Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Old Town Western Inn & Suites

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The floor was sticky. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The hall smelled like beer. Hotel management allowed patrons to run up and down the stairs yellling and partying all night (until 4am). No apologies were given. Parking was horrible. Never stay there!

We arrived late and left early, so it was not really an experience.

The staff was friendly and definitely helpful. The beds were comfortable and clean. These are the pluses, and overall the hotel met my and my daughter's needs for this trip quite well, especially in consideration of price compared to nearby hotels. I would warn that the bathroom in our room was badly in need of rennovation. There were cracked tiles, moldly grout, rust stains around the faucet and the ceiling looked like it had some water damage. The room was very dark even with window blinds wide open. I noticed that in an emergency, our paths out would have been very long (other than using the elevator as we did during normal conditions). The continental breakfast consisted only of cereal or cheap muffins with very poor quality coffee. Some juice, whole fruits or and/or yogurt would have been very welcome.

Room was dirty and not fair to pay for parking no breakfast was serve Terrible hotel

We enjoyed our stay. Everything clean and working condition. We liked how the hotel was located closely to local attractions.

Large clean and comfortable room with nice accessories conveniently located and moderately priced.

Repeat visitor. Both stays were good. Staff very friendly and helpful. No real amenities, but a good low cost alternative for the area. Rooms are quite big and private.

Always stay here. Inexpensive, clean and nice staff. Why would you stay in the room when you are in Old Town San Diego.

great location! Walking distance to Old Town, cool place.

brief overnight stay. Great location hotel could be upgraded. Good experience for price

The room was good, breakfast wasn't much but I didn't go to San Diego to have breakfast. There's the a/c which was a life saver for me being from Alaska. Not hard to sleep through the noise, better than waking up hot. The location makes it helpful, not too far from the transit station, SeaWorld is a 15-20 dollar cab ride but I suggest to ask the desk clerk to call the black cab, that will save you more money because the further the distance, the less it'll cost for you compared to a normal cab, not to mention that the black cab has better a/c. The room is a good basic room, the internet though, you can't log in some reason but I didn't go to San Diego to use their internet. So all together, the stay was great because I had a blast in San Diego

it's good value if you want to visit old town and you are on a budget

HOTEL WAS VERY DATED, BUT CLEAN, GENTLEMAN AT THE FRONT DESK WAS VERY NICE. THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WAS VIRTUALLY NON-EXISTENT -- COFFEE, STORE BOUGHT MICRO-MINI MUFFINS AND COLD CEREAL -- NO VARIETY, NO JUICE, ETC. WE THOUGHT EVERYTHING WAS PAID THROUGH OUR PACKAGE, BUT DISCOVERED THAT THERE WAS A DAILY PARKING FEE. ANOTHER POSITIVE IS THE GREAT LOCATION IN OLD TOWN.

Awesome location and awesome hotel. Older hotel but clean. Large room with cold ac. Great location inside old town. Parking available on street for free and safe area. Quiet through out night and easy check in.

terrible...beds were very uncomfortable, bath sink was cracked, bathroom was maintained but did not looked clean, old cover sheets, water stains on ceiling. there is no mentioned of a parking fee on web site...its $8 at time of check in. no street parking. parking garage with/ very tight spaces even for a compact car...with a high chance of your car getting ding and if you park next to a column...every other space...front passenger cannot get out of car.

Old Mattresses, back ache the next day. you could feel the springs on the bed..

I dont usually complain, however, this place was dirty, dusty, moldy, smelled badly and nothing worked properly. The health department should get involved. I stayed there the night before I was to run a full marathon (26.2 miles). There were people yelling outside all night. The staff seemed oblivious to the disruptive behavior of the commotion. When I called the office, the attendant seemed surprised. It was obvious she was not aware of her surroundings. I could not sleep all night and it ruined my pre-marathon rest.

When I checked in, I was given keys and went up to room. The keys opened the door however someone else was booked into that room. This can be very dangerous!

hotel parking was bad, room smelt wetr and hot, bed was horrible. When we came back from dinner there was a druggie outside of the elevator asking for a lighter walking around our floor with white powder substance on his sleeves. we wont be back.

Excelent location, cleanees very good, comfortable , the only bad is that you have to pay the parking 8 dlls more, but all hotels in old town charge you even more the parking, is not included, people very kind and good services, i recomend

Room options

Standard, One King Bed, with AC

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Old Town Western Inn & Suites

Everyone (8) Couples (13) Business (4) Family (5) Other (4) Friends (1)
1

absolutely horrible stay

Everyone

The floor was sticky. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The hall smelled like beer. Hotel management allowed patrons to run up and down the stairs yellling and partying all night (until 4am). No apologies were given. Parking was horrible. Never stay there!

By , from San Diego on May 28, 2017

Review comment responded on May 30, 2017

Dear Guest We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you had call the front desk we would have taken care of any problems, and we are also sorry that you think our new beds were uncomfortable

3

ok hotel, close to old town.

Everyone

We arrived late and left early, so it was not really an experience.

By on Feb 27, 2017

2

restroom requires rennovation

Everyone

The staff was friendly and definitely helpful. The beds were comfortable and clean. These are the pluses, and overall the hotel met my and my daughter's needs for this trip quite well, especially in consideration of price compared to nearby hotels. I would warn that the bathroom in our room was badly in need of rennovation. There were cracked tiles, moldly grout, rust stains around the faucet and the ceiling looked like it had some water damage. The room was very dark even with window blinds wide open. I noticed that in an emergency, our paths out would have been very long (other than using the elevator as we did during normal conditions). The continental breakfast consisted only of cereal or cheap muffins with very poor quality coffee. Some juice, whole fruits or and/or yogurt would have been very welcome.

By on Nov 20, 2016

1

save your money

Everyone

Room was dirty and not fair to pay for parking no breakfast was serve Terrible hotel

By , from la on Aug 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2016

Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. All site does have information about our parking fee and we do offer breakfast. As far has the room being dirty we will look into that but comment from past guest they have giving us good comment of cleanness.

4

it was centrally located close to old towne

Everyone

We enjoyed our stay. Everything clean and working condition. We liked how the hotel was located closely to local attractions.

By , from yucaipa, Ca on Aug 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us and happy that you enjoyed your stay

4

comfortable accommodation close to old town.

Everyone

Large clean and comfortable room with nice accessories conveniently located and moderately priced.

By on Jul 14, 2016

Review comment responded on Jul 15, 2016

Dear Guest We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward in seeing you again in our wonderful city.

4

great location walking distance next to old town

Everyone

Repeat visitor. Both stays were good. Staff very friendly and helpful. No real amenities, but a good low cost alternative for the area. Rooms are quite big and private.

By on May 25, 2016

Review comment responded on May 27, 2016

Thank for staying with us

4

nice place to stay in old town, inexpensive.

Everyone

Always stay here. Inexpensive, clean and nice staff. Why would you stay in the room when you are in Old Town San Diego.

By , from Tucson on May 7, 2016

Review comment responded on May 9, 2016

Thank you for you review we hope you come back and see us

4

old town

Couples

great location! Walking distance to Old Town, cool place.

By on Jun 30, 2015

3

family trip

BusinessTravelers

brief overnight stay. Great location hotel could be upgraded. Good experience for price

By on Mar 26, 2015