Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

safety bar on door was broke, no comfortable chairs to sit in, toilet leaking, door access for handicap, need to go thru lobby and down the hall when there is a door right where handicap parking is. its a long hike for someone who has trouble walking.

From the moment I walked in the door I witness an irate guest slamming his hands on the desk and yelling at the clerk of his dis pleasure. Every experience went downhill from there from the Delap building filth and mold.

This was not top of the line like a normal Wyndham hotel. Renovations need to be made. It was last minute and all we could fine. I probably will not stay here again.

I can’t actually give an accurate review due to the fact that i didnt actually stay at this hotel. After checking in I discovered the heat did not work. I spoke to front desk in which they attempted to fix the problem but was not successful. The hotel was booked up so they moved me to another hotel down the street. I did pay a resort fee that Im not sure i would of had to actually pay where I was moved to. The relocation was painless and hassle free.

It was cool

The property was absolutely disgusting and they didn’t have rollaway beds available

Firstly-- When I booked, I chose an ocean view room but got a pool view room after I paid, but we just let that go because of the "subject to change" policy. However, upon entering the hotel, you are overwhelmed with a very unpleasant smell, which lingers through the whole building. The facility as a whole is dirty and not maintained in any fashion. The paint is bubbled and/or coming off on every wall with patches of mold throughout. There looked to have been trash blown through the main hallway, which was still there when we left. The elevator broke but there were no signs indicating that (which we totally understand things like that happen) so we had to use the stairs but for a day and a half, there was a cup of spilled ice cream directly in the walk path which was an accident wanting to happen (not to mention the cigarette butts and other ramdom trash down the stairwell). There was no indoor or on site parking, and we were directed to a gravel parking lot a block away. There was also no breakfast as listed. Our room: smelled of mildew, wasnt swept, the tables looked like they had been cut/scratched with razor blades, there was what looked to be blood on the ceiling, the baseboard in the bathroom was gone, revealing black mold where it had once been, the phone didn't work, the coffee pot was gone,the tv had lines running throughout the whole picture, and to top it off, someone painted "I C U" on the inside of the door. We did make a little cockroach friend so that was fun.

The hotel is run down for the price they charge. There were some little bugs. Mold on the ceiling. Furniture old. Hotel rooms needs painting.Walls and lamps dirty.

truly worst place i ever stayed at .there was 10 kinds of stink everywhere.nothing was clean .the dirt and stains were terrible.there was many cleaning people ,no one in uniform hard to know whos who ,but they never cleaned my room .i had to ask for it to be done .and all they did was make the bed with the same linens and give me a couple new towels.last night there a 2 inch long american roach jumped off the trash can, in the bathroom, at me. i had to chase it down and kill it.of course,after that it was hard to sleep. parking was half a block away .it wasnt too bad . the people at front desk were nice . no way will i ever stay there again .

I got there around 11 apparently to early to check in so she SOLD me a parking pass me and my family And I decided to spend the time on the beach while we wait I go back in at 5pm and they told me they canceled my reservations because they was over booked I had to wait til orbitz found me different room on the not so good part of town

The only thing I liked about this property is that it was ocean front, but the location where it is, makes it really loud. Being next to 17th street park, made it a really busy location. The room was in a really bad shape. Not staying here again.

I travel a lot and this one was by far the worst. When I checked in around 8pm I got to my room and the TV was on and the heat was on and left at 79 degrees. It was a sauna in there. I turned the temp down to 64 and went out to get something for dinner. When I returned the heat kicked back on and was back up at 79 degrees (its now 10pm). I stood at the front desk, calling for someone for over 10 mins, finally the receptionist came and told me the AC isn't turned on only the heat so the only way to cool the room down was to turn off the heat. Its 10pm by the time the room would be cool it would be well past bedtime. Then when I got back to my room to try to deal with it, I opened my fridge to find a BUG! Actually two, one small one in the back and another larger one still alive. I packed my stuff up right away and stood at the front desk for another 10 mins. She finally came back again and I told her I wanted a refund as I'm not staying here due to the heat and bugs. She clearly heard this before and said to have Orbitz call and she would authorize the refund. Well needless to say its been 4 days and Orbitz still can't get a hold of her to authorize the refund. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! There are so many other places that don't make you crawl out of your skin.

Atlantic Ave Virginia Beach VA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Virginia Beach Boardwalk
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Business center

Located in Northeast Virginia Beach, Super 8 by Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront is next to 17th Street Park and Pacific Avenue. This 92-room hotel welcomes guests with in-room amenities like refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Property features

Super 8 by Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront features free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and a seasonal outdoor pool. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. This beach hotel also has coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Ocean View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed, Microwave, Oceanfront

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Pool View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony, Oceanfront

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Super 8 by Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Everyone (31) Couples (10) Family (16) Other (2)
3
Partner Couples

safety bar on door was broke, no comfortable chairs to sit in, toilet leaking, door access for handicap, need to go thru lobby and down the hall when there is a door right where handicap parking is. its a long hike for someone who has trouble walking.

By on Dec 1, 2022

Review comment responded on Dec 2, 2022

Hello marie, We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you faced such an unusual situation. We continue to strive to improve our service and accommodations so that we may provide the highest level of guest satisfaction. For that reason we are incredibly sorry that we failed to meet your needs. We hope to earn your business on future travels so that you can see our continuous improvement., we are so sorry that we missed the mark during your recent stay. This feedback has been forwarded to management and we can only ask that you consider us again so that you can see the continuous improvements we make.

