Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

When we checked in they gave me extra sheets for a pull out bed that they did not have in the room. There was no water in the pool. When we got in the room there was a spot of blood on the floor, the smoke detector was in a drawer, there was all kinds of trash in the drawers and the floor was black and sticky. We checked out right after we checked in, I couldn’t let us or our small child be exposed to that.

No access to pool or spa due to CV-19. No breakfast served. Same price for the room. Disappointed.

Our bathroom had someone else’s hair stuck to the walls of the shower and on the shower curtain. I grabbed the washcloth in the bathroom and it was dirty. The table had crumbs and food stuck all over it. The hotel advertised a continental breakfast but that was not true.

This hotel was disgusting. First we got there and police were there. Then when we went to our rooms People were all out partying all over. Got into our room and there was PEE in the toilet so i know they didn't clean the room. Gross everywhere and water was cold! Don’t stay there!!

It was dated, but clean. I had no issues with this hotel except no elevator and had to lug my luggage upstairs to the 2nd floor.

We did not stay as the hotel was going through remodeling and the cleanliness could have been better. The staff was helpful in accommodating our cancellation

The hotel could stand some updates. Pro: The bed was comfortable. The room appeared clean. Con: We got there a little early, the person at the desk said she would call when the room was ready, but did give us the key. We finally just tried it when we returned later, and it was clean, never did receive a call. There was a large dog barking from another room. Sometime around 1 am we heard cursing coming from the hall, apparently someone had gotten to their room in the wee hours and it wasn't clean so they were not happy and loudly expressed it. The breakfast...we waited in line for one waffle maker. The one coffee carraf ran out. No staff came in to check anything until right before we left. The chairs in that room were very stained. The floor was very sticky.

Located downtown across from the fairgrounds. We didn’t see the sign and drove another 7 Miles, then called and drove back. Signage could be improved, or be closer to the road.

Room was clean, staff was nice. Complimentary breakfast wasnt much but its free so it worked.

The hotel has been refurbished since my stay two years ago. The furnishings in my room were very attractive and comfortable.

Had funeral in area and didn't want to stay way out in Portland. Pleased to find room clean and comfortable. Staff excellent..Disappointed in breakfast. Didn't seem to be anyone working to keep stations stocked. No microwave to heat water for oatmeal and no other source of hot water available. Only 2 boxes cold cereal left.

Brown Blvd Ionia MI

Hotel highlights

  • Free breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

American Inn and Suites Ionia places you within a leisurely stroll of Ionia Theatre and Ionia County Courthouse. This 50-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

32-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers are also standard.


Property features

At American Inn and Suites Ionia, guests enjoy features like an indoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include a business center, free newspapers, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Honeymoon Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Jetted Tub

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Jetted Tub

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for American Inn and Suites Ionia

Everyone (4) Couples (1) Family (5)
1
Family with small children

When we checked in they gave me extra sheets for a pull out bed that they did not have in the room. There was no water in the pool. When we got in the room there was a spot of blood on the floor, the smoke detector was in a drawer, there was all kinds of trash in the drawers and the floor was black and sticky. We checked out right after we checked in, I couldn’t let us or our small child be exposed to that.

By on Jun 8, 2021

4
Business Business

No access to pool or spa due to CV-19. No breakfast served. Same price for the room. Disappointed.

By on Mar 31, 2021

1
Family Family

Our bathroom had someone else’s hair stuck to the walls of the shower and on the shower curtain. I grabbed the washcloth in the bathroom and it was dirty. The table had crumbs and food stuck all over it. The hotel advertised a continental breakfast but that was not true.

By , from Rockford on Nov 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2020

First thank you for your feedback. I sincere apologizes for your unpleasant stay. Due to Covid-19 related Health Department Guidelines, we cannot serve breakfast until the pandemic has passed. I am disappointed this was not reported while you were with us. I/We would have had the opportunity to resolve your concerns. Again my sincere apologies and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

1
Family Family with small children

This hotel was disgusting. First we got there and police were there. Then when we went to our rooms People were all out partying all over. Got into our room and there was PEE in the toilet so i know they didn't clean the room. Gross everywhere and water was cold! Don’t stay there!!

By , from Ionia Mi on Jul 12, 2020

5
Friends Family

It was dated, but clean. I had no issues with this hotel except no elevator and had to lug my luggage upstairs to the 2nd floor.

By on Nov 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 12, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon

2
Everyone

We did not stay as the hotel was going through remodeling and the cleanliness could have been better. The staff was helpful in accommodating our cancellation

By on Dec 31, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 2019

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not stay with us this time. We are updating our property we we may make your next stay with us even better. Thanks for understanding. We look forward to you seeing you on your next trip. Thanks again.

2

stayed in ionia for a wedding.

Everyone

The hotel could stand some updates. Pro: The bed was comfortable. The room appeared clean. Con: We got there a little early, the person at the desk said she would call when the room was ready, but did give us the key. We finally just tried it when we returned later, and it was clean, never did receive a call. There was a large dog barking from another room. Sometime around 1 am we heard cursing coming from the hall, apparently someone had gotten to their room in the wee hours and it wasn't clean so they were not happy and loudly expressed it. The breakfast...we waited in line for one waffle maker. The one coffee carraf ran out. No staff came in to check anything until right before we left. The chairs in that room were very stained. The floor was very sticky.

By on Aug 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 11, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you had a comfortable stay. Sorry about the floor sometimes our guests can be a little messy. We will double our efforts to refresh and maintain our eating area. Thanks for the review.

4
Everyone

Located downtown across from the fairgrounds. We didn’t see the sign and drove another 7 Miles, then called and drove back. Signage could be improved, or be closer to the road.

By on Jun 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 5, 2018

Thank you for your response. We will be working on better signage so you may find us more easily Thanks for staying with us.

4

road trip

Everyone

Room was clean, staff was nice. Complimentary breakfast wasnt much but its free so it worked.

By , from Kentucky on Sep 21, 2016

4

quite comfortable

Family

The hotel has been refurbished since my stay two years ago. The furnishings in my room were very attractive and comfortable.

By on Jul 16, 2014

American Inn and Suites Ionia

423 Brown Blvd, Ionia, MI 48846
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Ionia-Hotels-American-Inn-and-Suites-Ionia.h201169-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Ionia-Hotels-American-Inn-and-Suites-Ionia.h201169-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Ionia-Hotels-American-Inn-and-Suites-Ionia.h201169-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions