Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Disappointing customer service, poor communication & follow through.

great service and clean rooms helpful and friendly staffs

So when we came back to the (hotel) after we checked in, we entered our room the first thing I smelled was wet dirty towels everywhere in the room. I was super tired and I said I don’t care I just need to sleep, and decided to wait till tomorrow to get a new towels. Later on, we decided to go to sleep and I’ve noticed a dried blood on the bed sheet. I couldn’t sleep at all I called the front desk supervisor and she told me that they would send me a new sheets to put myself, even though I’ve paid for the resort fee. I told her the room smelled horrible as well the towels are dirty too. She said we won’t charge you resort fee for the first day, plus she said: that’s the only thing I’m allowed to do, but feel free to speak to the manager tomorrow morning. Tomorrow afternoon we talked to Angelica (front desk manager). First of all, I was trying to explain to her in a nice way what happened, she said we’re the cheapest hotel in town (so what if my stuff get stolen think about it you can’t feel safe at this hotel), and we used to be a student housing before (like you don’t have to expect much from us. Wow) I told her but you guys are a hotel not a motel and you’re charging people for resort fee, RUDELY she took her phone and started texting for 40 seconds and smiling like we’re not there (wow). I said hello, are you even listening to us, she gave me that stupid smiley face and said, sorry I was trying to record what you’ve said to me. What!!! Recording me without my permission!

Location is great it’s around everything you want to be by Requested a king size bed and working but when I got there only got two doubles not good for my honey and I

To start, the person at the desk told me parking would be 35 up front with a 28 dollar amenities fee per day. When I looked at the paper it said it was 28 for parking. She told me it was an old paper and it has changed. So apparently the parking increased by 7 dollars a day, but its not like there were aby renovations to the parking. It was very small. When it rained, it leaked heavily as you walked through it. Every time we had to go in we had to call the front because the cards didnt work. Our room was extremely tiny, nothing like picture. Barely any room to walk. The curtains were thin and light easily showed through it and even though we were higher up, you can hear every little thing from the street. The floor looked gross. There was an old cup behind the side table next to the bed. The beds definitely not washed. I had severe allergies from the bed. Mostly from the green runner on the foot of the bed that I eventually put in the closet. The outlets couldnt hold any plugs. My phone charger and the lights plugged in kept sliding out. The mini kitchennete was very outdated. The bathroom smelled like mold and I constantly sneezed while showering and there was no air flowing through so if you didnt leave the awkward make shift sliding door all the way opem, the towels would not dry after a whole day and it smelled worse. The vents had so much dust piled on it, you can tell they havent cleaned it in over a year. It was a terrible experience and I will never stay there again.

When we checked in we were told that we would be charged an extra $28.xx per day for hotel amenities fees...didn’t read the fine prints when booking on orbitz but if I had known this I probably would’ve booked elsewhere. Staffs were nice, room was nice other than the bathroom...it could get updated and cleaned. We had the ac on which was super loud but barely work so we had requested for a fan which was fine. The elevators are kind of old and seemed slow, I was afraid it’d take forever to get on the elevators but we never had a problem however we were on 1st floor so im not sure how the elevators would’ve been if we were on the higher up floors. Nice location, literally next to Marukame Udon! A block away from bus stops which was a straight shot to magic island and ala Moana center. Waikiki beach was less than 10min walk which I loved! Overall descent place but I’d try somewhere else next time.

This review is a bit long but please read before settling for this place. The Hotel looks great from the pictures, but they are very deceiving. Entire hotel is outdated. Room had roaches and sand everywhere. I get it most people go to the beach in Hawaii but there was sand in almost every corner that was there when we got there and wasn't cleaned the entire stay. The shower was falling apart and we had no hot water the first day. Bathroom door is on a track that seemed like it hadn't been cleaned since the hotel opened, making it almost useless. We had our children with us and since the bathroom was so small there wasn't really anywhere to change. Also there were 4 of us in the room and they only supplied 2 towels and some days we didn't even get hand towels. Also they make you pay a $28 a day resort fee for the smallest pool and water/coffee on top of $28 a day parking fee. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, its right in the middle of everything. Other than that I do not recommend.

Al rights for some things modern prices! Nice location nicely for shopping!

Noticeable areas appeared to be ground in dust-dirt and some serious scrubbing could take care of it. May require some paint. Our room had serious shower noise from upper unit whenever it was used. Once the person showered for at least 45 min. Not sure if anything can be done to cut the noise down. We closed the bathroom door that helped a little. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay for 3 nights.

The staff was very friendly, but the property was old and barely adequate. The housekeeping staff was also very friendly, but the actual cleaning of the room was seriously lacking.

Very disappointed in this hotel. Dirty and not worth the money.

The rooms are small, and the bathroom is old and the pool is too small and close early

Good position and good location at good price for an happy vacation in waikiki

The building is quite old but everything worked. The parking is tight but the staff made sure to park our car for us when no spots were available. Staff is great! Location is great! Marukame Udon noodle place just down the street is awesome. Duke's across the street is great.Kitchen is small but works if you want to cook a few meals and save some money. Overall, I would highly recommend this property for the money.

Kuhio Ave Honolulu HI

Room options

Room, 1 Double Bed, View (Sky View)

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, Kitchen, City View (City View)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, View (Sky View)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Junior Suite, 2 Double Beds, Kitchen, View

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to International Market Place and Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Waikiki, Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites is within a 5-minute walk of popular attractions such as International Market Place and Royal Hawaiian Center. This 3-star hotel has 251 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites's 251 air-conditioned rooms provide furnished balconies, coffee makers, and rice cookers. 40-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free newspapers, free long-distance calls, and free local calls.


Property features

Guests of Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites enjoy features like an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and free newspapers. Self parking is available for USD 35 per day. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include laundry facilities, a vending machine, and an ATM.

Guest reviews for Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites

Everyone (59) Couples (7) Students (1) Family (12)
1
Everyone

By on May 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 13, 2020

Aloha Anonymous: Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at the Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites. I'm disappointed to see a 1 of out 5 rating, and going forward if there was something we could've done better please do not hesitate to reach out to me. The guest is our number one concern to ensure they are happy and I'm sorry that you are not I hope that you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust as a valued guest. With Warmest Aloha, Paulette Medeiros Guest Service Manager

3
Business Business

Disappointing customer service, poor communication & follow through.

By on Mar 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2020

Aloha and thank you for your review. I do apologize for the inconvenience. Mahalo, Moesolo Tagovailoa Guest Service Supervisor

5
Family

great service and clean rooms helpful and friendly staffs

By on Mar 10, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 10, 2020

Aloha, We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation stay, and were comfortable in your accommodations as well as appreciated our beautiful and ideal location. We hope to welcome you again in the future, and invite you back. Mahalo, and a hui hou (until next time). Moesolo Tagovailoa Guest Service Supervisor

3
Everyone

By on Feb 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 23, 2020

Aloha and Mahalo for review. Moesolo Tagovailoa Guest Service Supervisor

1
Partner Couples

So when we came back to the (hotel) after we checked in, we entered our room the first thing I smelled was wet dirty towels everywhere in the room. I was super tired and I said I don’t care I just need to sleep, and decided to wait till tomorrow to get a new towels. Later on, we decided to go to sleep and I’ve noticed a dried blood on the bed sheet. I couldn’t sleep at all I called the front desk supervisor and she told me that they would send me a new sheets to put myself, even though I’ve paid for the resort fee. I told her the room smelled horrible as well the towels are dirty too. She said we won’t charge you resort fee for the first day, plus she said: that’s the only thing I’m allowed to do, but feel free to speak to the manager tomorrow morning. Tomorrow afternoon we talked to Angelica (front desk manager). First of all, I was trying to explain to her in a nice way what happened, she said we’re the cheapest hotel in town (so what if my stuff get stolen think about it you can’t feel safe at this hotel), and we used to be a student housing before (like you don’t have to expect much from us. Wow) I told her but you guys are a hotel not a motel and you’re charging people for resort fee, RUDELY she took her phone and started texting for 40 seconds and smiling like we’re not there (wow). I said hello, are you even listening to us, she gave me that stupid smiley face and said, sorry I was trying to record what you’ve said to me. What!!! Recording me without my permission!