1
Family

From the moment I walked in the door I witness an irate guest slamming his hands on the desk and yelling at the clerk of his dis pleasure. Every experience went downhill from there from the Delap building filth and mold.

By on Jul 13, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 13, 2022

Hello Cindy, I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such an usual experience. We take this quite seriously and have shared your feedback with management so that appropriate steps can be taken. Thank you again for taking the time for sharing this experience and for your valuable business.,

3
Everyone

By on Jul 4, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2022

Hello Mirza,We appreciate your valued business and would love the opportunity to host your next stay. Thank you for your rating.

3
Family with small children

This was not top of the line like a normal Wyndham hotel. Renovations need to be made. It was last minute and all we could fine. I probably will not stay here again.

By on Jun 30, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2022

Hello Taylor,Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. This is certainly not taken lightly and has been forwarded to management for review. Providing our guests with a safe and enjoyable experience is of extreme importance to us. New rules have come to pass because of the Covid 19 restrictions and limited staffing. We are working hard to improve our provided services and hope you will return to experience them with a future stay.

3
Partner Couples

I can’t actually give an accurate review due to the fact that i didnt actually stay at this hotel. After checking in I discovered the heat did not work. I spoke to front desk in which they attempted to fix the problem but was not successful. The hotel was booked up so they moved me to another hotel down the street. I did pay a resort fee that Im not sure i would of had to actually pay where I was moved to. The relocation was painless and hassle free.

By on Mar 19, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 20, 2022

Hello Daedra, We have high standards of hospitality and service and we strive to give you the best experience at the best value. Thank you so much for the insight regarding our front desk. Your voice is very valuable to us and we hope you will return on your next travels.

4
Everyone

It was cool

By on Jan 7, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 7, 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the input referring to our hotel. We continue to reach for ways to improve guest experience in all areas and hope you will experience those continued efforts on your next visit.

1
Family with small children Family

The property was absolutely disgusting and they didn’t have rollaway beds available

By on Apr 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We are continuously improving upon our services and accommodations while addressing our policies and procedures for minimizing and attending to these situations. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to address our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

1
Family

Firstly-- When I booked, I chose an ocean view room but got a pool view room after I paid, but we just let that go because of the "subject to change" policy. However, upon entering the hotel, you are overwhelmed with a very unpleasant smell, which lingers through the whole building. The facility as a whole is dirty and not maintained in any fashion. The paint is bubbled and/or coming off on every wall with patches of mold throughout. There looked to have been trash blown through the main hallway, which was still there when we left. The elevator broke but there were no signs indicating that (which we totally understand things like that happen) so we had to use the stairs but for a day and a half, there was a cup of spilled ice cream directly in the walk path which was an accident wanting to happen (not to mention the cigarette butts and other ramdom trash down the stairwell). There was no indoor or on site parking, and we were directed to a gravel parking lot a block away. There was also no breakfast as listed. Our room: smelled of mildew, wasnt swept, the tables looked like they had been cut/scratched with razor blades, there was what looked to be blood on the ceiling, the baseboard in the bathroom was gone, revealing black mold where it had once been, the phone didn't work, the coffee pot was gone,the tv had lines running throughout the whole picture, and to top it off, someone painted "I C U" on the inside of the door. We did make a little cockroach friend so that was fun.

By , from Culpeper, Va on Aug 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2020

Through feedback like yours we are able to address our weaknesses and to improve upon them and we thank you for taking the time to write. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience. We hope that you will change your mind about giving us a second chance and that you will someday return to be impressed by the changes we've made.

2
Partner Couples

The hotel is run down for the price they charge. There were some little bugs. Mold on the ceiling. Furniture old. Hotel rooms needs painting.Walls and lamps dirty.

By , from Richmond Va on Jul 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay. I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced during your recent stay with us. It is our ultimate goal to give each guest the best value and most comfortable and convenient experience at the most affordable rate. For this reason, our rates are competitive within the area, and I sincerely apologize if you did not receive your money's worth in accommodations and hospitality.

2
Family

truly worst place i ever stayed at .there was 10 kinds of stink everywhere.nothing was clean .the dirt and stains were terrible.there was many cleaning people ,no one in uniform hard to know whos who ,but they never cleaned my room .i had to ask for it to be done .and all they did was make the bed with the same linens and give me a couple new towels.last night there a 2 inch long american roach jumped off the trash can, in the bathroom, at me. i had to chase it down and kill it.of course,after that it was hard to sleep. parking was half a block away .it wasnt too bad . the people at front desk were nice . no way will i ever stay there again .

By on Jul 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2020

Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. It is very important to us to address these sorts of issues right away and to ensure that you are able to enjoy the rest of your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. It is disheartening to discover that we were not able to surpass your expectations with the standard cleanliness you've come to expect from us. It is distressing to hear that you encountered a number of issues with our housekeeping and guest services and I want you to know that we take your comments very seriously and are working hard and fast to address these problems in hopes of improving upon the guest experience. We will continue to improve our services for us to serve our customers better and make sure that they have a comfortable stay. Thank you for staying with us.

Super 8 by Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

1719 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h1095476-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h1095476-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h1095476-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions