Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Days Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Unclean. Dark parking. Wake up call came 1 hour later than requested.

Three nights is a long time to spend in one location, but I felt comfortable and at home at the Days Inn. Every morning my breakfast was tasty and every evening I came home to a clean room with all of my things just as I had left them. The staff was pleasant and cheerful.

Was clean and comfortable. Also warm in a freezing weather outside.

Very clean room & friendly staff. Beds were a little smaller than expected, and strange setup with windows leading to hallway rather than outside. But perfectly nice for an overnight stay.

Rooms, seemed clean but to people in my party got bites from suspected bed bugs!

Our first room assignment had wet carpet from shower all the way under vanity area. Given a second room we found wet walls, mold, and more wet carpet...all on first floor. We were assigned to second floor and room was about equal in value to what we paid. The staff was apologetically helpful, although I don't think they knew all the structural problems. This disappointing Days Inn is a former outside motel that has a shell over it. There are health issues, in my opinion. Some of the desk staff were attentive, others distracted. I met three persons. For a continental breakfast, the offerings were good. The location is excellent. The structure just needs a strong upgrade.

We needed a convenient place to stay to visit family for the weekend. Many of the area hotels were booked in our preferred area (in proximity to family). This was one of the few that had space available for a family of 4. We checked in later in the evening. The desk person on duty appeared tired, or bored, and not overly welcoming. Though she was responsive to our need for extra bath towels after we checked in. The morning staff person was more talkative and friendly by comparison. The room was clean, but dated. Everything needs to be freshened. The door hinges of the bathroom were so rusted that it was difficult to open/close the door fully. The breakfast option was nice, simple and basic (toast, cereal, yogurt) for one morning, but we choose to eat out the next morning for more variety. We required a place to sleep in the evening, and this provided us that space with little else to offer. It did have several restaurants, a mall, and close proximity to the highway, which was helpful.

We decided last-minute to travel from Montana to Waverly, Iowa for the Waverly horse sale. All the rooms in Waverly were already full and this hotel, about 15 miles away afforded us a place to stay. The kids were disappointed that there was no pool and the double beds were a little crowded. But it was warm and clean. The weather was frigid during our stay and it was good to come back from the sale to hot showers and warm beds.

good location, nice and clean room, friendly staff

This hotel is located directly off of University Ave in Cedar Falls, very near to shopping and dining options. The room was in some need of updating, but it was clean and comfortable. Parking was also adequate, evening with the large crowds that were in town for neighboring colleges' homecoming activities. Overall, this was a good place to crash for the evening.

clean room, very polite staff.. I would recommend to friends

No surprises here. Days Inn has comfortable rooms with all the basics. They do not have a pool or game room, but they have an agreement with the hotel across the parking lot so guests can use their pool, hot tub, game room, and bar/restaurant. We visit family at UNI a few times a year, so the cost is pretty important--a great value for a comfortable, clean room!

The cleaning crew seems to think that making the bed is all that is needed. Towels, soap, shampoo, lotion not replenished. The coffee pot was left as I had left it. The breakfast provisions were good.........if you were lucky enough to get to them before they were gone.

Very Clean, Friendly staff. Very reasonable price., and close to about 20 places to eat. Two thumbs up.

The location was very good, close to Cedar Falls restaurants and shopping, and Waterloo. The beds are very very comfortable. Continental breakfast was what it said. It was minimal but sufficient. The room was supposed to be a non-smoking room but smelled like smoke anyway. The staff was very good and willing to help. For the price, the room was ok and amenities were good. I would go back because of the location but most likely not. There are no elevators and quite a few stairs to go up and down with luggage.

Didn't mind staying there. Will probably stay again, but one room had a fridge and one didn't. One had a microwave one didn't. No ashtray in a smoking room seems crazy to me. Staff was not available when I went to check in, and I had to look for them. When I needed the ashtray staff was no where to be found, had to wait again.

I was in the room for two nights. I chose this because I was on a tight budget and my airfare to ALO was already quite high. The location was convenient: only a few minutes from where I wanted to go. The room was passably clean but not exceptional. Water in the faucets was whitish (which I didn't notice until I collected some in the clear coffee-maker jar an hour before I left) - so obviously not clean. I checked in late at night and checked out early in the morning - the night desk clerk on duty on both these occasions was extremely pleasant and friendly. However, another desk clerk on duty in the early evening made me wait for service while he smoked outside and was brusque and disinterested when he returned. The wake-up calls are off (both my wake-up calls were 20 minutes too early which is especially unpleasant pre-dawn). My non-smoking room had an odd smell that reminded me of perfumed smoke - something masking a smell of cigarette smoke, perhaps? There were no windows anywhere, so I had no way to ventilate the room. I had an issue with the shortage of power outlets in my room - one power strip near the TV had three left over after connecting the TV, the microwave and the fridge, and there were no available outlets anywhere else except in the bathroom. Just about passable on the whole, but then I'm used to roughing it out so I could put up with it. I'm not a regular traveler within the United States so I don't get to see too many places I can compare it with, but I know they could do better. Take it if you're on a budget.

