Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Super 8 - Waterloo

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

So often today, hotels exceed $100 per night, yet I am nervous if we chose something too inexpensive. We were very pleased with the Super 8's price and quality. So much so, that I later chose Super 8's in two additional locations on our trip. Everything was very clean. The bedding was updated and the paint was fresh. The room included a microwave and refrigerator. There was also a comfortable lounge chair.

It was OK specially considering the low cost. I read other guests' comments before making reservations. Some of them didn't like the Staff whatsoever. I was a bit apprehensive about it but the staff was very nice to me. In fact, the lady at the counter the first day was not only very helpful but also rather sweet.

Desk person was not very friendly at all. Made us sign a document that we would not smoke in the room and when we entered our room, it stunk of smoke. We went back down to the front desk and she gave us another room. That room was fine. Found the hotel old inside. Would not stay there again

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during the UNI teacher's recruiting fair. The staff was passive aggressively rude and much more concerned with smoke breaks than anything else. After I returned home I developed a rash on my midsection. I can't for sure say I got it from the Super 8, but it was a circumstantial. There were many workers staying there and there was mud and dirt tracks throughout the hallway at all times. Besides the rash, all of this could be overlooked if my total bill was not over $75 a night.

Waiting on the close of our new house we had to stay at your hotel. Front desk very understanding of our needs and very friendly.

We were in town for a concert so it worked well for us.

I've had better. I wouldn't stay again. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rooms were decent but ours was not cleaned when we arrived later in the evening. Since they were out of rooms the night attendant offered to clean it for us. We opted for the hotel next door.

The location was convenient for all travel. The room was clean, quite and comfortable with all the amenities I usually require. The staff was friendly and efficient. You can't beat the price for the quality.

went to my class reunion and stayed at super 8. stayed there twice before. the beds are the best of any other hotel i've been to. wish the super 8 in chino calif had the same bedsa. i would stay there once in a while

The hotel rooms are old and out of date. The heating and cooling unit is old and loud. The breakfast was good and service was nice. The parking lot was really rough, drive slow.

I stayed at this hotel while I was at an Overseas Teaching Recruiting Fair, which turned out to be pretty intense. The bed was comfy, the shower was hot, the temperature in the room was comfortable and a decent cable selection. It was just what I needed at a price reasonable enough for a teacher's salary. The water is a little hard, but that's the city and not the hotel.

It was an OK stay. The beds are a little worn. They did not pay attention to what I had requested and we did not get the kind of room we needed. All in all it was just OK

This hotel was about the same as any Super 8 we have stayed at before, no frill, but was a good value for our money and was clean.

We stayed one night here after a very, very long day of driving. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable and was overall a good value. There was the smell of old cigarette smoke in the lobby and in our non-smoking room--a holdover from the time when smoking was allowed in these places. The breakfast buffet was minimal.

attended 60 yr. wedding anniversary of close friends at their church . The husband of couple had the sermon on Sunday.

The Hotel overall was a good deal for the money. I was in a smoking room, and they could have invested in some Fabreze frabric refresher. As soon as I opened the door the smell of smoke permiated the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of shopping and restaurants close to the hotel. Although it's an older property it was well maintained. My only complaint is that the pillows were horrible and a few years past their prime.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator

Queen 1 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Super 8 - Waterloo

Everyone (6) Business (1) Couples (1) Family (3) Friends (2) Other (4)
5

very pleased

Everyone

So often today, hotels exceed $100 per night, yet I am nervous if we chose something too inexpensive. We were very pleased with the Super 8's price and quality. So much so, that I later chose Super 8's in two additional locations on our trip. Everything was very clean. The bedding was updated and the paint was fresh. The room included a microwave and refrigerator. There was also a comfortable lounge chair.

By on Sep 16, 2017

4
Everyone

It was OK specially considering the low cost. I read other guests' comments before making reservations. Some of them didn't like the Staff whatsoever. I was a bit apprehensive about it but the staff was very nice to me. In fact, the lady at the counter the first day was not only very helpful but also rather sweet.

By , from Madison, WI on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Super 8 Waterloo. We are sorry for the issues that you have experienced and we are working on making those improvements. I am happy to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful. Again we apologize for the issues and also thank you for staying with us.

2

not what we expected

Everyone

Desk person was not very friendly at all. Made us sign a document that we would not smoke in the room and when we entered our room, it stunk of smoke. We went back down to the front desk and she gave us another room. That room was fine. Found the hotel old inside. Would not stay there again

By on Jun 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the feedback.

2

too much $$$ for poor quality

Everyone

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during the UNI teacher's recruiting fair. The staff was passive aggressively rude and much more concerned with smoke breaks than anything else. After I returned home I developed a rash on my midsection. I can't for sure say I got it from the Super 8, but it was a circumstantial. There were many workers staying there and there was mud and dirt tracks throughout the hallway at all times. Besides the rash, all of this could be overlooked if my total bill was not over $75 a night.

By , from Des Moines, Iowa on Feb 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 20, 2017

We are sorry about the issues that you had during your stay at the Waterloo Super 8. We are working on those issues. Again we apologize for the issues that you have experienced during your stay.

3

nice hotel a little dated but overall clean, frien

Everyone

Waiting on the close of our new house we had to stay at your hotel. Front desk very understanding of our needs and very friendly.

By on Jun 3, 2016

4

it was a good location near lots of restaurants.

Everyone

We were in town for a concert so it worked well for us.

By , from MN on Feb 23, 2016

1

wedding

Families

I've had better. I wouldn't stay again. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Jun 24, 2014

2

needs work

GetawayWithFriends

Rooms were decent but ours was not cleaned when we arrived later in the evening. Since they were out of rooms the night attendant offered to clean it for us. We opted for the hotel next door.

By on Apr 2, 2013

5

vacation to see family

Singles

The location was convenient for all travel. The room was clean, quite and comfortable with all the amenities I usually require. The staff was friendly and efficient. You can't beat the price for the quality.

By on Jan 22, 2013

5

best beds ever

Singles

went to my class reunion and stayed at super 8. stayed there twice before. the beds are the best of any other hotel i've been to. wish the super 8 in chino calif had the same bedsa. i would stay there once in a while

By on Jul 27, 2011