Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The property was absolutely disgusting and they didn’t have rollaway beds available

Firstly-- When I booked, I chose an ocean view room but got a pool view room after I paid, but we just let that go because of the "subject to change" policy. However, upon entering the hotel, you are overwhelmed with a very unpleasant smell, which lingers through the whole building. The facility as a whole is dirty and not maintained in any fashion. The paint is bubbled and/or coming off on every wall with patches of mold throughout. There looked to have been trash blown through the main hallway, which was still there when we left. The elevator broke but there were no signs indicating that (which we totally understand things like that happen) so we had to use the stairs but for a day and a half, there was a cup of spilled ice cream directly in the walk path which was an accident wanting to happen (not to mention the cigarette butts and other ramdom trash down the stairwell). There was no indoor or on site parking, and we were directed to a gravel parking lot a block away. There was also no breakfast as listed. Our room: smelled of mildew, wasnt swept, the tables looked like they had been cut/scratched with razor blades, there was what looked to be blood on the ceiling, the baseboard in the bathroom was gone, revealing black mold where it had once been, the phone didn't work, the coffee pot was gone,the tv had lines running throughout the whole picture, and to top it off, someone painted "I C U" on the inside of the door. We did make a little cockroach friend so that was fun.

The hotel is run down for the price they charge. There were some little bugs. Mold on the ceiling. Furniture old. Hotel rooms needs painting.Walls and lamps dirty.

truly worst place i ever stayed at .there was 10 kinds of stink everywhere.nothing was clean .the dirt and stains were terrible.there was many cleaning people ,no one in uniform hard to know whos who ,but they never cleaned my room .i had to ask for it to be done .and all they did was make the bed with the same linens and give me a couple new towels.last night there a 2 inch long american roach jumped off the trash can, in the bathroom, at me. i had to chase it down and kill it.of course,after that it was hard to sleep. parking was half a block away .it wasnt too bad . the people at front desk were nice . no way will i ever stay there again .

I got there around 11 apparently to early to check in so she SOLD me a parking pass me and my family And I decided to spend the time on the beach while we wait I go back in at 5pm and they told me they canceled my reservations because they was over booked I had to wait til orbitz found me different room on the not so good part of town

The only thing I liked about this property is that it was ocean front, but the location where it is, makes it really loud. Being next to 17th street park, made it a really busy location. The room was in a really bad shape. Not staying here again.

I travel a lot and this one was by far the worst. When I checked in around 8pm I got to my room and the TV was on and the heat was on and left at 79 degrees. It was a sauna in there. I turned the temp down to 64 and went out to get something for dinner. When I returned the heat kicked back on and was back up at 79 degrees (its now 10pm). I stood at the front desk, calling for someone for over 10 mins, finally the receptionist came and told me the AC isn't turned on only the heat so the only way to cool the room down was to turn off the heat. Its 10pm by the time the room would be cool it would be well past bedtime. Then when I got back to my room to try to deal with it, I opened my fridge to find a BUG! Actually two, one small one in the back and another larger one still alive. I packed my stuff up right away and stood at the front desk for another 10 mins. She finally came back again and I told her I wanted a refund as I'm not staying here due to the heat and bugs. She clearly heard this before and said to have Orbitz call and she would authorize the refund. Well needless to say its been 4 days and Orbitz still can't get a hold of her to authorize the refund. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! There are so many other places that don't make you crawl out of your skin.

Don't let the connection to Wyndam fool you. This place is a dump. The only elevator was broken. The room disappointing with sticky floor and mildew in the tub. No hand towels and they wouldn't bring them, we had to pick them up ourselves. Free breakfast and the only thing to toast was white bread. STAY AWAY.

Location is good Floor in room was filthy Tons of hair in the sink at arrival Toilet paper holder bent and rusted and non working Burn holes in bedspread Non working coffe pot Not impressed!!!

My TV did not work the entire time. For the last day and a half we had no hot water in the building. No one let the hotel know. I was told when I complained at check out. I also killed a cockroach in my room.

The room had a nice design but floors were sticky and bathroom needs to be updated from a lot of cracks in wall and rust. Room was spacious but was hard to walk around comfortably with the floors being sticky. The hotel spelled like fabaluso LoL

This entrance is the attic it goes across the whole third floor

I upgraded to the Ocean view room but the curtain did not block out the lights. Melissa at the desk was wonderful.

Atlantic Ave Virginia Beach VA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Pacific Avenue
  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in Northeast Virginia Beach, Super 8 by Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront is adjacent to Pacific Avenue and within a 5-minute walk of other popular sights like Virginia Beach Boardwalk. This 92-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning.


Rooms

All 92 air-conditioned rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 37-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include phones and desks.


Property features

Super 8 by Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront features free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and a seasonal outdoor pool. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Other amenities at this beach hotel include coffee/tea in a common area, a computer station, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Ocean View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed, Microwave, Oceanfront

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Pool View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony, Oceanfront

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Super 8 by Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Everyone (28) Couples (10) Family (22) Friends (11) Other (5)
1
Family with small children Family

The property was absolutely disgusting and they didn’t have rollaway beds available

By on Apr 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We are continuously improving upon our services and accommodations while addressing our policies and procedures for minimizing and attending to these situations. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to address our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

1
Family

Firstly-- When I booked, I chose an ocean view room but got a pool view room after I paid, but we just let that go because of the "subject to change" policy. However, upon entering the hotel, you are overwhelmed with a very unpleasant smell, which lingers through the whole building. The facility as a whole is dirty and not maintained in any fashion. The paint is bubbled and/or coming off on every wall with patches of mold throughout. There looked to have been trash blown through the main hallway, which was still there when we left. The elevator broke but there were no signs indicating that (which we totally understand things like that happen) so we had to use the stairs but for a day and a half, there was a cup of spilled ice cream directly in the walk path which was an accident wanting to happen (not to mention the cigarette butts and other ramdom trash down the stairwell). There was no indoor or on site parking, and we were directed to a gravel parking lot a block away. There was also no breakfast as listed. Our room: smelled of mildew, wasnt swept, the tables looked like they had been cut/scratched with razor blades, there was what looked to be blood on the ceiling, the baseboard in the bathroom was gone, revealing black mold where it had once been, the phone didn't work, the coffee pot was gone,the tv had lines running throughout the whole picture, and to top it off, someone painted "I C U" on the inside of the door. We did make a little cockroach friend so that was fun.

By , from Culpeper, Va on Aug 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2020

Through feedback like yours we are able to address our weaknesses and to improve upon them and we thank you for taking the time to write. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience. We hope that you will change your mind about giving us a second chance and that you will someday return to be impressed by the changes we've made.

2
Partner Couples

The hotel is run down for the price they charge. There were some little bugs. Mold on the ceiling. Furniture old. Hotel rooms needs painting.Walls and lamps dirty.

By , from Richmond Va on Jul 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay. I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced during your recent stay with us. It is our ultimate goal to give each guest the best value and most comfortable and convenient experience at the most affordable rate. For this reason, our rates are competitive within the area, and I sincerely apologize if you did not receive your money's worth in accommodations and hospitality.

2
Family

truly worst place i ever stayed at .there was 10 kinds of stink everywhere.nothing was clean .the dirt and stains were terrible.there was many cleaning people ,no one in uniform hard to know whos who ,but they never cleaned my room .i had to ask for it to be done .and all they did was make the bed with the same linens and give me a couple new towels.last night there a 2 inch long american roach jumped off the trash can, in the bathroom, at me. i had to chase it down and kill it.of course,after that it was hard to sleep. parking was half a block away .it wasnt too bad . the people at front desk were nice . no way will i ever stay there again .

By on Jul 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2020

Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. It is very important to us to address these sorts of issues right away and to ensure that you are able to enjoy the rest of your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. It is disheartening to discover that we were not able to surpass your expectations with the standard cleanliness you've come to expect from us. It is distressing to hear that you encountered a number of issues with our housekeeping and guest services and I want you to know that we take your comments very seriously and are working hard and fast to address these problems in hopes of improving upon the guest experience. We will continue to improve our services for us to serve our customers better and make sure that they have a comfortable stay. Thank you for staying with us.

1
Everyone

By on Jul 9, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2020

We have high standards of hospitality and service and are always improving. We hope to see you again very soon!

2
Family with small children Family

I got there around 11 apparently to early to check in so she SOLD me a parking pass me and my family And I decided to spend the time on the beach while we wait I go back in at 5pm and they told me they canceled my reservations because they was over booked I had to wait til orbitz found me different room on the not so good part of town

By , from Virginia on Jun 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2020

We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay and for taking the time to share your perspective and feedback. We appreciate your rating and will use this as a training opportunity for our team. Thank you again and we hope to get the chance to serve you again.

1
Everyone

By on Jun 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2020

It was our privilege to earn your business and we hope to host you again on your next trip.

2
Partner Couples

The only thing I liked about this property is that it was ocean front, but the location where it is, makes it really loud. Being next to 17th street park, made it a really busy location. The room was in a really bad shape. Not staying here again.

By , from Northern VA on Jun 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 25, 2020

We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you faced such an unusual situation. We continue to strive to improve our service and accommodations so that we may provide the highest level of guest satisfaction. For that reason, we are so sorry that we missed the mark during your recent stay. This feedback has been forwarded to management and we can only ask that you consider us again so that you can see the continuous improvements we make.

1
Everyone

By on Jun 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 5, 2020

We can't thank you enough for sharing your rating. It would be an honor to earn your business again on your next travels.

1
Everyone

I travel a lot and this one was by far the worst. When I checked in around 8pm I got to my room and the TV was on and the heat was on and left at 79 degrees. It was a sauna in there. I turned the temp down to 64 and went out to get something for dinner. When I returned the heat kicked back on and was back up at 79 degrees (its now 10pm). I stood at the front desk, calling for someone for over 10 mins, finally the receptionist came and told me the AC isn't turned on only the heat so the only way to cool the room down was to turn off the heat. Its 10pm by the time the room would be cool it would be well past bedtime. Then when I got back to my room to try to deal with it, I opened my fridge to find a BUG! Actually two, one small one in the back and another larger one still alive. I packed my stuff up right away and stood at the front desk for another 10 mins. She finally came back again and I told her I wanted a refund as I'm not staying here due to the heat and bugs. She clearly heard this before and said to have Orbitz call and she would authorize the refund. Well needless to say its been 4 days and Orbitz still can't get a hold of her to authorize the refund. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! There are so many other places that don't make you crawl out of your skin.

By , from Liverpool, NY on May 5, 2020

Review comment responded on May 10, 2020

Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate your comment for it caught our attention on where we need to improve to make sure that our customer have a great time during their stay. We apologize for the unfortunate events that you faced during your stay with us. We will continue to improve our services for us to serve our customers better and make sure that they have a comfortable stay. Hope that you'll consider staying again with us

Super 8 by Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

1719 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h1095476-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h1095476-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h1095476-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions