Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

American Inn Of Bethesda

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Good choice for visiting family. Our room was quiet and comfortable. Parking and breakfast were included. Close to metro and shopping. Will choose again for next visit!

No parking, shower faucet did not work, old building with nothing to offer, old fashion equip,

Room was very small, staff was rude. Originally booked a hotel for three nights I checked out after the first. There's limited parking at the hotel so you have to find a meter to park. Only 2 hr meters in the area which means every two hours you have to reload the meter and this goes until 10pm.

I have special needs being Chemically Sensitive. I called a day ahead and day of to request a room cleaned without any chemicals - just dust, vacuum and hot water. When I arrived, I asked to leave my special foods in the room refrigerator. I went upstairs, opened door and saw a rag with a chemical cleaning product near the bathroom. I immediately went back down and EXPLAINED that this was the opposite of what I had asked for. Then I had to wait until after my all afternoon meeting to access the (new) room. However that one was set up to my specifications and worked out fine. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Great location to visit some fine restaurants (around the corner) and a brief walk to the NIH Campus (they offer a free shuttle there and to the Metro).

Room was clean, comfortable bed , good breakfast. But no air conditioning.

Hotel smelled like sewage. I had my room switched twice because of this horrible smell. Finally the 3rd room in a different part of the hotel was a lot better. The staff was very helpful in revolving my issue.

It was pleasant and reasonablely price. Breakfast was excellent.

This hotel has no AC. It was 82 F, the first day when I was stayed. Front desk told me I can open the window or they would send a fan to me. This hotel has no heating. Temperature dropped to 40 during one night, the room was quite cold. Free parking is limited. Tiny parking lot, usually it is full. You have to pay parking meter! Very noise. Hotel staff is not helpful. Very old facility.

The elevator was broken. I stayed there 4 days on the 5th floor. Construction was going on during the middle of night. Parking was really tight and limited. It was difficult to sleep at night with all the loud noise.

The room was clean, if a bit small (one queen sized bed) - but since it was just me, that was ok. When I initially booked, I called the hotel to see how far it was from the Metro station, and was told it was a block and a half. Well, not quite. More like 4-5 blocks, however, there is a van shuttle at the hotel to take you to the Metro station (or other local spots I suppose, I only used it to get to the Metro.) I arrived a few hours before scheduled check in, but the hotel let me leave my suitcase in the office - I retrieved it when I checked in later. Also, when I arrived, the elevator was out of order, but the staff helped me by carrying my suitcase to the 3rd floor for me. Overall not a bad experience - the wifi worked fine and the free breakfast was fine. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room on 5th floor, elevator broken. No temp control, no working TV, coffee maker did not work. Staff was not helpful. Save yourself the trouble, pay a bit more money and stay at the doubletree next door.

They only have like 8 parking spaces in front of the hotel!! You have to walk across the street for a space!

The staff was somewhat friendly, rooms were dated yet clean, however incredibly small. I would not stay here again for the price.

Not overwhelming but nothing really wrong either - I found it adequate for a business/leisure trip. Decor is a bit shabby, room small, and heat wasn't on yet. On the other hand, free breakfast, free wifi, and low rate made for a great value and essential amenities are there (spare outlets, iron board, etc)

Convenient hotel to regular NIH appointments. Staff very polite.

They welcome you like family! Front Desk, Adeline & Jose, are excellent. Welcoming, pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet is good and attendant, Rosa, very helpful to handicapped guests. Handicapped Room has roll-in, accessible shower and housekeeper, Rosa, arranged linens to meet my handicapped needs.

Great location, friendly staff, we got free parking plus early check in without any difficulty. The room was a little small and dark but it was fine for a one night stay. We wolud definitely stay there again and would recommend it to our friends and family.

The hotel was very clean and the staff courteous. The room was a little small but it had everything you would need.

Cheep, dirty , breakfast is not eatable , but conveniently located , plus free parking and wifi

The American Inn was fine, but nothing special. The room was ok, but small, and everything (windows, bathroom) seemed old. The sound proofing between rooms could use some updating as well. But the location was convenient and the price was ok compared to the chains.

Room options

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Two Doubles Non Smoking South Wing

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for American Inn Of Bethesda

Everyone (12) Business (8) Couples (12) Family (8) Other (8) Friends (2)
3

convenient, reasonable

Everyone

Good choice for visiting family. Our room was quiet and comfortable. Parking and breakfast were included. Close to metro and shopping. Will choose again for next visit!

By , from MA on Apr 23, 2017

1

not worth 1/4 of the price

Everyone

No parking, shower faucet did not work, old building with nothing to offer, old fashion equip,

By on Mar 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2017

Thank you for your visit.

2

room is a lot smaller than photos

Everyone

Room was very small, staff was rude. Originally booked a hotel for three nights I checked out after the first. There's limited parking at the hotel so you have to find a meter to park. Only 2 hr meters in the area which means every two hours you have to reload the meter and this goes until 10pm.

By on Dec 28, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2017

I am contrite to learn of the details of your visit. Our staff take a great deal of pride in providing exceptional service and informing all guest of the parking options. We encourage guest to park were they will have a choice of the all day parking option. The MobileNow parking app offers the flexibility to start and end a parking session at your convenience.

4

they failed to follow my directives, but nice plac

Everyone

I have special needs being Chemically Sensitive. I called a day ahead and day of to request a room cleaned without any chemicals - just dust, vacuum and hot water. When I arrived, I asked to leave my special foods in the room refrigerator. I went upstairs, opened door and saw a rag with a chemical cleaning product near the bathroom. I immediately went back down and EXPLAINED that this was the opposite of what I had asked for. Then I had to wait until after my all afternoon meeting to access the (new) room. However that one was set up to my specifications and worked out fine. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Great location to visit some fine restaurants (around the corner) and a brief walk to the NIH Campus (they offer a free shuttle there and to the Metro).

By , from South Florida on Nov 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 30, 2016

Dear Ms. Appleseed, I regret to learn that your instructions were not initially executed, however we greatly appreciate your patience in allow us the opportunity to remedy this situation. It is our pleasure to be of service and we look forward to hosting you again.

3

no air conditioning!

Everyone

Room was clean, comfortable bed , good breakfast. But no air conditioning.

By on Nov 13, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 14, 2016

We thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, our HVAC runs on a seasonal basis as is common in this area. We can assist with this matter by providing cooling units as needed.

2

sewage smell

Everyone

Hotel smelled like sewage. I had my room switched twice because of this horrible smell. Finally the 3rd room in a different part of the hotel was a lot better. The staff was very helpful in revolving my issue.

By , from Virginia on Oct 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2016

We regret your experience and thank you for affording us the opportunity to address this matter.

4

nice stay

Everyone

It was pleasant and reasonablely price. Breakfast was excellent.

By on Aug 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2016

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!

1

the most terrible hotel in the world

Everyone

This hotel has no AC. It was 82 F, the first day when I was stayed. Front desk told me I can open the window or they would send a fan to me. This hotel has no heating. Temperature dropped to 40 during one night, the room was quite cold. Free parking is limited. Tiny parking lot, usually it is full. You have to pay parking meter! Very noise. Hotel staff is not helpful. Very old facility.

By on Apr 4, 2016

2

ok place to stay

Everyone

The elevator was broken. I stayed there 4 days on the 5th floor. Construction was going on during the middle of night. Parking was really tight and limited. It was difficult to sleep at night with all the loud noise.

By , from Bethesda, MD on Apr 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2016

Thank you for your review, We appreciate you choosing our hotel and your patience while the elevator was under repair.

4

mostly fine

Everyone

The room was clean, if a bit small (one queen sized bed) - but since it was just me, that was ok. When I initially booked, I called the hotel to see how far it was from the Metro station, and was told it was a block and a half. Well, not quite. More like 4-5 blocks, however, there is a van shuttle at the hotel to take you to the Metro station (or other local spots I suppose, I only used it to get to the Metro.) I arrived a few hours before scheduled check in, but the hotel let me leave my suitcase in the office - I retrieved it when I checked in later. Also, when I arrived, the elevator was out of order, but the staff helped me by carrying my suitcase to the 3rd floor for me. Overall not a bad experience - the wifi worked fine and the free breakfast was fine. The staff was friendly and helpful.

By , from Texas on Mar 24, 2016

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2016

Dear Jenny, Thank you for your kind review,We truly appreciate your patience while our elevator was under repair.