Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It’s old. Floors aren’t level. Rooms need serious remodel. Staff was excellent. Room was quiet. Expensive for what they offer.

I will never stay here again. No parking, the property is falling apart. The room was filthy with mold in the bathroom. The rooms have portable air conditioners, which I had to wait for an extension cord to use and even then it didn’t cool the room. The closed captions on the television did not work. I have stayed in other Westmark hotels and they were proud, quality locations. I would rate this location zero stars.

Friendly, clean. Not enough parking. Great location.

Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful. Carpet could be replaced. Overall I would stay here again.

Liked nothing. Room hot, stiffly, with poor facilities and layout. Parking inadequate with no security. Human dung in streets surrounding hotel. Staff incompetent and slow. Shared shuttle to airport not direct.

We made a last minute decision to stay here and were happy with it. They were in the midst of some construction, but we didn’t mind. Great location for walking around to see the sites. We only had half a day to enjoy Whitehorse and the front desk staff were extremely helpful with suggestions.

Clean and comfortable. Staff courteous and professional. Amenities pretty standard for the price. Did not try the restaurant so can’t comment on that. Would stay at this hotel again.

Bad service terrible dont clean rooms restaurant is slow . Never again

I spent my time in Whitehorse with the love of my life and the hotel was perfect for that

Not as nice as most westmark hotel, very outdated,

So old and run down. Really in terrible condition. I wouldn’t let my dog stay there.

Hotel was clean, the room size was good and the bed comfortable. The room contained a minifridge, a microwave and coffee maker. Unusual for a hotel room was the warning not to use the microwave and hair dryer at the same time for fear of electric problems, but that can be common in older facilities. The hotel was well kept, orderly and up to date with technology, having free Wi-Fi available and of sufficient strength and speed to be of use. The prices in the hotel restaurant were high I felt even for Yukon pricing, but just meant that I ate elsewhere. The willingness of the staff to arrange for airport shuttle and hold bags in storage was wonderful.

room was clean and had portable A/C unit, was okay for short stay.

Thank you for the fabulous stay. We would stay again and again. Beautiful stay and country.

The room was clean, staff was polite and showed respect to their customers, and will recommend to friends when asked what hotel is good to stay at in Whitehorse

Hotel was nice. Clean. Good location. Whitehorse is a small city. There are wall mart, Super store, Independent store and Shoppers nearby this hotel. It takes about 5 mins by car. And one more thing! You can tell the stuff if you need microwave and refrigerator, then they will offer you for free.

Hotel was situated in good location, close to restaurants and Main Street with shopping. Staff very friendly. Rooms pretty basic but clean. Would stay here again.

In the past 15 or so years, I swore I would never stay in a hotel/motel with its strange bed except if I am w/o my diesel pusher. Arriving there Monday, 11/18/2014, on a cold rainy day I must make it an exception at the Westmark Hotel, Whitehorse, Yukon Territory. The room was very clean, the beds most comfortable and the bathroom modern and well maintained, And the room was all warmed up! The brief moments we had with the staff were quite good. This hotel was centrally located so most everything were effortless walking distance. And, the price was reasonable.

I was satisfied with all the features in that hotel. Especially, the room was cozy and comfortable and the location was awesome. However, I was not able to get access to the Internet due to their mechanical problem.

A good experience after all, great location close to starbucks, main street, post office, cinema etc. Nice staff provide as much help as they can. Room is okay, you can hear to the pillow talk on the other room very clearly lol.

201 Wood Street Whitehorse YT

Hotel highlights

  • Free uncovered self parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Fitness center

Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre places you next to MacBride Museum of Yukon History and North End Gallery. This 181-room, 3-star hotel has a restaurant, free self parking, and a free airport shuttle.


Dining

This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café. Full breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

All 181 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect WiFi and 21-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls, safes, and ironing boards are also available.


Property features

Guests of Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre enjoy a fitness center, WiFi in public areas, and conference space. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free airport shuttle at scheduled times. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a business center, laundry facilities, and a gift shop.

Room options

Standard 2 Queen beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

One King Standard

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre

Everyone (7) Couples (6) Family (7) Other (2) Friends (1)
3
Business Business

It’s old. Floors aren’t level. Rooms need serious remodel. Staff was excellent. Room was quiet. Expensive for what they offer.

