Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

2.5 out of 5.0

La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Low price. Outside in bad shape but rooms were ok. Close to Interstate and restaurants. Very minimal breakfast offering.

I made reservations online but when I got to the hotel they could not accommodate what they had offered online I will need a full refund but I need to call in

When we checked in, at around 10:30 at night, we were initially given room #150. That was where the problem started!! This room had both beds unmade & pizza boxes laid on the table, obviously this room had been assigned to someone else. Then we got assigned to room #130. The room was clean, however, when we turned the bathroom fan on this thing scared the daylights out of us. It sounded just like a meat grinder! Some of the outlets did not work either. The icing on the cake came the next morning. When I reserved the room it was for 2 adults and 2 children. So when we went to get showers the next morning we only had 2 bath towels and 1 wash rag. When I went to the desk to ask for 3 more wash rags and 2 more towels they questioned me like I was trying to steal the towels. I just told them that I needed more because 4 people was not going to share 1 wash rag to get a shower, that is just nasty. Also be sure to LOCK the door with the hook because the front desk people do NOT knock or announce themselves when they walk in. I was in the shower 8/8:30 in the morning, checkout time is 12, my husband is still in the bed and my kids are changing clothes. This woman just unlocks the door with the master key and walks in without knocking to see if we were still there or staying another night. First of all checkout time is not until 12! There was no need to check rooms at 8/8:30 in the morning. Then You should NOT just walk into the room without knocking and annoucing yourself!

Overall, the place is shady. Entrance is behind an old abandoned building. You barely see the beat down sign that says how to drive to lobby. The room smelled really bad. Rust covered the vent in the bathroom. Stains all over floors and bedding. The last straw was the roach that crawled across the bathroom floor. We were there a total of 10 minutes and we were running out the door.

Stayed here in Tuscaloosa and had to buy my own sheets and clorox to clean my floors and bathroom. Tried to get another room in another hotel but all was booked. Was willing to pay anything to get out. Paid 6X going rate due to football game. Don't mind paying more for busy weekend but this was gouging for a dump of a hotel. Had 2 rooms and each room had roaches. I could see out of the bottom of the door which allowed for insects. Only sheets on the bed. No blankets or comforters. Hair on the floor of bathroom and in shower. Rusted shower. Carpet had numerous stains where my feet didn't touch the floor. Suitcases did not touch the floor.

Smell of smoke, mold and urine in and around rooms. Roaches crawling on the walls. The only nice person I spoke with was the GM. She may be nice but she's running a roach motel. We stayed all of 5 mins before checking out and staying on the couch at my sister's.

We checked in and were given our room around the back. The rooms were a little dated and in need of some sprucing up. The room was clean enough. We went out for dinner and when I returned my key wouldn't open the door. The door leading to the inside upstairs was locked and I had to walk around to the front desk to have my room rekeyed. The Guard actually saw me having trouble with the door and told me we needed to go around that the front desk clerk locked the outside door early. I had to wait until the hotel employee was found to rekey. The guard walked with me inside upstairs to my door and told me that the original key had worked and the door was open but it was stuck. I asked where the ice machine was and he offered to get the ice for me. The breakfast the next morning was just fine although there weren't enough tables.

This is the best example of terrible management in the lodging business. Our rooms were full of the smell of smoke for a non-smoking reservation, the deadbolt was disabled and the security latch torn off. Random creepy people roamed the trash-strewn exterior and lobby. Thanks to the security guy, I was able to get a refund from Orbitz and relocate to another hotel. DO NOT stay here.

Was the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at. There was even old beach towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door. This is November, has not been that kind of warm for months.

The price was right but the facility was lacking basic upkeep. The room was relatively clean but absolutely no frills.

Kinda hard to get to, with the Construction. Very nice personel. Jenn was very helpful. Room was clean, would stay again, in the future.

Stayed at La Quinta prior to this trip and was pleased. This location, while fairly priced is in a location that is tough to find and in a run down area. The staff was accommodating, but the property as a whole is run down and in need of a facelift and some maintenance. The carpet and the shower in my room were aged out and in desperate need of an upgrade. Breakfast is forgettable so avail yourself to one of the many other options in the area

This is an older hotel, but fairly well kept up. The front desk attendant was polite. We were able to reserve a room here at the last minute, while moving our son into college. It served us adequately in this pinch situation for the night.

Even though I prepaid for a nonsmoking room and called to confirm same before leaving town, they gave our room away. We had just driven 13 hours and were told there wasn't a room available. They tried to put us in a used handicap room and then finally landed us in a smoking room that was not clean. We were moved the next night at 11:30 p.m. to a non-smoking room which was not clean. The manager was never available for me to address these issues with. Our room key was constantly deactivated and we would have to go to the lobby almost every time we tried to re-enter our room to have it activated again.

The hotel and staff were great. The room was clean and comfortable- it was a great deal!

I would not choose this hotel again. Nothing major except on second night I had to change rooms because upon returning in the evening the bed had been stripped and all bathroom linens (clean and dirty) were missing. My primary reason for not choosing this hotel again? I would rather pay $10 - $15 more per night and move up to the next level of hotel.

The experience was average. The room was smaller than expected and didn't have the amenities that I expected. The guests were noisier than I expected. The advantage was I was in close proximity to my family.

LaQuinta is always the best. And the breakfast was AWESOME, wifi strong signal, friendly staff.

Great staff! I locked myself out of my room 2 times in 12 hours (unpacking and packing the car) and they were very gracious in giving new keys. Not the best area ever, felt slightly unsafe walking the dog alone at night. The rooms were clean enough. It was good for a one night stay in a dog friendly hotel.

