Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Awful, the hotel was loud, room was dirty, breakfast was a granola bar and coffee

I made my reservation about 5 days before I arrived. We tried to check in about 7PM and found flyers plastered to the front door announcing any reservations for Feb 17 could not be honored. The desk agent unlocked the door and let us in, explaining the manager had quit earlier that day. A process wasn't completed and all reservations were over-rode by walk-in /call-in reservations. He was very nice after having a stressful day, I'm sure. I don't know what the rooms looked like, but I have to question the management of the hotel if a manager simply quits in the middle of the day.

The people are very nice and helpful. However, the facility is really worn out. We encountered a broken toilet in one room and then a broken bathroom door in another.

Extremely rude people. Wouldn't stay their if they offered me a free room

Lots of room, bet was fine. Low cost. Coffee in the morning with some muffins and granola bars (that was almost it, but the coffee was good). Convenient location for my purposes. Room was very spacious. Kitchen would have been handy if we wanted to eat in, but we did not as we were visiting folk.

Amazing location, walking distance to the Plaza. We had a very disappointing visit mainly due to the staff. Front desk lady took almost a minute to acknowledge us as she was talking something personal with another employee. From then on her attitude was horrible, condescending and disrispectful; snapping at my son when he asked about WiFi. The room which she assigned us happened to be already in use, when we opened the room it was obviously occupied or wasn't cleaned. Ended up giving us another room after the new front desk attendant questioned me about the mishap with the occupied room, as if it was my fault it was occupied.

Great location. Hotel staff did not ever smile. Unfriendly actually. Lots of sketchy people hanging out in parking lot area and lobby. Sorry can not recommend.

Upon checking in. The desk clerk was not at the front desk. About 15 minutes later the maintenance person found her sleeping in the laundry room. An argument ensued with a lot of cursing and the police were called. Terrible experience.

The purpose of our trip was the funeral of a family member. There was one person working behind the desk when we checked in and it took over 10 minutes as she was handling calls, in addition to checking us in. When we got to our room, which was a suite with a kitchenette, there were no dishes, glasses, or kitchen towels/paper towels. There was no bathroom soap!! We had to go to the front desk to ask for the items and carry it in a plastic tub to our room. They were "out" of coffee pots and only had enough dishes and utensils for 1 person! When we realized there was no bath soap, and were getting ready for the funeral wake, we had to go to the front desk for soap!! We have stayed at suite hotels for years and have never stayed in one that advertised itself as an extended stay hotel with no kitchen amenities in the room. Considering the price was over $100/day, we found our stay very disappointing and we will not be staying in an Extended Stay America hotel again.

Quiet room The room was quiet.

Room wasn't bad. Staff was terrible. Someone entered my room and stole my prescribed medication (pain killers), and my pot (I'm from Cali;). I was in the shower and didn't latch the door like a moron. I heard someone walk by my door. The maintenance guy had a story all right. Lied right through his teeth! I'd stay there again but leave nothing in my room until proper action has been taken. A nice Holliday Inn is less than a block away.

Very basic plain room, seemed overpriced for what it was. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.

You need to re-phrase "continental " breakfast . Coffee, granola bars, and dry wrapped muffins "to-go" is not a continental breakfast. It was a main reason I chose this hotel and was very disappointed.

The hotel smelled gross and our room was dirty upon arrival with bugs and unwashed bathroom.

We reserved a Queen double room, which they had overbooked, so we were given 2 king rooms at the same price, which was nice. Rooms were nice, only there to sleep, bed was good.

Lovely staff. Anything I need was provided immediately. Clean and comfortable

Poor conditions. Ver shady rooms. Shame that they hold this real estate

We had planned to use the kitchen area for basic tasks such as boiling water for tea and using real dinnerware for take-out. The disappointment is that the kitchen had NO kitchen tools or serviceware, and NOT EVEN A FORK, SPOON, or COFFEE MAKER unless you go downstairs and ask for them. The coffee they give you is MAXWELL HOUSE! The BEDS were very uncomfortable. The "breakfast" is packaged junk - no nutrition except for a piece of fruit. The staff was very friendly and the outdated room was clean. The price is way too high for what you don't get.

I was in town for a conference at the convention center (NCECA 2016) and was very happy with my choice to stay here. The full kitchen was a huge benefit to save me money on eating out, and the bed and overall comfort was excellent. Very close proximity (walking distance) to Kemper Art museum, Nelson-Atkins museum and Kansas City Art Institute.

Hotel met expectations. Workout room was a failure equipment did not work. Seemed to be newly remodeled except for weight room

4535 Main St Kansas City MO

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art and Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in Country Club Plaza Area, Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art and Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. This 141-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking. It's in central Kansas City and also close to Liberty Memorial and Crown Center.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

The 141 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Guests of Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza enjoy a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Front-desk staff can help secure valuables, and provide local restaurant recommendations. This hotel also has laundry facilities.

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza

Everyone (19) Business (7) Couples (12) Family (6) Friends (1) Other (6)
1
Everyone

Awful, the hotel was loud, room was dirty, breakfast was a granola bar and coffee

By , from Chicago on Apr 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2018

Beth, thank you for evaluating your stay with us. We apologize for the cleanliness and noise issues you encountered in your room and regret the inconvenience this caused. Your feedback has been shared with the respective team to make sure such problems does not occur in the future. In regard to breakfast, we will certainly pass along your comments to the appropriate team regarding food and beverage selections at our hotel. We hope you will consider a future visit as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1

room was given away

Everyone

I made my reservation about 5 days before I arrived. We tried to check in about 7PM and found flyers plastered to the front door announcing any reservations for Feb 17 could not be honored. The desk agent unlocked the door and let us in, explaining the manager had quit earlier that day. A process wasn't completed and all reservations were over-rode by walk-in /call-in reservations. He was very nice after having a stressful day, I'm sure. I don't know what the rooms looked like, but I have to question the management of the hotel if a manager simply quits in the middle of the day.

