Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Avalon Hotel & Conference Center

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This place is a shell of what used to be. Poorly repaired cieling leaks moldy bathroom one set of elevators been broken for who knows how long and the other barely working. What hotel still has tube non high def TVs? Dirty covers over steel chairs in breakfast area. Breakfast is a joke. The list is endless.

Over all we enjoyed our stay. The tub nozzle was very hard to pull out to activate the water

I checked out a few hours after checking in due to finding a Bed Bug crawling across the bed. I was so upset that i just checked out. Front Desk clerk offer to switch my room , but i was so upset that i just checked out. No plans to ever stay there again.

This is an absolutely atrocious hotel. Do not stay here...the price might be tempting, but you'll regret it. This ownership of this hotel has not invested a single dollar towards maintenance, aesthetics, cleanliness or upgrades since the day the hotel was built. This hotel needs to be torn down and started over. The lobby entrance in the parking garage is disgusting, the shower was missing a drain plug, no-one made up out room during the day, there was no spare bedding in the room, the breakfast was sub-par, the A/C didn't work, the shower was cold! Disgraceful!

Will definitely be staying again can't wait to come back

Convenient. Safe. Effiently operated by a very nice staff. Location downtown can't be beat. Stayed there many times in the last few months and always satisfied

I get there getting ready to close for renovation, since that’s the case they should be charging WAY WAY WAY less for there rooms. For $20 more bucks could have stood at an UPDATED hotel near the water. No hot water at certain times, toilet needed extra time flushing, tv VERY VERY old & remote didn’t work, breakfast a joke. A plus? Parking and that’s about it.

Staff was friendly but man, the parking was not clearly labeled, the elevator was "acting up" my husband and I almost saw someone get slashed in half trying to get in the elevator because it apparently doesn't have a sensor to see/feel a person is in the way. I think everything in our room was held together with drywall screws. Wallpaper coming of the wall? Drywall screw. The light switch/outlet in the bathroom was basically falling out of the wall. We couldn't get hot water at all. I'm glad we only had to be there one night. Even that was too much. And the breakfast gross too. Everything was cold and rubbery.

Room Access Door is not working properly. Every time I need to change access cards.

Checking in was the best part of the stay. Everything went downhill from there. Day one. Our bathroom was not clean. Day two. Only hot water in shower in AM they fix that with no hot water at all. After four visits to the front desk finally fixed. Breakfast consisted of over ripe fruit oatmeal packets and cold coffee. Day three. One of two elevators broke down. Bathroom out of soap and tolit paper after cleaning. Parking garage very dimly lit no parking lines cars parked anywhere. Day four. Elevator still not working the wait was very long stair well were crowded with other guest. Upon check out ask to speak to manager was told it would be awhile because there others awaiting to see him. I just left

Super dated and dirty. Breakfast was just bread and cereal

Air conditioning did not work. Security gate for garage did not work. Hotel is downtown and various sketchy people that appeared to be homeless were hanging around the sides and rear of hotel by parking garage. Hotel is extremely dated. Any updated room furniture was literally used furniture from a Hampton Inn from New York (with placards on the inside). Tv channel signals appeared to be from an antenna. Room was nasty with so much dust it appeared to be white. With closed windows, traffic sounded like they were driving through the room. Breakfast was some mini boxes of cereal and a cookie sheet of sliced bread. We will never stay at this hotel again.

It was a basic room that served it's purpose for the night.

Good location, helpful staff, underground parking. Dated rooms with less than ideal housekeeping.

I will take my own pillow next time. Beds are nice and firm. I did not experience any of the inconveniences of the other people who commented on trip advisor. I had a pleasant stay and recommend it.

Moderate facilities, clean mostly. Nothing special but its one of the cheaper places in Erie.

Rooms are not nice or clean. Sink was clogged, heat would not turn down.

Was not a good experience..... owner was rude and rooms could have been cleaned better

wasn't bad close to what I needed nice staff, clean room very hospitable. Cozy beds also.

Filthy in every aspect from the parking garage to the room and bathroom. Ceilings peeling apart, tattered furnishings and dirty floors in the room.

16 W 10th Street Erie PA

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Lake Erie
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Avalon Hotel & Conference Center places you next to Lake Erie and within a mile (2 km) of other popular attractions like Bayfront Convention Center. This 3-star hotel has 150 rooms and welcomes guests with 2 restaurants, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast served from 7 AM to 9 AM. Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including Bolero's Tapas Restaurant, which specializes in Spanish cuisine. At the end of the day, the bar/lounge is a great place to grab a drink.


Rooms

A TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, free local calls, and an ironing board.


Property features

Guests of Avalon Hotel & Conference Center enjoy a nightclub, free WiFi in public areas, and a conference center. Free parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with sightseeing, directions, and local dining recommendations. Additional amenities include a TV in a common area, a garden, and wedding services.

Room options

Superior Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofabed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Superior Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Avalon Hotel & Conference Center

Everyone (19) Couples (15) Business (7) Family (12) Friends (4) Other (1)
2
Families Families

This place is a shell of what used to be. Poorly repaired cieling leaks moldy bathroom one set of elevators been broken for who knows how long and the other barely working. What hotel still has tube non high def TVs? Dirty covers over steel chairs in breakfast area. Breakfast is a joke. The list is endless.

