Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Coco Reef Resort and Spa

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

$60 hotel at best. If you like ants, cockroaches, moldy smelling rooms caused from old leaking air conditioning units, dirty pool, majority of female staff unfriendly and obviously don't want tips...this place is for you! Shame on them for not keeping this resort updated! Could be great.. location awesome! Boat tour awesome with Barry (pigeon point).saw dolphins, caught a tuna, snorkeled U.S. $90 only! 6 hours

Exterior facility needs to be sprayed for mosquitos and rooms need to be updated. The staff was nice especially Ms. Consuelo at the gate entrance.

The hotel staff was amazing. They were always around and available and friendly. The location was amazing. Within walking distance to several places and the beach was just like the pictures.

Breathtaking view when you arrive at the hotel, clear blue water when over looking the caribbean sea. Staff was welcoming at first with a free drink in the lobby. But after a 3 day stay, there were no smiles or "Good morning" from the staff. Service at the restaurant is very slow, waited 90 mins for dinner when there was no one else at the restaurant. Meals are very expensive, wasn't worth the money. The breakfast buffet is great, but the staff is eager to clean your plate setting. Seemed like you couldn't sit down and enjoy your breakfast without someone watching you. Only two towels in the bathroom, always had to go to the front desk to get extra towels. Would've like to have seen more entertainment at night, bands and island music etc.

Really nice hotel! The hotel staff was excellent the location was great, besides the food everything else was a home run hit..

The hotel was nice and had a great location and beach.

Great beach and location. Good free breakfast in morning

A friend and I stayed at the Coco Reef Resort in late August 2013. Upon entering the grounds you are welcomed by beautiful palm trees and a winding driveway to the hotel entrance. You can see straight through to the ocean when entering the lobby. The staff is cordial and provides a welcome drink. Our room was nice, but the decor is stuck in the Miami Golden Girls era, with mauve and floral designs everywhere. There was a strong smell of mildew through the corridors and sometimes in the bathroom. However, the location is perfect. The private beach allows a fantastic opportunity to enjoy the ocean, including use of canoes, swimming with fish, in a breaker protected environment. The water is greenish, but crystal clear. At night, entertainers sing pop songs while you enjoy beverages. Breakfast is a feast and was included in our package. Dinner at Tamara's was a bit pricey, so we chose to walk a few blocks and grab something to eat. Adjacent to the hotel is where we took a glass-bottom tour to Buccoo Reef and the Nylon Pool....a must! Souvenir shops and food stands abound in this area next to the hotel. Don't miss the sunsets from the hotel beach....probably the most spectacular I've ever seen. A taxi to Scarborough cost around $10USD and was nice, but not a tourist destination. You could walk to the airport if you wanted, but we took a $5USD taxi instead.

This is our 3rd. stay at this hotel and we love it every time. Private beach, easy access to local restaurants, golf course only a cab ride away and great staff with excellent customer service skills.

My wife and I booked a 3 nights stay through an online travel agency for Monday to Wednesday March 3/4 to 3/6. We missed our connection flight to Trinidad because of the blizzard conditions in the United States. We called all our hotels including Coco Reef to move our stay to a day later so it would be from Tuesday through Thursday. They said it was fine for us to come in a day later. After all the air delays and cancellations we made it to Coco Reef on Tuesday which what we told them would be there. They checked us into a room and I told the receptionist that we are staying until Thursday because we missed our connection flight and to make sure correction is made in their system. She said will make the changes so we would check out on Friday morning. After one night at the hotel and before we headed out for dinner on Wednesday night, we got a Coco Gram letting us know the check time is at noon tomorrow. After reading it, I went directly to the front desk and told them that we paid for 3 nights and there must be a mistake. They said to call our travel agency and have them fax an amendment to change the booked dates and they could move us to another room since the room we were in already reserved for someone else. I called my online travel agency and spent about an hour with a representative and she said she would fax it within an hour to Coco Reef. So my wife and I went to dinner thinking everything will fine once they have an amendment. The next day after breakfast, we went by the front desk to make sure our travel agency had faxed them a amendment and we don't need to checkout at noon. We were told they never got a fax and they will charge us $300 for another night this is on top of what we paid for 3 nights. I then called my travel agency and again and spend another hour to straighten out the problem. Coco Reef's management refused to give us another night saying we never called them and they never received a change to our schedule. We had to checkout and moved to another hotel on Thursday night. We basically paid over $900 for 3 nights and only stayed for 2 and they wanted us to paid another $300 to stay there for 1 more night which we already paid for. This is so ridiculously. This is the last time we will be going to Trinidad Tobago and we would not recommend anyone to stay at the hotel. The front desk don''t know what they are doing and not customers friendly. STAY WAY FROM COCO REEF RESORT!

