Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

My room was busted and awful, cabinets broken and some more

I like this hotel This has bigger rooms and every room has sofa. Rooms are bright and in good condition.

Beds were rock hard AC took forever to cool the room

The room wouldn’t get cold at all, we told the lady at the front desk. It still didn’t work was a rough night, We couldn’t sleep good. We booked a king room and they over booked the hotel and gave us a queen instead. Room smelled like covered up smoke smell and if you want a coffee, muffin and granola bar for breakfast then this place is for you!! We won’t go there again.

The front office and hallways could use a facelift...was very dingy and outdated. The room suite condition was decent....pretty updated. The pull out couch left something to be desired....not comfortable at all. We only needed it for the one night and it served its purpose. The rates were pretty cheap.

The smoking area had no lights and made unsafe for guests to go out there to smoke when got dark. There internet for the Netflix did work even when I downloaded WiFi password and put in my room number and my email. The staff asked me to call the number on the back of the room card to get help for the Netflix. Overall there were two staff that made me and my granddaughter’s fell real comfortable, took care of their needs when they scraped their feet at the bottom of the pool. These two staff names are Ms.Kimberly and Ms.Angela, they were concerned about my wife well being and asked on a regular about her recovery from breast cancer and if she needed anything.

Clean, neat property. Convenient to highway, well lit. Overall an inviting place.

the staff were great and bent over backwards to help. The property was conveniently located. But it was incredibly dirty inside the lobby floor. Full trash bags were by the elevator. It smelt poorly (understandably, as people cook in their rooms). The room it self had a spider in the sink and was in need of pest control.

Good location and hotel staff was polite didn’t have any problem

Shul was very welcome and nice. The housekeepers was very kind and friendly

The staff was extremely nice, and quick... the location was good, but the room... the room look good the problem started at bed time. It was broken the water dispenser on the sink, the battub was cloted, the room was extremely hot and couldn’t get it to a normal room temperature, the carpet was extremely dirty and there was a bit of minuted maid in the fridge from the previous people.

Arrived after 11:00 pm on 9/23/2018. The first room (201) was not cleaned, trash can not emptied/full, The spread on King bed was dirty, and the sleeper sofa had dirt and blood stain on mattress. Complained but could not receive another room until the morning of next day. Addressed concern to manager on duty and obtained another room same specifications, everything up to standards (Microwave was broken had to be repaired). Contacted Manager on checkout 9/226/2018 and 1 night stay on bill was refunded.

Strings of hair every where.. air wasnt working all that good in room 227

The hotel staff was very nice and apologetic. The room was not clean, as there was trash left in the bathroom and between the bed and the nightstand. The nightstand had something spilled on it, has cup rings and stick substance on it. It came off when I wiped it with a wet washcloth, so I know it had not been wiped off. The location of this hotel is very convenient to Suntrust Park, so if you're going for an event there, this is a good location.

Jaylani at the front desk is very helpful, courteous & professional with a smile each time I check in. Also Terrio does a great job with cleaning rooms! Keep up the great work"!

Always a good stay"! Front desk attendant at this location always so helpful & professional & should be recognized by upper management

Was a great stay"! April at the front desk was rather helpful & made my check out very pleasant

Powers Ferry Road Atlanta GA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Cumberland, Extended Stay America - Atlanta - Marietta - Wildwood is within 2 miles (3 km) of popular attractions such as Truist Park and The Battery Atlanta. The 88 rooms at this hotel include kitchens, refrigerators, and microwaves.


Rooms

The 88 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, phones, and ironing boards are other standard amenities. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Extended Stay America - Atlanta - Marietta - Wildwood features a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a seasonal outdoor pool. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include laundry facilities and a picnic area.

