Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Staff was amazing, hotel was very clean. Our room was well-updated. The breakfast was a great perk! Also the pool and spa looked great, although we didn't have a chance to go in. Next time we'll definitely stay more than one night!

The location is convenient to the San Jose airport. We were able to walk to dinner to good Italian and Mexican restaurants nearby. The room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was good. The desk staff was efficient but not particularly warm or go-out-of-their-way helpful. (However, one staff member was very kind and friendly and took time to tell us about restaurants.)

We originally booked a hotel in Sunnyvale for our honeymoon, but Orbitz overbooked us, so we were directed to this hotel. We were pretty upset as we were told this ONE day before our wedding. Orbitz did not do us any favors by such a last minute cancellation. We were disappointed by the location, as it fronts to a busy road across from some common shops, but the hotel itself was wonderful. Beds were a bit too firm and the room was cramped. But the hospitality, cleanliness and unique experience was worth it. If we are ever out in that part of the world again, we would absolutely stay again!

The bed was comfortable and the room was very nice. But most of all I loved that the shades and curtains completely blocked out the sun in the morning.

I've stayed here twice now for 3-5 night stays, and learned that this is where Google puts it's guests up when they are in Mtn. View on business. The staff is extremely professional, attentive, and hard working. The daily breakfasts were well cooked and filling - not a cheap continental breakfast. The housekeeping staff left hand written notes and candy every night (good stuff too, like M&M's and Reeses Peanut Butter cups). They have some wine tasting thing at night that I never got around to trying but looked fun. A+ all the way, I will always stay at Avante as long as they aren't full.

Hotel is cheap, but feels like it too. Decorated in Institutional Modern. I found it dark and dreary. Hard under-ripe fruit, packaged cereals, steam table eggs, potatoes, and sausages are served in a makeshift breakfast room. We won't stay there again, but for those on an extreme budget, it is clean. We would skip the breakfast, but those on a tight budget might appreciate a free meal.

It was clean. Great to find a place with a hot tub open until 10pm. Free parking and breakfast. Overall very good stay.

it was an amazing stay, very nice staff, clean room and awesome breakfast

Hotel Avante Mountain View was a great place to stay: clean and quiet with an extremely comfortable bed, great amenities, and breakfast to boot! We've stayed at four other Mountain View hotels and this one was definitely our favorite. The bathroom could have been perhaps a foot larger and that would have made it easier for two people to navigate. But that's certainly minor. The fact that we could turn off the heating was a big plus for us, since we always sleep with the window open and and the heat off at home. We'll definitely go back.

I would just like to comment on the room and I'm not sure how to correct permanently but the floor (we were on 3rd floor) shakes tremendously when walking in room. The cabinet with the refrigerator inside vibrated and made a lot of noise. Suggest putting some type of foam rubber shock absorbers on bottom of cabinet or on doors. Also, a very noisy room as you can hear people above walking around like they were jumping on floor at 2AM. Oh well. I'm a whiner now.

This hotel met every expectation I had. It was clean, comfortable and value priced!

Was there for short trip. Needed to be near where the hotel is located. Would not stay for a long trip without a car, since there is really nothing interesting walking distance. Fine service, but I really just slept there one night and checked out.

We stayed there 5 nights, it was excellent. We upgraded our room to suite, because my daughter wanted to stay with us for one night. The suite has a sofa which can be pulled out, and it was o.k. Room was not spacious but cozy. Small hotel, good for business and family also.

Recently renovated. We felt really welcome. Breakfast area is a tad small but had a good selection of items to eat. I loved the various items in the desks in the room.

The hotel was very nice and modern. Breakfast was good and they even got soy milk for me. They have wine nights and beer night. Our stay was great!

Very nice updated hotel with friendly staff. Had a quiet stay (hint: ask for room in back) Great amenities and decent breakfast.

Hotel was nice. Great amenities and area plus free continental breakfast. Lookwise, somewhat outdated. I personally feel it deserved 3.5 stars out of 4.

The Avante Hotel is a nice place to stay if you need to be in the Mountain View area. Their breakfast is decent and they always have fresh fruit and coffee in the lobby. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Beds are comfortable and the location is pretty quiet, despite being on El Camino, especially if you have a room in the back of the hotel. They are currently updating the rooms with new furniture, lighting etc.

The hotel was nice and the room was comfortable. Definitely a good deal.

It is a great experience to stay at Avante. Our family enjoys the stay very much. My son likes the bed because he had a wonderful sleep. Room is a little small but overall is excellent.

