Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

THEY NOT UKEEPING THE STANDARDS , DUSTY CORNER ALL OVER TOWLES SEEMS OLD AND WORN MOSS WHEN U OPEN SHOWER DOORS

The hotel was a bit disappointing. I heard positive reviews about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, however the experience was more or less typical or just OK. I thought it would be more modern and renovated. Note - It was not a bad experience, but I had (hoped for) higher expectations. Also, we had just checked out of the Hyatt in Trinidad, which cost a few dollars less and was 'top-shelf', so not sure if our expectations we're set too high after staying at the Hyatt. There is no beach access! Rocks! Also, there is a sea-weed problem in the area - the air can smell pretty bad in some areas of the hotel, and unfortunately our rooms were in that area. Other wings of the hotel are not overly impacted by the smell. They should have moved all their guests to that area, as there were open rooms there, and left this wing unused. The breakfast buffet at the Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort is definitely a high-light. Great food and variety! The staff is also pleasant and professional. The main pool is also large with a nice layout.

Not good. Below expectations. Not worth it. Beach had terrible smell.

Pros: The resort has a helpful friendly staff, beautiful ocean view, great spa services, nice pool, clean rooms, safe surroundings and good location. Cons: If you are looking for a beach this is not your resort. Several room maintenance issues that were never resolved. Most additional amenities are overpriced including food that is margainal at best.

Strong sewer gas smell in the room. Woke up with headache. Told office, they sent someone to mop bathroom floor (what an insult). Woke up with headache day 2. Made office send manager to smell the room. They moved us to different room. Beach too rough to swim in. Wrong side of the island. Staff really nice. Facilities are on their last legs. Will probably soon be downgraded to 2 star resort.

Hotel didn't meet my expectations . Very poor selection of food, no accessories on the beach, chair or towels. No life guard present.

I was on a business trip and the hotel net my expectations. It is close to the airport. I didn't have time to go on the beach so I cant tell much about it. The food was good.

From our travels around the island, this is hands down the best hotel. But don't be fooled, it does not compare to the other top hotels in the Caribbean like Jamaica, Bahamas or the Dominican republic. The rooms are newer but are already dated with rust on the lamps and the bathrooms are showing wear. The hotel staff does not believe in pampering their guests so no poolside drinks, you must get up and get it yourself, or a lively pool scene environment. Some staff were nice at the pirate bar for after dinner drinks and for lunch but most do not show so much care. Again, this is the best Tobago has to offer but don't come with high expectations.

Word's cannot describe we had a great time love it

The hotel and location was beautiful. The food was excellent. The weather and climate was amazing. It was a holiday so a lot of trinis were vacationing there and the restaurant staff couldnt keep up. Once they were gone everything was smooth and amazing.

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past eight (8) years and it has definitely seen better days. What used to be the shining star of Tobago is now mediocre at best. While there were many shortcomings to list, my biggest issue was the ant infestation in my room #138. In all my years and hotel stays around the world, I have never experienced ants on toilet paper. The bright spot was the hotel buffet breakfast and dinner at Pembois. The upgrades to their menu since same time last year were great improvements.

The constant breeze, the rougher Atlantic beach and the location are unchangable characteristics. Love it or dont stay here. We loved it. There are some things which could and should be addressed: The level of cleanliness is just adequate. In a week there we never saw one person mopping a floor, anywhere. Corridors and rooms may be swept every couple of days but a good de-greasing and disinfecting is imperative. The grounds are unkempt from the brown-leaved plants in the lobby to the grassy areas. Food is way too expensive-they would have many more customers if dinner wasn't $60 US a person. Staff tips would be higher and reviews better. Everyone would benefit if these problems were fixed. Because it could be a fantastic, not just good, place!

Seemed very institutional, oriented to groups from Europe -- no Americans at all. The only way to see the island is to hire a taxi at $25 per hour. I'd hoped to do snorkeling because Tobago was supposed to have lots of sea life, but it's impossible on the Atlantic side where the hotel is located and the hotel doesn't offer excursions so again you'd have to figure it out yourself and hire a taxi.

The hotel and its surroundings are beautiful. We opted for a 1 bedroom suite and were not disappointed. The Jacuzzi on the patio was a great addition that we used often. The buffet breakfast was very good, there was always lots of options. The food at the grill is also very good and the prices are average. We only ate at the dinner buffet once and were disappointed. The food wasn't very good and they weren't quick to change the items that were getting low. It was expensive, not worth the money. The staff was our main issue. Aside from Carla and Camille ( always smiled and were engaging) at breakfast, everyone from the front desk to the towel girl at the pool were lacking in customer service. A smile goes a long way!! It is definitely not near the level of service you would expect from a 4 star resort. Although I would recommend this hotel to friends I would also warn about the lack of customer service. A nice touch we have enjoyed at other Caribbean hotels is the addition of flowers within the room. While we loved our room, it would have been a nice welcome.

