Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Extended Stay America Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Ill equipped, lied to patrons about availability parKing was extremely limited and extra $$

When I got to the hotel they didn’t have a room available and it was already paid for, they transferred me over to another Extended Stay and the a/c wasn’t working

This is by far one of the worst hotels, the rooms were filthy and disgusting upon request I was changed to another room but was not any better this hotel needs to close down. I would never recommennd this hotel to anyone

Best experience staying here. Matt is very professional and friendly, gives great advices on which places to go to. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

From the minute we arrived we knew that we had made a mistake booking this hotel. To start we reserved a queen room and were checked into a room with two twin beds. The front desk did eventually get us moved to a queen room but that did not help with how shabby it was. I would never stay here or in any other Extended Stay property again.

The location was perfect -- centrally located for all the sightseeing I wanted to do. I like to walk to explore new cities which I did here, didn't have or need a car. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The "breakfast" was minimal, but with a refrigerator and utensils in the room I was able to fix my own breakfast. This is not a super fancy place, but that's not what I care about. The price was good, the location was good, the hotel was good. I'd stay here again.

We asked the desk clerk for a plastic glass for the bathroom, she said they didn't have any, but gave me 2 coffee mugs. When I asked for ice, she said they didn't have any but offered ice cube tray to make our own.....

Staff is execellent, took care of everything we needed. Will stay again.

Good service. Great price. Kitchen is great. Only bad part was that they informed you that there was a charge for parking the day of check in.

The staff is the best you can have. Location also great. Rooms super clean and nice I would recommend this place and would love to come back.

I've stayed in some dives before, but this one wins the prize for worst (in recent memory, anyway). Room dirty, linens ancient, bedspread torn, phone FILTHY (so nasty, I walked downstairs to front desk rather than use it). Room keys didn't work, "breakfast" pathetic (packets of oatmeal and lukewarm water--why bother, guys, really?). To add insult to injury, the place wasn't cheap: $ 500 for two nights !?! Avoid this place like the plague.

The hotel was roach infested and hand a smell. The smell was not the worst every but it w as there. The left elevator stopped on me and my wife only for a out 1 minute but the door was open and that made my heart drop.

Great location, but staff was not friendly and the room was not clean or comfortable.

Hotel was decent. It could use some upgrading but it's location was very convienent and the staff were very personable.

Austin hotels are very expensive - this hotel was reasonable. There location is great. The room adequate, but nothing more. You get a minimalist kitchen, but no plates, utensils, etc.. Daily housekeeping costs extra - I've never heard of that before. I would stay here again only if my budget was really tight.

The room we stayed in for two nights was uncleaned, there where blood and body fluids stains on the beds and curtains. There was no room service or maids to clean the room. The rooms and halls smelt disgusting,they smelled like marijuana. I would not recommend any of my friends or family to stay there.

Nice hotel, close by U.T. and sixth street. Room was clean and nice, staff was very courteous, would stay here again.

This was a solid hotel for no frills travelers, probably expense account for lower level employees on business. No dining or breakfast facilities; extended stay orientation. Carmen at the front desk and the managers were very helpful and created a more personal touch. Bathtub bottom was slippery, and management was concerned when I reported that. Also, someone overlooked cleaning the toilet from the last customer. Rest of bathroom was clean. Just an oversight. Carmen took care of that. There were no cups for water. Overall, as I said, no frills clean accommodations and attentive, responsive front desk/manager staff.

The hotel is centrally located a few blocks from congress avenue. I was in town for a convention and it was a short 15 minute walk from the hotel to the convention center.

the location is great. close to all 6th street nightlife, several blocks from whole foods/ trader joes, and all major bus routes however, the hotel itself was lacking. and extremely noisy. could hear every single movement from the people beside and above :(

600 Guadalupe St Austin TX

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Governor's Mansion
  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Downtown Austin within a short walk of Governor's Mansion, Extended Stay America Austin - Downtown - 6th St. is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Texas State Capitol. This 101-room hotel has in-room conveniences like kitchens, refrigerators, and microwaves. Located in central Austin, the hotel is also near Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum and Blanton Museum of Art.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is offered each morning.


