Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Sonesta Great Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Don't stay here. Emptying dirty black flood water into the bay on our second day so we could not swim in the water. Late night bartender was inappropriate and lewd. Restaurants and buffet ran out of food. Our room toilet was broke the whole trip. And the "island view" is a parking lot view.

The resort is situated just a short walk from both Front Street and Back Street. The resort itself is great and quiet. Daphnie always greeted us with a smile for breakfast and lunch. Juliet was the best waitress at the pizzeria, Owen is a great bartender and Sheldon kept the drinks coming at the pool. Aubry and Stephania gave a great couples massage. Victor was a pleasure at Il Pescatorie and Jonathan was a very nice replacement at breakfast when Daphnie was off.

Definitely I recommend this hotel!!! Great service,good food my only recommendation is to add more activities at nighttime.

We had a nice time at Sonesta. The property is outdated and small, but the rooms and grounds were clean. The beds were comfortable. The beach was amazing. The property has 2 small pools, one with a swim up bar. There are only 3 restaurants. One buffet restaurant open for all 3 meals and 2 which you had to make reservations for. There is a machine in the lobby that you use to make reservations. It was supposed to email us conformations which we never got, so make sure you write down the times. The staff was very slow. We were lucky enough to get Angela at the buffet one night she was amazing. The food was pretty good for an all inclusive. The beef was actually great unlike the beef in Mexico. The location of the resort was okay. Close to the cruise ship port so when it was docked a bunch of stores were open. When there was no ship it was dead. No real night life to speak of. They had some karaoke and singing at night. You can taxi to the sister resort by the airport which has more restaurants but there are TONS of kids there. The cab rides are $20 for 2 people and $5 a person after that. For the price we paid I would stay here again.

Nice hotel located on the beach. Easy access to all areas on the island. Nice location for a getaway

Staff was great!! Food was good. Location was great. Easy walk to town!!! Needs better drink service on the beach and a few updates

Hotel location on the beach, at the end of the beach with the boardwalk within walking distance, and the layout of the hotel, 2 great pools, pool bar, food service areas, was excellent! The hotel needs some updating, but they appear to be in process. Food and drinks were excellent! Some of the staff were excellent, others were rude and acted put out at times, especially the towel lady! I loved St Maarten and will return again to this hotel.

Gorgeous location but mediocre food and resort needs updates. It's right on the beach on a curved bay with an incredible view of mountains and the cruise port. There are two pools and a hot tub which are all very clean and very nice for relaxing. The beach was lovely too with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. We also liked the adults-only nature of the resort as it kept things relaxed and quiet. However the hotel itself is in desperate need of an update. Our entire floor smelled so moldy and musty that we woke up with stuffy noses and coughing. The smell permeated our luggage and clothes and followed us back home. The food was also a great disappointment, cafeteria-like and just not inspired. Latino night was not even close to being Latino, neither was Italian night. Execution of the buffet dishes was pretty sloppy and confusing. The upscale seafood restaurant was also not good with laughably tiny portions and poor execution. Wait staff was surly for the most part and every request was treated like a major chore unless we tipped up front. The bars were also severely understaffed, especially the popular swim up bar. The bartenders didn't know how to make cocktails that were on the resort's specialty menu and made me feel like a burden for even trying to order them. There were exceptions (Akeem at the bar, Jonathan at the buffet, spa, entertainment and front desk staff) but most of the servers seemed absolutely miserable. Because of food and service alone we wouldn't recommend.

Service was aweful, waiter asked if we wanted a drink ordered water never came back, another came by we requested the same, 1/2 hour later he did return. Food was OK, but on our anniversary we paid for the 32oz aged prime rib and got a completely different cut of meat. Not happy!

Hotel is right on the beach which has clear blue warm water. The room was great with a beautiful ocean view. The staff was incredible and were a big part in the experience we had. They were professional, courteous and really connected with everyone. Especially the activities coordinators Thomas and Brianna. They made this vacation fun and enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone and will hopefully return soon.

This Hotel has a Beautiful view. The hotel has not been updated and is very old looking. The Staff is superb and very helpful. The food is quite good and the pastries are to die for! If can can get over the old tiredness of the resort it's a nice place.

