Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Best Western Plus New Englander

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Bad location...very hard to get out of and back on main street. VERY NOISY. Rooms allow you to hear everything and guests were loud and in and out slamming doors at night and by 6am. Not worth the cost, but area tends to be pricey so that's how they get you. Oh I also didn't see name of hotel on the outside of building. Breakfast was a joke outside of the waffle machine.

We stayed for 2 nights, and both nights we got very little sleep as other guests were constantly yelling up and down the hall and slamming doors.

I'm very satisfied except hearter system. It's ok but noise. One more complain, there is hole on the bathroom wall just behind toilet paper holder. It look no good. They should fix it. Room #204 Manager should fix it.

Staff was accomodating. We have traveled to Boston several times this winter for medical appointments at Lahey. After the first visit, the clerk offered better rates by calling her directly. They offered to hold the room most recently if we were unable to leave due to rapidly changing weather. Staff was wonderful.

Excellent staff, efficient, check in was quickly done. Staff offered good recommendation for dining and other businesses. The rooms are great, spotless, clean and nicely done. The location is convenient to Winchester Hospital. For any trip to the area, this is the place to stay.

Going through renovations so some minor issues there. First room they put me in was being used so think there was some confusion among staff and the computer system. Comfy bed and continental breakfast snsetved it's purpose.

Bathroom really needs to be updated. Toilet doesn't flush.

The only problems occurring: very noisy, carpet in patches and frayed, and room cold even with the heat turned up. With those sliding glass doors, very little heat was maintained.

In need of a complete modernization. Breakfast room too small. Bathroom small with need for updating. Smallish double beds. Even our luggage trolley in need of of a cleaning and new wheels. Nicely located to mass transit. Good pool area. Staff courteous and attentive. Disappointed.

This hotel is located just off I-93. I travelled to Cambridge every day and it took no more than 20 minutes. Travel is longer during rush hour and best to travel after 9 to Boston or Cambridge. The rooms are surprisingly comfortable for the price, excellent, clean, and well maintained. Staff is very friendly and helpful and as I have been here several times they even remember my name. The attached restaurant is adequate with a lively bar and Irish specialities. Although I travel here for business, most of the customers are tourists in families or couples. There is a pool and a gym, which are very convenient to keep in shape while on the road. I travel here for business and I highly recommend it for this purpose.

Second time I have stayed here. Good consistent stay.

I think this hotel is good. clean and friendly. only the breakfast is the same all 5 days.

I came to Boston for business by car. So for me the most important was a good location near main roads. The staff was friendly enough and rooms were ok

I searched online for a short period of time and came across this motel. Was fairly close to downtown Boston, and right at my price point. I looked at the reviews, and they didn't seem very positive, but ended up booking anyway. Turns out that the place is awesome for a family from a small town in Upstate NY. Yes, there were some cosmetic issues with the facility, and the rooms were not 5 star, but the staff was very friendly, and the amenities were all there. Pool, attached restaurant (which was one of the greatest Irish pubs I have ever been to- their burgers were the best I have ever had, and I do not normally rate burgers. Ever.) Free breakfast was adequate- not awesome- but what do you expect for free? The breakfast had the basics, and if you aren't happy with that, then go somewhere else and pay more. Location was good as a home base when traveling downtown to Boston, the zoos, and Salem, as it was within 15 to 30 minutes from all. SUPER easy access to highways in and out of the area. I would go there again, for sure.

Beds were not comfortable. I booked a room with two Queen beds but the beds seemed to be smaller than standard Queen beds.

Stayed two nights on a business trip. Biggest negative was strong mold smell in the hall. This was not present in my room, although it was musty. Otherwise very nice. Comfortable bed, good hot breakfast buffet and friendly staff. Across the street from Bickford's, an awesome place for breakfast, and convenient to all of northern Boston.

Biggest complaint is that I was in room 102 which is of course on the first floor was near an exit. Well this exit is where people like to go smoke apparently. So my NON smoking room smelled like smoke. Next would be the fact that I was in the pool which apparently was closing at 10 (I didn't notice the time) and at 1005 a man came in holding the pool closed sign saying you better get out since there's an AUTOMATIC CHEMICAL RELEASE at 10!!! Well notification at 955 would have been nice!!! What next...... well there was a squished spider on the bathroom floor, rusted metal in the shower, the internet didn't work for hours, MANY fruit flies at breakfast, and the rugs in the room were damp!!! I can say the restaurant Waxy's attached to the hotel is AMAZING !!!!!!!!! It's a super cute place with great food. So I will return there but never to this hotel!!!

Great food at attached pub. Pool was nice and warm.

