Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Extended Stay America - Charleston - North Charleston

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Room had bed bugs. Avoid this chain like the plague.

Room was very very small and outdated. Staff was great!!

Walls were nasty , shower not clean, cockroaches in room , bed was hard

Bed and pillows very uncomfortable. Cigarette smoke from smokers on ground floor permeated our room on second floor, making our stay miserable. Continental breakfast was pitiful with no seating area and very limited selection. Room was very worn and water pressure in shower was very low. Only good thing was the location right off I26.

Disappointing generally. Hotel is in bad shape. Aircon cannot be adjusted. Towel rack is falling apart. Bathroom does not have exhaust fan. No lobby, just a check in counter.

I followed the roach for 30 min and finally was able to hit it with my shoe Not too happy about cleanliness

We were transferred over to other property without any notification til we got to hotel. Then only had 1 bed. And a sleeper sofa with no sheets no bedding. Bed was extremely hard

Room smelled, bathroom floor was dirty. The maid left new towels outside on the sidewalk rolled up by the door. I did not feel safe there. Would not stay here again.

First room we got had a really bad odor. I had to go back to the check in office to switch room. The staff was pretty nice and friendly. The 2nd room had a better odor but the bathtub was clogged. We just had to deal with it because we were so tired and ready for the night to be over with. The only great thing about it is the location. It isnext to the outlet mall and many restaurant.

I had to ask to change my room when I first got there because I requested non-smoking. Even though I received a non-smoking room the odor of smoke was horrendous. The room I was transferred to was not exceptionally clean and overall I was dissatisfied. I wouldn't stay here again.

All we cared about was that this hotel was walking distance to the North Charleston Coliseum. This hotel was walking distance to the coliseum and our trip to see Phish was grate.

Air conditioning did not cool. No maid service. We had to go to the office and get clean towels every day. No elevator, the stairs needed pressure washed, Very dirty and unsightly

Nice and quiet get away without leaving home and loved it was by Tanger outlet and any all shopping and restaurants.

Stranded due to storm! Very accommodating. wasn't looking for fancy, needed quiet, clean affordable that is what I got! Great staff

I actually had a bad experience at this hotel but they were so.helpful in resolving it!

The hotel smelled unbelievably bad. In one word it was FUNKY.

Overall the stay was good and I would consider staying here again next year. Only complaint was that I had to wait over 1o minutes to get someone to come to the front desk to check in. Rooms were clean and good size

Hotel truly is a 2-star hotel...nothing more. I chose this hotel because I needed a kitchette. Guests were shady characters and I had someone come up to me in parking lot asking for money and willing to trade their wrist watch. Did not feel safe as woman with kids.

Only needed the hotel for the night but really enjoyed the stay. Close to shopping and restaurants.

The room was comfortable, but not as clean as it could have been. The location was close to the outlet mall, which was nice. Noisy room doors woke me up early in the morning. I got a great price online, so was willing to put up with all the imperfections.

5059 N Arco Ln North Charleston SC

Hotel highlights

  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Charleston Area Convention Center is within a mile (2 km) of Extended Stay America - Charleston - North Charleston, and other popular sites like North Charleston Coliseum and Performing Arts Center are within a couple of miles (3 km). This 98-room hotel has conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. It's near the airport and also 1.5 mi (2.4 km) from Charleston Tanger Outlets.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

The 98 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards are other standard amenities. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Extended Stay America - Charleston - North Charleston features free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. A stay here includes free parking. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include barbecue grills and a picnic area.

Room options

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Full Beds, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Studio, 2 Full Beds, Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Charleston - North Charleston

Everyone (13) Couples (7) Business (1) Family (5) Other (5) Friends (2)
2
Everyone

Room had bed bugs. Avoid this chain like the plague.

By , from Aiken, SC on Apr 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2018

Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. Please know that we have strict policies and procedures in place to prevent issues of this nature. However, we would appreciate additional information to identify the room you occupied so we may properly investigate and follow up if needed. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance to make a better impression in the future. Hotel Management

2

staff was very friendly!!!

Everyone

Room was very very small and outdated. Staff was great!!

By on Mar 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you liked our courteous associates, bur we sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered with the comfort of the bed. We have shared your comments with our engineering department and we are looking into the issue so that we can correct it. Please consider giving us one more chance so we can make a favorable impression of our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3

filthy room

Everyone

Walls were nasty , shower not clean, cockroaches in room , bed was hard

By , from Charleston on Dec 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 29, 2017

Kelly, thanks for evaluating your experience at our hotel. Although you liked certain aspects of your stay, we apologize for the cleanliness issues you came across in your room. Your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping team to review and action. We hope you'll choose us again, so we can provide you with a better experience on a future date. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2

overall bad experience at this good location hotel

Everyone

Bed and pillows very uncomfortable. Cigarette smoke from smokers on ground floor permeated our room on second floor, making our stay miserable. Continental breakfast was pitiful with no seating area and very limited selection. Room was very worn and water pressure in shower was very low. Only good thing was the location right off I26.

By on Oct 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 1, 2017

We are disheartened to read your review. Please accept our sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. We will personally address these issues with the appropriate teams to ensure happy guests is our number one priority. We truly regret the inconvenience caused and please consider us again so that we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2

bad shape. needs a lot of renovations

Everyone

Disappointing generally. Hotel is in bad shape. Aircon cannot be adjusted. Towel rack is falling apart. Bathroom does not have exhaust fan. No lobby, just a check in counter.

By , from New Jersey on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

Tony, we are sorry we missed meeting your expectations. We appreciate you sharing your feedback as it will help us better serve our guests. We hope you will consider choosing us again so that we can provide you with an improved experience. Sincerely, General Manager

3

about10:pm a big 6in black roach was spotted climb

Everyone

I followed the roach for 30 min and finally was able to hit it with my shoe Not too happy about cleanliness

By , from st louis on May 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2017

Stan, thank you for your candid evaluation. We are sorry we failed to provide you the clean and suite you expected when your stay with us. What you encountered should not have happened as we have regular treatments from a professional service to ward off the type of unwanted visitors you mentioned. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We are confident your experience will exceed the standards you have come to expect from our brand the next time you stay with us.   Sincerely, General Manager 

4

nice place hard bed no extra blanket

Everyone

We were transferred over to other property without any notification til we got to hotel. Then only had 1 bed. And a sleeper sofa with no sheets no bedding. Bed was extremely hard

By , from v on May 3, 2017

Review comment responded on May 5, 2017

Thank you for your honest evaluation. It is obvious from your comments that didn't live up to your expectations. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused. We will work diligently to make sure we are more consistent in our service delivery. I hope you will consider a return visit as we would love to provide you with a much better stay. Sincerely, General Manager

2

nothing like the pictures

Everyone

Room smelled, bathroom floor was dirty. The maid left new towels outside on the sidewalk rolled up by the door. I did not feel safe there. Would not stay here again.

By , from Texas on Jan 26, 2017

1
Everyone

First room we got had a really bad odor. I had to go back to the check in office to switch room. The staff was pretty nice and friendly. The 2nd room had a better odor but the bathtub was clogged. We just had to deal with it because we were so tired and ready for the night to be over with. The only great thing about it is the location. It isnext to the outlet mall and many restaurant.

By on Dec 11, 2016

2

close to necessities, but not great.

Everyone

I had to ask to change my room when I first got there because I requested non-smoking. Even though I received a non-smoking room the odor of smoke was horrendous. The room I was transferred to was not exceptionally clean and overall I was dissatisfied. I wouldn't stay here again.

By , from New Jersey on Nov 29, 2016