By , from Orange County CA on Feb 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 8, 2020

Aloha Faisal, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to share the aloha spirit with all of our guests and are sad this was not your experience. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with our team as we are always striving to improve the guest experience. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Angelica Macapagal Aqua Ohia Waikiki

3
Partner Couples

Location is great it’s around everything you want to be by Requested a king size bed and working but when I got there only got two doubles not good for my honey and I

By on Jan 30, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2020

Aloha and thank you for sharing a review. We're pleased that our convenient location gave you easy access to any and all dining and shopping options during your stay with us, but sad to hear that we were unable to accommodate your request for a king sized bed. Our availability can fluctuate very quickly during our busy seasons, and we apologize that due to this, we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will share your review with our leadership team for careful consideration. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you better soon. Mahalo. Elianna Hunkin Guest Services Supervisor

2
Everyone

By on Jan 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2020

Aloha, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our service. We hope to welcome you again soon. Mahalo, Moesolo Tagovailoa Guest Service Supervisor

1
Friends

To start, the person at the desk told me parking would be 35 up front with a 28 dollar amenities fee per day. When I looked at the paper it said it was 28 for parking. She told me it was an old paper and it has changed. So apparently the parking increased by 7 dollars a day, but its not like there were aby renovations to the parking. It was very small. When it rained, it leaked heavily as you walked through it. Every time we had to go in we had to call the front because the cards didnt work. Our room was extremely tiny, nothing like picture. Barely any room to walk. The curtains were thin and light easily showed through it and even though we were higher up, you can hear every little thing from the street. The floor looked gross. There was an old cup behind the side table next to the bed. The beds definitely not washed. I had severe allergies from the bed. Mostly from the green runner on the foot of the bed that I eventually put in the closet. The outlets couldnt hold any plugs. My phone charger and the lights plugged in kept sliding out. The mini kitchennete was very outdated. The bathroom smelled like mold and I constantly sneezed while showering and there was no air flowing through so if you didnt leave the awkward make shift sliding door all the way opem, the towels would not dry after a whole day and it smelled worse. The vents had so much dust piled on it, you can tell they havent cleaned it in over a year. It was a terrible experience and I will never stay there again.

By on Jan 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2020

Aloha Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. While we are glad that you found our location to be ideal, We are very disappointed to learn about your check in process and why the parking and daily amenity fee was not explained properly. I sincerely apologize for your discomfort in our room, as we try to get things done right for you while you were in house during your stay with us. This does not at all reflect the wonderful experience we are dedicated to providing for our guests, and greatly appreciate your feedback and valuable suggestions as they will help us to improve. It would be an honor to provide you with a more comfortable vacation in the future. Mahalo, Paulette Medeiros Guest Service Manager

2
Everyone

By on Dec 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 2020

Aloha, Thank you very much for your 2-star rating. Hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Moesolo Tagovailoa Guest Service Supervisor

3
Family with small children Family

When we checked in we were told that we would be charged an extra $28.xx per day for hotel amenities fees...didn’t read the fine prints when booking on orbitz but if I had known this I probably would’ve booked elsewhere. Staffs were nice, room was nice other than the bathroom...it could get updated and cleaned. We had the ac on which was super loud but barely work so we had requested for a fan which was fine. The elevators are kind of old and seemed slow, I was afraid it’d take forever to get on the elevators but we never had a problem however we were on 1st floor so im not sure how the elevators would’ve been if we were on the higher up floors. Nice location, literally next to Marukame Udon! A block away from bus stops which was a straight shot to magic island and ala Moana center. Waikiki beach was less than 10min walk which I loved! Overall descent place but I’d try somewhere else next time.

By on Dec 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 2020

Aloha and thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable bed, clean accommodations. Also, the amenity fee is a mandatory fee that we charge all of our guests. We also appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon! Mahalo, Moesolo Tagovailoa Guest Service Supervisor

Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites

2280 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Honolulu-Hotels-Ohia-Waikiki-Studio-Suites.h11576323-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Honolulu-Hotels-Ohia-Waikiki-Studio-Suites.h11576323-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Honolulu-Hotels-Ohia-Waikiki-Studio-Suites.h11576323-p2.Hotel-Reviews