We were disappointed that the hotel claimed to have a pool, but it was actually next door at a neighboring hotel. The room was clean, but not deep clean: the floor was not well vacuumed. The heater worked, but not very well. We had to run it on high around the clock to maintain a comfortable temp, but this made the room air very dry.

This hotel is in a great location for people visiting UNI. This is the 2nd time we have stayed in this location. The first experience was better. The first room we got was perfect in my book but this time I selected a non-smoking room and got a smoking room. All of my clothes smelled like smoke. A lot of children running the halls late at night but that is partly the parents fault.

The room had a very musty, mouldy smell. i will not stay at this hotel on future trips

5924 University Ave. Cedar Falls IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk

Within a short walk of College Square Mall, Days Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza is within a mile (2 km) of Falls Aquatic Center. This 67-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking. Also close to this Cedar Falls hotel are Gallagher Bluedorn Performing Arts Center and University of Northern Iowa.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6 AM to 10 AM. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

The 67 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include ironing boards and desks.


Property features

Guests of Days Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza enjoy free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and free newspapers. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables.

Room options

Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 5

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Days Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza

Everyone (3) Business (8) Couples (5) Family (5) Other (6) Friends (2)
2

disappointing

Everyone

Unclean. Dark parking. Wake up call came 1 hour later than requested.

By , from Cedar Falls, Iowa on Mar 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 30, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are sorry you were disappointed. We work hard to be sure you have a clean and comfortable stay. I apologize we did not live up to your expectations. We wish we had been given an opportunity to correct any issues you experienced while you were here.

4

three nights over a conference weekend!

BusinessTravelers

Three nights is a long time to spend in one location, but I felt comfortable and at home at the Days Inn. Every morning my breakfast was tasty and every evening I came home to a clean room with all of my things just as I had left them. The staff was pleasant and cheerful.

By , from Milwaukee on Feb 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 8, 2017

Thank you Danielle for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are happy we were able to provide a pleasant stay for you. We work hard to make our guests feel at home! ' Our owners are working to upgrade the hotel and I am confident appliances will be on this of things to improve. If you are in the area again, please stay with us. We look forward to serving you!

5

nice hotel

Everyone

Was clean and comfortable. Also warm in a freezing weather outside.

By on Dec 26, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 29, 2016

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am happy your stay was warm and inviting. We have new owners that are committed to upgrading our guest rooms as well as public areas. Please stay with us again when you are in the area.

4

good budget motel

Everyone

Very clean room & friendly staff. Beds were a little smaller than expected, and strange setup with windows leading to hallway rather than outside. But perfectly nice for an overnight stay.

By on Feb 21, 2016

1

thanksgiving

BusinessTravelers

Rooms, seemed clean but to people in my party got bites from suspected bed bugs!

By on Nov 30, 2015

2

like wet carpet?

Couples

Our first room assignment had wet carpet from shower all the way under vanity area. Given a second room we found wet walls, mold, and more wet carpet...all on first floor. We were assigned to second floor and room was about equal in value to what we paid. The staff was apologetically helpful, although I don't think they knew all the structural problems. This disappointing Days Inn is a former outside motel that has a shell over it. There are health issues, in my opinion. Some of the desk staff were attentive, others distracted. I met three persons. For a continental breakfast, the offerings were good. The location is excellent. The structure just needs a strong upgrade.

By on Sep 8, 2015

3

visting family

Families

We needed a convenient place to stay to visit family for the weekend. Many of the area hotels were booked in our preferred area (in proximity to family). This was one of the few that had space available for a family of 4. We checked in later in the evening. The desk person on duty appeared tired, or bored, and not overly welcoming. Though she was responsive to our need for extra bath towels after we checked in. The morning staff person was more talkative and friendly by comparison. The room was clean, but dated. Everything needs to be freshened. The door hinges of the bathroom were so rusted that it was difficult to open/close the door fully. The breakfast option was nice, simple and basic (toast, cereal, yogurt) for one morning, but we choose to eat out the next morning for more variety. We required a place to sleep in the evening, and this provided us that space with little else to offer. It did have several restaurants, a mall, and close proximity to the highway, which was helpful.

By on Aug 12, 2015

3

shelter from the storm.

BusinessTravelers

We decided last-minute to travel from Montana to Waverly, Iowa for the Waverly horse sale. All the rooms in Waverly were already full and this hotel, about 15 miles away afforded us a place to stay. The kids were disappointed that there was no pool and the double beds were a little crowded. But it was warm and clean. The weather was frigid during our stay and it was good to come back from the sale to hot showers and warm beds.

By on Apr 1, 2014

3

good good good

Singles

good location, nice and clean room, friendly staff

By on Oct 28, 2013

3

a decent stay

GetawayWithFriends

This hotel is located directly off of University Ave in Cedar Falls, very near to shopping and dining options. The room was in some need of updating, but it was clean and comfortable. Parking was also adequate, evening with the large crowds that were in town for neighboring colleges' homecoming activities. Overall, this was a good place to crash for the evening.

By on Oct 17, 2013