Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Old Colony Inn Alexandria

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The location was perfect! I didn't receive a response from the hotel regarding an issue I had, which was disappointing and the reason why I wouldn't return. No elevator but it was because the buidling was too old to add. They had a lift to take you to the breakfast room, which was nice. Breakfast was the best I ever had.

The staff was very friendly and helpful! They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and a success.

nice area. close to Mt. Vernon. close to King street.

I have stayed here many times and I love the fact that a hot breakfast is served and the shuttle provides service starting at 7 a.m. There are other hotels in the area that do not provide these things and charge a lot more for their rooms.

Great staff, quaint and comfortable hotel that is close to everything. Free shuttle is so helpful and a full hot breakfast to start each day!

The rooms are ok, although my toilet was leaking water. I was disappointed with the staff. The chambermaids were really loud before 8:00 am and woke me up on the first day. The lady at the front-desk forgot my wake up call on the day of departure and did not even apologize. Thanks to her, I almost missed my flight.

Good hotel tucked away near King st. Easily accessible by Braddock St metro and within walking distance to King St and grocery store - Harris Teeter. Free parking, free breakfast, free shuttle service, excellent customer service.

Our room was ready ahead of schedule. It was clean and comfortable.

My experience was good. Not writing anymore. The hotel was good but not letting me out of this questionnaire if not good.

Doing the best they can with the property. Staff was great. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was filling. Location is more than walking distance from the metro rail, but there is a bus stop about 50 feet away. The hotel courtesy van will take you anywhere within a 2-mile radius, which includes the Braddock Street subway station, King Street in Old Town, the Potomac Yards shopping center, and Reagan airport. From the King Street waterfront, there's a water taxi to National Harbor where there are many eating and shopping outlets. Still, having to take the hotel van to all but a few restaurants was less than convenient, especially when returning to the hotel as you must call and wait for pickup - which can be fairly prompt, or not. In all, the hotel is okay, but we will choose something else next time, primarily for a better location.

The hotel is older and could probably use some updates, but it was an affordable place for a good location. The staff was very nice, and the breakfast was pretty good. The hotel was a little hard to find at night, and there is no elevator so be prepared to lug your stuff up the stairs. Staff was super nice.

Perfect place to stay for next morning meeting in DC. Nice staff. Clean. Very good.

The staff were friendly, rates affordable, and a good location. They provided a shuttle to the metro, airport, and local shops. The neighborhood was quiet with shops and restaurants within walking distance.

attended a conference at the Gaylord in National Harbor. Hotel was a good location to access the meeting and had free parking for my rental car. somewhat noisy hallways as the doors are loose fitting but good breakfast and helpful staff made up for this.

Great staff, friendly, knowledgeable. Made the stay so good. The room was comfortable and a good value

Small, dated hotel with -surprise- no elevator. Not a problem unless like us you have large baggage because of attending wedding and needing to carry formal clothes. Description made no mention of that. Bathroom very old fashioned. Stephen is wonderful host.

Hotel location is excellent and the lady at the front desk was supersweet!. Hallway carpet kindof dirty and chairs in hallway old. But free parking and free breakfast a plus

We stayed at the hotels for 2 nights only. Awesome place, quiet location and close to everything. but what makes this place different is front desk ladies. Ms. June and Ms. Elizabeth were super helpful. they went out of their way to make sure that we are comfortable and have everything we need to have an awesome stay at the hotel. Thank you Ladies, it was pleasure staying and we will definitely stay at this hotel next time we are in the area. Room were large and clean, beds are comfortable. It is a small hotel, so no elevator just a note if this is important. Excellent hot breakfast.

Went on a work trip and the room was quiet and clean. It was also 95 outside but the A/C really kept the room cool. Walking distance to bars and restaurants.

Rooms were on the smaller side but very comfortable.Had great pillows. Location great . Free shuttle to and from Metro and Old Town business district. Not a lot of amenities but a great value for the price. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel.

1101 North Washington Street Alexandria VA

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free airport shuttle
  • 24-hour fitness center

Old Colony Inn Alexandria places you within a mile (2 km) of Market Square and Lyceum. This 49-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi. It's in the historical district and also near George Washington Masonic National Memorial and Athenaeum.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free full breakfast.