By on Jul 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2019

Valued Guest, thank you for your feedback. I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed. However, I can assure you that appropriate measures have already been taken and we are slowly updating. Marion Guest Relations

4
Partner Couples

Over all we enjoyed our stay. The tub nozzle was very hard to pull out to activate the water

By on Jun 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 27, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time at the Avalon. I can assure you that we have already improved the functionality of the tub nozzle and are looking forward to welcoming you back. Marion Guest Relations

2
Everyone

I checked out a few hours after checking in due to finding a Bed Bug crawling across the bed. I was so upset that i just checked out. Front Desk clerk offer to switch my room , but i was so upset that i just checked out. No plans to ever stay there again.

By on Jun 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 14, 2019

Valued Guest, thank you for your feedback. I apologize that the hotel did not exceed your expectations. I can assure you that housekeeping has already taken care of your issue and did not find any kind of bug. You were offered to switch rooms as well as a refund which you both declined. Marion Guest Relations

1
Family with small children

This is an absolutely atrocious hotel. Do not stay here...the price might be tempting, but you'll regret it. This ownership of this hotel has not invested a single dollar towards maintenance, aesthetics, cleanliness or upgrades since the day the hotel was built. This hotel needs to be torn down and started over. The lobby entrance in the parking garage is disgusting, the shower was missing a drain plug, no-one made up out room during the day, there was no spare bedding in the room, the breakfast was sub-par, the A/C didn't work, the shower was cold! Disgraceful!

By on Jun 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 11, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us with a feedback. We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your standards. However, I am sure, that your concerns could have been solved had they been mentioned to the staff. Marion Guest Relations

5
Families

Will definitely be staying again can't wait to come back

By on May 22, 2019

Review comment responded on May 22, 2019

Valued Guest, thank you for your positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Marion Guest Relations

5
Families

Convenient. Safe. Effiently operated by a very nice staff. Location downtown can't be beat. Stayed there many times in the last few months and always satisfied

By on Feb 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 23, 2019

Valued Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stays with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoy them and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Marion Guest Services

3
Partner Couples Families

I get there getting ready to close for renovation, since that’s the case they should be charging WAY WAY WAY less for there rooms. For $20 more bucks could have stood at an UPDATED hotel near the water. No hot water at certain times, toilet needed extra time flushing, tv VERY VERY old & remote didn’t work, breakfast a joke. A plus? Parking and that’s about it.

By on Feb 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 11, 2019

Elizabeth, thank you for sharing your feedback on your last visit with us. It is disappointing to hear that we could not fulfill your standards but I am sure your concerns would have been taken care of had you mentioned it to the staff. We are scheduled for renovations in the future and maybe you want to give us another try then. Marion Guest Relations

2
Everyone

Staff was friendly but man, the parking was not clearly labeled, the elevator was "acting up" my husband and I almost saw someone get slashed in half trying to get in the elevator because it apparently doesn't have a sensor to see/feel a person is in the way. I think everything in our room was held together with drywall screws. Wallpaper coming of the wall? Drywall screw. The light switch/outlet in the bathroom was basically falling out of the wall. We couldn't get hot water at all. I'm glad we only had to be there one night. Even that was too much. And the breakfast gross too. Everything was cold and rubbery.

By on Jan 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 2, 2019

Valued Guest, thank you so much for your detailed feedback. I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I am surprised about some of your concerns as I am sure they could have been remedied if they had been brought to our attention. Please be assured that all facilities are inspected regularly and meet code regulations. Again, I apologize that you were not able to enjoy your visit. Marion Guest Relations

4
Everyone

Room Access Door is not working properly. Every time I need to change access cards.

By , from Erie, PA on Oct 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 1, 2018

Lokesh, I am sorry you had this issue during your stay, they keys are very sensitive to demagnetization from cell phones and even some credit cards. Thank you for the 4 stars!

2

very disappointed

Everyone

Checking in was the best part of the stay. Everything went downhill from there. Day one. Our bathroom was not clean. Day two. Only hot water in shower in AM they fix that with no hot water at all. After four visits to the front desk finally fixed. Breakfast consisted of over ripe fruit oatmeal packets and cold coffee. Day three. One of two elevators broke down. Bathroom out of soap and tolit paper after cleaning. Parking garage very dimly lit no parking lines cars parked anywhere. Day four. Elevator still not working the wait was very long stair well were crowded with other guest. Upon check out ask to speak to manager was told it would be awhile because there others awaiting to see him. I just left

By , from Johnstown PA on Aug 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 18, 2018

Nicholas, Thank you for sharing the struggles you experienced during your stay, they will help us to improve! I would like to extend our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay as they are not our standard. The last few nights of your stay, the hotel was sold out so the parking garage does get very crowded. The manager was unable to speak during your check out because she was assisting in getting the elevator back up and running. The hotel in the very near future is renovating and rebranding to a DoubleTree by Hilton property, we'd love the chance to welcome you back and see all the improvements and changes!

Avalon Hotel & Conference Center

16 W 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.