4122 McFarland Blvd East Tuscaloosa AL

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa is located 1.8 mi (2.9 km) from Veterans Memorial Park and within a 10-minute drive of Jemison Van de Graaff Mansion. This hotel has 122 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. Also close to this Tuscaloosa hotel are Coleman Coliseum and Paul W. Bryant Museum.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, free local calls, and an ironing board.


Property features

An outdoor pool and free WiFi in public areas are features at La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the area.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Double Beds, Refrigerator & Microwave

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Refrigerator & Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Everyone (11) Couples (17) Business (16) Family (29) Other (8) Friends (6)
4
Everyone

By on Nov 12, 2018

3
Everyone

Low price. Outside in bad shape but rooms were ok. Close to Interstate and restaurants. Very minimal breakfast offering.

By on Aug 13, 2018

1
Everyone

I made reservations online but when I got to the hotel they could not accommodate what they had offered online I will need a full refund but I need to call in

By on Jul 16, 2018

3

it’s a $50 a night room.

Everyone

When we checked in, at around 10:30 at night, we were initially given room #150. That was where the problem started!! This room had both beds unmade & pizza boxes laid on the table, obviously this room had been assigned to someone else. Then we got assigned to room #130. The room was clean, however, when we turned the bathroom fan on this thing scared the daylights out of us. It sounded just like a meat grinder! Some of the outlets did not work either. The icing on the cake came the next morning. When I reserved the room it was for 2 adults and 2 children. So when we went to get showers the next morning we only had 2 bath towels and 1 wash rag. When I went to the desk to ask for 3 more wash rags and 2 more towels they questioned me like I was trying to steal the towels. I just told them that I needed more because 4 people was not going to share 1 wash rag to get a shower, that is just nasty. Also be sure to LOCK the door with the hook because the front desk people do NOT knock or announce themselves when they walk in. I was in the shower 8/8:30 in the morning, checkout time is 12, my husband is still in the bed and my kids are changing clothes. This woman just unlocks the door with the master key and walks in without knocking to see if we were still there or staying another night. First of all checkout time is not until 12! There was no need to check rooms at 8/8:30 in the morning. Then You should NOT just walk into the room without knocking and annoucing yourself!

By , from Stantonville, TN on Jul 13, 2018

1

had to get a refund!

Everyone

Overall, the place is shady. Entrance is behind an old abandoned building. You barely see the beat down sign that says how to drive to lobby. The room smelled really bad. Rust covered the vent in the bathroom. Stains all over floors and bedding. The last straw was the roach that crawled across the bathroom floor. We were there a total of 10 minutes and we were running out the door.

By , from Charleston, SC on Nov 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 3, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your stay. We are very sorry to hear that several things during your stay did not meet your expectations. The issues you described are truly regrettable. Your comments will be reviewed by our management team so that we may improve our operations. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us.

1

terrible hotel

Everyone

Stayed here in Tuscaloosa and had to buy my own sheets and clorox to clean my floors and bathroom. Tried to get another room in another hotel but all was booked. Was willing to pay anything to get out. Paid 6X going rate due to football game. Don't mind paying more for busy weekend but this was gouging for a dump of a hotel. Had 2 rooms and each room had roaches. I could see out of the bottom of the door which allowed for insects. Only sheets on the bed. No blankets or comforters. Hair on the floor of bathroom and in shower. Rusted shower. Carpet had numerous stains where my feet didn't touch the floor. Suitcases did not touch the floor.

By , from Louisiana on Nov 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your stay. We are very sorry to hear that several things during your stay did not meet your expectations. The issues you described are truly regrettable. Your comments will be reviewed by our management team so that we may improve our operations. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us.

1

wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy.

Everyone

Smell of smoke, mold and urine in and around rooms. Roaches crawling on the walls. The only nice person I spoke with was the GM. She may be nice but she's running a roach motel. We stayed all of 5 mins before checking out and staying on the couch at my sister's.

By , from Texas on Sep 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback the issues you mention will be address. this will help us to improve our operations Thank you again

3

fine for last minute graduation stay

Families

We checked in and were given our room around the back. The rooms were a little dated and in need of some sprucing up. The room was clean enough. We went out for dinner and when I returned my key wouldn't open the door. The door leading to the inside upstairs was locked and I had to walk around to the front desk to have my room rekeyed. The Guard actually saw me having trouble with the door and told me we needed to go around that the front desk clerk locked the outside door early. I had to wait until the hotel employee was found to rekey. The guard walked with me inside upstairs to my door and told me that the original key had worked and the door was open but it was stuck. I asked where the ice machine was and he offered to get the ice for me. The breakfast the next morning was just fine although there weren't enough tables.

By , from Birmingham, AL on May 17, 2017

Review comment responded on May 19, 2017

Thank your for comment the issues you mention will be address

1
Everyone

This is the best example of terrible management in the lodging business. Our rooms were full of the smell of smoke for a non-smoking reservation, the deadbolt was disabled and the security latch torn off. Random creepy people roamed the trash-strewn exterior and lobby. Thanks to the security guy, I was able to get a refund from Orbitz and relocate to another hotel. DO NOT stay here.

By on Mar 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2017

Thank you for your comment I apologize for your inconvenience

1

what a dump

Everyone

Was the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at. There was even old beach towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door. This is November, has not been that kind of warm for months.

By , from cincinnati ohio on Nov 18, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 1, 2016

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments and have discussed your stay with our housekeeping team. I sincerely apologize about the condition you found our hotel in.