I was here with my travel volleyball team for a weekend. There wasn't anything particularly special about the room. Although there was a musty odor to the bathroom which also had a drainage issue when showering, the staff was prompt to find a solution to the drainage.

Stayed here while my son was in the hospital. For what I needed! it was ideal. The price was really good; lower than the other Best Westerns in the area. Best convenience was the included full breakfast and the adjacent restaurant (just off the lobby). The only issue was the fact that the heater was a little noisy.

1 Rainin Road Woburn MA

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located 2.3 mi (3.6 km) from Woburn Mall, Best Western Plus New Englander is within a 15-minute drive of Faneuil Hall Marketplace. This 99-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi. TD Garden and USS Constitution Museum are also within a 15-minute drive.


Dining

Free full breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 10 AM. This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge.


Rooms

The 99 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free weekday newspapers. Guests can expect 27-inch LCD TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free local calls, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

At Best Western Plus New Englander, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Free parking is included with your stay. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include 4 meeting rooms, a conference center, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus New Englander

Everyone (5) Business (20) Couples (23) Family (33) Other (10) Friends (8)
3

very average hotel

Everyone

Bad location...very hard to get out of and back on main street. VERY NOISY. Rooms allow you to hear everything and guests were loud and in and out slamming doors at night and by 6am. Not worth the cost, but area tends to be pricey so that's how they get you. Oh I also didn't see name of hotel on the outside of building. Breakfast was a joke outside of the waffle machine.

By , from chicago on May 17, 2017

2

nice hotel, very noisy guests

Everyone

We stayed for 2 nights, and both nights we got very little sleep as other guests were constantly yelling up and down the hall and slamming doors.

By on Apr 27, 2017

Review comment responded on May 4, 2017

We are sorry to hear your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you give us another chance in the future to make it right.

4

my stay

Everyone

I'm very satisfied except hearter system. It's ok but noise. One more complain, there is hole on the bathroom wall just behind toilet paper holder. It look no good. They should fix it. Room #204 Manager should fix it.

By , from H on Mar 22, 2017

4

great staff

Visitors to Lahey Clinic

Staff was accomodating. We have traveled to Boston several times this winter for medical appointments at Lahey. After the first visit, the clerk offered better rates by calling her directly. They offered to hold the room most recently if we were unable to leave due to rapidly changing weather. Staff was wonderful.

By on Jan 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review us. I hope your appointment went well. It was pretty stormy while you were and I know that you were worried about getting back home safely.

4

nice place

Everyone

Excellent staff, efficient, check in was quickly done. Staff offered good recommendation for dining and other businesses. The rooms are great, spotless, clean and nicely done. The location is convenient to Winchester Hospital. For any trip to the area, this is the place to stay.

By , from VT on Dec 11, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 13, 2016

Dear George, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your trip to Winchester Hospital went okay, although I will say this: for more than 10 years, Winchester has been voted No 1 among patient care in all of New England. I truly hope that you can come back to us for a good reason (maybe a vacation to see Boston), relax in the pool or take advantage of our great weather in the spring.

4
Everyone

Going through renovations so some minor issues there. First room they put me in was being used so think there was some confusion among staff and the computer system. Comfy bed and continental breakfast snsetved it's purpose.

By on Oct 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 9, 2016

Glad you enjoyed your stay

4

one night stay

Singles

Bathroom really needs to be updated. Toilet doesn't flush.

By on Nov 9, 2015

4

boston trip

GetawayWithFriends

The only problems occurring: very noisy, carpet in patches and frayed, and room cold even with the heat turned up. With those sliding glass doors, very little heat was maintained.

By on Oct 31, 2015

3

not quite up to snuff

Families

In need of a complete modernization. Breakfast room too small. Bathroom small with need for updating. Smallish double beds. Even our luggage trolley in need of of a cleaning and new wheels. Nicely located to mass transit. Good pool area. Staff courteous and attentive. Disappointed.

By on Aug 16, 2015

4

excellent budget hotel for boston trip

BusinessTravelers

This hotel is located just off I-93. I travelled to Cambridge every day and it took no more than 20 minutes. Travel is longer during rush hour and best to travel after 9 to Boston or Cambridge. The rooms are surprisingly comfortable for the price, excellent, clean, and well maintained. Staff is very friendly and helpful and as I have been here several times they even remember my name. The attached restaurant is adequate with a lively bar and Irish specialities. Although I travel here for business, most of the customers are tourists in families or couples. There is a pool and a gym, which are very convenient to keep in shape while on the road. I travel here for business and I highly recommend it for this purpose.

By on Jan 27, 2015