By on Oct 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 17, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback about your stay. We appreciate you enjoyed our staff and a quiet room. We do have ongoing renovations in the hotel and will be updating the rooms in the near future as well. We hope to see you back once that has been completed. Kind regards, Jordan Ogburn Front Desk Manager

1
Family

I will never stay here again. No parking, the property is falling apart. The room was filthy with mold in the bathroom. The rooms have portable air conditioners, which I had to wait for an extension cord to use and even then it didn’t cool the room. The closed captions on the television did not work. I have stayed in other Westmark hotels and they were proud, quality locations. I would rate this location zero stars.

By on Sep 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 25, 2019

Dear Sheldon, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay at Westmark Whitehorse. I regret to hear of the issues experienced and express my sincerest apologies. We will work hard to address these issues and have many changes active and planned for the future. Sincerely, Jordan Ogburn Front Desk Manager

5
Everyone

Friendly, clean. Not enough parking. Great location.

By on Jul 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thanks for the feedback we hope to see you in Whitehorse again. Kind regards, Jordan Ogburn Front Desk Manager

4
Family

Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful. Carpet could be replaced. Overall I would stay here again.

By , from Somerset, Texas on Jul 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 18, 2019

Dear Mary, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Westmark Whitehorse. We all work hard to meet our guest's needs and expectations and it is nice to hear when we are doing well. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back. Sincerely, Jordan Ogburn Front Desk Manager

2
Family with small children Family

Liked nothing. Room hot, stiffly, with poor facilities and layout. Parking inadequate with no security. Human dung in streets surrounding hotel. Staff incompetent and slow. Shared shuttle to airport not direct.

By on Jul 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2019

Dear Morris, I appreciate that you took the time to review your stay at the Westmark Whitehorse. I am saddened to hear your stay was unsatisfactory and express my sincerest apologies. We will work hard to ensure issues are resolved and it is my hope you will give us another chance to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Jordan Ogburn Front Desk Manager

4
Partner Couples

We made a last minute decision to stay here and were happy with it. They were in the midst of some construction, but we didn’t mind. Great location for walking around to see the sites. We only had half a day to enjoy Whitehorse and the front desk staff were extremely helpful with suggestions.

By , from Alaska on May 1, 2019

Review comment responded on May 7, 2019

Hi Rose, Thank you for your kind review. We were doing some upgrades to our lobby during your visit but are happy it wasn't disruptive to you. Our staff do work very hard to make our guest's stays wonderful and we hope to see you back at The Westmark Whitehorse. Kind regards, Jordan Front Desk Manager

4
Family

Clean and comfortable. Staff courteous and professional. Amenities pretty standard for the price. Did not try the restaurant so can’t comment on that. Would stay at this hotel again.

By on Feb 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 11, 2019

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next stay. Warm regards, Jordan Ogburn Front Desk Manager

1
Everyone

Bad service terrible dont clean rooms restaurant is slow . Never again

By on Dec 21, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 2, 2019

Hello, Thank you for your valuable input. Our staff work hard to insure that every customer's expectations are exceeded. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your needs and our product was not up to your standard but we would like the opportunity to change your view in the future. Kind Regards,

5
Everyone

I spent my time in Whitehorse with the love of my life and the hotel was perfect for that

By on Nov 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 30, 2018

Thank you so much for your comments. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy your time in Whitehorse and all that we offer. We hope you are able to join us again in the future as we add to our list of amenities for your enjoyment.

3
Everyone

Not as nice as most westmark hotel, very outdated,

By on Sep 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2018

Hello, Thank you for your valued input. We are working hard to update and modernize this property and we hope that you are able to join us again in the future to enjoy the changes. Regards,

Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre

201 Wood Street, Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2E4
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Whitehorse-Hotels-Sternwheeler-Hotel-and-Conference-Centre.h28265-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Whitehorse-Hotels-Sternwheeler-Hotel-and-Conference-Centre.h28265-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Whitehorse-Hotels-Sternwheeler-Hotel-and-Conference-Centre.h28265-p2.Hotel-Reviews