Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Fort Lauderdale Grand Hotel

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Noisy on street level. Walls thin. The kind of clientele that frequent this hotel will stand outside the door or walk by talking loud.

This property smells like marijuana. The staff is friendly and very nice. Especially the cleaning guy with curly hair he made us feel really welcomed. Overall an ok Motel. They charge a resort fee, idk what for cause there’s only a small pool so idk what resort fee there charging for but it’s an ok motel.

ALWAYS READ THE REVIEWS. Such a huge lesson learned. My daughter and I needed a place to stay for 2 nights before going on a cruise. This was the cheapest in the flight/package deal. I was rushed and didn’t read the reviews. However, I made my decisions based on the photos. Biggest. Mistake. EVER! The room was fine, I guess. A little small. The bed was loud and squeaky, a train ran all night long right outside our door that was so loud, it sounded like it was coming through our room. The other guests hogged the pool af it was all theirs, blasting music as if everyone wanted to listen to it. The morning after we woke, I attempted to take a shower. I let it run for 15 minutes. Not one drop of hot water. So..... my daughter and I jump in an Uber and go out to find another hotel assuming we could check out for the last night. I didn’t say anything to management because I didn’t want them in our room messing with anything if they needed to fix the water. We found a place, booked it, came back to check out and I get “oh, sorry, you’re too late. If you had told us by 5:00, you would have gotten a partial refund.” IT WAS 5:15. Give me a break we left for the beach and never looked back. There is nothing in this area to do. The neighborhood is awful, so you can’t walk anywhere. This place is a flat out dump. Do NOT let the pictures fool you. Pay the extra $50 and stay on the beach. We had a wonderful time as soon as we got the heck out of this place!! Stay far away from this one!

We got in early because I called ahead and they said they should have a room ready. They didnt. The girl said itll be 1:30 - 2pm. So we waited by the pool that was full of leaves (bad sign). 2pm came, now theyre telling us 3pm. Another poor management sign. Place has potential but people who run it seem like they don't care. The hotel overall is just dirty. The grounds and the rooms. Dirty room floors! Bed was made (kind of, you had to see it) but the floors were nasty. Forget mopped, not even swept. No channels on tv that anyone ever heard of. No cable news, just a bunch of weird channels, finally found some sitcom from 30 yrs ago after clicking for an hour. No channel guide. Oh, and tv was dead when we first got in, had to call maintenance. Faucet outside the bathroom sent water flying halfway across the room after spitting a mix of air and water fot 20 minutes. One tiny ice machine in the entire place way in the back of the pool. Mind you this is Florida and a 5 story hotel with several hundred rooms. No coffee or anything downstairs in the morning. Restaurant is closed. Walked to Mcd's and paid Starbucks price $5 for 2 coffees. Bottom line is the place is badly mismanaged. Oh but the executive offices next to the check in desk look amazing! 8ft high wood doors and glass, fancy & clean! Some ape even came stumbling out of one to tell me the restaurant was closed when I went in to get a glass to drink while waiting. Bottom line the place is a dump and a ripoff. Avoid it.

The train that went by honking all night was great, it helped hide the traffic noise. The electrical plugs in the room didn’t work, room was dirty. Will never stay here again.

The property is clean and room 337 was an awesome room. Will be asking for that room on my next visit.

Property obvously under renovation. Tv wires running from one room to another so cant close door between rooms in suite. Tv only get 4 religion channels. Door latch got stuck so had to force my way out of room. Major fire hazard. Marijuana smell tbroughout common areas. Bed noisy everytime you slightly move. For the price i paid i am not happy.

Gross. It at all what was advertised in the pictures or description.

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to For...
  • Free WiFi in rooms and ...
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Fort Lauderdale Stadium is a short stroll from Fort Lauderdale Grand Hotel, and other popular attractions like Broward Center for the Performing Arts are within a 10-minute drive. This 195-room, 3-star hotel has conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Rooms

Guests can enjoy a flat-screen TV and stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a phone and an ironing board.


Property features

Guests staying at Fort Lauderdale Grand Hotel enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with concierge services and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a business center, a computer station, and a garden.

Room options

Traditional Room, 1 King Bed, Pool View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed, Poolside

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Traditional Room, 2 Queen Beds, Poolside

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Traditional Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Fort Lauderdale Grand Hotel

Everyone (27) Couples (2) Family (6)
2
Everyone

By on May 17, 2019

Review comment responded on May 17, 2019

Thank you for your review. We have reviewed your reservation and noticed no complaints mentioned to our staff. We wish we would have been made aware of any dissatisfaction as we would have done our best to ensure your satisfaction. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Fort Lauderdale.

3
Families Friends Families

Noisy on street level. Walls thin. The kind of clientele that frequent this hotel will stand outside the door or walk by talking loud.