Room options

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Studio, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

Deluxe Studio, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Atlanta - Marietta - Wildwood

Everyone (14) Business (12) Couples (2) Family (8) Other (6) Friends (1)
1
Everyone

By on Oct 15, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 16, 2020

We are very disappointed that we did not deliver the exceptional stay you deserved. We never want to disappoint our guests in any way, and we would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience. We hope you will revisit so we can make it up to you. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Family

My room was busted and awful, cabinets broken and some more

By , from White Plains MD on Jul 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 12, 2020

Michael, thank you for your review. We apologize for the cleanliness and maintenance issues you encountered in your room. Your feedback has been discussed with the appropriate team members to improve the quality of our accommodations moving forward. Please revisit us so we can make it up to you. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Business Business

I like this hotel This has bigger rooms and every room has sofa. Rooms are bright and in good condition.

By on Aug 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 24, 2019

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We are pleased to know how much you liked your guest room! We want your stay with us to feel like home and be as comfortable as possible. We appreciate your kind review and hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Family with small children

Beds were rock hard AC took forever to cool the room

By on Aug 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2019

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you encountered with the air conditioning unit. We have asked our engineering staff to immediately service the unit in the room that you occupied. We also regret the disappointment you had with the comfort of your bedding. We wish we had the opportunity to address the problem while you were here as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Family

The room wouldn’t get cold at all, we told the lady at the front desk. It still didn’t work was a rough night, We couldn’t sleep good. We booked a king room and they over booked the hotel and gave us a queen instead. Room smelled like covered up smoke smell and if you want a coffee, muffin and granola bar for breakfast then this place is for you!! We won’t go there again.

By on Aug 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2019

We would like to offer you our apologies for your unpleasant experience at our hotel. We take the cleanliness and maintenance of our rooms very seriously. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate teams and we have taken action to prevent similar mistakes. We are also sorry for not providing the specific room type you booked. It is never our intention to disappoint you. We encourage you to give us another chance so we can provide you the quality stay you deserve. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Friends

The front office and hallways could use a facelift...was very dingy and outdated. The room suite condition was decent....pretty updated. The pull out couch left something to be desired....not comfortable at all. We only needed it for the one night and it served its purpose. The rates were pretty cheap.

By on Aug 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2019

Steven, thank you for choosing our hotel for an overnight stay. We are glad you found us to be a fair value. However, we apologize for not meeting some of your expectations. We will share your comments with appropriate individuals in our organization as we begin formulating plans for future updates. We value your comments and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon for a much better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Family with small children

The smoking area had no lights and made unsafe for guests to go out there to smoke when got dark. There internet for the Netflix did work even when I downloaded WiFi password and put in my room number and my email. The staff asked me to call the number on the back of the room card to get help for the Netflix. Overall there were two staff that made me and my granddaughter’s fell real comfortable, took care of their needs when they scraped their feet at the bottom of the pool. These two staff names are Ms.Kimberly and Ms.Angela, they were concerned about my wife well being and asked on a regular about her recovery from breast cancer and if she needed anything.

By on Jun 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 26, 2019

Thank you for choosing us. Although you liked the service provided by Kimberly and Angela, we are sorry for the issues you encountered. This is not the way we would like our guests to leave with, so your feedback has been discussed with the appropriate team members to improve our future guests’ experiences. On behalf of everyone here, we invite you all to revisit us for an even better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

By on Apr 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 27, 2019

Thank you for rating your stay with us. Our goal is to provide an enjoyable experience for all our guests, and we apologize for letting you down. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with the outstanding service you should have had this time. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Business Business

Clean, neat property. Convenient to highway, well lit. Overall an inviting place.

By on Apr 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2019

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America for your needs. We are pleased to know you liked our convenient location and that you had a great stay at our well-maintained property. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Everyone

By on Mar 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2019

We are pleased your stay was a fantastic one and thanks for your nice rating. All of us at Extended Stay America look forward to having you stay with us again. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America - Atlanta - Marietta - Wildwood

2010 Powers Ferry Road, Atlanta, GA 30339
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Atlanta-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Atlanta---Marietta---Wildwood.h40875-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Atlanta-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Atlanta---Marietta---Wildwood.h40875-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Atlanta-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Atlanta---Marietta---Wildwood.h40875-p2.Hotel-Reviews