Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Pacific Motor Inn

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I had to book a hotel at the last minute and found all the more reconizeable hotels way over priced for the night. Maybe there was a function in town that jacked the prices up. The Pacific Motor Inn seemed to maintain it's reasonable price which made it very appealing. For a one night business trip I'd probably stay there again. If I was on a family vacation or needed to stay longer I would suggest booking at one of the better know hotels early to get a more reasonable rate.

Checkin was smooth and easy. The parking lot was pretty crowded and the spots are on the small side, but we were able to find a spot. There is only one elevator, so it might be a little trek to your room.

I am normally a chain hotel person who does a lot of traveling for work. Needing a one night stay I found this hotel on Orbitz. I took a chance on it and it paid off. The staff was friendly, the area is pretty well lit and the room was clean. It could use a little updating but overall a good nights rest for the money.

clean, and walking distance to many locations in San Jose where I had meetings.

Facilities were perfectly standard and staff was nice. Unfortunately there was a LOT of loud music from vehicles driving through the area at night, weird droning sounds coming from behind the walls, and other guests in nearby rooms were clearly audible at night - like the walls do nothing. The nearby blocks frequently smelled like pot, and on the last day a pot dealer propositioned me on the street (ignored him). I'm guessing this is the result of the nearby university. Not the staff's fault, but wouldn't go again.

This hotel was a decent stay- very convenient location for the San Jose Rock and Roll half marathon. Inexpensive. It is just old and dirty. This place needs a face lift badly.

I am being totally honest, the room was Dark, Humid, and Dirty, besides being smaller than a dorm room. The Air Conditioner had a two settings, cold, or freaking cold, and was from the 1960's, loud as hell. The sink constantly backwashed sewage into the basin. The Toilet had issues flushing, (glad the city water gave me the runs, so that flushed.) The shower was ok, but I felt claustrophobic, in the tiny stall. One light, to aluminate the whole room, and it was very dim, like having a street light in my room.

Clean room, easy continental breakfast and located downtown.

Great location and price. Small, comfortable and great customer service.

Stayed here while attending a conference. Staff were friendly, room was clean, bed was comfortable. No complaints. Would stay here again.

There were a couple of things I found inconvenient. I reported them when I checked out. Overall it was fairly satisfactory.

Foot traffic/ street traffic could be heard clearly. The previous occupants had been smokers and the room had been properly treated. In-room electronics (e.g. coffee maker) were non-functioning. Wouldn't repeat visit.

The room was recently remodelled, and I was pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the room. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was very basic, no frills. Easy access to the airport, great for an early morning flight.

the stay at the ramada was quite pleasant and quiet. The room was clean and had great amenities.

Close to downtown, could walk where we needed to go.didn't have to pay for parking,

Great for a cost effective short stay in the SJ. Nice part of town for night life. Easy in and out. Hotel has limited anemnities

Good location but the hotel was not very nice and old- carpet old and area was sub-standard. Area around was nice but right outside the hotel was not. A bit scarry

A decent place to stay right in the heart of San Jose. I was attending a conference at the Convention Center and many of the other hotels in town were full or way too expensive. The Ramada was a great alternative, just a few blocks from the Convention Center. Rooms were clean and just enough. One issue I had was poor hot water pressure. Otherwise good.

The Ramada doesn't try to be anything its not. If you want a clean, centrally located hotel that's not over-priced like other hotels in the same area -- this is a decent choice. Guests range from business travelers to "rough-around-the-edges" types; and, if have to avoid the occasional panhandler out front. But again, it's clean and well located.

i enjoyed the pool the sauna room though i did find A weird looking bug on my bed

455 South Second Street San Jose CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to San Jose Convention Center and Tech Museum
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Pacific Motor Inn places you within a 10-minute stroll of popular attractions such as San Jose Convention Center and Tech Museum. This 72-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like an outdoor pool and free in-room WiFi. It's in central San Jose and also a short walk from San Jose State University and San Jose Museum of Art.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning.


Rooms

All 72 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free newspapers, free local calls, and safes.