By on May 14, 2019

Review comment responded on May 15, 2019

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the few guests that may have been inconsiderate during your stay, they are not our normal guests and for that we apologize. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Fort Lauderdale.

3
Everyone

By on Apr 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2019

Thank you for your review. We hope to have you back again with us soon!

3
Partner Couples Business Business Travelers

This property smells like marijuana. The staff is friendly and very nice. Especially the cleaning guy with curly hair he made us feel really welcomed. Overall an ok Motel. They charge a resort fee, idk what for cause there’s only a small pool so idk what resort fee there charging for but it’s an ok motel.

By on Apr 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2019

Thank you for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Please note that we use your review to further improve our facility and guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again as we work diligently to strive to ensure complete satisfaction.

1
Families

ALWAYS READ THE REVIEWS. Such a huge lesson learned. My daughter and I needed a place to stay for 2 nights before going on a cruise. This was the cheapest in the flight/package deal. I was rushed and didn’t read the reviews. However, I made my decisions based on the photos. Biggest. Mistake. EVER! The room was fine, I guess. A little small. The bed was loud and squeaky, a train ran all night long right outside our door that was so loud, it sounded like it was coming through our room. The other guests hogged the pool af it was all theirs, blasting music as if everyone wanted to listen to it. The morning after we woke, I attempted to take a shower. I let it run for 15 minutes. Not one drop of hot water. So..... my daughter and I jump in an Uber and go out to find another hotel assuming we could check out for the last night. I didn’t say anything to management because I didn’t want them in our room messing with anything if they needed to fix the water. We found a place, booked it, came back to check out and I get “oh, sorry, you’re too late. If you had told us by 5:00, you would have gotten a partial refund.” IT WAS 5:15. Give me a break we left for the beach and never looked back. There is nothing in this area to do. The neighborhood is awful, so you can’t walk anywhere. This place is a flat out dump. Do NOT let the pictures fool you. Pay the extra $50 and stay on the beach. We had a wonderful time as soon as we got the heck out of this place!! Stay far away from this one!

By on Apr 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2019

Thank you for your review. We understand your frustration however checkout time is 11am. As you didn't checkout till after 5pm you were charged which is standard hotel policy. We wish we were informed of any dissatisfaction during your stay as we would have gladly addressed them.

1
Families

We got in early because I called ahead and they said they should have a room ready. They didnt. The girl said itll be 1:30 - 2pm. So we waited by the pool that was full of leaves (bad sign). 2pm came, now theyre telling us 3pm. Another poor management sign. Place has potential but people who run it seem like they don't care. The hotel overall is just dirty. The grounds and the rooms. Dirty room floors! Bed was made (kind of, you had to see it) but the floors were nasty. Forget mopped, not even swept. No channels on tv that anyone ever heard of. No cable news, just a bunch of weird channels, finally found some sitcom from 30 yrs ago after clicking for an hour. No channel guide. Oh, and tv was dead when we first got in, had to call maintenance. Faucet outside the bathroom sent water flying halfway across the room after spitting a mix of air and water fot 20 minutes. One tiny ice machine in the entire place way in the back of the pool. Mind you this is Florida and a 5 story hotel with several hundred rooms. No coffee or anything downstairs in the morning. Restaurant is closed. Walked to Mcd's and paid Starbucks price $5 for 2 coffees. Bottom line is the place is badly mismanaged. Oh but the executive offices next to the check in desk look amazing! 8ft high wood doors and glass, fancy & clean! Some ape even came stumbling out of one to tell me the restaurant was closed when I went in to get a glass to drink while waiting. Bottom line the place is a dump and a ripoff. Avoid it.

By on Mar 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 31, 2019

Thank you for your review. Please note that check in is anytime after 3pm. We try our best to accommodate our guests that arrive early. We will use your review to further improve our facility and guest experience.

5
Everyone

By on Mar 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to having you back on your next visit to Fort Lauderdale.

1
Everyone

By on Mar 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2019

Thank you for your review. We have reviewed your reservation and noticed that no complaints were brought to our front desk staff. We pride ourselves on addressing any and all issues that may arise in a guests stay to ensure guest satisfaction and wish we had been informed of any dissatisfactions. We use reviews to further improve our facility and guest experience and wish we knew more about your stay. At your convenience, please respond to our email as we would like to know more about your experience and how we can improve. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

5
Everyone

By on Mar 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us!

1
Everyone

By on Mar 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2019

Thank you for your review. We have reviewed your reservation and noticed that no complaints were brought to our front desk staff. We pride ourselves on addressing any and all issues that may arise in a guests stay to ensure guest satisfaction and wish we had been informed of any dissatisfactions. We use reviews to further improve our facility and guest experience and wish we knew more about your stay. At your convenience, please respond to our email as we would like to know more about your experience and how we can improve. We hope you will consider staying with us again.