Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Crowne Plaza London- Gatwick Airport

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

My Room was not ready at the time of my arrival. I got there at 3pm.

Very nice and helpful personnel, bath could be biger , very good food. Hotel was very clean and really nice. I was really enjoy stay there and I would recommend this Hotel.

The hotel was very good. We had been booked into a double bed room, but my wife had injured her shoulder during our trip, and we had to have a twin room for her to sleep without being disturbed. The staff were very good in finding us another room. The only downside was being charged for internet services - most hotels now provide free WIFI.

a good 15 min ride to airport- 15 pounds for 3 with luggage each way, hotel does have a less expensive shuttle, 9 pounds for three. If need hotel at airport, go with Hilton or Marriott Courtyard right at Gatwick

One night was enough for me to vow never to set foot inside this hotel again. My unhappy experience began by being told that the "WiFi available" in my Queen Deluxe room meant that WiFi could be had for an additional £10! "Queen Deluxe," by the way, is more like "Queen Ordinaire," for most other hotels. No outlets by the bed, meant that I had to run an extension cord from the other end of the room to run my CPAP machine for my sleep apnea. At no time did anyone at the Front Desk or in Management make any effort to try and address my concerns. Even the email regarding my "Guest Comments" was tone deaf , to wit: "Our wi-fi is provided by a third party provider, therefore chargeable. There are a number of facilities within the hotel which we appreciate are free at some other outlets. But in order to keep our rates competitive it is a cost we currently cannot absorb." Having just spent three weeks in numerous hotels and B&B throughout the Western Hebrides, Orkney Islands and North Highlands, where not only was WiFi "available," it was free. The "chicken arribiata" tasted like it was straight out of a deep freeze microwave dinner - oh and they automatically tack-on a 10% service fee, even if you are just ordering dinner from the barman!! And they expect you to provide a credit card to tie-up £50 in preauthorization, even though the room was prepaid and I had arranged an early morning check-out. The 6:00AM wake-up call was late. My bags were supposed to be collected at 6:30AM. At 6:40 I started dragging my stuff down the hall, where I was finally met by my indifferent bellhop, who could not be bothered to assist in loading the bags into the cab, evening with me waving a tip at him. When even the cabbie gives that "you too" look of sympathy, you know the Crowne Plaza is a Royal Scam!!

Great. It was midnight and they were waiting for us a gave us a late cheakin. Great bedding and wonderful service. Like a english hotels a bit small

The staff and hotel were absolutley marvelous. The stay was very pleasent and I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks.

Three of us stayed at this hotel for only a few hours, but the rest was peaceful, the staff was friendly and it was only 5-10 minute drive from Gatwick airport. It was convenient for a quick stay after arriving at Gatwick late at night.

The room was small, but cozy. It had a more individualistic look than most and the room was well-equiped.

What you would expect from a fine hotel. However, the shuttle bus service is not dependable.

Langley Drive Crawley England

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Crowne Plaza London- Gatwick Airport is located within a mile (2 km) of Crawley Town Hall and St. John the Baptist Church. This 294-room, 4-star hotel has conveniences like a restaurant, 2 bars/lounges, and a conference center. In central Crawley, the hotel is also close to County Mall Shopping Centre and Hawth Theatre.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Cube Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with English breakfast, available for a fee from 6 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

Crowne Plaza London- Gatwick Airport's 294 rooms are air-conditioned and provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and ironing boards. 26-inch LCD TVs come with satellite channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Desks are also standard.


Property features

Crowne Plaza London- Gatwick Airport features free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and coffee in a common area. Self parking is offered for GBP 10 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a computer station, express check-out, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Twin Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 2

Club Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 Double Bed, Accessible

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 Double Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Full 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Crowne Plaza London- Gatwick Airport

Business (2) Couples (4) Family (2) Other (2)
3

the hotel shuffle is really disappointing.

BusinessTravelers

My Room was not ready at the time of my arrival. I got there at 3pm.

By on Sep 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the free Wi-Fi and the room service to be good. Please accept our sincere apologies that you found the Hotel shuttle bus service to be disappointing and that your room was not ready upon arrival to the Hotel. I am unsure if you informed a Duty Manager of your concerns at the time of your stay, please do come and speak with us we are more than happy to assist you. I do hope that despite your concerns we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel sometime in the future. Kind Regards Natasha Selby Guest Relations Manager

4

relax weekend

Couples

Very nice and helpful personnel, bath could be biger , very good food. Hotel was very clean and really nice. I was really enjoy stay there and I would recommend this Hotel.

By on May 21, 2013

4

good location close to crawley

Couples

The hotel was very good. We had been booked into a double bed room, but my wife had injured her shoulder during our trip, and we had to have a twin room for her to sleep without being disturbed. The staff were very good in finding us another room. The only downside was being charged for internet services - most hotels now provide free WIFI.

By on Oct 23, 2012

3

overnight at gatwick

Families

a good 15 min ride to airport- 15 pounds for 3 with luggage each way, hotel does have a less expensive shuttle, 9 pounds for three. If need hotel at airport, go with Hilton or Marriott Courtyard right at Gatwick

By on Jul 5, 2012

1

royal scam

Singles

One night was enough for me to vow never to set foot inside this hotel again. My unhappy experience began by being told that the "WiFi available" in my Queen Deluxe room meant that WiFi could be had for an additional £10! "Queen Deluxe," by the way, is more like "Queen Ordinaire," for most other hotels. No outlets by the bed, meant that I had to run an extension cord from the other end of the room to run my CPAP machine for my sleep apnea. At no time did anyone at the Front Desk or in Management make any effort to try and address my concerns. Even the email regarding my "Guest Comments" was tone deaf , to wit: "Our wi-fi is provided by a third party provider, therefore chargeable. There are a number of facilities within the hotel which we appreciate are free at some other outlets. But in order to keep our rates competitive it is a cost we currently cannot absorb." Having just spent three weeks in numerous hotels and B&B throughout the Western Hebrides, Orkney Islands and North Highlands, where not only was WiFi "available," it was free. The "chicken arribiata" tasted like it was straight out of a deep freeze microwave dinner - oh and they automatically tack-on a 10% service fee, even if you are just ordering dinner from the barman!! And they expect you to provide a credit card to tie-up £50 in preauthorization, even though the room was prepaid and I had arranged an early morning check-out. The 6:00AM wake-up call was late. My bags were supposed to be collected at 6:30AM. At 6:40 I started dragging my stuff down the hall, where I was finally met by my indifferent bellhop, who could not be bothered to assist in loading the bags into the cab, evening with me waving a tip at him. When even the cabbie gives that "you too" look of sympathy, you know the Crowne Plaza is a Royal Scam!!

By on Oct 12, 2011

5

a great night sleep

BusinessTravelers

Great. It was midnight and they were waiting for us a gave us a late cheakin. Great bedding and wonderful service. Like a english hotels a bit small

By on Nov 13, 2010

5

bob from atlanta, ga usa

Couples

The staff and hotel were absolutley marvelous. The stay was very pleasent and I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks.

By on Aug 1, 2010

4

good hotel for a quick stay

Families

Three of us stayed at this hotel for only a few hours, but the rest was peaceful, the staff was friendly and it was only 5-10 minute drive from Gatwick airport. It was convenient for a quick stay after arriving at Gatwick late at night.

By on Jul 6, 2010

5

very comfortable and home-like

Singles

The room was small, but cozy. It had a more individualistic look than most and the room was well-equiped.

By on Apr 5, 2010

4

very friendly staff.

Couples

What you would expect from a fine hotel. However, the shuttle bus service is not dependable.

By on Jun 7, 2009