860 E El Camino Real Mountain View CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel places you within 2 miles (3 km) of El Camino Hospital and Mountain View Center for the Performing Arts. This 91-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. It's near the airport and also close to Computer History Museum and Hacker Dojo.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free hot/cold buffet breakfast. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service.


Rooms

All of Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel's 91 air-conditioned rooms provide iPod docks, minibars, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free weekday newspapers, safes, and phones are also available.


Property features

At Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free area shuttle. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a business center.

Room options

Room, 2 Double Beds (Avante)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed (Avante)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Avante)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hotel Avante

Everyone (7) Business (10) Couples (38) Family (14) Friends (3) Other (4)
5

wonderful stay

Everyone

Staff was amazing, hotel was very clean. Our room was well-updated. The breakfast was a great perk! Also the pool and spa looked great, although we didn't have a chance to go in. Next time we'll definitely stay more than one night!

By , from Eureka, Ca on Jul 31, 2017

4
Everyone

The location is convenient to the San Jose airport. We were able to walk to dinner to good Italian and Mexican restaurants nearby. The room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was good. The desk staff was efficient but not particularly warm or go-out-of-their-way helpful. (However, one staff member was very kind and friendly and took time to tell us about restaurants.)

By on May 22, 2017

4

not a nice area, but the hotel was beautiful.

Everyone

We originally booked a hotel in Sunnyvale for our honeymoon, but Orbitz overbooked us, so we were directed to this hotel. We were pretty upset as we were told this ONE day before our wedding. Orbitz did not do us any favors by such a last minute cancellation. We were disappointed by the location, as it fronts to a busy road across from some common shops, but the hotel itself was wonderful. Beds were a bit too firm and the room was cramped. But the hospitality, cleanliness and unique experience was worth it. If we are ever out in that part of the world again, we would absolutely stay again!

By , from Ebersole on Mar 25, 2017

5

very nice hotel and comfortable

Everyone

The bed was comfortable and the room was very nice. But most of all I loved that the shades and curtains completely blocked out the sun in the morning.

By , from osna on Mar 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 14, 2017

Thank you so much for your amazing review but more so, thank you for choosing to stay with us! We love that you mentioned how comfortable your room was and that you enjoyed the furnishings in your room. We hope the next time your travel plans again include Mountain View or the Silicon Valley you will again choose to make Hotel Avante your "home away from home!" Regards, Lyle Operations Manager

5

clean, and housekeeping leaves candy every day!

Everyone

I've stayed here twice now for 3-5 night stays, and learned that this is where Google puts it's guests up when they are in Mtn. View on business. The staff is extremely professional, attentive, and hard working. The daily breakfasts were well cooked and filling - not a cheap continental breakfast. The housekeeping staff left hand written notes and candy every night (good stuff too, like M&M's and Reeses Peanut Butter cups). They have some wine tasting thing at night that I never got around to trying but looked fun. A+ all the way, I will always stay at Avante as long as they aren't full.

By , from San Diego, CA on Apr 25, 2016

3

clean, functional, but boring decor.

Everyone

Hotel is cheap, but feels like it too. Decorated in Institutional Modern. I found it dark and dreary. Hard under-ripe fruit, packaged cereals, steam table eggs, potatoes, and sausages are served in a makeshift breakfast room. We won't stay there again, but for those on an extreme budget, it is clean. We would skip the breakfast, but those on a tight budget might appreciate a free meal.

By , from Bay Area, CA on Apr 11, 2016

4
Everyone

It was clean. Great to find a place with a hot tub open until 10pm. Free parking and breakfast. Overall very good stay.

By on Feb 17, 2016

5

awesome business trip

BusinessTravelers

it was an amazing stay, very nice staff, clean room and awesome breakfast

By on Dec 2, 2015

4

a hotel to return to

Couples

Hotel Avante Mountain View was a great place to stay: clean and quiet with an extremely comfortable bed, great amenities, and breakfast to boot! We've stayed at four other Mountain View hotels and this one was definitely our favorite. The bathroom could have been perhaps a foot larger and that would have made it easier for two people to navigate. But that's certainly minor. The fact that we could turn off the heating was a big plus for us, since we always sleep with the window open and and the heat off at home. We'll definitely go back.

By on Nov 4, 2015

3

constructive criticism

Families

I would just like to comment on the room and I'm not sure how to correct permanently but the floor (we were on 3rd floor) shakes tremendously when walking in room. The cabinet with the refrigerator inside vibrated and made a lot of noise. Suggest putting some type of foam rubber shock absorbers on bottom of cabinet or on doors. Also, a very noisy room as you can hear people above walking around like they were jumping on floor at 2AM. Oh well. I'm a whiner now.

By on Oct 6, 2015