Right when we got to the resort, we were greeted with a cold towel and 2 glasses of champagne! My wife and I booked this trip for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. From the infinity pool to the beautiful ocean, we were outside doing something the entire trip. Adult only is the way to go! The staff was AMAZING and made our stay even better. We would like to send a shout out to Edrick, Jermaine, Alexandre, and Jonathan! Downtown Phillipsburg is walking distance from the resort and you MUST go to the sister resort and walk down to the beach bar to see the planes come in! Overall a memorable experience and WE WILL be back for sure!!!

I would not stay at Sonesta great bay again. Food less than mediocre. More like cafeteria style. I've been to all inclusives,,, the real deal. Not here. Entertainment??? no. I thought is was Kareoke,, the room was clean. Bed was comfy. Bad coffee!? No mango's! Geared toward older,,,, and i'm 50. Beautiful beach and ocean.

The only downfall, the resort is located in a residential area outside Phillipsburg, with an island view from our room. Every resident in the area had to have chickens making noise from 4:00 AM thru 12 noon. The room,food and entertainment were great. However,I could not eat chicken.

The staff were all very friendly, accomodating and social. I would highly recommend this place to anyone and I would not hesistate to book here again. Great first time experience!

My sister and I brought our mother there for her 90th birthday. With the help of the entertainment staff, she had the biggest birthday celebration ever. At night, they set up a special seating area and the singer had everyone celebrating her bday. The entire staff were so attentive and helpful, too. The buffet was also terrific!

We had a wonderful experience. Very clean, minimally dated but you get over that quickly based on the fabulous location which cannot be beat!!!! Staff is awesome, food is good and plentiful. Drinks are top shelf. My only real complaint is lack of umbrellas for beach chairs. We are not the type to get up at 7AM (like many others) to put our claim on prime beach chairs. You'll get a chair but not an umbrella till at least 4.

We have stayed at all-inclusive hotels before and had really great drink and food service but this place was a little disappointing. The restaurant dinner places were really good and the buffet well it was buffet. This place had the worst drinks and drink service that I have ever experienced. We had no problems with the room. It was clean and had everything we needed.

Check in went smoothly. Understand it is an all inclusive but food and food service could use some attention. The bar staff and hotel service staff were pleasant and helpful. Property is outdated, especially bathrooms. Beach and views are lovely.

Great bay was closed due to storm 2 days before was very disappointed when told we had maho hotel as replacement but it turned out to be ok food was mediocre but the staff and the beach was wonderful the island was unbelievable the ocean was crystal clear and the staff was a definite plus overall weekend trip was a solid A

Little Bay Rd 19 Philipsburg

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Sonesta Great Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a short stroll from Little Bay Beach and Yoda Guy Movie Exhibit. This 257-room, 4-star resort has 3 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and a casino. It's on the beach and also a short walk from Cyrus Wathey Square and Philipsburg Courthouse.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast. Enjoy the ocean views at Bay View , one of 4 onsite restaurants. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or make new friends at the free daily manager's reception.


Rooms

All 257 air-conditioned rooms provide free minibar items, furnished balconies, and iPod docks. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Pillowtop beds sport Egyptian cotton sheets and down comforters, and bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and designer toiletries. Other amenities include coffee makers, free bottled water, and laptop-compatible safes.


Property features

Sonesta Great Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, Casino & Spa features a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a casino. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this adults-only resort include a 24-hour fitness center, a spa tub, and an outdoor tennis court.

Room options

Room, Ocean View

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 3

Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Grande Ocean view

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 3

Grande Island View

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Sonesta Great Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Everyone (9) Couples (22) Family (8) Friends (2) Other (2)
3
Everyone

Don't stay here. Emptying dirty black flood water into the bay on our second day so we could not swim in the water. Late night bartender was inappropriate and lewd. Restaurants and buffet ran out of food. Our room toilet was broke the whole trip. And the "island view" is a parking lot view.

By on Jul 22, 2017

5

right on the beach and steps from shopping

Everyone

The resort is situated just a short walk from both Front Street and Back Street. The resort itself is great and quiet. Daphnie always greeted us with a smile for breakfast and lunch. Juliet was the best waitress at the pizzeria, Owen is a great bartender and Sheldon kept the drinks coming at the pool. Aubry and Stephania gave a great couples massage. Victor was a pleasure at Il Pescatorie and Jonathan was a very nice replacement at breakfast when Daphnie was off.

By on Jul 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 11, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort and for the 5 star review.

5

great hotel to celebrate anniversary,close to the

Everyone

Definitely I recommend this hotel!!! Great service,good food my only recommendation is to add more activities at nighttime.