Property features

At Pacific Motor Inn, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Free parking is included with your stay. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help with dry cleaning or laundry, and answer any questions about the area. Additional amenities include a meeting room, a business center, and a seasonal outdoor pool.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, Non Smoking (2 King Beds)

King 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Pacific Motor Inn

Everyone (6) Business (34) Couples (9) Family (7) Other (9) Friends (7)
3

reasonably priced

BusinessTravelers

I had to book a hotel at the last minute and found all the more reconizeable hotels way over priced for the night. Maybe there was a function in town that jacked the prices up. The Pacific Motor Inn seemed to maintain it's reasonable price which made it very appealing. For a one night business trip I'd probably stay there again. If I was on a family vacation or needed to stay longer I would suggest booking at one of the better know hotels early to get a more reasonable rate.

By , from SF Bay Area on Feb 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything met your expectations. We apologize that our cleaning solution smell was too strong for you and are happy to address any issues brought to our attention directly! We do, of course, welcome families and stays longer than one night. We hope to see you again during your next visit to San Jose.

4

pleasantly surprised for price

Everyone

Checkin was smooth and easy. The parking lot was pretty crowded and the spots are on the small side, but we were able to find a spot. There is only one elevator, so it might be a little trek to your room.

By on Jan 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your candid review! It is excellent that you found our rooms and facilities clean and comfortable. We apologize for the mix-up concerning the amenities and stocking in your room and hope that it was not too much of an inconvenience! We're glad to hear that you were able to utilize our hotel's close proximity to the businesses downtown during your stay. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

4

good economical option

Everyone

I am normally a chain hotel person who does a lot of traveling for work. Needing a one night stay I found this hotel on Orbitz. I took a chance on it and it paid off. The staff was friendly, the area is pretty well lit and the room was clean. It could use a little updating but overall a good nights rest for the money.

By on Dec 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2017

We're ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the downtown area! We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Jose, work or leisure! Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

3

convenient to the more expensive hotels

BusinessTravelers

clean, and walking distance to many locations in San Jose where I had meetings.

By , from New York on Dec 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 16, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're happy that our location was of convenience to you and hope that you wholly enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

2

standard hotel, but noisy nights / shady area

Everyone

Facilities were perfectly standard and staff was nice. Unfortunately there was a LOT of loud music from vehicles driving through the area at night, weird droning sounds coming from behind the walls, and other guests in nearby rooms were clearly audible at night - like the walls do nothing. The nearby blocks frequently smelled like pot, and on the last day a pot dealer propositioned me on the street (ignored him). I'm guessing this is the result of the nearby university. Not the staff's fault, but wouldn't go again.

By on Oct 10, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2016

It's excellent to hear that you enjoyed the services of our staff and the cleanliness of our facilities. We apologize on behalf of our other guests and the bustle of downtown and hope that they did not negatively impact your stay. Downtown does have its characters but is generally very safe despite its eccentricities. We hope to see you again soon during your next visit regardless. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

3

downtown ramada san jose

Everyone

This hotel was a decent stay- very convenient location for the San Jose Rock and Roll half marathon. Inexpensive. It is just old and dirty. This place needs a face lift badly.

By on Oct 6, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for you. We hope that though our facilities are a bit older, you found them to be clean and to your satisfaction otherwise. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Jose.

2

dungeon hotel room

Everyone

I am being totally honest, the room was Dark, Humid, and Dirty, besides being smaller than a dorm room. The Air Conditioner had a two settings, cold, or freaking cold, and was from the 1960's, loud as hell. The sink constantly backwashed sewage into the basin. The Toilet had issues flushing, (glad the city water gave me the runs, so that flushed.) The shower was ok, but I felt claustrophobic, in the tiny stall. One light, to aluminate the whole room, and it was very dim, like having a street light in my room.

By , from NYC on Oct 4, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2016

Though we are no longer associated with Ramada, it is unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We apologize that your room was not spotless upon check in and can assure you that this is not the norm for our location. We strive for excellence through cleanliness and customer service; it is unusual that your room didn't seem to meet this standard. Each room has multiple lamps including an overhead fixture in both the main area as well as in the sink and bathroom areas. We apologize if all of the aforementioned lights were out of commission and are happy to resolve maintenance (including plumbing) issues if they are reported. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

4

good spot for a night or two on business.

Everyone

Clean room, easy continental breakfast and located downtown.

By on Mar 3, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 16, 2016

It's excellent to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Jose.

5

exam trip

Families

Great location and price. Small, comfortable and great customer service.

By on Nov 10, 2015

5

close to convention center - clean

BusinessTravelers

Stayed here while attending a conference. Staff were friendly, room was clean, bed was comfortable. No complaints. Would stay here again.

By on Oct 2, 2015