Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Wilmington, NC

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I decided to try this hotel based on other reviews but will pay a little more to stay at my usual hotel up the street based on my experience. My two main complaints are not able to access wifi continually and the breakfast was below expectations. My first night, I also had a huge cockroach run across the floor in my room. They moved me to an upgraded suite, but the hotel needs to make sure they keep up their pest control so this doesn't happen with other guests. I could only get on wifi the very first time I connected upon arrival. After that, it wouldn't connect, despite the front desk saying they reset it and my doing everything possible on my end. Breakfast was primarily carbs with stale bread items, a few hot items which were frozen eggs reheated, greasy bacon, home fries, etc. More protein items are needed. I also tried out the hot tub but it had too many chemicals.

Very clean hotel. Customer service was excellent. People upstairs were stomping and jumping. Called front desk and it was handled promptly and professionally.

The hotel is very loud. People walking above you sound like elephants. It wasn't the people, you could tell it was poor construction The air conditioning is very loud as well, The staff were extremely nice. I have stayed at numerous County Inns and the quality of this one is extremely poor to their standards

Awesome central location for the beach and parks. It was quiet and had everything our 3 young girls needed (pool, hot tub and bathroom counter space)! Even though they were doing some tile renovations they were never loud or in the way of the guests. Excellent staff and property!

The hotel was very nice but it was under construction and hard to get around---I use a cane and one day I had to climb to the third floor because on one could use the elevator -putting in new floors-I have a bad hip but thank god the stairs were wide and it wasn't so bad.

Everything was great except the lobby areas were being renovated. Mot of the area was off-limits. Otherwise it was a wonderful stay.

Going through some renovations so I can not rate it higher.

Made reservation and prepaid (non-refundable) 3 weeks in advance of our stay. Four hrs. before check-in time we were advised by telephone call to use side entrance due to hotel renovation. Didn't arrive until 8:30 pm and immediately observed hotel is total disaray. Entire 1st floor area - check-in, lobby, breakfast area and hallways were at dump. Dust, paint & chemical fumes, plastic hung from the ceilings - filthy. We would never stay in such a place but were tired from our travels and it was too late to locate and book another room somewhere else. We've lost all confidence and trust in Country Inns & Suites. Hotel should have been closed during renovation and guests at least given the courtesy of notification beforehand and option to book somewhere else. Worst experience ever. Manager not in during stay, but later received the standard apology form letter which had no meaning to us. OUR ADVICE - BE VERY LEARY OF THIS ONE!

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and they make warm cookies for the visitors everyday!! The best thing about this place is the beds...they are extremely comfortable. The suites are the best!!

Everyone went out of their way to make our stay pleasant - from check-in to breakfast to check-out. Even housekeeping and maintenance staff were very nice when we encountered them on the grounds. Nice place a little off the main road, family-oriented. Would definitely stay there again!

Overall, our stay was pretty good. Upon arrival, the smoke detector in the room wouldn't stop chirping, but the staff quickly took care of that. Very convenient to shopping and UNCW.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean, well-stocked. Breakfast was average, coffee good. Pool and hot tub fun for kids, although drainage could use some repair as floor had large deep puddles all around.

The hotel is clean & surprisingly pretty. The staff was excellent. The only downside was the pool. It was small and in a small space, and because it is an indoor pool in such a small room the smell of chlorine was almost unbearable.

All I had was good experience at my stat 0 complaints, I would highly recommend them to everyone

everything was pretty good, no complaints. clean hotel, pool looked a little small and shallow, but i didn't swim. refrigerator in the room made a funny noise.

I am in Wilmington every few months and like to stay at the Country Inn. Its NEW and clean. Close to everything I need.

in town for work location was perfect for me about 7 minutes to beach( wrightsville) Carolina beach about 20 minutes. pleanty of food i took a trip down on the river (downtown) staff at check in was helpful, rooms good size, morning buffet was ok

Stayed here with my sister and elderly mother when my son graduated from UNCW. Super clean, well-maintained, lovely decor. Only downsides are smoking area near the front doors and a location off of a busy street. It doesn't front the busy street and the road noise isn't noticeable but traffic is a hassle. Otherwise a lovely place to stay!

Clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was terrific for the value.

Good clean room, right location. Checked in late and checked out early.

4706 New Centre Drive Wilmington NC

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Located 1.8 mi (3 km) from University of North Carolina at Wilmington, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Wilmington, NC is within a 10-minute drive of Brooklyn Arts Center at St. Andrews. This 74-room, 3-star hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi. Mayfaire Town Center and Jungle Rapids Family Fun Park are also close to this Wilmington hotel.


Dining

Free full breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

All of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Wilmington, NC's 74 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 39-inch LCD TVs. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free weekday newspapers, free local calls, and safes are also standard.


Property features

At Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Wilmington, NC, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. Free parking is included with your stay. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a business center.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (Guest)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking (1 Bedroom)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking (Guest)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Country Inn & Suites by Carlson

Everyone (13) Couples (19) Business (11) Family (16) Other (4) Friends (3)
3

disappointed overall

Everyone

I decided to try this hotel based on other reviews but will pay a little more to stay at my usual hotel up the street based on my experience. My two main complaints are not able to access wifi continually and the breakfast was below expectations. My first night, I also had a huge cockroach run across the floor in my room. They moved me to an upgraded suite, but the hotel needs to make sure they keep up their pest control so this doesn't happen with other guests. I could only get on wifi the very first time I connected upon arrival. After that, it wouldn't connect, despite the front desk saying they reset it and my doing everything possible on my end. Breakfast was primarily carbs with stale bread items, a few hot items which were frozen eggs reheated, greasy bacon, home fries, etc. More protein items are needed. I also tried out the hot tub but it had too many chemicals.