By , from d.c,PR on Jun 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 9, 2017

Thank you for the review and for staying with us in St. Maarten!

4

decent place for the price

Everyone

We had a nice time at Sonesta. The property is outdated and small, but the rooms and grounds were clean. The beds were comfortable. The beach was amazing. The property has 2 small pools, one with a swim up bar. There are only 3 restaurants. One buffet restaurant open for all 3 meals and 2 which you had to make reservations for. There is a machine in the lobby that you use to make reservations. It was supposed to email us conformations which we never got, so make sure you write down the times. The staff was very slow. We were lucky enough to get Angela at the buffet one night she was amazing. The food was pretty good for an all inclusive. The beef was actually great unlike the beef in Mexico. The location of the resort was okay. Close to the cruise ship port so when it was docked a bunch of stores were open. When there was no ship it was dead. No real night life to speak of. They had some karaoke and singing at night. You can taxi to the sister resort by the airport which has more restaurants but there are TONS of kids there. The cab rides are $20 for 2 people and $5 a person after that. For the price we paid I would stay here again.

By , from Napa, Ca on May 15, 2017

Review comment responded on May 18, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our all-inclusive resort in St. Maarten. We certainly appreciate the time you spent to write this review! We also appreciate this feedback you have provided us.

4

hotel

Everyone

Nice hotel located on the beach. Easy access to all areas on the island. Nice location for a getaway

By , from w on Apr 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 24, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in St. Maarten. Also thank you for the review!

4

great staff

Everyone

Staff was great!! Food was good. Location was great. Easy walk to town!!! Needs better drink service on the beach and a few updates

By , from Mpls on Mar 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 27, 2017

Thank you for choosing our resort and sharing your review,

4
Everyone

Hotel location on the beach, at the end of the beach with the boardwalk within walking distance, and the layout of the hotel, 2 great pools, pool bar, food service areas, was excellent! The hotel needs some updating, but they appear to be in process. Food and drinks were excellent! Some of the staff were excellent, others were rude and acted put out at times, especially the towel lady! I loved St Maarten and will return again to this hotel.

By on Jan 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 16, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in St. Maarten. We appreciate your feedback and we are striving towards 100 % guest satisfaction. Glad to hear you will return.

3

beautiful place but needs a lot of help

Couples

Gorgeous location but mediocre food and resort needs updates. It's right on the beach on a curved bay with an incredible view of mountains and the cruise port. There are two pools and a hot tub which are all very clean and very nice for relaxing. The beach was lovely too with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. We also liked the adults-only nature of the resort as it kept things relaxed and quiet. However the hotel itself is in desperate need of an update. Our entire floor smelled so moldy and musty that we woke up with stuffy noses and coughing. The smell permeated our luggage and clothes and followed us back home. The food was also a great disappointment, cafeteria-like and just not inspired. Latino night was not even close to being Latino, neither was Italian night. Execution of the buffet dishes was pretty sloppy and confusing. The upscale seafood restaurant was also not good with laughably tiny portions and poor execution. Wait staff was surly for the most part and every request was treated like a major chore unless we tipped up front. The bars were also severely understaffed, especially the popular swim up bar. The bartenders didn't know how to make cocktails that were on the resort's specialty menu and made me feel like a burden for even trying to order them. There were exceptions (Akeem at the bar, Jonathan at the buffet, spa, entertainment and front desk staff) but most of the servers seemed absolutely miserable. Because of food and service alone we wouldn't recommend.

By , from Florida, USA on Jan 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at our beach Resort and thank you for the feedback.

2

service bad

Everyone

Service was aweful, waiter asked if we wanted a drink ordered water never came back, another came by we requested the same, 1/2 hour later he did return. Food was OK, but on our anniversary we paid for the 32oz aged prime rib and got a completely different cut of meat. Not happy!

By , from new york on Nov 20, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 6, 2016

Thank you for choosing our beach resort and for submitting this review. Glad you enjoyed the beach. Thank you for the feedback as well.

4

hotel is right on the beach

Everyone

Hotel is right on the beach which has clear blue warm water. The room was great with a beautiful ocean view. The staff was incredible and were a big part in the experience we had. They were professional, courteous and really connected with everyone. Especially the activities coordinators Thomas and Brianna. They made this vacation fun and enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone and will hopefully return soon.

By , from P on Jul 13, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2016

Thank you for the kind words and we also do hope you manage to visit us again!