Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Great location. Hotel staff did not ever smile. Unfriendly actually. Lots of sketchy people hanging out in parking lot area and lobby. Sorry can not recommend.

Upon checking in. The desk clerk was not at the front desk. About 15 minutes later the maintenance person found her sleeping in the laundry room. An argument ensued with a lot of cursing and the police were called. Terrible experience.

The purpose of our trip was the funeral of a family member. There was one person working behind the desk when we checked in and it took over 10 minutes as she was handling calls, in addition to checking us in. When we got to our room, which was a suite with a kitchenette, there were no dishes, glasses, or kitchen towels/paper towels. There was no bathroom soap!! We had to go to the front desk to ask for the items and carry it in a plastic tub to our room. They were "out" of coffee pots and only had enough dishes and utensils for 1 person! When we realized there was no bath soap, and were getting ready for the funeral wake, we had to go to the front desk for soap!! We have stayed at suite hotels for years and have never stayed in one that advertised itself as an extended stay hotel with no kitchen amenities in the room. Considering the price was over $100/day, we found our stay very disappointing and we will not be staying in an Extended Stay America hotel again.

Quiet room The room was quiet.

Room wasn't bad. Staff was terrible. Someone entered my room and stole my prescribed medication (pain killers), and my pot (I'm from Cali;). I was in the shower and didn't latch the door like a moron. I heard someone walk by my door. The maintenance guy had a story all right. Lied right through his teeth! I'd stay there again but leave nothing in my room until proper action has been taken. A nice Holliday Inn is less than a block away.

Very basic plain room, seemed overpriced for what it was. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.

You need to re-phrase "continental " breakfast . Coffee, granola bars, and dry wrapped muffins "to-go" is not a continental breakfast. It was a main reason I chose this hotel and was very disappointed.

The hotel smelled gross and our room was dirty upon arrival with bugs and unwashed bathroom.

We reserved a Queen double room, which they had overbooked, so we were given 2 king rooms at the same price, which was nice. Rooms were nice, only there to sleep, bed was good.

Lovely staff. Anything I need was provided immediately. Clean and comfortable

Poor conditions. Ver shady rooms. Shame that they hold this real estate

We had planned to use the kitchen area for basic tasks such as boiling water for tea and using real dinnerware for take-out. The disappointment is that the kitchen had NO kitchen tools or serviceware, and NOT EVEN A FORK, SPOON, or COFFEE MAKER unless you go downstairs and ask for them. The coffee they give you is MAXWELL HOUSE! The BEDS were very uncomfortable. The "breakfast" is packaged junk - no nutrition except for a piece of fruit. The staff was very friendly and the outdated room was clean. The price is way too high for what you don't get.

I was in town for a conference at the convention center (NCECA 2016) and was very happy with my choice to stay here. The full kitchen was a huge benefit to save me money on eating out, and the bed and overall comfort was excellent. Very close proximity (walking distance) to Kemper Art museum, Nelson-Atkins museum and Kansas City Art Institute.

Hotel met expectations. Workout room was a failure equipment did not work. Seemed to be newly remodeled except for weight room

We were in town for the Jason Aldean and Kenny Chesney concert. This hotel way great for this. It was in an awesome location - literally 5 minutes walking distance to the plaza. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room itself wasn't anything special and a little run down but we needed it to literally just sleep in and that's it. I would stay here again for another concert trip

We were in town for a concert and wanted to be in a familiar part of town because we knew it would be late when we got back. Pros--This hotel was bearable and right across from the plaza. Cons--smelled like bug spray everywhere and the air conditioning units in the room were so loud we couldn't sleep! Ended up getting up and leaving early just so we could get back and get some sleep. The staff was very friendly though!

Location was great. Hotel looks and feels recently updated. staff was polite and helpful. Very quiet. I will stay again.

This hotel was located downtown near the Plaza shopping area...great location with restaurants within walking distance. The overall location in the city is very clean and feels very safe. The hotel rooms were recently updated with a contemporary design. The room was very clean with new carpet and wood laminate flooring in the kitchen and bathroom areas. A few stray hairs in the bathroom shower, but could have been avoided had the cleaning staff been a bit more attentive. The refrigerator and microwave were very clean as well. Hotel provided and delivered kitchen utensils/supplies upon asking. The grab-and-go breakfast was simply that...much less than a continental breakfast (could have made my rating a 5). The staff was very friendly and attentive upon check-in and checkout. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

The hotel is near the plaza and the room is clean.

The staff wasn't very friendly or helpful. The bed was pretty hard and the tub in my shower was cracking. The gym was a few machines and no space to stretch. Right by the plaza though .. so not bad if you're just going there to sleep.

4535 Main St Kansas City MO

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art and Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in Country Club Plaza Area, Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art and Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. This 141-room aparthotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking. It's in central Kansas City and also close to Country Club Plaza and Liberty Memorial.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

The 141 air-conditioned apartments feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza features free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Front-desk staff can help secure valuables, and provide local restaurant recommendations.

Room options

Studio, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza

Everyone (13) Business (7) Couples (12) Family (6) Friends (1) Other (6)
3

good location

Everyone

Great location. Hotel staff did not ever smile. Unfriendly actually. Lots of sketchy people hanging out in parking lot area and lobby. Sorry can not recommend.

By on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Although you liked our location, we are sorry you didn't experience our staff at their best during your stay, and they failed to greet you with a welcoming smile, warmth, and hospitality. This behavior is highly unusual, and we have addressed your comments with our staff to ensure they deliver excellent service, all the time. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope you will give us a second chance to make a better impression the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager

2
Everyone

Upon checking in. The desk clerk was not at the front desk. About 15 minutes later the maintenance person found her sleeping in the laundry room. An argument ensued with a lot of cursing and the police were called. Terrible experience.

By on Aug 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2017

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience and less than a favorable experience you had at our hotel. We strive to consistently deliver exceptional service, so we apologize that you had a disappointing experience with us. We have shared your feedback with the staff members and steps have already been taken to prevent such instances from being repeated. We hope to restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, General Manager

2

disappointing

Everyone

The purpose of our trip was the funeral of a family member. There was one person working behind the desk when we checked in and it took over 10 minutes as she was handling calls, in addition to checking us in. When we got to our room, which was a suite with a kitchenette, there were no dishes, glasses, or kitchen towels/paper towels. There was no bathroom soap!! We had to go to the front desk to ask for the items and carry it in a plastic tub to our room. They were "out" of coffee pots and only had enough dishes and utensils for 1 person! When we realized there was no bath soap, and were getting ready for the funeral wake, we had to go to the front desk for soap!! We have stayed at suite hotels for years and have never stayed in one that advertised itself as an extended stay hotel with no kitchen amenities in the room. Considering the price was over $100/day, we found our stay very disappointing and we will not be staying in an Extended Stay America hotel again.

By on Jul 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 12, 2017

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. As per our brand standard requirements, we keep the kitchenware and toiletries at the front desk rather than leaving them in the rooms. We will be sure our front desk communicates this more clearly going forward. We are reviewing the situation as a training tool to improve our procedures and to ensure better service moving forward. We hope you will consider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, General Manager

3

easy drive to tourist attractions

Everyone

Quiet room The room was quiet.

By on Jul 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 4, 2017

Sal, thank you for the feedback. Although we are happy to know you were impressed with our convenient location, we are sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations while you were here. I have shared your concerns with my entire team in an effort to improve our performance moving forward. We hope to have another opportunity so we can serve you better. Sincerely, General Manager

1

serious issues

Everyone

Room wasn't bad. Staff was terrible. Someone entered my room and stole my prescribed medication (pain killers), and my pot (I'm from Cali;). I was in the shower and didn't latch the door like a moron. I heard someone walk by my door. The maintenance guy had a story all right. Lied right through his teeth! I'd stay there again but leave nothing in my room until proper action has been taken. A nice Holliday Inn is less than a block away.

By , from Cali on Dec 14, 2016

3

plain, but decent

Everyone

Very basic plain room, seemed overpriced for what it was. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.

By , from midwest on Oct 31, 2016

3

this was very close to the plaza.

Everyone

You need to re-phrase "continental " breakfast . Coffee, granola bars, and dry wrapped muffins "to-go" is not a continental breakfast. It was a main reason I chose this hotel and was very disappointed.

By on Aug 7, 2016

2

staff nice but facility / room dirty

Everyone

The hotel smelled gross and our room was dirty upon arrival with bugs and unwashed bathroom.

By , from St Louis on Jul 18, 2016

4
Everyone

We reserved a Queen double room, which they had overbooked, so we were given 2 king rooms at the same price, which was nice. Rooms were nice, only there to sleep, bed was good.

By on Jul 18, 2016

4

much better than i expected from the rating

Everyone

Lovely staff. Anything I need was provided immediately. Clean and comfortable

By , from Minnesota on Apr 24, 2016