Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Negative. Arrived to the hotel at around 1:30 AM hoping that the reservation was made. The Hotel did not find my reservation. However, after making me wait for 20 minutes, they said that they were going to honor it. When checking out next morning, an early morning shift staff person told me she could not honor the reservation because it was not in the system. I ended up paying out of pocket for the 5 Hr. Night stay. Because Orbitz failed to process the reservation, I demand my money back immediately.

Hotel was good. Friend got married at Tropicana. Wedding was very nice.

Pleasant, clean and friendly staff. Not over crowded. Would choose to stay again.

We spent four nights at the Tropicana. The hotel had all the amenities we needed, Starbucks, several nice restaurants and a very nice pool area. It's completely at the south end of the strip. I probably would have preferred something more centrally located.

The King room we had made reservations for was not available even though we made them 2 months out the dbl qn was ok and we were offered to move the next day but didn't want the hassle. The buffet was horrible I had better meals deployed with the US Army. Seriously bad, dosent come close to describing how bad the buffet was. The second disappointment was the second pool area was closed The Beach Club i believe it was called, limited pool hours of 10 to 5, these amenities not being available begs the question of why charge a resort fee?

very nice for the price ,close to the strip and easy to get to venues close by, enough of a food selection you would not have to leave the hotel if did not want too, pool area was nice and spread out

I arrived for a convention so the long check-in lines were expected and not a problem for me. The manager of the hotel gave me a $25 food/beverage credit when I did check in, not sure why but I was very happy about it. The facilities were excellent for the convention, lots of room for everything, except maybe the smaller panels. The Havana nightclub/Skybeach was awesome. Great time, great sound, great space. My only complaint is the higher cost of EVERYTHING just because it's a casino. I get it, its Vegas all the casinos do that but it still sucks. More affordable food/beverage could mean more disposable funds for table games & other perks. Just saying Overall, a great space, comfortable rooms/beds. Seemed to be a very pet (dog) friendly hotel as well. I'm sure I will be back!

The rooms were great, I like the couch. Disapointing there are no coffee machines in the room anymore. Forced us to go buy a kettle for morning coffee & Tea. Room service didnt clean our room the one day we called them. Services have deffinately gone down over the years, but the rooms are still nice

I was quoted a package price for airfare and hotel for a spring break trip to Las Vegas. When we checked out we were charged an extra $40 per night on top of the package price. That should have been included in the package price when I purchased the tickets, not tacked on the end upon checkout. If I had known, i may have picked a different hotel.

Hotel room was a bit dated but comfortable beds and clean overall. The staff was very friendly and casino was very bright and welcoming. The room was a long walk from the registration desk and passing the very nice pools looked tempting.

It’s a nice older property well kept and comfortable the room was larger than average and was quiet clean with comfortable bedding. It does not come with a coffee maker but taking advice from another reviewer I requested one and they brought a kurig. I don’t know if they charged as had to leave and checkout was too long a line. Don’t think that is a problem I could have electronically checked out but planes don’t wait. Very happy with a little bit calmer yet full service property. Would be happy to stay again.

Dirty outdated rooms with not a lot of amenities on site. There are much better places to stay on the strip.

Our 1st room 5303 was dirty... mold in tub and leftover opened food from previous guest and yellow stain on the comforter. Next room 309 was much better on every way (cleanliness, lighting, location and view). Overall a good stay.

I took a shower and the tub was not draining very well my friend has to wait for a few minutes before she can take a shower, I was surprise that there's no coffee maker in the room. I did not also expect the resort fee I've been in Vegas multiple times and that was the very worst stay I've experience, what was the point of paying the resort fee and not able to provide the coffee maker even if we are bringing our own coffee. then the check out was so slow there's was few of us in line to check out that day and we are all mad because of how slow it was. my friend and I was not happy at all in your hotel

It was nice but I wish I could turn in to my Hilton rewards though.

We enjoyed our stay at the Tropicana very much. The staff was very friendly and good at their jobs!

If you don't have to be at the fanciest hotel or the newest one in Las Vegas, then why not try the Tropicana? For the money, its a great value and right in the heart of all the action.

Outside of the room location, my hotel stay was excellent! I was assigned a room on the 18th floor (Club Suites) due to a painters convention, which made it very difficult to get around on a sore right foot.

Tropicana really is an old hotel. Compared to others on the strip, it doesn’t offer the new comforts that you let expect from “Vegas.” I booked a room there because I was by myself and wanted something cheaper, but you get what you pay for...

Worst hotel I’ve stayed in, in Las Vegas. Rooms are old. Chipped tile in bathrooms. Only had hot water 1 out of our 3 day stay. There are many better choices for similar cost. Will never go back!

3801 Las Vegas Blvd S Las Vegas NV

Hotel highlights

  • Free in-room WiFi
  • Free valet and self parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Thomas and Mack Center is within 2 miles (3 km) of Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel while other popular attractions such as University of Nevada-Las Vegas are within 3 miles (5 km). This 1470-room, 4-star resort has a full-service spa, a casino, and 6 restaurants. Near the airport, it's also near Las Vegas Convention Center and Las Vegas Strip.


Dining

There are ample dining options with 6 onsite restaurants, including Oakville Steakhouse, which specializes in American cuisine. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Buffet breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel's 1470 air-conditioned rooms provide iPod docks, free local calls, and free bottled water. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 42-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Laptop-compatible safes, ironing boards, and desks are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel have access to a full-service spa, a casino, and an outdoor pool. Free valet and self parking are available, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this spa resort include a fitness center, 2 spa tubs, and WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, City View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony, Garden View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Everyone (94) Couples (70) Business (11) Family (29) Friends (31) Other (7)
4

orbits messed me up

Everyone

Negative. Arrived to the hotel at around 1:30 AM hoping that the reservation was made. The Hotel did not find my reservation. However, after making me wait for 20 minutes, they said that they were going to honor it. When checking out next morning, an early morning shift staff person told me she could not honor the reservation because it was not in the system. I ended up paying out of pocket for the 5 Hr. Night stay. Because Orbitz failed to process the reservation, I demand my money back immediately.

By , from Rockville, MD on May 16, 2018

Review comment responded on May 19, 2018

Cesar, we appreciate you reviewing the Tropicana. We are saddened to hear of the perceived shortfalls you experienced during your visit. When booking with a 3rd party, occasionally there is lag in receiving the information. We understand that this can cause a number of frustrations for our guests. We do apologize for the lack of communication that may have occurred, and welcome the opportunity to make it right on your next visit.

4

good location

Everyone

Hotel was good. Friend got married at Tropicana. Wedding was very nice.

By on May 15, 2018

Review comment responded on May 18, 2018

Congratulations to your friend on their wedding. We are pleased you found this and your visit to the Tropicana to be memorable. We hope to welcome you back soon.

5
Everyone

Pleasant, clean and friendly staff. Not over crowded. Would choose to stay again.

By on May 11, 2018

Review comment responded on May 12, 2018

We appreciate you reviewing the Tropicana. Glad to hear you found your overall visit to be pleasant, clean, and personable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

4
Everyone

We spent four nights at the Tropicana. The hotel had all the amenities we needed, Starbucks, several nice restaurants and a very nice pool area. It's completely at the south end of the strip. I probably would have preferred something more centrally located.

By on May 10, 2018

Review comment responded on May 10, 2018

We appreciate you taking time to review the Tropicana. While we are not centrally located on the strip, we are within walking distance to the Monorail. This provides convenient access to the entire strip. Our concierge team is always available to provide additional data on this. We hope to see you again soon.