Room options

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Oceanfront

King 1 | Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Oceanfront

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 8

Standard Room, Garden View

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Business Room, Garden View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Everyone (5) Couples (4) Business (1) Family (3) Other (1)
3
Everyone

THEY NOT UKEEPING THE STANDARDS , DUSTY CORNER ALL OVER TOWLES SEEMS OLD AND WORN MOSS WHEN U OPEN SHOWER DOORS

By on Aug 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2017

Good Day Anonymous, Thank you for choosing the Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort during your recent stay and for sharing your concerns. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations while in our care and please feel assured that our entire staff is committed to deliver a flawless experience. Feedback like yours is truly valuable and this information has been shared directly with our management team in effort to look for opportunities to enrich your future experience. We hope to regain your trust and provide you with the service you deserve upon your next visit. Best regards,

2

great breakfast buffet

Everyone
Magdalena Grand Beach Magdalena Grand Beach

The hotel was a bit disappointing. I heard positive reviews about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, however the experience was more or less typical or just OK. I thought it would be more modern and renovated. Note - It was not a bad experience, but I had (hoped for) higher expectations. Also, we had just checked out of the Hyatt in Trinidad, which cost a few dollars less and was 'top-shelf', so not sure if our expectations we're set too high after staying at the Hyatt. There is no beach access! Rocks! Also, there is a sea-weed problem in the area - the air can smell pretty bad in some areas of the hotel, and unfortunately our rooms were in that area. Other wings of the hotel are not overly impacted by the smell. They should have moved all their guests to that area, as there were open rooms there, and left this wing unused. The breakfast buffet at the Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort is definitely a high-light. Great food and variety! The staff is also pleasant and professional. The main pool is also large with a nice layout.

By , from NJ on Aug 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2017

Good Day Rory, Thank you for choosing the Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort during your recent stay and for sharing your concerns. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations while in our care and please feel assured that our entire staff is committed to deliver a flawless experience. Feedback like yours is truly valuable and this information has been shared directly with our management team in effort to look for opportunities to enrich your future experience. We hope to regain your trust and provide you with the service you deserve upon your next visit. Best regards

2
Everyone

Not good. Below expectations. Not worth it. Beach had terrible smell.

By on Apr 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2017

Good Day, We thank you for your feedback. It's unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay. We would have liked to have known what your concerns were, in order to address them. Regarding the smell from the beach, that was due to the sargassum seaweed that some consider as trash, experts have informed us, and asked us not to remove, for it is a natural deterrent in the prevention of beach erosion. Best regards,

3

nice staff, overpriced hotel

Everyone

Pros: The resort has a helpful friendly staff, beautiful ocean view, great spa services, nice pool, clean rooms, safe surroundings and good location. Cons: If you are looking for a beach this is not your resort. Several room maintenance issues that were never resolved. Most additional amenities are overpriced including food that is margainal at best.

By on Dec 5, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 10, 2016

Good Day, Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the friendliness of the staff and some of the other services! It is very disappointing to have read that the issues you experienced with your room were not rectified. This is definitely not our standard, and will address with the team. With regards to our food, we are known for our quality and consistency! Most of our prices are on par with other establishments. So it is unfortunate that you felt this way, since as mentioned before it is one of the areas in which we receive the most compliments. Best regards,

3

sewer gas in room. no swimming in beach. headache

Everyone

Strong sewer gas smell in the room. Woke up with headache. Told office, they sent someone to mop bathroom floor (what an insult). Woke up with headache day 2. Made office send manager to smell the room. They moved us to different room. Beach too rough to swim in. Wrong side of the island. Staff really nice. Facilities are on their last legs. Will probably soon be downgraded to 2 star resort.

By on Dec 5, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 10, 2016

Good Day, We do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced in your initial room, and are happy to know you were relocated to another room where you were more comfortable. With regards to the property, we are presently working on resolving whatever infrastructural issues we may have. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. Best regards,

3

good trip

Couples

Hotel didn't meet my expectations . Very poor selection of food, no accessories on the beach, chair or towels. No life guard present.

By on Apr 13, 2015

4

will go back again

BusinessTravelers

I was on a business trip and the hotel net my expectations. It is close to the airport. I didn't have time to go on the beach so I cant tell much about it. The food was good.

By on Jan 14, 2015

3

best hotel in tobago but that's not saying much

Couples

From our travels around the island, this is hands down the best hotel. But don't be fooled, it does not compare to the other top hotels in the Caribbean like Jamaica, Bahamas or the Dominican republic. The rooms are newer but are already dated with rust on the lamps and the bathrooms are showing wear. The hotel staff does not believe in pampering their guests so no poolside drinks, you must get up and get it yourself, or a lively pool scene environment. Some staff were nice at the pirate bar for after dinner drinks and for lunch but most do not show so much care. Again, this is the best Tobago has to offer but don't come with high expectations.

By on Jan 12, 2015

5

wedding

Families

Word's cannot describe we had a great time love it

By on Jun 17, 2014

4

average with high occupancy and excellent with low occupancy

Couples

The hotel and location was beautiful. The food was excellent. The weather and climate was amazing. It was a holiday so a lot of trinis were vacationing there and the restaurant staff couldnt keep up. Once they were gone everything was smooth and amazing.

By on Apr 5, 2014