Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Stayed here in Tuscaloosa and had to buy my own sheets and clorox to clean my floors and bathroom. Tried to get another room in another hotel but all was booked. Was willing to pay anything to get out. Paid 6X going rate due to football game. Don't mind paying more for busy weekend but this was gouging for a dump of a hotel. Had 2 rooms and each room had roaches. I could see out of the bottom of the door which allowed for insects. Only sheets on the bed. No blankets or comforters. Hair on the floor of bathroom and in shower. Rusted shower. Carpet had numerous stains where my feet didn't touch the floor. Suitcases did not touch the floor.

Smell of smoke, mold and urine in and around rooms. Roaches crawling on the walls. The only nice person I spoke with was the GM. She may be nice but she's running a roach motel. We stayed all of 5 mins before checking out and staying on the couch at my sister's.

We checked in and were given our room around the back. The rooms were a little dated and in need of some sprucing up. The room was clean enough. We went out for dinner and when I returned my key wouldn't open the door. The door leading to the inside upstairs was locked and I had to walk around to the front desk to have my room rekeyed. The Guard actually saw me having trouble with the door and told me we needed to go around that the front desk clerk locked the outside door early. I had to wait until the hotel employee was found to rekey. The guard walked with me inside upstairs to my door and told me that the original key had worked and the door was open but it was stuck. I asked where the ice machine was and he offered to get the ice for me. The breakfast the next morning was just fine although there weren't enough tables.

This is the best example of terrible management in the lodging business. Our rooms were full of the smell of smoke for a non-smoking reservation, the deadbolt was disabled and the security latch torn off. Random creepy people roamed the trash-strewn exterior and lobby. Thanks to the security guy, I was able to get a refund from Orbitz and relocate to another hotel. DO NOT stay here.

Was the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at. There was even old beach towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door. This is November, has not been that kind of warm for months.

The price was right but the facility was lacking basic upkeep. The room was relatively clean but absolutely no frills.

Kinda hard to get to, with the Construction. Very nice personel. Jenn was very helpful. Room was clean, would stay again, in the future.

Stayed at La Quinta prior to this trip and was pleased. This location, while fairly priced is in a location that is tough to find and in a run down area. The staff was accommodating, but the property as a whole is run down and in need of a facelift and some maintenance. The carpet and the shower in my room were aged out and in desperate need of an upgrade. Breakfast is forgettable so avail yourself to one of the many other options in the area

This is an older hotel, but fairly well kept up. The front desk attendant was polite. We were able to reserve a room here at the last minute, while moving our son into college. It served us adequately in this pinch situation for the night.

Even though I prepaid for a nonsmoking room and called to confirm same before leaving town, they gave our room away. We had just driven 13 hours and were told there wasn't a room available. They tried to put us in a used handicap room and then finally landed us in a smoking room that was not clean. We were moved the next night at 11:30 p.m. to a non-smoking room which was not clean. The manager was never available for me to address these issues with. Our room key was constantly deactivated and we would have to go to the lobby almost every time we tried to re-enter our room to have it activated again.

The hotel and staff were great. The room was clean and comfortable- it was a great deal!

I would not choose this hotel again. Nothing major except on second night I had to change rooms because upon returning in the evening the bed had been stripped and all bathroom linens (clean and dirty) were missing. My primary reason for not choosing this hotel again? I would rather pay $10 - $15 more per night and move up to the next level of hotel.

The experience was average. The room was smaller than expected and didn't have the amenities that I expected. The guests were noisier than I expected. The advantage was I was in close proximity to my family.

LaQuinta is always the best. And the breakfast was AWESOME, wifi strong signal, friendly staff.

Great staff! I locked myself out of my room 2 times in 12 hours (unpacking and packing the car) and they were very gracious in giving new keys. Not the best area ever, felt slightly unsafe walking the dog alone at night. The rooms were clean enough. It was good for a one night stay in a dog friendly hotel.

It was very clean and comfortable. Close to the University of Alabama.

Everything was good except for the noise in the rooms along with highway. And they did change me to another side the second day.