By , from Ames, IA on Feb 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2018

Tara, thanks for the feedback. We are sorry for the service issue you experienced and regret the inconvenience caused. We have shared your concern with the front desk staff and are reviewing the situation as a training tool to improve our procedures and to ensure this does not happen again. We understand the frustration and truly hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you again when in the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Everyone

The people are very nice and helpful. However, the facility is really worn out. We encountered a broken toilet in one room and then a broken bathroom door in another.

By on Feb 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 17, 2018

Thanks for being our guest. We are happy to know you had an overall pleasant stay and that we met some of your expectations. However, we are sorry for the issue you experienced and regret the inconvenience caused. Your concern has been shared with the maintenance team to improve our guest’s experience moving forward. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to serve you again when in the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1

rude and obnoxious staff

Everyone

Extremely rude people. Wouldn't stay their if they offered me a free room

By , from New York on Dec 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2018

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the difficulties you had while here. This is not the level of service we generally provide, and it certainly does not meet our standards. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate team members, so we can take action to prevent these sort of issues from happening again. We hope to have another chance to show you our true hospitality the next time you return to this area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4

close to the art school and museums.

Everyone

Lots of room, bet was fine. Low cost. Coffee in the morning with some muffins and granola bars (that was almost it, but the coffee was good). Convenient location for my purposes. Room was very spacious. Kitchen would have been handy if we wanted to eat in, but we did not as we were visiting folk.

By , from Chicago on Dec 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 10, 2017

Tom, thank you for staying at Extended Stay America and for the feedback. We are glad to read you liked our convenient location close to the points of your interest and that you were impressed with your spacious room along with the great value we offer. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we would love to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2

great location, not too good service

Everyone

Amazing location, walking distance to the Plaza. We had a very disappointing visit mainly due to the staff. Front desk lady took almost a minute to acknowledge us as she was talking something personal with another employee. From then on her attitude was horrible, condescending and disrispectful; snapping at my son when he asked about WiFi. The room which she assigned us happened to be already in use, when we opened the room it was obviously occupied or wasn't cleaned. Ended up giving us another room after the new front desk attendant questioned me about the mishap with the occupied room, as if it was my fault it was occupied.

By , from Omaha, NE on Nov 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2017

Rafael, thank you for your comments. Please accept our apologies for the less than positive experience with our front desk associates. We have customer service training in place for our team so we are sorry this situation was not handled appropriately. We have alerted the Front Desk Manager and shared your concerns so this does not happen again. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the excellent service we strive to provide. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3

good location

Everyone

Great location. Hotel staff did not ever smile. Unfriendly actually. Lots of sketchy people hanging out in parking lot area and lobby. Sorry can not recommend.

By on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Although you liked our location, we are sorry you didn't experience our staff at their best during your stay, and they failed to greet you with a welcoming smile, warmth, and hospitality. This behavior is highly unusual, and we have addressed your comments with our staff to ensure they deliver excellent service, all the time. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope you will give us a second chance to make a better impression the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager

2
Everyone

Upon checking in. The desk clerk was not at the front desk. About 15 minutes later the maintenance person found her sleeping in the laundry room. An argument ensued with a lot of cursing and the police were called. Terrible experience.

By on Aug 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2017

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience and less than a favorable experience you had at our hotel. We strive to consistently deliver exceptional service, so we apologize that you had a disappointing experience with us. We have shared your feedback with the staff members and steps have already been taken to prevent such instances from being repeated. We hope to restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, General Manager

2

disappointing

Everyone

The purpose of our trip was the funeral of a family member. There was one person working behind the desk when we checked in and it took over 10 minutes as she was handling calls, in addition to checking us in. When we got to our room, which was a suite with a kitchenette, there were no dishes, glasses, or kitchen towels/paper towels. There was no bathroom soap!! We had to go to the front desk to ask for the items and carry it in a plastic tub to our room. They were "out" of coffee pots and only had enough dishes and utensils for 1 person! When we realized there was no bath soap, and were getting ready for the funeral wake, we had to go to the front desk for soap!! We have stayed at suite hotels for years and have never stayed in one that advertised itself as an extended stay hotel with no kitchen amenities in the room. Considering the price was over $100/day, we found our stay very disappointing and we will not be staying in an Extended Stay America hotel again.

By on Jul 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 12, 2017

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. As per our brand standard requirements, we keep the kitchenware and toiletries at the front desk rather than leaving them in the rooms. We will be sure our front desk communicates this more clearly going forward. We are reviewing the situation as a training tool to improve our procedures and to ensure better service moving forward. We hope you will consider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, General Manager

3

easy drive to tourist attractions

Everyone

Quiet room The room was quiet.

By on Jul 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 4, 2017

Sal, thank you for the feedback. Although we are happy to know you were impressed with our convenient location, we are sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations while you were here. I have shared your concerns with my entire team in an effort to improve our performance moving forward. We hope to have another opportunity so we can serve you better. Sincerely, General Manager