Rooms

The 101 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Extended Stay America Austin - Downtown - 6th St. features free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. Self parking is available for USD 10.00 per night. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage and securing valuables.

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

Everyone (17) Business (20) Couples (25) Family (3) Other (22) Friends (8)
2
Everyone

Ill equipped, lied to patrons about availability parKing was extremely limited and extra $$

By , from Houstin on Mar 19, 2018

2
Everyone

When I got to the hotel they didn’t have a room available and it was already paid for, they transferred me over to another Extended Stay and the a/c wasn’t working

By , from Austin, Tx on Mar 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2018

Jane, we are sorry for the reservation issue you had at the time of check-in and for the inconvenience you had due to the HVCS unit. We have shared your feedback with the respective teams and will certainly step up our efforts to improve our guest experience moving forward. We hope you will give us a chance to impress you on a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1

nastiest hotel

Everyone

This is by far one of the worst hotels, the rooms were filthy and disgusting upon request I was changed to another room but was not any better this hotel needs to close down. I would never recommennd this hotel to anyone

By on Feb 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2018

Please accept our apologies for your unpleasant experience during your visit. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, we are very sorry your room fell short of your expectations. We have checklists in place to inspect every suite after it has been serviced. We will revisit our deep cleaning program so that we can provide a much better experience in the future. We hope you will consider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5

excellent experience

Everyone

Best experience staying here. Matt is very professional and friendly, gives great advices on which places to go to. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

By , from Texas on Dec 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 25, 2017

Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to know you were comfortable here and were impressed with the service provided by our staff. We will be sure to share your compliments with Matt for a job well done! Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Hotel Management

2

walk on by

Everyone

From the minute we arrived we knew that we had made a mistake booking this hotel. To start we reserved a queen room and were checked into a room with two twin beds. The front desk did eventually get us moved to a queen room but that did not help with how shabby it was. I would never stay here or in any other Extended Stay property again.

By , from NJ on Nov 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 14, 2017

David, thank you for sharing your candid review. We apologize for the issues you had at the front desk at the time of check-in and with the cleanliness of your room. Your feedback will be shared with the appropriate individuals within our organization in an effort to improve our service and facilities moving forward. Please visit us again so we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5

perfect spot for first time visitor

Everyone

The location was perfect -- centrally located for all the sightseeing I wanted to do. I like to walk to explore new cities which I did here, didn't have or need a car. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The "breakfast" was minimal, but with a refrigerator and utensils in the room I was able to fix my own breakfast. This is not a super fancy place, but that's not what I care about. The price was good, the location was good, the hotel was good. I'd stay here again.

By on Nov 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 8, 2017

Thanks for the awesome feedback. We are delighted to know your stay with us was comfortable and that you were impressed with our top-notch service and facilities. It was a pleasure hosting you at Extended Stay America, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2

no ice or plastic glass for bathroom

Everyone

We asked the desk clerk for a plastic glass for the bathroom, she said they didn't have any, but gave me 2 coffee mugs. When I asked for ice, she said they didn't have any but offered ice cube tray to make our own.....

By , from Naples, FL on Oct 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 3, 2017

Carol, please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations and regret the inconvenience it caused. We would like to inform you that as we have fully equipped kitchens with a full-size refrigerator which includes ice trays for your convenience. Therefore, we do not have ice machines on our property. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with a better hotel experience. We hope you will consider giving us another chance so we can serve you better. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5

great service

Everyone

Staff is execellent, took care of everything we needed. Will stay again.

By on Sep 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2017

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to know you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that our courteous associates made it even more memorable. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to your return visit soon. Sincerely, General Manager

5
Everyone

Good service. Great price. Kitchen is great. Only bad part was that they informed you that there was a charge for parking the day of check in.

By on Apr 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 17, 2017

Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. It’s a pleasure knowing you loved our kitchenette and the excellent service provided by our staff. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager

5

great hotel

Everyone

The staff is the best you can have. Location also great. Rooms super clean and nice I would recommend this place and would love to come back.

By , from Chicago, IL on Mar 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2017

Wow -Joanna, thank you for your glowing feedback of Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. We are delighted to know you liked our location and the excellent service provided by our associates. We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager