Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Loews Coronado Bay Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I specifically selected a 2 bed room which was at a higher rate but wanted my son and I to have our own beds. I arrived at 8pm for check in and was told all they had was a king bed but they had already provided me with a rollaway. I said I paid for a 2 bed room and they said they were sorry but they were fully booked. It was so riduclous because I had just booked the room that morning and they clearly either gave away my room or overbooked.

My best friend and I went away for mom's weekend and had an awesome time. We were unable to stay at the hotel the first night because of overbooking, but staff found accommodations for us on the island and put us up in a very nice hotel. When we arrived at the Loews, staff went out of their way to welcome us, they more than made up for our one night stay at a different hotel. The room was gorgeous, staff super friendly, bars and restaurants awesome!!! Can't wait to go back!

Like the hotel , but expensive , good pool, buildings are confusing

Very disappointed that after a rain storm it took them over 3 days to get the pool area cleaned up. They had a used lime on the pool deck for 3 days, sand in the hot tub for over 3 days and didn't have the 2nd hot tub back running.

For starters de ac wasn't working inside the room; it felt like a sauna in there. The shower was extremely dirty with a huge ball of hairs on the shower drain. Bed wasn't as comfortable as I expected neither were the pillows. I was woken up early in the morning by kids bagging on the wall from the next room; you cal also clearly hear all conversation from next door room. Overall the only positive for me was some of the views and the patio. I was only in the hotel for bed time nonetheless I got charged a resort fee for amenities I didn't even used. I've stayed at other Loews in different cities multiple times; never experienced such awful encounters.

Centrally located to attractions and downtown. Loved the location for pristine beaches. Hotel staff was friendly and rooms very clean. Beautiful grounds and views.

Room was beautiful and very comfortable. Small walk to the beach but great location. Also provided activities on sit with a lot of help.

We only had one day to stay at this resort and really wish we had longer. The facility was beautiful; the rooms were clean and spacious; the staff were super helpful and very nice. We took the golf cart to the beach, played at the ocean and then came back to the pool with a pool side dinner. A relaxing, fun time for the family.

Pools are perfect for children. Lots of activities for them to do.

If you are planning a one week vacation (or longer), I recommend Loews. The staff members are awesome! The food is great! and there are a lot of amenities.

Friendly and helpful staff made the great pools, great beach and great food even more enjoyable than we expected.

Room was clean, view to the water was also OK. There was smell of garbage from the balcony once the door was open. Noise from lawnmower was loud and was going on for a long time. I was charged a "resort" fee I don't know why. In short- they could do much better.

My family came down to Coronado island for a water polo tournament. The staff was very friendly and upgraded us to a room with a view. The hotel itself is down about a 5 mile drive from the city, easy enough if you have a car. We happened to be there duribng the biggest strom in 165 years and the power went out. They had no way to serve food, so they brought out some hot plates and made tacos on the house. The water in the rooms is $8 dollars a bottle which to me is ridiculous. All of the lunge chair cushions need to be replaced, they are old and a little disgusting. The rooms are acceptable and the bed was comfortable. Next time i will try somewhere else. But it was a B resort experience.

The pet policy for this hotel is awesome. My little pup had her own bowl and mat, and there were clean up bag stations all around the property. Views were on the bay side, not ocean side for this hotel, but you c old see the city. If you are expecting a hotel on the main strip of coronado, it's a bit far, a few miles from the hotel del, but a minor inconvenience in exchange for a lower room rate.

Comfortable room, especially comfortable bed. Nice balcony with chairs/table. Very deep soaker tub (had to get in with my little ones to give them a bath), very tiny shower (I was bumping my elbows and I'm a small person). Provided portable crib and baby bath products for our tiniest tot, he slept comfortably. Great location with waking distance to silver strand beach, quick drive to downtown Coronado. Food ridiculously expensive and not quite exceptional, would recommend eating away from resort. Great pools. Overall good stuff in a great spot for a reasonable price. Would stay here again.

The hotel and location are beautiful. The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool area is great....yummy drinks!! The room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed. Food was delicious! It may be helpful for pool staff to keep Rab's on lounge chair availability and take used towels away. The pool area is super busy especially on weekends and it would make it easier for guests to find a place to sit if the towels were removed as patrons vacate them......just a suggestion.:)

This place was very nice and comfortable, it was every clean and staff was helpful. We got an upgrade right when we got there receptionist was very accommodating.

Great hotel to spend some relaxing days. Nice beach across the street.

The hotel is nice, but laid out a little funny. It thinks it's a resort, but seems more like a hotel with a few extra activities. It's quite a drive from anything else. I didn't appreciate that they charged an extra $50/day for self-parking and a "resort fee". As you have to drive a long way to get there, these are both mandatory fees and should be included in the price.

We just came back from a great Easter/Spring break vacation at the Loews Coronado. The resort met our expectations and even exceeded a few. My boys (ages 10 & 11) loved the pools, the ping pong tables, the s'more evening and having the ease to bike (you can rent) and roller blade (we brought ours) to Silver Strand beach. The restaurants on the property are good and downtown Coronado is a short drive (the hotel has a free shuttle) and has good restaurants. As long as you have a rental car this property works If you are looking to do SD attractions and is very relaxing to come back to after a day out and about. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and genuinely committed to making our stay a great one - we will be back!

4000 Coronado Bay Rd Coronado CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Marina
  • Spa

Located within a leisurely stroll of Silver Strand State Beach, Loews Coronado Bay Resort is within a 15-minute drive of San Diego Coronado Bridge. This 439-room, 4-star resort welcomes business and leisure travelers with 3 outdoor pools, a marina, and a full-service spa. It's on the waterfront and also near Chula Vista Nature Center and Chula Vista Center.


Dining

This resort is home to 4 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Satisfy your hunger without leaving your room with 24-hour room service, or quench your thirst with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café. Start your day off with breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

Loews Coronado Bay Resort's 439 rooms are air-conditioned and provide iPod docks, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Pillowtop beds sport Frette Italian sheets and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Free newspapers, free local calls, and laptop-compatible safes are also standard.


Property features

Loews Coronado Bay Resort features a marina, a full-service spa, and 3 outdoor pools. Parking is available for USD 29 per night (USD 33 per night for valet parking), and there's also a free area shuttle. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this spa resort include a children's pool, a fitness center, and outdoor tennis courts.

Room options

Room, 2 Double Beds, Pool View

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Pool View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Double Beds, View (Coronado)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, View (Coronado)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Everyone (12) Couples (51) Business (1) Family (19) Friends (5) Other (1)
1

loews gave away the room i reserve

Everyone

I specifically selected a 2 bed room which was at a higher rate but wanted my son and I to have our own beds. I arrived at 8pm for check in and was told all they had was a king bed but they had already provided me with a rollaway. I said I paid for a 2 bed room and they said they were sorry but they were fully booked. It was so riduclous because I had just booked the room that morning and they clearly either gave away my room or overbooked.

By on May 30, 2017

5

beautiful hotel located on coronado bay!!!

Everyone

My best friend and I went away for mom's weekend and had an awesome time. We were unable to stay at the hotel the first night because of overbooking, but staff found accommodations for us on the island and put us up in a very nice hotel. When we arrived at the Loews, staff went out of their way to welcome us, they more than made up for our one night stay at a different hotel. The room was gorgeous, staff super friendly, bars and restaurants awesome!!! Can't wait to go back!

By , from boston on May 5, 2017

5

good location and facilities

Everyone

Like the hotel , but expensive , good pool, buildings are confusing

By on Apr 14, 2017

3

nice hotel

Everyone

Very disappointed that after a rain storm it took them over 3 days to get the pool area cleaned up. They had a used lime on the pool deck for 3 days, sand in the hot tub for over 3 days and didn't have the 2nd hot tub back running.

By on Feb 21, 2017

2

not what i expected from a loews hotel

Everyone

For starters de ac wasn't working inside the room; it felt like a sauna in there. The shower was extremely dirty with a huge ball of hairs on the shower drain. Bed wasn't as comfortable as I expected neither were the pillows. I was woken up early in the morning by kids bagging on the wall from the next room; you cal also clearly hear all conversation from next door room. Overall the only positive for me was some of the views and the patio. I was only in the hotel for bed time nonetheless I got charged a resort fee for amenities I didn't even used. I've stayed at other Loews in different cities multiple times; never experienced such awful encounters.

By , from Miami on Nov 6, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 6, 2016

LisM, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear of your experiences at our hotel. Our hotel takes great pride in our housekeeping services, and I’m sorry to hear you did not experience that level of service. We apologize for your noise issues as well. We are glad that you found our patio and views to your liking and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Should you return, please feel free to contact any of our managers for personal assurance that your next stay will be comfortable. Sincerely, Sean Clancy Managing Director

5

perfect place to stay with my 3 young girls.

Everyone

Centrally located to attractions and downtown. Loved the location for pristine beaches. Hotel staff was friendly and rooms very clean. Beautiful grounds and views.

By , from Sedona Arizona on Oct 20, 2016

4
Everyone

Room was beautiful and very comfortable. Small walk to the beach but great location. Also provided activities on sit with a lot of help.

By on Oct 18, 2016

5

beautiful resort on the water

Everyone

We only had one day to stay at this resort and really wish we had longer. The facility was beautiful; the rooms were clean and spacious; the staff were super helpful and very nice. We took the golf cart to the beach, played at the ocean and then came back to the pool with a pool side dinner. A relaxing, fun time for the family.

By on Sep 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 8, 2016

It sounds as though you had the absolute perfect Coronado getaway! Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members and facilities, we definitely take pride in providing the service you've described here. We can't wait to welcome you and your family back to our beach resort. Sincerely, Sean Clancy Managing Director

5

great location - very relaxing

Everyone

Pools are perfect for children. Lots of activities for them to do.

By , from Las Vegas, NV on Aug 3, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2016

KD, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I apologize for the delay in pick-up from the beach, and I assure you that is not the norm here. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your time here at the resort, and we hope you'll be back soon for another great stay. Sincerely, Sean Clancy Managing Director

5

awesome resort stay

Everyone

If you are planning a one week vacation (or longer), I recommend Loews. The staff members are awesome! The food is great! and there are a lot of amenities.

By on Aug 2, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2016

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy to ehar you enjoyed your stay, including both our team members and the amenities of the resort. We hope you'll be back soon. Sincerely, Sean Clancy Managing Director