By on Jul 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 15, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, We apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced; our top priority is for our guests to have the best possible stay. We do appreciate your valuable feedback regarding our Wi-Fi, breakfast, and hot tub as it allows us to see in which areas we may need improvement. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you the next time you visit Wilmington. Sincerely, Jacey Poleo Guest Service Representative

4

nice hotel. good service

Everyone

Very clean hotel. Customer service was excellent. People upstairs were stomping and jumping. Called front desk and it was handled promptly and professionally.

By on Jul 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us here at the Country Inn and Suites. We are so glad to hear that you had such a nice stay and that the staff was so attentive! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Wilmington. Sincerely, Jacey Poleo Guest Service Representative

3
Everyone

The hotel is very loud. People walking above you sound like elephants. It wasn't the people, you could tell it was poor construction The air conditioning is very loud as well, The staff were extremely nice. I have stayed at numerous County Inns and the quality of this one is extremely poor to their standards

By on Jul 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 4, 2017

Dear Art, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Country Inn and Suites in Wilmington. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. We do appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad that despite your concerns with the property, you were satisfied with our location and staff. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you, should you return to the area. Sincerely, Jacey Poleo Guest Service Representative

5

awesome hotel, amenities and staff!

Everyone

Awesome central location for the beach and parks. It was quiet and had everything our 3 young girls needed (pool, hot tub and bathroom counter space)! Even though they were doing some tile renovations they were never loud or in the way of the guests. Excellent staff and property!

By , from upstate NY on Apr 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 24, 2017

Dear Mike, Thank you for staying with us at the Country Inn and Suites in Wilmington. We are glad to hear that your girls enjoyed themselves and were able to take advantage of our indoor pool and hot tub! We also want to thank you for your patience during our renovations and we look forward to seeing you all again the next time you go on vacation to our beaches. Sincerely, Jacey Poleo Guest Service Representative

4

the hotel was close to everything---

Everyone

The hotel was very nice but it was under construction and hard to get around---I use a cane and one day I had to climb to the third floor because on one could use the elevator -putting in new floors-I have a bad hip but thank god the stairs were wide and it wasn't so bad.

By , from Liberty, NY on Apr 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 18, 2017

Dear Kathy, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Country Inn and Suites in Wilmington. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us and provide us with your feedback. We also want to thank you for your patience during our renovations. We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our hot breakfast and convenient location. We hope to serve you again the next time you visit Wilmington! Sincerely, Jacey Poleo Guest Service Representative

4

nice hotel close to airport.

Everyone

Everything was great except the lobby areas were being renovated. Mot of the area was off-limits. Otherwise it was a wonderful stay.

By on Feb 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying here with us at the beautiful Country Inn & Suites Wilmington. We want to thank you for the great feedback. Thanks for your support during our time of renovation. Should your travels return you to the Wilmington area, we would love another opportunity to serve you again! Sincerely, Phillip Marshall Guest Service Manager

4

this hotel is going through some renovations.

Couples

Going through some renovations so I can not rate it higher.

By , from Texas on Feb 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 13, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for staying with us at the Country Inn & Suites Wilmington. We want to thank you for taking the time to write to us about your stay. We appreciate all the great feedback regarding our spacious rooms and great prices. We also would like to thank you for your support during our renovations. We look forward to your next stay! Sincerely, Phillip Marshall Guest Service Manager

1

avoid - major renovation in progress

Everyone

Made reservation and prepaid (non-refundable) 3 weeks in advance of our stay. Four hrs. before check-in time we were advised by telephone call to use side entrance due to hotel renovation. Didn't arrive until 8:30 pm and immediately observed hotel is total disaray. Entire 1st floor area - check-in, lobby, breakfast area and hallways were at dump. Dust, paint & chemical fumes, plastic hung from the ceilings - filthy. We would never stay in such a place but were tired from our travels and it was too late to locate and book another room somewhere else. We've lost all confidence and trust in Country Inns & Suites. Hotel should have been closed during renovation and guests at least given the courtesy of notification beforehand and option to book somewhere else. Worst experience ever. Manager not in during stay, but later received the standard apology form letter which had no meaning to us. OUR ADVICE - BE VERY LEARY OF THIS ONE!

By , from Murrells Inlet, SC on Feb 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 4, 2017

Dear Robert, We would like to thank you for staying with us. Sorry to hear you were not pleased with your experience at our property. We want to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced and any miscommunication that may have took place. Thanks for all the feedback. We want to welcome you to stay with us again after our renovations are complete to experience the fresh, new look of the property. All the best, Phillip Marshall Guest Service Manager

5

wonderful hotel

Everyone

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and they make warm cookies for the visitors everyday!! The best thing about this place is the beds...they are extremely comfortable. The suites are the best!!

By , from NC on Sep 10, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2016

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for staying with us at the amazing Country Inn & Suites Wilmington. We want to thank you for the feedback regarding our overall quality and the convenient location of the hotel. We would love to have the chance to serve you again. We look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Phillip Marshall Guest Service Manager

5

very friendly and helpful staff

Everyone

Everyone went out of their way to make our stay pleasant - from check-in to breakfast to check-out. Even housekeeping and maintenance staff were very nice when we encountered them on the grounds. Nice place a little off the main road, family-oriented. Would definitely stay there again!

By , from Faurfax, VA on Aug 30, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 6, 2016

Dear Brenda, Thank you for staying with us at the beautiful Country Inn & Suites Wilmington. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the our staff! Should you return to the Wilmington area, we hope to serve you again. Yours In Hospitality, Phillip Marshall Guest Service Manager