We had an Ocean view Room. The infrastructure of the hotel, its landscaping, decor, and amenities still allows this hotel to have a four star rating. Meals were acceptable but nothing that you would stand in a line for. However, the Hotel experience was not the same as in previous stays. The Hotel used to provide entertainment on some nights, but this appears to have stopped - maybe this was a cost management decision. Hotel staff in general was less courteous and friendly. Towels were aged, stained, and some were beginning to come apart and the shower curtain was short allowing water to run on to the floor every time the shower was used. Additionally, our Room was not cleaned until after 3 pm each day. However, even though the lady has fallen in stature, it remains one of the best hotel experiences available in Tobago. Maybe more competition is what is needed.

Coconut Bay Crown Point Tobago

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Private beach

Located in Bon Accord Village, Coco Reef Resort and Spa is a leisurely stroll from sights such as Store Bay and Fort Millford. This 135-room, 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with 2 restaurants, a private beach, and an outdoor pool. It's near the airport and also close to Pigeon Point Beach and Canoe Bay.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free hot/cold buffet breakfast, served each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM. Enjoy dining at the hotel's 2 onsite restaurants: Tamara's Restaurant specializes in international cuisine, and serves breakfast; dinner, or Bacchanals Bistro offers relaxing ocean views. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

Coco Reef Resort and Spa's 135 air-conditioned rooms provide balconies or patios, minibars, and free bottled water. TVs come with satellite channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

Coco Reef Resort and Spa features a private beach, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. There's free parking, and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 10.00 per person roundtrip. Staff members are on hand to provide dry cleaning/laundry services, concierge services, and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Other amenities at this beach hotel include outdoor tennis courts, WiFi in public areas, and 2 meeting rooms.

Room options

Deluxe Room, Ocean View, Ground Floor

King 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Room, 1 King or 1 Queen Bed, Ocean View

King 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Coco Reef Resort and Spa

Everyone (2) Couples (3) Family (3) Friends (1) Other (2)
1

run down resort!

Everyone
thats not bedroom decor

$60 hotel at best. If you like ants, cockroaches, moldy smelling rooms caused from old leaking air conditioning units, dirty pool, majority of female staff unfriendly and obviously don't want tips...this place is for you! Shame on them for not keeping this resort updated! Could be great.. location awesome! Boat tour awesome with Barry (pigeon point).saw dolphins, caught a tuna, snorkeled U.S. $90 only! 6 hours

By on May 18, 2017

3

nice hotel but need modernization

Everyone

Exterior facility needs to be sprayed for mosquitos and rooms need to be updated. The staff was nice especially Ms. Consuelo at the gate entrance.

By on Dec 26, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 31, 2016

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We hope that you were able to utilize our complimentary wifi internet access in our beach restaurant and complimentary DSL access in our business lounge. In our effort to avoid excess chemical usage on our property, we do not spray the property. We provide insecticide in each room and employ eco-friendly methods through our gardening department. It is great that you felt welcome by our staff and that you enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you for your visit.

5

great little trip

GetawayWithFriends

The hotel staff was amazing. They were always around and available and friendly. The location was amazing. Within walking distance to several places and the beach was just like the pictures.

By on May 12, 2015

3

beautiful view but hotel needs improvement

Families

Breathtaking view when you arrive at the hotel, clear blue water when over looking the caribbean sea. Staff was welcoming at first with a free drink in the lobby. But after a 3 day stay, there were no smiles or "Good morning" from the staff. Service at the restaurant is very slow, waited 90 mins for dinner when there was no one else at the restaurant. Meals are very expensive, wasn't worth the money. The breakfast buffet is great, but the staff is eager to clean your plate setting. Seemed like you couldn't sit down and enjoy your breakfast without someone watching you. Only two towels in the bathroom, always had to go to the front desk to get extra towels. Would've like to have seen more entertainment at night, bands and island music etc.