We love The Capstone Great lication, service, bar, restaurant and clean rooms

The first room they put us in was full of smoke smell and the next room was full of deodarizer smell The location is close to University of Alabama, but you have to go through a parking lot of 18 wheeler trucks and a closed down restaurant that is full of homeless people and animals roaming around. The hotel rooms either face the highway or the back of the garbage area of a big grocery store. Very scary and weird. The staff at the front desk was nice. I realize it was a game weekend at Alabama and they could push up the hotel rates, but 170.00 for a soiled room full of dust and smells. Yuck

For the price and location this hotel is a nice no frills hotel.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Double Beds, Refrigerator & Microwave

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Refrigerator & Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Everyone (6) Couples (17) Business (16) Family (29) Other (8) Friends (6)
1

terrible hotel

Everyone

Stayed here in Tuscaloosa and had to buy my own sheets and clorox to clean my floors and bathroom. Tried to get another room in another hotel but all was booked. Was willing to pay anything to get out. Paid 6X going rate due to football game. Don't mind paying more for busy weekend but this was gouging for a dump of a hotel. Had 2 rooms and each room had roaches. I could see out of the bottom of the door which allowed for insects. Only sheets on the bed. No blankets or comforters. Hair on the floor of bathroom and in shower. Rusted shower. Carpet had numerous stains where my feet didn't touch the floor. Suitcases did not touch the floor.

By , from Louisiana on Nov 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your stay. We are very sorry to hear that several things during your stay did not meet your expectations. The issues you described are truly regrettable. Your comments will be reviewed by our management team so that we may improve our operations. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us.

1

wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy.

Everyone

Smell of smoke, mold and urine in and around rooms. Roaches crawling on the walls. The only nice person I spoke with was the GM. She may be nice but she's running a roach motel. We stayed all of 5 mins before checking out and staying on the couch at my sister's.

By , from Texas on Sep 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback the issues you mention will be address. this will help us to improve our operations Thank you again

3

fine for last minute graduation stay

Families

We checked in and were given our room around the back. The rooms were a little dated and in need of some sprucing up. The room was clean enough. We went out for dinner and when I returned my key wouldn't open the door. The door leading to the inside upstairs was locked and I had to walk around to the front desk to have my room rekeyed. The Guard actually saw me having trouble with the door and told me we needed to go around that the front desk clerk locked the outside door early. I had to wait until the hotel employee was found to rekey. The guard walked with me inside upstairs to my door and told me that the original key had worked and the door was open but it was stuck. I asked where the ice machine was and he offered to get the ice for me. The breakfast the next morning was just fine although there weren't enough tables.

By , from Birmingham, AL on May 17, 2017

Review comment responded on May 19, 2017

Thank your for comment the issues you mention will be address

1
Everyone

This is the best example of terrible management in the lodging business. Our rooms were full of the smell of smoke for a non-smoking reservation, the deadbolt was disabled and the security latch torn off. Random creepy people roamed the trash-strewn exterior and lobby. Thanks to the security guy, I was able to get a refund from Orbitz and relocate to another hotel. DO NOT stay here.

By on Mar 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2017

Thank you for your comment I apologize for your inconvenience

1

what a dump

Everyone

Was the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at. There was even old beach towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door. This is November, has not been that kind of warm for months.

By , from cincinnati ohio on Nov 18, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 1, 2016

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments and have discussed your stay with our housekeeping team. I sincerely apologize about the condition you found our hotel in.

2

just ok

Everyone

The price was right but the facility was lacking basic upkeep. The room was relatively clean but absolutely no frills.

By on Oct 3, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2016

Thanks you for your comment the issues you mention has been adddress

4

tuscaloosa

Everyone

Kinda hard to get to, with the Construction. Very nice personel. Jenn was very helpful. Room was clean, would stay again, in the future.

By , from W on Sep 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 14, 2016

Thank you for your comments, hope to see you again.

3

dissapointed!

Singles

Stayed at La Quinta prior to this trip and was pleased. This location, while fairly priced is in a location that is tough to find and in a run down area. The staff was accommodating, but the property as a whole is run down and in need of a facelift and some maintenance. The carpet and the shower in my room were aged out and in desperate need of an upgrade. Breakfast is forgettable so avail yourself to one of the many other options in the area

By on Aug 19, 2015

3

last minute reservation need

Families

This is an older hotel, but fairly well kept up. The front desk attendant was polite. We were able to reserve a room here at the last minute, while moving our son into college. It served us adequately in this pinch situation for the night.

By on Aug 18, 2015

1

trip to move daughter into apartment for college

Families

Even though I prepaid for a nonsmoking room and called to confirm same before leaving town, they gave our room away. We had just driven 13 hours and were told there wasn't a room available. They tried to put us in a used handicap room and then finally landed us in a smoking room that was not clean. We were moved the next night at 11:30 p.m. to a non-smoking room which was not clean. The manager was never available for me to address these issues with. Our room key was constantly deactivated and we would have to go to the lobby almost every time we tried to re-enter our room to have it activated again.

By on Aug 7, 2015