for leaving us a five out of five review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our location and that you especially enjoyed our Afternoon tea. I hope we get to welcome you back soon. Warm regards Paula Orton Front Office Manager

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/London-Hotels-The-Rubens-At-The-Palace.h528337-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /London-Hotels-The-Rubens-At-The-Palace.h528337-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/London-Hotels-The-Rubens-At-The-Palace.h528337-p2.Hotel-Reviews