4
Everyone

The King room we had made reservations for was not available even though we made them 2 months out the dbl qn was ok and we were offered to move the next day but didn't want the hassle. The buffet was horrible I had better meals deployed with the US Army. Seriously bad, dosent come close to describing how bad the buffet was. The second disappointment was the second pool area was closed The Beach Club i believe it was called, limited pool hours of 10 to 5, these amenities not being available begs the question of why charge a resort fee?

By , from Huntington WV on May 5, 2018

Review comment responded on May 7, 2018

Mike, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding the Tropicana. This provides us the opportunity to address any shortfalls we may foresee. Currently we are re-evaluating our pools hours of operation. Additionally, we do have a second pool Sky Beach. This pool is only available for private events, and was utilized as our main pool during our finalization of the main resort pool. We do apologize if this was not more clearly conveyed during your recent stay. Regarding the remainder of your comments, we are addressing this with our respective managers. We understand you may not have experienced us at our best. We welcome the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

4
Everyone

very nice for the price ,close to the strip and easy to get to venues close by, enough of a food selection you would not have to leave the hotel if did not want too, pool area was nice and spread out

By , from Las Vegas on Apr 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 17, 2018

Thank you, Connie, for sharing your experience at the Tropicana. It sounds like you had an enjoyable experience. It is a great choice to relax by our pool. You can even request to have one of our dining outlets deliver food to you. Be sure to take advantage of this on your next visit.

4
Everyone

I arrived for a convention so the long check-in lines were expected and not a problem for me. The manager of the hotel gave me a $25 food/beverage credit when I did check in, not sure why but I was very happy about it. The facilities were excellent for the convention, lots of room for everything, except maybe the smaller panels. The Havana nightclub/Skybeach was awesome. Great time, great sound, great space. My only complaint is the higher cost of EVERYTHING just because it's a casino. I get it, its Vegas all the casinos do that but it still sucks. More affordable food/beverage could mean more disposable funds for table games & other perks. Just saying Overall, a great space, comfortable rooms/beds. Seemed to be a very pet (dog) friendly hotel as well. I'm sure I will be back!

By on Apr 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2018

Bailey, it sounds like you had a great experience while visiting the Tropicana. We are a great location when looking to host a convention, and have a relaxing stay. We are pleased we could have you stay with us, and are excited to hear you will be back. We look forward to seeing you soon.

4
Couples

The rooms were great, I like the couch. Disapointing there are no coffee machines in the room anymore. Forced us to go buy a kettle for morning coffee & Tea. Room service didnt clean our room the one day we called them. Services have deffinately gone down over the years, but the rooms are still nice

By , from Ontario on Apr 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 9, 2018

Thank you, Northern Kim, for sharing your feedback on the Tropicana. We do apologize that you were less than satisfied with your visit. Our staff are available 24/7 to address any concerns you may have, including room accommodations. With that in mind, we do offer coffee-makers at your request. We understand you were not able to experience us at our best, and welcome the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future.

3

misleading pricing

Everyone

I was quoted a package price for airfare and hotel for a spring break trip to Las Vegas. When we checked out we were charged an extra $40 per night on top of the package price. That should have been included in the package price when I purchased the tickets, not tacked on the end upon checkout. If I had known, i may have picked a different hotel.

By on Apr 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2018

We appreciate you sharing your experience at the Tropicana. When booking packages through external sites, it does not include resort fee. As these sites do not cover that fee. It should, however, be noted on your reservation. We do apologize that this may not have been more clearly communicated. We hope to make it right on your next visit.

4
Everyone

Hotel room was a bit dated but comfortable beds and clean overall. The staff was very friendly and casino was very bright and welcoming. The room was a long walk from the registration desk and passing the very nice pools looked tempting.

By , from San Francisco on Apr 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2018

Thank you, JP, for your review of the Tropicana. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit. Our pool is tempting, and we have an additional pool that will be opening, pending the final renovations. We have additional room renovations planned for the near future. We hope you will be back to enjoy all these changes.