By on Nov 16, 2014

4

my getaway

Singles

Really nice hotel! The hotel staff was excellent the location was great, besides the food everything else was a home run hit..

By on Oct 21, 2014

4

great getaway

Couples

The hotel was nice and had a great location and beach.

By on Sep 29, 2014

4

great location

Couples

Great beach and location. Good free breakfast in morning

By on Sep 27, 2014

4

perfect tobago location with amazing sunsets

LGBT

A friend and I stayed at the Coco Reef Resort in late August 2013. Upon entering the grounds you are welcomed by beautiful palm trees and a winding driveway to the hotel entrance. You can see straight through to the ocean when entering the lobby. The staff is cordial and provides a welcome drink. Our room was nice, but the decor is stuck in the Miami Golden Girls era, with mauve and floral designs everywhere. There was a strong smell of mildew through the corridors and sometimes in the bathroom. However, the location is perfect. The private beach allows a fantastic opportunity to enjoy the ocean, including use of canoes, swimming with fish, in a breaker protected environment. The water is greenish, but crystal clear. At night, entertainers sing pop songs while you enjoy beverages. Breakfast is a feast and was included in our package. Dinner at Tamara's was a bit pricey, so we chose to walk a few blocks and grab something to eat. Adjacent to the hotel is where we took a glass-bottom tour to Buccoo Reef and the Nylon Pool....a must! Souvenir shops and food stands abound in this area next to the hotel. Don't miss the sunsets from the hotel beach....probably the most spectacular I've ever seen. A taxi to Scarborough cost around $10USD and was nice, but not a tourist destination. You could walk to the airport if you wanted, but we took a $5USD taxi instead.

By on Sep 7, 2013

5

paradise away from home

Families

This is our 3rd. stay at this hotel and we love it every time. Private beach, easy access to local restaurants, golf course only a cab ride away and great staff with excellent customer service skills.

By on Mar 25, 2013

1

worst hotel experience ever

Couples

My wife and I booked a 3 nights stay through an online travel agency for Monday to Wednesday March 3/4 to 3/6. We missed our connection flight to Trinidad because of the blizzard conditions in the United States. We called all our hotels including Coco Reef to move our stay to a day later so it would be from Tuesday through Thursday. They said it was fine for us to come in a day later. After all the air delays and cancellations we made it to Coco Reef on Tuesday which what we told them would be there. They checked us into a room and I told the receptionist that we are staying until Thursday because we missed our connection flight and to make sure correction is made in their system. She said will make the changes so we would check out on Friday morning. After one night at the hotel and before we headed out for dinner on Wednesday night, we got a Coco Gram letting us know the check time is at noon tomorrow. After reading it, I went directly to the front desk and told them that we paid for 3 nights and there must be a mistake. They said to call our travel agency and have them fax an amendment to change the booked dates and they could move us to another room since the room we were in already reserved for someone else. I called my online travel agency and spent about an hour with a representative and she said she would fax it within an hour to Coco Reef. So my wife and I went to dinner thinking everything will fine once they have an amendment. The next day after breakfast, we went by the front desk to make sure our travel agency had faxed them a amendment and we don't need to checkout at noon. We were told they never got a fax and they will charge us $300 for another night this is on top of what we paid for 3 nights. I then called my travel agency and again and spend another hour to straighten out the problem. Coco Reef's management refused to give us another night saying we never called them and they never received a change to our schedule. We had to checkout and moved to another hotel on Thursday night. We basically paid over $900 for 3 nights and only stayed for 2 and they wanted us to paid another $300 to stay there for 1 more night which we already paid for. This is so ridiculously. This is the last time we will be going to Trinidad Tobago and we would not recommend anyone to stay at the hotel. The front desk don''t know what they are doing and not customers friendly. STAY WAY FROM COCO REEF RESORT!

By on Mar 12, 2013