Rooms

Old Colony Inn Alexandria's 49 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and wired Internet, plus LED TVs with cable channels and DVD players. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Desks are also available.


Property features

Old Colony Inn Alexandria features a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. If you drive, self parking is USD 10.00 per night, or you can take advantage of the free airport shuttle at scheduled times. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with tours/tickets and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a business center, a library, and express check-in.

Room options

Traditional Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Old Colony Inn Alexandria

Everyone (13) Business (12) Couples (13) Family (9) Other (3) Friends (2)
3

ok i guess i wouldn't return

Everyone

The location was perfect! I didn't receive a response from the hotel regarding an issue I had, which was disappointing and the reason why I wouldn't return. No elevator but it was because the buidling was too old to add. They had a lift to take you to the breakfast room, which was nice. Breakfast was the best I ever had.

By , from Florida on Aug 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 8, 2017

Hello Lani, I'm very sorry you never received a response; we take great pride to make sure our guests questions/concerns are handled quickly and efficiently, I'm not 100% where the ball was dropped. We would hate to lose you as a guest, please let us know if there is anything we can do to resolve the issue. Respectfully, Wil Laura

4
Everyone

The staff was very friendly and helpful! They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and a success.

By on Jul 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2017

Hello, We're happy you had a great stay with us and found our team's hospitality perfect. We hope to welcome you back the next time your in the area! Thank you, Wil Laura

4

nice safe area.

Everyone

nice area. close to Mt. Vernon. close to King street.

By , from from N.C. on Jul 4, 2017

5

you get more for your money

Everyone

I have stayed here many times and I love the fact that a hot breakfast is served and the shuttle provides service starting at 7 a.m. There are other hotels in the area that do not provide these things and charge a lot more for their rooms.

By , from Dayton, OH on May 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2017

Hello RSB, Thank you for staying with us time and time again, we're honored to be your hotel of choice when visiting Alexandria. We look forward to you future stay with us! Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

5

nice hotel with full breakfast and a free shuttle

Everyone

Great staff, quaint and comfortable hotel that is close to everything. Free shuttle is so helpful and a full hot breakfast to start each day!

By , from Ohio on May 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2017

Hello Jeannette, We're delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us and found both our full hot breakfast and free shuttle perfect. We hope to welcome you back the next time your in the Alexandria area. Thank you, Wil Laura

3

good breakfast, unprofessional staff

Everyone

The rooms are ok, although my toilet was leaking water. I was disappointed with the staff. The chambermaids were really loud before 8:00 am and woke me up on the first day. The lady at the front-desk forgot my wake up call on the day of departure and did not even apologize. Thanks to her, I almost missed my flight.

By , from Phoenix on Apr 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 27, 2017

Hello Bert, Thank you for sharing you experience with us, while I'm very happy you enjoyed our location and breakfast, I'm very concerned with regards to your comments about our team. Please note, I will personally make sure to polish our customer serivce skills and make sure the service we offer is world class. Respectfully, Wil Laura

4

good hotel in central location

Everyone

Good hotel tucked away near King st. Easily accessible by Braddock St metro and within walking distance to King St and grocery store - Harris Teeter. Free parking, free breakfast, free shuttle service, excellent customer service.

By , from VA on Dec 23, 2016

5
Everyone

Our room was ready ahead of schedule. It was clean and comfortable.

By on Nov 30, 2016

4
Everyone

My experience was good. Not writing anymore. The hotel was good but not letting me out of this questionnaire if not good.

By on Nov 20, 2016

3

price is competitive, but location is not convenie

Everyone

Doing the best they can with the property. Staff was great. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was filling. Location is more than walking distance from the metro rail, but there is a bus stop about 50 feet away. The hotel courtesy van will take you anywhere within a 2-mile radius, which includes the Braddock Street subway station, King Street in Old Town, the Potomac Yards shopping center, and Reagan airport. From the King Street waterfront, there's a water taxi to National Harbor where there are many eating and shopping outlets. Still, having to take the hotel van to all but a few restaurants was less than convenient, especially when returning to the hotel as you must call and wait for pickup - which can be fairly prompt, or not. In all, the hotel is okay, but we will choose something else next time, primarily for a better location.

By , from Denver on Oct 2, 2016